Agriculture
Government
Site
The U.S. Department of Agriculture
www.usda.gov
This site covers nearly all U.S. government agricultural, rural development and nutritional activities and links to various other Federal and state agencies and private organizations
Other Sites
The World Food Program
www.wfp.org
Food aid, descriptions of
each food-needy county and its problems, controversies, etc.
Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute
www.fapri.org
(also
http://www.fapri.missouri.edu)
Analyses of policy proposals and prediction of their impact.
The U.N. Food and Agricultural Organization
www.fao.org
FAO views, statistics and information on obscure
crops grown in out-of-way places
The Cairns Group
www.cairnsgroup.org
A source of both rhetoric and alliance for
opponents of U.S. farm subsidies
The
European Commission Agriculture
www.europa.eu.int/comm/agriculture
Direct link to the EU agriculture ministry, statistics, policy statements, and information on coping with mad-cow and foot-and-mouth disease.
Agweb.com
www.agweb.com
Agricultural news, weather, market information and analysis
Environmental Working Group
www.ewg.org
Farm subsidies database, chemical industry archives, California
environmental issues, food news, etc.
back to the top
Alcohol
Government
Sites
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism)
www.niaaa.nih.gov
Publications (including pamphlets, brochures, reports and
training materials), clinical trials, databases (including ETOH, quick
fact and Medline), extramural research, intramural research, other
resources.
ETOH (by
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism)
etoh.niaaa.nih.gov
All aspects of alcohol abuse and alcoholism, abstracts and
bibliographic references to journal articles, books, dissertation
abstracts, conference papers and proceedings, reports, and studies...
Bureau
of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (U.S. Department of Treasury)
www.atf.treas.gov/alcohol/
Information on Certificates of Label Approvals (COLAs),
publications, industry circulars, permits, regulations, rules,
statistics.
California
Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs
www.adp.cahwnet.gov/
Calendar and events, California Alcohol & Drug Data
System (CADDS) and other resources such as help programs...
Other
Sites
Project Cork
www.state.vt.us/adap/Cork/cork1.htm
Citations and abstracts to materials owned by the Porject
Cork Resource Center (US) on alcoholism and substance abuse.
Prevention
Online
www.health.org/
SAMHSA's National
Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information.
Alcohol
Concern
www.alcoholconcern.org.uk/
Library databases, alcohol
services, alcohol strategies, useful links, publication, key topics and
more.
back to the top
Arms Control
Government Sites
Bureau of Arms Control
www.state.gov/t/ac
Arms control treaties and agreements, archives, etc.
Bureau of
Nonproliferation
www.state.gov/t/np
A well-organized compendium of reports, interviews, and statements on
the issues.
Defense Threat
Reduction Agency
www.dtra.mil
More for the expert than the casual browser.
Lawrence
Livermore's Nonproliferation, Arms Control, and International security
Directorate
www.llnl.gov/nai
Handy summary of the latest technology in the realm of
nonproliferation.
Other
Sites
The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
www.ceip.org/npp
The product of the Non-Proliferation Project of the Carnegie Endowment, it includes country resources, online resources, news and analysis. A very comprehensive web site about the topic.
Monterey Institute of International Studies
www.cns.miis.edu
A comprehensive clearinghouse of arms control information.
The Nuclear Threat Initiative
www.nti.org
Daily digest of arms control stories, information about threat nations, historical background.
The
Center for Policy Studies in Russia
www.pircenter.org
In important Russian perspective on nonproliferation issues, free of
official government spin or the interpretative filter of Western experts
trying to decipher Russian politics.
The
Council for a Livable World
www.clw.orgl
Update on the latest arms control events
back to the top
Banking and Finance
Government
Sites
The Federal Reserve
www.federalreserve.gov
A must in the financial world. Also links to the web sites of the Fed's 12
regional banks.
Office for the
Comptroller of the Currency
www.occ.treas.gov
News, directory, strategic plan, etc.
The
Federal Deposit Insurance Corp
www.fdic.gov
Bank data, regulations and examinations,etc.
U.S.
Treasury
www.ustreas.gov
Treasury's vast policy portfolio, its police powers, and its management of
Uncle Sam's finances.
The
Securities and Exchange Commission
www.sec.gov
Text of U.S. laws and the latest news on commission regulations, primers on
various consumer finance issues. Home to EDGAR.
Other
Sites
The Bank for
International Settlements
www.bis.org
The association's important pronouncements and activities.
The
Financila Markets Center
www.fmcenter.org
A primer on the Fed, archives of the transcripts of the Fed's
interest-rate-setting Federal Open Market Committee meetings, and summaries
of some Fed reports and research.
Cato
Institute
www.cato.org
A libertarian antidote in the research and conference transcripts of the
"Monetary and Banking Policy" section.
The
American Enterprise Institute
www.aei.org
A scholarly and centrist critique of government financial regulation.
4
Anything Network
www.4anything.com/home
Links to helpful dictionaries and glossaries of business, economic, and
financial terms. Click on "money", then
"investing," then "4drips."
DowJones
Indexes
www.djindexes.com
Historical charts on the average from 1895 on.
Federal
Reserve Bank of New York
www.newyorkfed.org
Domestic banking policy and economic statistics.
back to the top
Biotechnology
Government
Sites
The National Institute
of Health
www.nih.gov
Biotech data, policy statements, grant reports, and medical papers.
The
Food and Drug Administration
www.fda.gov
Information on drugs, bioterrorism, medical devices, food safety, and
agriculture-related biotechnology.
The
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
www.uspto.gov
Patents constitute essentially the backbone of the biotech industry.
Cross-referenced by company, inventor, and critical terms.
Other
Sites
Council for
Biotechnology Information
www.whybiotech.com
Concerns raised by environmental groups about genetically modified food.
Council
for Responsible Genetics
www.gene-watch.org
Controls on the use of biotechnology in humans and the environment.
The
Coalition of American's for Research Ethics
www.stemcellresearch.org
Opposes human cloning and the use of embryos' stem cells. Presents new data
from the medical research community.
Federation
of American Societies for Experimental Biology
www.faseb.org
The anti-regulation perspective of the entrepreneur-scientists.
Signal
www.signalsmag.com
Information about capital formation.
back to the top
Budget
Government
Sites
Congressional Budget
Office
www.cbo.gov
Provides official cost estimates of legislation.
THe
Office of Management and Budget
www.whitehouse.gov/omb
Provides the President's budget online, and "Statements of
Administration Policy", testimony, ...
The
House Budget Committee
www.house.gov/budget
Weekly newsletters, congressional budget resolution, budget charts and
graphics, ...
The House
Appropriations Committee
www.house.gov/appropriations
Summaries of appropriations bills and conference agreements, the status of
appropriations bills, letters from appropriators to Administration
officials, ...
The Senate Budget
Committee
budget.senate.gov
Issues ranging from the budget process to budget law to the public debt. The
weekly Budget Bulletin.
Pork
Barreling
www.senate.gov/~mccain
Lists of projects that McCain considers pork, as well as floor statements he
makes on every funding bill.
Other Sites
The
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
www.cbpp.org
Extensive analyses on how Administration policies and congressional actions
affect low-and moderate-income people, state policies, ...
The
Concord Coalition
www.concordcoalitioin.org
Views of budget hawks, "Facing Facts Alerts," "Key
questions voters should ask..."
Citizens
Against Government Waste
www.cagw.org
Online copies of several budget and appropriations newsletters, as well as a
searchable databae of its Pigbook, an annual publication on pork
barrel spending.
The National
Priorities Project
www.natprior.org
Comparisons of various Administrations' budgets, as well as an extensive
section analyzing state budgets.
back to the top
Campaign
Finance
Government Site
The
Federal Election Commission
www.fec.gov
Basic source for raw data on campaign contributions and expenditures.
Other
Sites
Center for
Responsive Politcs
www.opensecrets.org
Profiles of Capitol Hill lawmakers that thow the source of campaign
contributions, profiles of the political giving of industries...
Political
Money Line
www.politicalmoneyline.com
Tracks contributions going back 20 years, links to data on leadership
political action committees and legal defense funds of members of
Congress...
The Brookings
Institution
www.brookings.edu
Campaign finance laws, congressional debates on reform issues...
Common
Cause
www.commoncause.org
Tracks the flow of unregulated soft-money donations to party committees,...
The National
Institute on Money in State Politics
www.followthemoney.org
Tracks contributions to state legislators, governors, and other state
officials...
Buyingtime.org
www.buyingtime.org
Information about the negative campaign advertising, the financial backers
of the many mysteriously named groups ...
Campaign
Finance Institute
www.cfinst.org
Monthly discussions on campaign finance issues, studies on fundraising
trends and updates on pending legislation...
Public
Campaign
www.publiccampaign.org
Dedicated to changing state laws and regulations in order to reduce the role
of special-interest money in elections...
back to the top
China
Government
Sites
U.S. State Department
www.usinfo.state.gov/regional/ea/uschina
Links to key U.S. reports and other documents, basic facts about the
country, congressional testimony by Administration officials and policy
statements, and other information by topic.
Law
Library of Congress
www.log.gov/law/guide
Especially useful for those seeking to navigate China's legal system.
Other
Sites
China
Daily -- www.chinadaily.com.cn
People's Daily -- english.people.com.cn
The English-language Web sites for the two official newspapers of the
country.
South
China Morning Post
www.scmp.com
This Hong Kong-based daily is the best source of independent news on
China.
China Online
www.chinaonline.com
A lot of original information and commentary. Anything more than a
couple of days old costs a fee per article.
The
Economist
www.economist.com/countries/china
Economic and political news, and background information on China.
The
U.S.-China Business Council
www.uschina.org
The Council is funded by companies with an interest in China. Its Web
site is a jump-off point for information on China's joining the WTO and on
the climate for making money in China.
ChinaSite.com
www.chinasite.com
A comprehensive reference to China/Chinese-related Web sites.
Book
Marks for Kate Hartford
www.pollycyber.com/china/chinasites.htm
A list of China sites bookmarked by Kate Hartford, a political science
professor..
back to the top
Civil
Rights
Government Sites
The
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
www.usccr.gov
Information on discrimination or denial of equal protection.
The
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
www.eeoc.gov
Information for employers on anti-discrimination laws, statistics about
charges brought by the agency.
The
Justice Department's Civil Rights Division
www.usdoj.gov/crt
Enforcement projects, legal decisions, and briefs filed by the division.
Other
Sites
Leadership
Conference on Civil Rights
www.civilrights.org
Historical information on the civil rights movement, a clearinghouse on
current policy debates, library...
The National Association
for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
www.naacp.org
Information about the group's African-American voting-rights initiative,
such issues as education, economic development, and home ownership.
Rainbow/Push Coalition
www.rainbowpush.org
The group's initiatives, including the Wall Street Project, and the
coalition's public policy institute.
The National
Council of La Raza
www.nclr.org
Policy positions on a number of issues, statistical reports on the lives of
Hispanics in America, and links...
The
Institute for Justice
www.ij.org
Chronicles the institute's philosophy and activities in fighting affirmative
action and backing school vouchers, among other issues.
The
Human Rights Campaign
www.hrc.org
HRC positions on legislation and federal policy, gay issues, statistics on
adoption, housing, health issues...
The National
Urban League Inc.
www.nul.org
Includes the "State of Black America 2001" report, a look at the
United Nations' World Conference Against Racism, Racial Discrimination,
Xenophobia, and Related Tolerance...
The
American Civil Liberties Union
www.aclu.org
A special section on racial profiling, the "Racial Equality"
section, looks at affirmative action, the death penalty, and education.
back to the top
CongressGovernment
Sites
The House of
Representatives
www.house.gov
Links to sites of individual members, the committees, the leadership, and
other official entities...
The
Senate
www.senate.gov
Links to sites of individual members, the committees, the leadership, and
other official entities...
The House
Majority Whip Tom DeLay
www.majoritywhip.house.gov
Timely information on the House floor schedule and the policy viewpoints...
The
House Rules Committee
www.house.gov/rules
Information on the House floor schedule and the policy viewpoints...
The
House Republican Conference
www.gop.gov
Information on the House floor schedule and the policy viewpoints...
The
Senate Democratic
www.democrats.senate.gov
The Senate majority's overview of scheduled floor activity, policy positions
and analysis...
The
Library of Congress
thomas.loc.gov
Authoritative resource for legislative information. The text and status of
bills, committee reports, text of public laws since 1973...
The
Biographical Directory of United States Congress (1774-current)
bioguide.congress.gov
Biographies covering all members of Congress since 1774.
The
National Archives and Records Administration
www.nara.gov
The Center for Legislative Archives is the repository for the historically
valuable records of Congress. This site provides guides to these records and
other research tools.
Other Sites
CSPAN.org
cspan.org
Online data about Congress: members, committees, schedules, legislative
details, campaigns...
The
Center on Congress
www.congress.indiana.edu
Explanations of how Congress affects everyday life, public opinion data...
Washington-based
news organizations
nationaljournal.com
(National Journal Group Inc.)
cq.com
(Congressional Quarterly Inc.)
rollcall.com (Roll Call)
back to the top
Crime
and Law Enforcement
Government Sites
The
U.S. Department of Justice
www.usdoj.gov
Information about the department and its components. Its publications and
document include FBI's Uniform Crime Reports, United States Attorneys'
Manual, and publications of National
Institute of Corrections Publications, ...
The
Bureau of Justice Statistics
www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs
Statistics and analytical reports related to law enforcement and crime
prevention.
Other Sites
FindLaw
www.findlaw.com
Internet legal resource and search engine. Access to federal and state legal
codes and case law, legal forms, legal publishers, legal associations, law
schools, reviews...
Transactional Records Access Clearinghous
www.trac.syr.edu
Information about federal law enforcement records, staffing and spending.
Raw data, graphs, maps, and tables...
The
CrimeLynx.
www.crimelynx.com
For criminal law practitioners, policy makers, forensic scientists, and
expert witnesses.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law
School)
www.law.cornell.edu
Search-and-seizure guidelines, punishment, recent criminal law decisions,
state criminal codes, and court decisions...
Officer.com
www.officer.com
Links to law enforcement agencies,, police news, hazardous-material and bomb
squad information...
Criminal Justice Journalists
www.reporters.net/cjj
Links to sites on crime and law enforcement, prisons, punishment, guns and
gun control, and high-tech crime.
Death Penalty News & Updates
www.smu.edu/~deathpen
Data on executions in the United states, information on pending executions,
the names of the victims of death row inmates dating back to 1977, and links
to death row prisoner pages and death-penalty organizations.
The
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
www.ncjrs.org
Online collection of publications and abstracts.
back to the top
DefenseGovernment
Sites
The Defense
Department
www.defenselink.mil
Information about the department, major defense issues, reports,
publications....
The Air
Force Links
www.af.mil
A comprehensive library of fact sheets, archive of general officers'
biographies...
The United
States Navy
www.navy.mil
"Fact file" and "Status of the Navy" contain information
about ships, aircraft, weapons, number of ships and sailors in the fleet...
The
United States Army
www.army.mil
Headline news, speeches, direct links to the full contents of recent major Army publications...
The
United States Marine Corps
www.usmc.mil
Information on current operations, history, news...
The
Center for Army Lessons Learned
call.army.mil
Modern military history, army knowledge, a link to the Foreign Military Studies Office...
Other
Sites
Federation of American
Scientists
www.fas.org
Current defense issues, such as terrorism, news archives and country
profiles, military analysis, space policy, missile defense, weapons of mass
destruction...
GlobalSecurity.org
www.globalsecurity.org
Current news, military resources, special weapons, intelligence, public eye,
Cyberstrategy...
The
CompanyCommand.com
www.companycommand.com
A user-driven forum for sharing company-command related ideas
and experiences in order to improve the practice of leadership at the company
level
Defense and
the National Interest
www.d-n-i.net
One of the best of reflections of maverick defense thinkers inside and
outside the Pentagon.
Center
for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments
www.csbaonline.org
It combines detailed budget analysis with sweeping strategies for military
reforms.
back to the top
Demographics
Government
Sites
FedStats
www.fedstats.gov
A gateway to statistics from over 100 agencies, demographic information by state, county,
congressional district, and judicial district...
The
U.S. Census Bureau
www.census.gov
Statistical profiles of states, counties, and localities...
Bureau
of Labor Statistics
stats.bls.gov
Employment and unemployment, wages in various
occupational categories in all states and in many cities, benefits, consumer
spending...
Child and
Family Statistics
www.childstats.gov
Economic, health, behavioral, and education-related information on American
children.
Other
Sites
Population
Reference Bureau
www.prb.org
Data about the United States and the world.
InfoNation
www.cyberschoolbus.un.org/infonation/index.asp
Country at a glance, international comparisons for all UN member states...
United
Nations Population Information Network
www.un.org/popin
International data, links to databases of the U.N.'s organizations and
publications...
Organization
for Economic Co-operation and Development
www.oecd.org
International statistics in many categories (alphabetically arranged
themes), from aging society, agriculture, food to transportation.
Population
Research Institute
www.pop.psu.edu
Links to demographic sources.
Homestore.com
Inc.
www.homefair.com
Cost of living in different places around the country.
Adherents.com
www.adherents.com
Religious statistics, much of which is culled from censuses, surveys, and
other published sources.
back to the top
EconomicsGovernment Sites
Bureau
of Economic Analysis
www.bea.doc.gov
Gross domestic product and its related data.
Census
Bureau
www.census.gov
Retail sales, capital expendituresn business activity
Bureau
of Labor Statistics
www.bls.gov
Data and research on inflation, wages, and unemployment.
Economic
Statistics Briefing Room
www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr
Summaries and links to the government economic statistics.
Board
of Governors of Federal Reserve System
www.federalreserve.gov
News, testimony and speeches, monetory policy, banking system, payment
system, consumer information... Other
Sites
National
Bureau of Economic Research
www.nber.org
Latest economic research, abstracts and digests of the studies by many of
the bureau's academic economists from around the country.
Professor
Weiser's Links
www.uwsp.edu/business/economicswisconsin/weiser_links.htm
Links to various categories of economic information, including links for
K-12 teachers.
Economy.com
www.economy.com/freelunch
Economic data in chart or graph form, where you can play with variables and
download a spreadsheet.
back to the top
EducationGovernment
Sites
The
National Center for Education Statistics
www.nces.ed.gov
The Education Department's major statistical publications, such as the
annual Condition of Education, Digest of Education Statistics,
Projections of Education Statistics...
The
House Education and the Workforce Committee
edworkforce.house.gov
Policy updates on education legislation, schedules, live Webcasts of
hearings, hearing transcripts... There is a section in Spanish.
The
United States Education Department
www.ed.gov
The department's programs, news, federal grants, departmetn reports, policy,
the
Secretary's activities...
Other Sites
Research
Reports
research.cse.ucla.edu
Links to all the federal research centers, which offer reports on a range of
education issues...
Education
Watch
www.edtrust.org
Education-testing statistics, state-by-state analysis of student
performance, comparison of states' performance in a range of categories...
Public
Agenda
www.publicagenda.org
Public opinion polls on policy issues, as well as basic education
statistics...
Education
Week
www.edweek.org
Coverage of federal, state, and local issues. "Quality Counts"
contains state report cards.
Progressive
Policy Institute
www.ppionline.org
Ideas on current education policy issues and policy analysis.
Thomas
B. Fordham Foundation
www.edexcellence.net
Ideas on current education policy issues and policy analysis..
Education
Commission of the States
www.ecs.org
State policies on a range of issues, explanations, state laws in a variety
of issue areas...
The
Smithsonian Institution
www.si.edu
Museum resources for teachers.
back to the top
Energy
Government
Sites
The Energy
Information Administration
www.eia.doe.gov
Comprehensive source of energy data, on every part of the U.S. and
international energy markets.
The
Energy Department
www.energy.gov
Links to basic energy information for the public and to technical
reports on energy research.
The
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
www.ferc.gov
News and reports, legal matters, information resources...
The
Nuclear Regulatory Commission
www.nrc.gov
Information about the commission, reports, nuclear reactors, nuclear
materials, radioactive waste...
Other Sites
Energy
News Live
www.energynewslive.com
Live news report, updates on national weather trends, latest energy-related
news...
World Energy News
www.worldenergynews.com
Rundown of national and international energy news.
Energy
Central
www.energycentral.com
Covers the electric power industry and offers news stories, directories, a
job listing, events calendar...
EnergySources
www.energysource.com
Energy news, community, expert commentary, energyhub...
Platts
Global Energy
www.platts.com
Covers the overall energy field, news, headlines by industry, archives of
articles (subscription required)...
Energy
Online
www.energyonline.com
Electricity industry news, archives (in categories of
international, USA, states), databases...
One
Nuclear Place
www.1nuclearplace.com
Nuclear-related information, current news, links to other sources of nuclear
data...
back to the top
Environment
Government
Sites
The
Environmental Protection Agency
www.epa.gov
Minutiae of environmental regulations, pollution issues and enforcement
actions.The Department of
Interior
www.doi.gov
Access to government documents and news on topics ranging from Indian
affairs to mining regulations to volcanic activity worldwide.
Recreation.gov
www.recreation.gov
Information on recreation opportunities on federal land.
Other
Sites
The National Academy
of Sciences
www.nationalacademies.org
Access to both summaries and the full text of studeis conducted under its
auspices.
The
League of Conservation Voters
www.lcv.org
The environmental voting records of members of Congress.
Greenwire
www.eenews.net
Environmental news and stories from newspapers and magazines around
the nation.
Environment
News Service
ens.lycos.com
National and international environmental news.
GristMagazine
www.gristmagazine.com
Project of Earth Day Network. Daily news on national and international environmental issues. Venue for
liberal writers.
Environmental
Defense
www.scorecard.org
Access to EPA data on chemical pollutants, information on the sources of
air, water and land pollution and toxic waste in individual community by zip
code.
Headwaters
News
www.headwatersnews.org
News about the Mountain States.
Tidepool
www.tidepool.org
News about the Pacific Coast, from Alaska to Northern California.
back to the top
Foreign
AffairsGovernement Sites
Portals
to the World
www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
Links to electronic resources from around the world, starting with an
alphabetical list of country names.
World
Fact Book-- Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
www.cia.gov
Country profiles.
The
State Department
www.state.gov
Links to press briefings and biographies of key diplomats, "Country
Background Notes", travel warnings and visa information...
Other
Sites
Foreign Affairs Online
www.people.virginia.edu/~rjb3v/rjb.html
A broad range of international relations topics, under categories of
reference material, governments, international law and organization,
international affairs.
The Global Site
www.theglobalsite.ac.uk/ir/
Gateway to world politics, society and culture.
International
Affairs.com
internationalaffairs.com/
A selection of resources arranged topically and geographically.
Yahoo!News
dailynews.yahoo.com
Complete wire coverage of the latest international events
The
Canadian Institute of International Affairs
www.ciia.org
List of links to other foreign-affairs-related sites.
The
United Nations
www.un.org
Latest news from the world body, a calendar of U.N. events, various U.N.
documents...
Embassy.org
www.embassy.org
A clearinghouse for the various embassies in Washington.
The Council on Foreign
Relations
www.cfr.org
Latest news in foreign relations, policy studies, links to its publication, Foreign Affairs...
The
BBC News Web
www.bbc.co.uk
News by regions of the world, liver
forums...
The
European Union
www.eurounion.org
Information on Europe and European Union....
Foreign
Policy
www.foreignpolicy.com
Access to articles from its current issue (subscription required), a list of
international links broken down by topic...
Virtual
Resources: International Relations Research Resources on the Web
mitpress.mit.edu/journals/INOR/deibert-guide/TOC.html
Annotated links to resources in a wide variety of categories.
Irish
Times
www.ireland.com
Weather reports of any paper in the world and their international news
coverage.
Human
Rights Watch
www.hrw.org
International human rights concerns broken down by region and issue, its
publications including World Report.....
back to the top
Health
Policy
Government
Sites
The Health and
Human Services Department
www.hhs.gov
Information by topics A-Z, from adoption to women's health, data about
Medicare, Medicaid, and other health programs...
Centers
for Medicare and Medicaid Services
www.cms.gov
Information on Medicaid. Medicare, and other related programs...
The
Census Bureau
www.census.gov
Useful site for calculating and tracking the numbers ...
Other
Sites
The Henry J. Kaiser
Family Foundation
www.kaisernetwork.org
Congressional hearings, press briefings, daily health policy reports,
...
The Alliance for
Health Reform
www.allhealth.org
Information issues, news room, publications, health policy links...
Health
Affairs
www.healthaffairs.org
Selected articles and papers on health care policy,
Mathematica
Policy Research
www.mathematica-mpr.com
Data and analysis on Medicaid demonstration programs, managed care, mental
health parity, rural health care, long-term care, substance abuse...
The
Commonwealth Fund
www.cmwf.org
Summaries and full reports on various health care and policy topics,
including child health and development, managed care...international health
policy...
The Families USA
www.familiesusa.org
Information about state programs and laws, links to local consumer groups,
review of Administration and congressional health care policies...
back to the top
Homeland
Security
Government Sites
The
Federal Emergency Management Agency
www.fema.gov
Information on everything from national strategy personal
survival, updates on current disasters, threats, and the weather.
The Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention
www.cdc.gov
Authoritative information
on the latest disease outbreak
Soldier and Biological
Chemical Command
www.sbccom.army.mil
The military's
locus of expertise on biological and chemical weapons, and a major provider
of training and information to civilian emergency responders.
The
Coast Guard
www.uscg.mil
Fact sheets on its
ships, boats, and aircraft; data on its installations, full text of major
reports and strategic plans.
The
National Guard Bureau
www.ngb.dtic.mil
News
and references, points
of contact for the national umbrella organization itself, comprehensive
connections to the Guard in every state and territory.
Homeland
Security Director
www.whitehouse.gov/homeland
Policy
summaries, press releases, and war-on-terror factoids.
Other
Sites
The Analytic Services
(AnSer)
www.homelandsecurity.org
Current
news, state resources, articles in Journal of Homeland Security,
virtual library...
The Center
for Civilian Biodefense Strategies
www.hopkins-biodefense.org
Fact sheets on
selected biological agents and extensive links to medical articles.
School
of Public Health (St. Louis University)
www.slu.edu/colleges/sph/bioterrorism
Devoted
to bioterrorism. Information on biological agents, news and quick
references.
back to the top
HousingGovernment
Sites
Housing
and Urban Development
www.hud.gov
Community
news, HUD highlights, information for citizens, policy specialist,
homeowners, tenants...
HUD
User.org
www.huduser.org
For policy and research audiences. American Housing Survey, maps that can be
used for Geographic Information Systems analysis, and rental rates from
across the country.
The
U.S. Census Bureau
www.census.gov
Maintains a web site devoted entirely to housing information, carries the
American Housing Survey data...
Other Sites
KnowledgePlex
www.knowledgeplex.org
Focus on low-cost housing and community development. Information from news
sources and housing organizations.
Center
on Housing Studies
www.jchs.harvard.edu
A comprehensive analysis of demographic, economic and social data, the
"State of the Nation's Housing" report...
The
Affordable Housing Design Advisor
www.designadvisor.org
Guidelines for groups that are developing low-and moderate-income housing.
The
Housing Assistance Council
www.ruralhome.org
Information on affordable housing in rural areas, annual targeted studies,
policy newsletter, fact sheets on housing policy and on federal programs...
back to the top
Immigration
Government
Sites
The Immigration and
Naturalization Service
www.ins.gov
Information about the agency's enforcement activites, the application
process for naturalization, INS job openings, links to agency field offices,
the INS budget, an statistics on immigrants.
The
House Judiciary Immigration and Claims Subcommittee
www.house.gov/judiciary
The Senate Judiciary Immigration Subcommittee
www.senate.gov/~judiciary
These two
subcommittees do not have their own Web pages, but the information and
testimony given at their hearings are available on their Judiciary Committee
sites.
Other Sites
The
Center for Immigration Studies
www.cis.org
Argues for the policies that favor "fewer immigrants but a warmer
welcome for those admitted." Current news and topics on
immigration.
Migration Policy Institute (MPI)
www.migrationpolicy.org/
An independent, non-partisan, non-profit think-tank in Washington,
D.C. dedicated to the study of the movement of people worldwide. MPI
provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee
policies at the local, national, and international levels.
Americans
for Better Immigration
www.betterimmigration.com
It is a activist group that supports sreducing the number of legal
immigrants allowed to enter the United States. Noted for the grades that it
gives to members of Congress based on their stances on immigration.
The
National Immigration Forum
www.immigrationforum.org
Backs policies "that welcome immigrants and refugees and that are fair
and supportive to newcomers in our country." Free reports, fast-facts
about immigration, current policy dabates...
The
American Immigration Lawyers Association
www.aila.org
Latest news on policy-making in Washington, topics about immigration,
publications...
The American
Immigration Law Foundation
www.ailf.org
Seeks to promote more-lenient immigration policies. Includes public
education on the value of immigration, exhibit hall on exploring
history, and legal action center...
The
Federation for American Immigration Reform
www.fairus.org
Data about American demographics and immigration, broken down by state and
county, news on upcoming legislation, discussion on issues...
Numbers
USA
www.numbersusa.com
An anti-immigration site that says the United States is in the midst of an
overpopulaiton crisis...
The
National Immigration Law Center
www.nilc.org
An advocacy group for low-income immigrants. NILC memos and analyses,
newsletter articles, educational materials, immigration law and policies, and links to key government and
organization sites.
The
National Network for Immigrant and Refugee Rights
www.nnirr.org
An advocacy group for immigrants. INS actions, recent issues of the INS
Raids Bulletin, NNIRR's bimonthly newsletter, immigration resources...
back to the top
Information
TechnologyGovernment Sites
US
Department of Commerce
home.doc.gov
Material from many of the key agencies in the technology sector, financial
forcasts, regulatory proceedings...
Federal Communications Commission
www.fcc.gov
Documents, data, studies, and reports...
Other Sites
The
Electronic Privacy Information Center
epic.org
Papers and studies on privacy, police powers, and content regulation...
Center
for Democracy and Technology
cdt.org
Tends to develop compromise positions with the politically powerful
high-tech industry. Data privacy, government surveillance,
legislation...
TechNet
www.technet.org
The Internet industry's policy positions. Other industry sites include
itic.org, operated by the Washing-based Informatin Technology Industry Council, itaa.org, run by the Washing-based Information Technology Association of America,
aeanet.org, operated by AeA, which used to be called the American Electronics Association.
The
Computer and Communications Industry Association
www.ccianet.org
Takes a hard line against Microsoft Corp. Documents nad studies supporting
its positions...
Business
Software Alliance
bsa.org
Concerns preventing software piracy. Other content-owner sites are riaa.org
and mpaa.org.
back to the top
International
EconomicsGovernment Sites
Bureau
of Economic Analysis
www.bea.doc.gov
Balance-of-payments and related data, articles, and survey forms.
Other
Sites
Global
Macroeconomic and Financial Policy Site
www.stern.nyu.edu/globalmacro
Most used by specialists in international economics policy. Current policy
topics, news, academic research, hot topics, data, speeches by various pashas of
global economics...
World Bank Group
www.worldbank.org
Data and statistics, facts and figures on employment, world economic development
indicators, reports and documents...
The
International Monetary Fund
www.imf.org
Details about Fund programs, working
papers, country information, press releases,
speeches by Fund officials, publications...
Organizaiton
for Economic Cooperation and Development
www.oecd.org
A clearinghouse for a group of the biggest industrial nations, a portal to a
wide range of official data from those countries' governments, OECD studies
of issues...
Institute for
International Economics
www.iie.com
Washington's premier think tank on the global economy. Short policy briefs,
working papers, recent books by institute fellows, links to other useful
sites ...
back to the top
JudiciaryGovernment
Sites
U.S. Department of
Justice --Office of Legal Policy
www.usdoj.gov/olp
Information on vacancies on the federal bench and pending judicial
nominations, and biographies of the judicial nominees. The
Federal Judicial Center
www.fjc.gov
Information about the history of the courts and the judiciary, biographical
and service records of all judges who have served on the U.S. Courts of
Appeal, and the Supreme Court since 1789.
U.S.
Courts
www.uscourts.gov
Links to the Supreme Court, all federal courts, including the bankruptcy
court. Also designed to assist educators in teaching about the federal
courts. Other Sites
The
Bennan Center for Justice
www.brennancenter.org
Focuses on the topic of judicial independence. Links to news, op-eds,
issues...
Independent
Judiciary
www.independentjudiciary.com
Information on the appointments process, vacancies,
and the gender and racial composition of the federal judiciary, courts,
nominees, senate, and news. Also an
interactive game "You be the Judge."
JudicialSelectioin.org
www.judicialselection.org
Factss, history, and quotes from players, information on vacancies,
nominees, senators...
Trips
for Judges
www.tripsforjudges.org
Databases for finding out what special interests
are wining and dining local judges...
The
American Judicature Society
www.ajs.org
Links to educational materials, publications about
the judiciary, and information about judicial ethics.
The
National Center for State Courts
www.ncsconline.org
Issues affecting the administration of justice at the state level,
statistics about state courts, center reports and publications, Annual
Report on Trends in the State Courts.
back to the top
MedicareGovernment
Sites
The Centers
for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
www.cms.gov
Information on programs, statements on Medicare issues, laws and
regulations, and other resources.
The
General Accounting Office
www.gao..gov
Links to the General Accounting Office reports that lawmakers have requested
on this topic.
The
Medicare Payment Advisory Commission
www.medpac.gov
Analysis of Medicare issues, reports to Congress and congressional
testimony, such as Medicare Payment Policy...
Other
Sites
The Henry J. Kaiser
Family Foundation
www.kaisernetwork.org
Comprehensive nongovernmental source of Medicare information. Congressional
hearings, press briefings, health policy in daily report...Its parent site www.kff.org
offers its own analysis of health care issues. a state data bank....Medicare
Watch
www.medicarewatch.org
A guide to Medicare policy experts. Recent research and links to other
sites.
The
Heritage Foundation
www.heritage.org
Reports by conservative authors on Medicare topic, analysis of key
legislation...
The
Commonwealth Fund
www.cmwf.org
Reports on various Medicare topics from multiple sources.
The
Urban Institute
www.urban.org
Analysis of Medicare proposals and issues, access to reports on
Medicare-related issues...
Health
Affairs
www.healthaffairs.org
Health policy journal. Articles nad papers that have been submitted from
various Medicare policy experts.
The
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
www.phrma.org
Informatioin about drugs under development, the costs of research and
development, and existing pharmaceutical assistance programs. Also
includes policy views on Medicare and Medicaid.
back to the top
Middle
EastGovernment Sites
Mitchell
Report
usinfo.state.gov/regional/nea/mitchell.htm
Sharm El-Sheikh Fact-Finding Committee Final
Report
U.S.
Department of State--International Information Programs
usinfo.state.gov/regional/nea/
Washington
file, policy, region in focus, resources and archives.
Bureau
of Near Eastern Affairs
www.state.gov/p/nea
U.S. foreign policy and U.S. diplomatic relations with the countries and
geographic entities in the region. Country information, regional topics,
biographies of chiefs of mission...
Other Sites
Al
Bawaba--the Middle East Gateway
www.albawaba.com
News and various topics, and portal to other sites based in the Arab
world.
IslamOnline
www.islam-online.net
Qatari site the most popular with an Islamist slant. News, views,
analysis...
Arabia.com
www.arabia.com
One of the trendier Middle East Web sites. Chat room, news...
Ha'aretz
www.haaretzdaily.com
English version of Ha'aretz, the Israeli daily newspaper known
for its liberal stance.
The
Middle East Institute
www.mideasti.org
The web site of the Washington-based Middle East Institute. Current and
back issues of The Middle East Journal, policy briefs, links to other sites.
Middle
East Studies Association
fp.arizona.edu/mesassoc
Academic research in the area, publications, conferences and links.
ITP
www.itp.net
Operated from the United Arab Emirates, it provides information on
technology and business in the region.
The
Gulf2000 Project
gulf2000.columbia.edu
Information on each country through links to local newspapers,
governments, and private groups.
Middle
East Policy Council
www.mepc.org
Policy forum, Journal:Middle East Policy, teacher workshop, guide
to to specialists, and links.
Jerusalem
Post
www.jpost.com
Twice nominated as the best non-U.S. online news site by Editor &
Publisher magazine, it includes news and analysis.
back to the top
Politics
Rough
& Tumble (Daily snapshot of California public
policy and politics)
www.rtumble.com
Summaries of stories from California's major newspapers and has links to
full versions of those stories. Links to California Journal, California
Channel, Cal Legislative analyst, etc.
National
Review
www.nationalreview.com
Current news and issues, analysis, article archive...
Washington
Post
www.washingtonpost.com
Timely information on breaking stories. "OnPolitics"
section provides additiona lanalysis...
Drudge
Report
www.drudgereport.com
"Whatever he seems to be reporting is often a precursor to what the
headlines are the next day." --Republican media consultant Russ
Schriefer.
Political
Grave Yard
www.politicalgraveyard.com
Information about where dead politicians are buried and their brief
political biography.
Redistricting
Scorecard
ilsc.uis.edu/mcdonald/redistricting_scorecard.htm
Timely updates and links on redistricting developments in all 50 states
and analysis of how the two parties are faring nationally.
back to the top
PresidencyGovernment
Sites
White
House
www.whitehouse.gov
The first stop on any Internet search for information about the White
House.
Presidential
Inaugurations (1789-2001) (Library of Congress)
memory.loc.gov/ammem/pihtml/pihome.html
Includes information on Presidential Oaths of Office, precedents and
notable events, bibles and scripture passages and references.
Presidents
and First Ladies ~ Portraits
memory.loc.gov/ammem/odmdhtml/preshome.html
First
Ladies -- Portraits
lcweb.loc.gov/rr/print/058_flal.html
Alphabetical listing of first ladies with their portraits. .
Other Sites
The
American Presidency Project
www.presidency.ucsb.edu/
| Over 26,000 documents including the Public Papers of the Presidents
(Hoover
1929 to Carter 1977), State of the Union Messages, Inaugural Addresses, Inaugural
Addresses, Florida Papers from the 2000
Election, over 300 audio clips, 26 data sets. |
The
Annual Messages to Congress on the State of the Union (1790-2002)
http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/site/docs/sou.php
Federal
Government Resources--Presidents of the United States
www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/fedprs
A comprehensive list of resources about every topic related to the
presidency.
The American
Presidents: Life Portraits
www.americanpresidents.org/
Created for the television series, it contains a complete video archive of
all American Presidents: Life Portraits programming, plus additional
resources.
The White House
2001 Project
www.whitehouse2001.org
Guide to transitions, White House operations, institutional memory,
appointments reference, organization chart, evaluation forms...
The
C-SPAN
www.c-span.org/executive/links.asp
Internet links to the offices within the White HOuse and to executive branch
Cabinet departments, speeches by Administration officials...
Presidents
of the United States
www.netcolony.com/news/presidents
Alphabetical list of topics related to the White House and the Presidents...
Vice
Presidents
www.vicepresidents.com
Biographies, their wives, trivia, debates, unsuccessful V.P. candidates...
back to the top
Religion
Government
Sites
United
States Commission on International Religious Freedom
www.uscirf.gov/index.php3
Commission reports, hearings, press conferences and speeches, international
religious freedom reports, human rights reports, country information...
Religion
and Public Schools
www.ed.gov/inits/religionandschools/l
Guidelines, statements, publications...
Religion
and the Founding of the American Republic
www.loc.gov/exhibits/religion/
Exhibition of the Library of Congress website.
Other
Sites
The Institute on Religion and Public Policy
www.religionandpolicy.org/
Links to websites of government, political organizations,
international religious organizations, news organizations, non-profit
organizations, and education institutions.
Policy
Statements from Other Organizations
www.aclu.org/congress/gfrother.html
Links from American Civil Liberties Union.
Religious
Liberty--American Civil Liberties Union
www.aclu.org/issues/religion/hmrf.html
Highlights, religious liberty in congress, and resources including
links to other religious freedom sites and ACLU in Congress archives on
religious freedom.
Religion
Online
www.religion-online.org/
More than 3,600 articles and chapters. Topics
include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of
Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Social Issues...
Adherents.com
www.adherents.com
Religious statistics, much of which is culled from censuses, surveys, and
other published sources.
back to the top
RussiaRussia
Sites
Russia Media Digest
www.therussianissues.com/
Top story, headlines fo the day, issues in depth...
Information
Telegraph Agency of Russia
www.itar-tass.com
A rich source of news and information.
Program
on New Approaches to Russian Security (PONARS)
www.csis.org/ruseura/ponars/
Acholars' analysis of Russian and Eurasian security issues. An archive of
PONARS publications, working papers, and policy memos...
Carnegie
Moscow Center
www.carnegie.ru
Full texts of the center's publications, information on programs, events...
CDI
Russia Weekly
www.cdi.org/russia
A weekly collection of articles from many sources. Free subscription.
Radio
Free Europe/Radio Liberty
www.rferl.org
Summaries of current news.
The
Moscow Times
www.moscowtimes.ru
News, current issues, business, travel guide, archive search...
Russia
Today
www.europeaninternet.com/russia
News concerning Russia and the European Union, business news...
Russia
Journal
www.russiajournal.com
International and domestic news, analysis, defense, stock market graphs, and currency valuation
charts...
back to the top
Social SecurityGovernment
Sites
Social
Security Administration
www.ssa.gov
Comprehensive information about Social Security, including benefits
information, benefit payment, facts and figures about the giant program,
special gateway pages, online direct services, services for business,
research and data, reporting fraud...
President's
Commission to Strengthen Social Security
www.csss.gov
News, statements, and findings Commission,
report, transcripts of hearings and meetings...
Social
Security Advisory Board
www.ssab.gov
An independent, bipartisan Board created by Congress and appointed by
the President and the Congress to advise the President, the Congress, and
the Commissioner of Social Security on matters related to the Social
Security and Supplemental Security Income programs. Includes its reports,
forum and links to related sites.
Congressional
Budget Office
www.cbo.gov
Click on "Publications" and there is a link to Social Security
and Pensions. Information about cost, financing, economic analysis...
Other
Sites
Heritage
Foundation
www.heritage.org
In-depth Heritage analysis of the issue, with a subject index of rate of
return, social security reform, and trust fund...
Social
Security (Cato Institute)
www.socialsecurity.org
Advocate of broad privatizatioin of Social Security. The sites contains
studies, proposals, speeches...
Center
on Budget and Policy Priorities
www.cbpp.org
Liberal-leaning, the center is skeptical of privatizing Social Security. Contains
budget issues, including how changes in Social Security, taxes, and
other programs might interact...
Brookings
Institution
www.brookings.edu
Academic-style research on Social Security.
The
Urban Institute
www.urban.org
Academic-style research on policy issues including Social Security.
Campaign
for America's Future
www.ourfuture.org
Views of a populistic, labor-oriented opponent
of Social Security privatization.
back to the top
Space
Government
Sites
The National
Aeronautics and Space Administration
www.nasa.gov
Information on a multitude of topics--from NASA
projects and facilities, to astronomy and earth science, to the history of
U.S. space exploration.
Other Sites
Space.com
www.space.com
Timely news, articles and interviews on everything
from space agencies and missions, to new astronomical discoveries, to
theories on extraterrestrial intelligence.
NASA
Watch
www.nasawatch.com
News and views on NASA operations, recent hot
topics, archives, mission updates...
Rocketry.com
www.rocketry.com
Contains upcoming launches, Encyclopedia Astronautica,
which breaks down space-related programs, people, and equipment by topic
SpaceRef.com
www.spaceref.com
News items, top stories, an event calendar, press releases, project status reports, and
live video.
Biospace.com
www.biospace.com
Web-based products and information services to life-science companies
and research groups. News and investment information for the biotechnology
sector.
SETI Institute
www.seti-inst.edu
A place to find out what is happening at the SETI Institute, the
research and education nonprofit that supports the search for
extraterrestrial life. Project summaries,
emerging technologies...
Heavens
Above
www.heavens-above.com
If you're interested in satellites or astronomy, you will find
information you need to observe satellites such as the International
Space Station and the Space Shuttle, spectacular events as well
as a wealth of other spaceflight and astronomical information.
back to the top
StatesState
Government Sites
National
Governors Association
www.nga.org
Governors' Web addresses, bios, pictures, and speeches. Issues,
news, legislative update, and hot topics...
National
Conference of State Legislatures
www.ncsl.org
A clearinghouse for the nation's 7,500 state legislators. NCSL reports,
policy issues, meeting schedules, voting results, and links to individual states'
legislative sites. Part of the site requires log-in.
States
News (Council of State Governments)
www.statesnews.org
State news from newspapers around the country, policy analysis, and also
links to the five regions of Council of State Government (CSG).
Other
Sites
Stateline
www.stateline.org
A repository for useful information from the state capitals, ranging
from governors' State of the State addresses to per capita tax collection
figures, issues alphabetically listed.
State
Net
www.statenet.com
A comprehensive bill-tracking and analysis service that follows all the
legislation offered in all state legislatures and Congress. Subscription
required.
Governing.com
www.governing.com
The site of Governing, a magazine for state and local officials.
Statescape
www.statescape.com
Information on party splits in the state legislatures, links to the
governors' home pages, update of topical issues, budget timetables broken
down by state.
American
Legislative Exchange Council
www.alec.org
Major issues, calendars, meetings, model legislation, task force...
State
Action
www.stateaction.org
State issues, forum, state of the states with key data and links, policy
leaders forum...
back to the top
Taxes
Government
Sites
Internal
Revenue Service (IRS)
www.irs.gov
Tax stats, forms and publications, tax regulations, information for
individuals, businesses...
Joint
Committee on Taxation
www.house.gov/jct
"General Explanation of Joint Committee an Taxation" and the
"Blue Booklet".
Other Sites
Tax
and Accounting Sites Directory
www.taxsites.com
Comprehensive list of topics on taxes. E.g. "Policy and
Reform" provides links to tax policy research, state tax policy, public
and economic policy, etc.
Center
on Budget and Policy Priorities
www.cbpp.org
Left-leaning site with upcoming releases, state policy focus,
issues in-depth...
TaxPolicy.com
www.taxpolicy.com
A questionnaire that allows you to "build your own tax policy"
and other links.
Americans for
Tax Reforms
atr.org
Right-wing tax reform site with press releases, congressional testimony,
state news, issues, access to position papers on major areas of the tax reform debate...
Organization
for Economic Cooperation and Development
www.oecd.org
Tracks things in other countries.
back to the top
Telecommunications
Government
Sites
Federal
Communications Commission
www.fcc.gov
Headlines, auctions, commission meeting schedules, "Freedom of
Information Act", FCC forms, and information about Local &
State Government Advisory Committee
Federal
Trade Commission
www.ftc.gov
Reviews certain mergers in the high-tech industry to ensure compliance
with antitrust laws.
Bureau
of Labor Statistics
stats.bls.gov
A site for following pricing or employment trends in telecommunications
sectors.
Other Sites
Broadcasting
& Cable
broadcastingcable.com
Articles on industry development covering such areas as law, regulation,
finance, programming, advertising and technology, and breaking news stories.
Multichannel
News
multichannel.com
Covers programming, advertising, marketing, finance, broadband, and
government activities, as they relate to cable-TV operators and their
suppliers.
Tech
Law Journal
www.techlawjournal.com
Summarizes legislation, litigation, and regulations affecting the
computer and Internet industry.
New
Media Sparks
itvindustry.com
Telecome news, digital television news, top media stories, and
other sources and databases.
back to the top
Terrorism
Government
Sites
The U.S. State
Department Counterterrorism Office
www.state.gov/s/ct/
Record of U.S. policy toward terrorism, "Patterns of Global
Terrorism" annual report to Congress, historical and contemporary
accounts...
America
Responds to Terrorism
www.whitehouse.gov/response/
Press releases from the Cabinet agencies and the White House,
current data on the war.
U.S.
Commission on National Security
www.nssg.gov
Online reports, USCNS news, and other articles.
Other
Sites
Cargegie Endowment
for International Peace
ceip.org/files/nonprolif
Country resources, news and analysis, weapons, nuclear numbers,
and other online resources.
National
Security Archive at George Washington University
www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv
Maintains the world's largest library of declassified material.
"The September 11 Sourcebooks", U.S. foreign policy, intelligence
policy and other projects.
The
Federation of American Scientists--America's War on Terrorism
www.fas.org/terrorism/l
Index for a guide to chemical, nuclear, and biological weapons;
strategies and weapons, reports on foreign governments...
Rand
www.rand.org
A wide range of research areas including national security, full-text
publications such as Countering the New Terrorism, and many more.
The
Center for Strategic and International Studies
csis.org
A lot of useful background spread throughout its Web pages.
"Programs", "Issues", and "Publications" are
worth browsing.
The
Center on Defense Information
cdi.org
The Terrorism Project includes "action update", articles
on U.S. weapon systems, terrorist network, foreign policy/security strategy,
homeland defense...
Global
Beat
nyu.edu/globalbeat
Intended as a resource for journalists covering international issues, it
publishes essays, editorials, analyses, and transcripts from news sources,
think tanks, and governments across the world.
back to the top
Trade
Government
Sites
Office of the United
States Trade Representative
www.ustr.gov
Information on recent governmental trade actions, trade and the
environment, U.S. actions at the World Trade Organization, speeches and
testimony, reports, and information on other regions of the world.
International
Trade Administration -- Commerce Department
www.ita.doc.gov
All sorts of U.S. trade statistics by country and by product, and key
links.
Other Sites
World
Trade Organization
www.wto.org
Global trade statistics, WTO news, WTO topics, community forum and more.
The
United States Mission to the European
Union
www.useu.be
In the "Issues" section, the topic trade includes U.S.-EU
trade relations, intellectual property rights, fisheries, and dossiers of
foreign sales corp., steel, WTO/Doha round, and bananas.
Business
Full Coverage (Yahoo.com)
dailynews.yahoo.com/full_coverage/business/trade
Daily digest of recent daily trade-related news and magazine stories,
links to trade-related Web sites, plus audio feeds.
Global
Trade Negotiations (Center for International Development of Harvard
University)
www.cid.harvard.edu/cidtrade
Links to news articles on trade, access to academic, World Bank, and
other research papers, trade policy gook of the month, information
research institutions, individual researchers and their curriculum,
publications, etc.
Economist.com
www.economist.co.uk
Articles on global news and science and technology and book reviews.
Financial
Times
www.ft.com
Corporate news reports, country, industry surveys, special reports...
World
Trade Law
worldtradelaw.net
Background on recent decisions and current cases before the World Trade
Organization, links to international agreements...
back to the top
TransportationGovernment
Sites
U.S. Department of
Transportation
www.dot.gov
Links to all bureaus and agencies, press releases, speeches and
testimony..
Bureau of
Transportation Statistics
www.bts.gov
Data on topics ranging from highway to U.S. airlines.
Also the National Household Travel Survey.
Office
of Inspector General
www.oig.dot.gov
IG reports broken down into categories, semiannual reports, press releases,
and testimony/statements.
National
Transportation Library
www.ntl.bts.gov
A huge repository of transportation materials and reports from organizations
across the country.
The
House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure
www.house.gov/transportation
Hot issues, current news, transcripts of hearings, and live broadcast...
National
Transportation Safety Board
www.ntsb.gov
Information on aviation, highway, railroad, and marine accidents. Sections
also include Recommendations & Accomplishments, Family Affairs, Legal
Matters, News & Events and Publications.
Other Sites
Surface
Transportation Policy Project
www.transact.org
Administered by a pro-transit and pro-"smart growth" group, this
site contains reports on urban sprawl and its consequences, and other
related information on effective programs and tool box.
Public
Purpose
www.publicpurpose.com
The conservative response to such sites as Surface
Transportation Policy Project mentioned above. It provides articles and
reports, transportation and demographic statistics.
American
Road & Transportation Builders Association
www.artba.org
Data and economic analyses on highway building, ARTBA policy issues,
regulatory issues, and many more
Air
Transport Association
www.air-transport.org
Contact information for all member airlines, statistics on airline traffic,
accidents, and fatalities, U.S. airline industry facts, figures, and
economic analyses, government affairs...
back to the top
WelfareGovernment
Sites
Administration
for Children and Families
www.acf.dhhs.gov/news/welfare
Essential documents, guidance and
status docs, statistics, TANF reports to Congress, charts summarising welfare caseloads, policy
clarifications, and related links.
Welfare
and Work
aspe.hhs.gov/hsp/hspwelfare.htm
Information organized by topic,
welfare reform outcomes, welfare-to-work, caseloads trends and
administrative data, state programs and policies...
Other
Sites
Welfare
Information Network
www.welfareinfo.org
This site covers everyone and everything. The
contents are arranged in logical categories.
Welfare
Reform and Beyond
www.brookings.edu/wrb
Recent activities, policy briefs, editorials
research, publications, facts/statistics.
The
Urban Institute- Assessing the New Federalism Databases
www.urban.org
National Survey of America's families, welfare rules database, state
database, state TANF income calculator, federal justice statistics, national
center for charitable statistics, Form 990, and neighborhood indicators.
The
Urban Institute--Welfare reform: reports
www.urban.org
Topics: Welfare time limits, Families who left welfare, How
well urban labor markets can absorb welfare recipients, Declines in Food
Stamp and welfare participation...
National
Governors Association
www.nga.org
Users need to put in "welfare reform" in search and get information
on the topic in the "Center for Best Practices". State policies,
studies and links.
Rural
Policy Research Institute
www.rupri.org
Users can go to "Programs" and select "welfare".
Information on background, people in the Rural Welfare Reform Panel,
publications (including policy papers, data, maps) and policy
resources. _________________________________________________________________________
Back to the top of the page
Back to CSUS
Library HomePage