Public  Policy and Administration
 

  
 Revised and maintained by Hong Wang

Information on public policy and administration is located in many different sources. Listed below are many of the most frequently used sources, but since public policy topics range across disciplines, these sources will need to be supplemented once a topic is chosen.

   Part I.  Print resources      Part II.  Online resources  
    General References / News  
    Indexes and Abstracts
    Periodicals & Series
    Statistics  
    Agencies/legislators/their voting records
    Laws
    Subject Terms
    Databases and Periodical Indexes    
    Laws  
    News
    Research Institutions
    Statistics  
    Websites by topic (A-Z)   

   Citing Electronic Resources
Part I.  Print resources 

General References  / News

Encyclopedia of public administration and public policy. ref. JK 9 .E526 2004
Encyclopedia of American Public Policy. ref JK 468 .P64 J33 1999
International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration. ref H 98 .I574 1998
CQ Researcher.   ref H 35 .E352  Also available in CQLibrary from Library Home Page
CQ Almanac.  ref JK 1001 .C6  
Facts On File. ref D 11 .F3 (Summaries of news events)
Information-Finding and the Research Process: a Guide to Sources and Methods for Public
    Administration and the Policy Sciences.
ref JFZ 7164 .A2 S53 1993
Research Methods for Public Administrators. JF 1338 .A2 O78 1995

Public records online : the national guide to private & government online sources of public records. JK 468 .P76 P83 1999   

Print Indexes And Abstracts  
CSA political science & government (ABC Pol Sci.). Index Area JA 71 .A214  
American Statistics Index.  Index Area HAZ 7754 .U5 A46
CIS Annual. Index Area J 69 .C15
Human Resources Abstracts. Index Area HCZ 7165 .U5 P2 (Library has 1975-1998)
Index to Current Urban Documents. ref HTZ 7165 .U5 I654
Public Affairs Information Service. Index Area HZ 7163 .P9
Sage Public Administration Abstracts. Index Area JA 1 .S27 (Library has 1974-1999)
Social Sciences Citation Index. Index Area HZ 7161 .S62
Social Sciences Index. Index Area AI 3 .R494
Urban Studies Abstracts. Index Area HT 51 .S24 (Library has 1973-1998)

Periodicals & Series 
Periodicals are located in Floor 3 South, shelved alphabetically by title. Volumes published prior to 1980 are shelved on Lower Level. Current newspapers are in 3 South Newsprint until replaced by microfilm in Library Media Center on Floor 1. For a look at the active periodical subscriptions in the category of public policy and administration in CSUS library, click  here at /guides/wangh/gov_journals.htm. The following is a list of some journals and series. Please note that the titles followed with call numbers are series located either in reference collection or in regular circulation collection.

  • American review of public administration
  • The Brookings review
  • California journal
  • California policy choices.  (1984-1994) JK 8701 .C35
  • California politics & policy : a journal of the "Pat" Brown Institute of Public Affairs, California State University, Los Angeles.  JK 8701 .C37   (1996-1998)
  • California voter
  • Calpeek
  • The Cato journal
  • Cato policy report
  • Congressional digest
  • The CQ researcher Ref H 35 .E353
  • Creativity plus : a newsletter-journal of the Policy Studies Organization
  • Decision sciences
  • Developmental policy studies : the newsletter-journal of the regional PSO's
  • Imprimis
  • Journal of policy analysis and management
  • Journal of policy history : JPH
  • Journal of management history [computer file] (1995-2000, merged into Management Decision). 
  • Policy evaluation : the newsletter-journal of the Policy Evaluation Group of PSO.   H96.P65
  • Policy sciences
  • Policy studies journal: the journal of the Policy Studies Organization
  • Policy studies review
  • RAND issue paper : exploring topics of interest to the policy community. Ref H 97 .R36
  • RAND research brief.  Ref D 860 .R3
  • Research brief / Public Policy Institute of California 
Statistics
Budget of the United States Government. ref HJ 2051 .A61 yr.
California Cities, Towns and Counties. ref HA 265 .C29 yr.
California Governor's Budget Highlights. ref HJ 11 .C24 yr.
California Statistical Abstract. ref HA 261 .C3 yr.
Census of the United States. (various locations and formats)
County and City Data Book. ref HA 202 .A36 yr.
County and City Extra. ref HA 203 .C68 yr.

The Field poll (California). ref HN 90 .P8 C35 
The Gallup poll monthly.  ref HN 90 .P8 G2
Greater Sacramento Area Statistical Abstract ref HA 267 .S12 C3 yr.

The Harris poll.  ref HN 90 .P8 H3
Sourcebook of County Demographics. ref HA 203 .S65 yr.
Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics. ref HA 203 .S66 yr.
Statistical Abstract of the United States. ref HA 202 yr.


American Statistics Index (ASI).  Index Area HAZ 7754 .U5 A46  (For federal data sources.)
Statistical Reference Index (SRI).  Index Area HAZ 7554 .U5 S853 (For state and non-government data sources.)  

Agencies, legislators and Their Voting Records 
The Almanac of American politics. Ref JK 271 .A44
Congressional Quarterly's politics in America. ref JK 1012 .P64 
Washington information directory. ref JK 6 .W3
California political almanac. ref JK 8701 .C36 
Encyclopedia of associations. Ref HS 17 .G3  

Laws   
      The best place to go in this area is online resources. Please see Part II.   For CSUS holdings, please see Guides by Ben Amata, our government document librarian <http://www.csus.edu/indiv/a/amatab/govdocs/guides.htm>. 

United States code annotated. ref KF 62 .A3   
West's Federal Practice Digest. Ref KF 127 .W482 1989 
West's California digest. Ref KFC 57 .W53

Searching EUREKA by Subject   
The CSUS Library’s online catalog, EUREKA, contains bibliographic records  for books, periodicals, and government documents held by the library, including microfiche, microfilm and links to available electronic databases and web resources. These can be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, and call number The following is an example list of major subject terms used in searching public policy and administration.  
Public Administration   
Public Administration History Periodicals
Public Administration United States Periodicals
Public Administration California 
Political Planning California Periodicals
Public Administration Case Studies 
Public Administration United States  
Public Administration United States States 
Policy Sciences 
Policy Sciences Periodicals 
Policy Sciences United States History 
   Public Policy 
  
Public Policy Management  
   Political Planning 
  
Political Planning California 
  
Political Planning California Case Studies  
  
Political Planning Case Studies 
  
Political Planning United States  
  
Political Planning United States Case Studies 
   
Political Planning United States Periodicals 
   

Part II.  Online resources

Databases and Periodical Indexes    
       The following are the major databases for articles on the subject. They are available to CSUS users and can be accessed through Databases and Periodical Indexes </databases/>. For connecting to library databases from off-campus, read instructions  at  Off -Campus Access
CQ Library    
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)  
EconLit
GPO Access *free to public
JSTOR
Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe
Project MUSE
 


Proquest Newsstand
RAND California
Sacramento Bee
San Francisco Chronicle
San Jose Mercury News
Social Sciences Full Text
Wiley InterScience

 

Laws      

News

Research Institutions

Statistics  

Citing Electronic Resources

Back to the top of the page

Back to CSUS Library HomePage

Questions/comments to:
Hong  Wang,  Social Science Reference Librarian
wanghong@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento
Revised 4/02
Last updated 4/2006