Political Science: International Relations

 Compiled by    Hong Wang and Bill Kristie 


              
References

Dictionaries
 
Encyclopedias

Country Information
 
Comparative Government
Leaders
Directories/Guides  
Year Books
 
Style Manuals  

Articles in Journals/Newpapers

Databases/Indexes
Print sources

Books

EUREKA
Subject terms


United States Government Publications
United Nations Publications
Treaties
Statistics
 
World Wide Web
             
References          
Dictionaries
     Dictionary of politics : selected American and foreign political and legal terms
JA 61 .R39 1992 
     The dictionary of 20th-century world politics
JA 61 .S53 1993 
     Arms Control, Disarmament, and Military Security Dictionary.
ref JX 1974 .E45
     International Relations Dictionary.
ref JX 1226 .P55 1988
     International Law Dictionary. ref JX 1226 .B57
     International Organizations and World Order Dictionary. ref JX 1995 .A4595 1992
     What's what in world politics : a reference book JX 1226 .C47 1987

Encyclopedias
     World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties.
ref JF 2011 .W67 1987
     International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration. ref H 98 .I574

     The encyclopedia of the United Nations and international relations
JX 1977 .O8213 1990
    
Encyclopedia of the Third World. ref HC 59.7 .K87
     Encyclopedia of U.S. foreign relations (4 volumes) ref E 183.7 .E53 1997
     Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy:
          Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas.
ref JX 1407 .E53 (3 volumes)
     The encyclopedia of international boundaries ref JX 4111 .E53 1995
     World Encyclopedia of Peace. ref JZ 5533 .W67 1999

Countries -- Background Information
     Europa World Year book. ref D 2 .E87 (1989-current)
     Political risk yearbook JX 1252 .P65 2001 (8 volumes)
     Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. ref G 63 .W67 2001
     Culturgrams: the Nations Around Us. ref GT 150 .C85 2000
     Countries of the World. ref D 848 .C6 (1980-94)
    
Portals to the World  www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
     CountryWatch 
http://www.countrywatch.com/ 

Comparative Government     
     Governments of the world : a student companion
ref JF 127 .P56 1998
     Political systems of the world  ref JF 51 .D467 1996
     World government ref JF 51 .W65 1990 
     Parliaments of the world : a comparative reference compendium  ref JF 501 .P36 1986

Leaders -- Biographical Information
    
Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations (Vol. 6)
ref. G 63 .W67 2001
     Founders of modern nations : a biographical dictionary ref D 226.7 .H36 1995
     Heads of state and government ref JF 37 .D3 2000
     Who's who in world politics : from 1860 to the present day  ref. D 21.3 .P35 1996
     The International year book and statesmen's who's who  ref JF 37 .I5 (1953-1996)
    
Kingdoms of Europe : an illustrated encyclopedia of ruling monarchs from ancient times to the
                present
D 107 .G85 1982
     Statesmen who changed the world: a bio-bibliographical dictionary of diplomacy ref D 108 .S73 
     Modern world rulers : a chronology  ref JF 37 .L35
    
Who's who in the United Nations and related agencies JX 1977 .W467 1992

Directories/Guides
     
     Congressional Quarterly's International Information Directory
. ref JX 1905.5 C65
     Foreign government offices in California : a directory JX 1725 .C2 F67 1995
     Careers in International Affairs. ref JX 1293 .U6 C28 1997

Annual Reviews / Year Book     
     Then Annual register: world events  ref.  D2 .A7 (1758--current)
     Annual review of political science
ref JA 1 .A7 (1998--current)
     Annual review of United Nations affairs. ref JX 1977.A1 A5 (Latest in Reference;1949-1995 in circulating)
     The Statesman's year-book  ref JF 37.S8 (1996--current, earlier in Lower Level)
    
The United Nations disarmament yearbook JX 1974 .U546
     The World almanac and book of facts  ref AY 67 .N5 W7 (Latest 5 years in Reference; earlier in Lower Level)

Citation Styles
     APA
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association  BF 76.7 .P83 2001
    
The Chicago manual of style, 14th ed
. ref  Z 253 .C57 1993  

     MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing  PN 147 .G444 1999
     Style Manuals and Guides to Research & Writing /guides/sturmt/style.htm 
     Citing Electronic Resources  /guides/bradleya/eography.htm    _____________________________________________________________________________________________   
                                                                                                                                        
--> Back to the top   

Articles in Journals/Newpapers     

Electronic Indexes and databases
The following electronic databases index articles in newspapers, magazines and journals, many of which are full-text. They are available from the Library Homepage (/) by selecting Databases and Periodical Indexes. These databases are accessible from library Network Stations and from campus computer labs. For connecting to library databases from off-campus, please read instructions at   http://library.csus.edu/content2.asp?pageID=47
 
CIAO CQ Library,
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)   JSTOR
CountryWatch   Social Sciences Fulltext
Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe CountryWatch  
Project MUSE  America: History and Life
AccessUN  Historical Abstracts
STAT-USA WorldAlmanac
Printed sources
Periodicals are located in Floor 3 South, shelved alphabetically by title. Volumes published prior to 1980 are shelved on Lower Level. Current newspapers are in 3 South Newsprint until replaced by microfilm in Library Media Center on Floor 1. For a look at the active periodical subscriptions in the category of international affairs in CSUS library, click
here at /guides/wangh/ia_journals.htm. The following are the major printed indexes to periodical articles.

CSA political science & government (ABC Pol Sci.). Index Area JA 71 .A214  
PAIS international in print. Index Area HZ 7163 .P94 
Social Sciences Index. Index Area AI 3 .R494
Social Sciences Citation Index. Index Area HZ7161.S62
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. ref UGZ 5063 .A2 A4
Peace Research Abstracts Journal. ref JX 1901 .P38
__________________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                                 
--> Back to the top   

Books and Reports   

EUREKA 
The Eureka Computer Catalog (located on every floor in the Library and on the World Wide Web at the
Library Homepage (/) lists books, master’s theses, government documents, media, etc. that the library owns on all subjects. It also lists which periodicals the library owns by the name of the periodical. These materials can be searched by author, title, subject, or keyword. The advanced keyword search helps you limit your search by material type, location, language, and year of publication, etc. 

Subject terms
The Library of Congress Subject Headings lists specific subject terms to use in EUREKA.
The following is a list of some subject terms useful in searching world politics and international affairs.

International relations 
International Relations Decision Making  International Relations Economic Aspects International Relations History
International Relations Methodology 
International Relations Periodicals
International Relations Philosophy
International Relations Political Aspects
International Relations Psychological Aspects
International Relations Social Aspects
International Relations Statistics
United States -- International relations
World Politics 
World Politics periodicals
World Politics 20th Century Case Studies  
World Politics 21st Century 
World Politics Maps 
World Politics Handbooks Manuals Etc
Comparative Government 
Comparative Government Periodicals 
Comparative Government Research 
International Organization 
International Agencies 
United Nations        
         __________________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                                             
--> Back to the top   

United States Government Documents  

Code of Federal regulations. Title 22 Foreign Relations  Ref KF 70 .A3
(Also online at http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/cfrhtml_00/Title_22/22tab_00.html)
United States Government Manual. ref JK 404 .A3
MarciveWeb DOCS A Catalog of U.S. Government publications, reports, and maps from July 1976 to the present.
Government Documents (by Ben Amata, government document librarian)
_______________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                               
--> Back to the top   

United Nations Publications

AccessUN  indexes United Nations resolutions, documents and other items from 1991-current,
                 many of which are full-text. It is available from the
Library Homepage  
                 (/) under Databases and Periodical Indexes.  

Everyone's United Nations: a Handbook on the United Nations, its Structure and Activities. 
                 
ref JX 1977 .A37 E9
The encyclopedia of the United Nations and international relations ref JX 1977 .O8213 1990
Historical Dictionary of the United Nations. ref JX 1977 .B395 1995
United Nations. Yearbook. ref JX 1977 .A37 Y4
Annual Review of United Nations Affairs. ref JX 1977 .A1 A5
United Nations Disarmament Yearbook. ref JK 1974 .U546
United Nations Publications Catalogue. ref JXZ 6485 .C37
United National Documents Index. Index Area JXZ 6482 .U45
__________________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                              
--> Back to the top   

Treaties

Most treaties are in the reference and circulating book stacks in the call number JX. This includes such series as United States Treaties and Other International Agreements and the United Nations Treaty Series. Treaties can be located in the EUREKA Computer Catalog under the name of the country, e.g., "Russia--Foreign Relations--Treaties" or under the more general heading "Treaties--Collections".
Treaties and Alliances of the World. ref JX 4005 .T72
__________________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                              
--> Back to the top   

Statistics   
         
(Statistical publications on individual countries appear under ref HA 12-HA 175 and HA 741-HA 5000)

          International historical statistics : the Americas, 1750-1993 
ref  HA 175 .M55 1998 
          International historical statistics : Europe, 1750-1993  ref HA 1107 .M5 1998 
          International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993  ref HA 4675 .M552 1998 
          African statistical yearbook  ref HA 1955 .U5 (1998)
          Asia-Pacific in figures.  ref HA 4551 .A853 1999 
          Political data handbook : OECD countries  ref HA 155 .P65 1997 
          Statistical yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean.   Ref HA 755 .A5  (1985--)
          World population projections to 2150  ref  HA 155 .W67 1998 
          The illustrated book of world rankings  ref HA 155 .K87 2001 
          Statistical yearbook = Annuaire statistique 
Ref HA 12.5 .U63 (1989-1998)

          United Nations. Demographic Yearbook. ref HB 881 .D4
          Yearbook of Labour Statistics. ref HD 4826 .I63
          Yearbook of National Accounts Statistics. ref HC 79 .I5 D9
          World Economic Outlook: a Survey by the Staff of the International Monetary Fund. ref HC 59 .W64
          UNESCO Statistical Yearbook. ref HA 40 .C8 U53
          World Military and Social Expenditures. ref HJ 7469 .S58
          World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers. Gov Docs AC 1.16:
          World Armaments and Disarmament: SIPRI Yearbook. ref UA 10 /S69a
          __________________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                                            
--> Back to the top   

World Wide Web
          

         
Selected Political Sciences Resources (Ben Amata, government document librarian) 
          CSUS Government Department--Sites of Interest  (including site evaluation)
          Argus Clearinghouse This internet site reviews and ranks useful sites in all subjects. To get to a list of  
                     recommended sites for international politics, select Social Science and Social Issues, then Political 
                      Science and finally International Affairs.
            More:    
          

Governement Sites

Portals to the World
www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
Links to electronic resources from around the world, starting with an alphabetical list of  country names.  

World Fact Book-- Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
www.cia.gov
Country profiles. 

The State Department
www.state.gov
Links to press briefings and biographies of key diplomats, "Country Background Notes", travel warnings and visa information...

Other Sites

Foreign Affairs Online
www.people.virginia.edu/~rjb3v/rjb.html
A broad range of international relations topics, under categories of reference material, governments, international law and organization, international affairs.

The Global Site
www.theglobalsite.ac.uk/ir/
Gateway to world politics, society and culture.

International Affairs.com
internationalaffairs.com/
A selection of resources arranged topically and geographically.

Program on International Policy Attitudes (PIPA)
http://www.pipa.org
Complete wire coverage of the latest international events 

The Canadian Institute of International Affairs
www.ciia.org
List of links to other foreign-affairs-related sites.

The United Nations
www.un.org
Latest news from the world body, a calendar of U.N. events, various U.N. documents... 

Embassy.org
www.embassy.org
A clearinghouse for the various embassies in Washington. 

The Council on Foreign Relations
www.cfr.org
Latest news in foreign relations, policy studies, links to its publication, Foreign Affairs...

The BBC News Web
www.bbc.co.uk
News by regions of the world, liver forums... 

The European Union
www.eurounion.org
Information on Europe and European Union.... 

Foreign Policy
www.foreignpolicy.com
Access to articles from its current issue (subscription required), a list of international links broken down by topic... 

Virtual Resources: International Relations Research Resources on the Web
mitpress.mit.edu/journals/INOR/deibert-guide/TOC.html
Annotated links to resources in a wide variety of categories.

Irish Times
www.ireland.com
Weather reports of any paper in the world and their international news coverage. 

Human Rights Watch
www.hrw.org
International human rights concerns broken down by region and issue, its publications including World Report..... 

 

                                                                                                                            --> Back to the top   

Back to CSUS Library HomePage

Questions/comments to:
Hong  Wang, Social Science Reference Librarian
wanghong@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento
Created  8/02
Last updated: 10/2007