Physics and Astronomy:
Resources at CSUS Library

Contents: General Literature | Dictionaries and Encyclopedias | Handbooks and Tables | Indexes and Abstracts

General Literature

American Institute of Physics. Check List Of Books And Periodicals For An Undergraduate Physics Library. New York: American Institute of Physics, 1966. LOCATION: 4 NORTH (QCZ 7141 .A6 1966)

Bromley, David Allan. A Century of Physics. New York: Springer, c2002 
LOCATION: 4 NORTH (QC7.B68 2002)

Gnadig, Peter. Two Hundred Puzzling Physics Problems New York : Cambridge University Press, 2001.
LOCATION: 4 NORTH (QC 32 .G52 2001)

Levy, David H. David Levy's Guide To The Night Sky. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2001.
LOCATION: 4 NORTH ( QB 63 .L42 2001)

Lusis, Andy. Astronomy And Astronautics: An Enthusiast's Guide To Books And Periodicals. New York: Facts on File, 1986.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QBZ 5151 .L87 1986)

Privett, Grant. The Deep-Sky Observer's Year. London ; New York : Springer, c2001.
LOCATION: 4 NORTH (QB 63 .P62 2001)

Scarl, Donal. How To Solve Problems. Glen Cove, N.Y. : Dosoris Press, 1998.
LOCATION: 4 NORTH (QC 32 .S387 1998)

Seal, Robert A. A Guide To The Literature Of Astronomy. Littleton, Col.: Libraries Unlimited, 1977.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QBZ 5151 .S4)

Whitford, Robert H. Physics Literature: A Reference Manual. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1968.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QCZ 7141 .W47 1968)

EUREKA Search By Subject

To find similar general literature on physics, follow these search examples in EUREKA Subject search: 

Physics bibliography
Astronomy bibliography

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Daintith, John, Eric Deeson, and J.W. Warren, ed. The Facts On File Dictionary Of Physics, 3rd ed. New York: Facts on File, c1999.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QC5 .F34 1999)

Isaacs, Alan, ed. A Dictionary Of Physics, 4th ed. Oxford, England and New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
LOCATION: Morris Library (QC5 .C56 2000)

Lerner, Rita G, and George L. Trigg, ed. Encyclopedia Of Physics, 3rd ed. New York: VCH, c1991.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference ( QC5 .E545 1991)

Maran, Stephen P. ed. The Astronomy And Astrophysics Encyclopedia. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1992.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QB 14 .A873 1992)

Meyers, Robert A., ed. Encyclopedia Of Physical Science And Technology. San Diego: Academic Press, 2002.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference ( Q 123 .E497 2002)

Rigden, John S., ed. Macmillan Encyclopedia Of Physics. New York: Macmillan, c1996.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference ( QC5 .M15 1996)

Thewlis, J. ed. Encyclopaedic Dictionary Of Physics : General, Nuclear, Solid State, Molecular, Chemical, Metal And Vacuum Physics, Astronomy, Geophysics, Biophysics, And Related Subjects. Oxford ; New York : Pergamon Press, 1961-64.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QC5 .E52)

EUREKA Search By Subject

To find similar encyclopedia in physics, follow these search examples in EUREKA Subject search:

Physics dictionaries
Astronomy dictionaries
Science dictionaries

Handbooks and Tables

American Institute of Physics. AIP Style Manual, 4th ed. New York: American Institute of Physics, 1990.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QC 5.45 .A45 1990)

American Institute of Physics. American Institute Of Physics Handbook, 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1972.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QC 61 .A5 1972)

Anderson, Herbert L., ed. A Physicist's Desk Reference, 2nd edition of Physics Vade Mecum. New York: American Institute of Physics, 1989.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QC 61 .P49 1989)

CRC Handbook Of Chemistry And Physics. Cleveland, OH: CRC Press. Annual
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QD 65 .H3)

Cohen, E. Richard. The Physics Quick Reference Guide, 2nd ed. New York : Springer-Verlag, 2003.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH Reference (on order as of 01/2003)

Cook, James L. Conversion Factors. Oxford [England]; New York : Oxford University Press, 1991.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH Reference (QC 94 .C67 1991)

Tuma, Jan J. Handbook Of Physical Calculations: Definitions, Formulas, Technical Applications, Physical Tables, Conversion Tables, Graphs, Dictionary Of Physical Terms, 2nd Enl. And Rev. Ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, c1983.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH - Reference (QC 61 .T85 1983)

EUREKA Search By Subject

To find similar handbooks in physics, follow these search examples in EUREKA Subject search:

Physics handbooks
Astronomy handbooks
Physics tables

Indexes/Abstracts, Online Journals and Pre-Prints

Physics Abstracts. London: Institution of Electrical Engineers. Semimonthly. (CSUS has 1941-1996, with 1941-1971 under the title Science Abstracts: Series A)
LOCATION: LOWER LEVEL Index Area (QCZ 7143 .P48)

Physics Citation Index, 1920-1929. Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1981.
LOCATION: 2 NORTH Reference (QCZ 7141 .P53)

American Institute of Physics Online Journals
ACCESS: CSUS Campus License at http://ojps.aip.org/ 

Institute of Physics E-Journals

ACCESS: Free for current issue only. http://iop.org/EJ/S/UNREG/

 

Physics e-Print Archives from Los Alamos National Lab

ACCESS: Free at http://xxx.lanl.gov/