Celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the Library Instruction Round Table

ALA Conference, Atlanta, GA, June 14-18, 2002

Photographs by Linda J. Goff, Chair, PR/Membership Committee, CSU, Sacramento.

(l-r) Vice President/President Elect Anne Houston and LIRT President Linda Chopra confer before Steering Committee I, June 15, 2002.

LIRT's ALA Councilor and Past President, 1992-1993, Tim Grimes, giving his report at Steering Committee I.

Steering Committee I - (l-r) Secretary, Janet Sheets and Treasurer,
Trisha Stevenson Medeiros.

PR/Membership Committee Members (l-r) Julienne Wood, Sharon Chadwick, Linda Goff, Janet Sheets and Tracy Hull.

(left) Marta Davis in LIRT Booth, showing off our new water bottle give-aways.

Bites with LIRT - (l-r) Kelley Lawton , Patience L. Simmonds and  Tracy Hull.

2002 LIRT Program:

Emerging Visions:  Libraries and Education in the 21st Century.

The keynote speaker, Dr. Louis Schmier, professor of history at Valdosta State University, is the author of Random Thoughts: The Humanity of Teaching and Random Thoughts II: Teaching from the Heart.


2002 LIRT Program:

Tim Grimes, Associate Director of Community Relations of the Ann Arbor District Library, Michigan, and a former President of LIRT, will spoke on the increasing need for and direction of instruction for users in public libraries.

 Jean Donham, College Librarian, Cornell College, Iowa, and a former middle school teacher, discussed how to apply lessons learned from the field of education to library instruction.

LIRT Program, Sunday, June 16, 2002.

LIRT Program Audience

Louis Schmier

(l-r) Anne Houston, Linda Chopra, Stephanie Michel, Jean Donham and Louis Schmier.

(l-r) Speakers Jean Donham, Louis Schmier and Tim Grimes

Jean Donham

Patricia Senn Breivik, was the second LIRT President, 1978-1979, and founding member.  She is also a Past President of ACRL and won the Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award (1997).

Sharon Chadwick and Louis Schmier.

Diana Shonrock, Mistress of Ceremonies and Chair of 25th Anniversary Committee.

LIRT President Linda Chopra, Diana Shonrock and  Beth Woodard,  Chair of the ACRL Instruction Section.

Emily Bergman.

Marilyn Whitmore and Tim Grimes.

Tim Grimes, ? and ?

Door Prizes donated by Marilyn Whitmore of  Library Instruction Publications, Border's Books, Linda Goff and Coke.

Linda Chopra presenting flowers to Diana Shonrock.

Stephanie Michel.

Mary Popp, Past President, 1984-1985, of LIRT.

Mary Jan Petrowski, Past President of ACRL/Instruction Section and currently Senior Associate Executive Director of ACRL.

Chocolate or White?

Diana Shonrock.

Chuck Dintrone and  Past President Tobeylynn Birch, 1988-1989.

(l-r) Emily Bergman, Tim Grimes , Tobeylynn Birch and Chuck Dintrone.

ACRL Instruction Section and LIRT were founded the same year and celebrated their respective 25th Anniversaries at this join party.

25 years of LIRT Memorabilia, prepared by Emily Bergman.

????  Donna Kanapes (blue) Sharon Chadwick (purple), ? ALA Photographer, Lisa Honchliffe (red), ???

(l-r) ?,? and Jonathan M. Helmke.

Lisa Honchliffe, Editor, Research Strategies.

25th Anniversary Committee receiving certificates of appreciation.

Marta Davis and Jana Ronan.

(l-r) Mary Popp, Tim Grimes, Valerie Feinman, Alison Armstrong, Emily Bergman, and Gale Burrow receiving their certificates.

Gale Burrow Past President, 1998-1999, Diana Shonrock, Chuck Dintrone, and Billie Peterson.

Rapt audience at 25th Anniversary Celebration, June 16, 2002.

Diana Shonrock, Chair of 25th Anniversary Committee.

Donna Kanapes (blue), Sharon Chadwick (purple) Lisa H

Susan Clark.

Lucky visitors to the booth received our 25th Anniversary water bottles from Linda Goff on right.

Tuesday, June 18, 2002.  Packing up the LIRT Booth.  
(l-r) Sharon Chadwick, Janet Sheets and Donna Kanapes.

Created July 2, 2002.  Updated July 3, 2002.
Photos 2002, Linda J. Goff, California State University, Sacramento.