CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY,
THE LIBRARY

MEDICINE: SELECTED RESOURCES ON MEDICINAL PLANTS
Compiled by D. Metzger

 

Looking for Books?

Begin with a search in the EUREKA Computer Catalog (http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/).
Use a keyword search if you know a specific plant, otherwise begin with a SUBJECT search using one of the following topics:

  • Botany, Medical
  • Cancer-Homeopathic Treatment
  • Ethnobotany
  • Materia Medica Vegetable
  • Medicinal plants (for description and/or cultivation of medicinal plants)
  • Phytochemotherapy
REFERENCE BOOKS
  • Medicinal Plants of the Pacific West.  Ref RS 164 .M616 1993
  • Medicinal Plants of the world. Ref RS 164 .V295 2004
    The Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants. 
    Ref RS 164 .C4437 1996
  • Rodale's Illustrated Encyclopedia of Herbs.  Ref SB 351 H5 R58 1987
  • The Alternative Medicine Handbook.  Ref R 733 .C375 1998
  • The Encyclopedia of Natural Healing.  Ref R 733 .E62 1998
  • The Alternative Health & Medicine Encyclopedia.  Ref R 733 .M38 1995
  • Medicinal plants of the world: chemical constituents traditional, and modern medicinal uses.  Ref RS 164 .R676 1999 and e-book via EUREKA
  • CRC Ethnobotany Desk Reference.  Ref GN 476.73 .J66 1999
  • Handbook of medicinal herbs. Ref  QK 99 .A1 D83 2002.
  • Kang ai dong, zhi, kuang wu cai se tu jian ji qi ying yong =Colour atlas of anticancer animal, plant & mineral preparations and their application. Ref RS 160 .K36 2000.

 

top

Looking for Journal Articles?
Start at the Library Homepage, (http://library.csus.edu) and click on theDatabases and Article Searching link located on the left side of the screen. This is a list of the Library’s electronic databases by category, most of which are accessible only to CSUS students and faculty. A few are only available from inside the Library while most are accessible from outside the Library using your SACLINK username and password. Click here for instructions on Connecting to Library Databases from Off-Campus.

 

The databases are varied, some have the complete article (known as full-text), and some give only a citation (author, title of article, title of journal, volume, pages and date). You must determine whether we own a paper copy of an article listed in a citation database [see explanation below]. Coverage of the databases varies —some go back no earlier than 1990! Each is different and the only way to figure out what works best for any topic is to try your search in several databases.
HINT:
Go to the alphabetical listing of all databases (under "Databases Listed By:") and choose one of  the following databases for these broad subject areas:

Anthropology:
  Social Science Citation Index
  Infotrac: Expanded Academic
  EBSCOhost: Academic Search
  Alternitive Press Index
  JSTOR
  Project MUSE
   eHRAF- Collection of Ethnography

Medicine:
   PubMed
   SciFinder Scholar
   ScienceDirect

Botany/Biology:
   AGRICOLA
   BioAgIndex
   Pubed
   Infotrac: Expanded Academic
   JSTOR
   ScienceDirect
   Wiley InterScience
   BasicBIOSIS
   EbscoHost:Academic Search
Don’t forget about Print Indexes, although they are not full text, they cover the earlier literature. *  Alternative Press Index 1991-date.  Ref HNZ7164 .S66
Anthropological Literature  GNZ 5112 .A43
*  Biological and Agricultural Index  SZ 5073 .A46
*  Biological Abstracts  QH 301 .B37
*  Chemical Abstracts  QDZ 5523 .A5
*  Index Medicus  Lower Level Index Area RZ 6660 .I42
Social Science Citation Index  HZ 7161 .S62
* some years available electronically

 top

Do we own it?

To determine if we own a journal in print or electronically, change databases and go to the Locate Printe and e-Journals link on the Library Homepage.

 

If your title does not appear in this list, try the EUREKA Library Catalog (same place as when you were looking for books). Do a TITLE search, looking for the NAME OF THE JOURNAL; if we own it, by clicking on the title, it will indicate which years we own.

The journals are arranged on the shelves in alphabetical order by the title of the journal. Print journals from 1980 to date are located on 3 South, earlier years will be found on the Lower Level.

Note: you must be authenticated to go from EUREKA directly to an electronic journal

INTERNET SITES
 
 

 

 

Back to the top of the page
Go to Database & Article Searching Page

Questions/comments to: Deborah Metzger, Science Reference Librarian
dmetzger@csus.edu California State University, Sacramento
DM: 7/19/2004
revised 7.3.07