FINDING
BOOKS IN EUREKA
EUREKA
is the CSUS Online catalog of books. Use EUREKA
to find books by Author, Title,
or Subject. The easiest form of searching in EUREKA
is Keyword searching. EUREKA is also used to locate
journals that CSUS subscribes to. Search for Journals
under the Periodicals & Serials tab by title.
Boolean
Operators are terms that limit or expand your search. The
following table demonstrates boolean operators in action.
| AND |
Limits
search by added word or phrase |
ex:
family and divorce |
| OR
|
Expands
search by searching for both words or phrases |
ex:
nutrition or diet |
|
AND NOT |
Limits
search by excluding second word or phrase |
ex:
family and not divorce |
LOCATING JOURNAL ARTICLES
Electronic
indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff.
Instructions for off-campus access are available at Connecting to Library
Databases from Off-Campus
General
Multidisciplinary Databases
The general databases cover most available topics.
They are a great way to begin looking for journal articles on specific
topics. All of the following databases have some full-text access
to the information found within them.
EBSCOhost
Academic Search http://library.csus.edu/databases/default.asp?mode=alpha&letter=E
One of the best general purpose databases available. Indexes over
3,000 journals and allows users to find full-text articles in over
1,000 of those journals. Also allows users to limit searches to academic
or peer-reviewed journals, and send those results to themselves via
e-mail.
InfoTrac
Expanded Academic http://library.csus.edu/databases/default.asp?mode=alpha&letter=I
Along with EBSCOhost, InfoTrac is a great source that allows you to
locate both popular and academic journals back to 1980 in some cases.
In addition, InforTrac does contain the full-text to some articles
and does allow you to e-mail results to yourself at home or work.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe http://library.csus.edu/databases/default.asp?mode=alpha&letter=L
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe is actually 5 databases in one package.
You can search for legal, business, news, medical, and reference information
within Lexis-Nexis. Full-text access to laws, journal, and newspaper
articles is available through this database. Like EBSCOhost and InfoTrac,
Lexis-Nexis will allow you to e-mail search results to yourself.
CQ
Researcher http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/
The CQ Researcher is a great resource for understanding current and
timely issues. Each issue is devoted to covering a single topic and
provides the user with analysis, pro/con, and extensive bibliographies
on those topics. In addition, the database extends coverage back to
1991, allowing the user to get some historical context on hot topics
like abortion, terrorism, genetic engineering and many others.
Selected
Subject Databases
Subject databases are indexes to journal articles online
that deal with one discipline almost exclusively. These are great
tools to focus a search within a field like Health, Psychology, Nutrition,
Families, and many other areas. Most of the subject specific databases
do not have full-text acces to journal articles. To locate CSUS's
holdings, or electronic access to these journals use the Journal Locator
List http://proxy.lib.csus.edu:8000/sfx/azlist.php
Medline
http://library.csus.edu/databases/default.asp?mode=alpha&letter=M
A great resource for locating research in the medical field.
PubMed
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi
Another tool that allows you to find the abstracts to journal articles
in the field of health, nutrition and allied sciences.
PsycINFO
http://library.csus.edu/databases/default.asp?mode=alpha&letter=P
The leading database at CSUS for finding journals in the field of
psychology.
Sociological Abstracts http://library.csus.edu/databases/default.asp?mode=alpha&letter=S
A major sources for locating scholarly journals in the field of sociology.
RELATED
CSUS SUBJECT GUIDES
Medicine,
Health & Nutrition
Medicine: Selected Resources (E. Heaser) http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/heas/medicine.htm
Health: Nutrition and Food (D. Metzger) http://library.csus.edu/guides/metzgerd/foodnutrition.htm
Families
& Family Studies
Child Development Resources (R. Van Auker) http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/childdev2.htm
Social Work Resources (B. Kristie, L. Goff, D. Rogenmoser)
http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/krist/socialwork.html
Sociology (K. Blackmer Reyes) http://library.csus.edu/guides/blackmer/sociology.htm
Citing
Sources
APA Style Guide (K. Blackmer Reyes) http://library.csus.edu/guides/blackmer/APAstyle.htm
Citing Electronic Resources (B. Budge, A. Bradley)
http://library.csus.edu/guides/bradleya/eography.htm
Style Guides (D. Rogenmoser) http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/general/style.html
Evaluating
Web Sources
Evaluating
Web Sources is a critical part of the research process. You need
to verify that the information you locate is accurate, current,
and appropriate for your assignment. There are no editors on the
Web and it is up to you to ensure that the information you locate
online is the best information available. Here are some criteria
for evaluating Web sources.
-
Is
the information accurate?
-
Who
is the intended audience?
-
Who
is the author and the author's affiliations if any?
-
Is
there a bias or slant to the information?
-
How
current is the information?
For
more information about evaluating web information check out these
links:
Evaluating Web-based information (L. Goff) http://library.csus.edu/services/inst/ICCS/infocomp/tutorials/module5/web/relevance/index.htm
Questions/comments to: H.
Reza Peigahi reza.peigahi@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento
Created 11/03
|