Go to the CSUS Library Website

Chicago Manual of  Style Guide 
15th edition

Compiled by Hong Wang

       Chicago Manual of Style (Call No. Z 253 .C57 2003 ) is available at the dictionary stand on each floor
of the library. This handout gives a brief introduction to the basic forms of a bibliography, endnotes/footnotes 
and parenthetical text citation. All the examples are from the 15th edition of the
Chicago Manual  of Style 
without any change.

      Bibliography                 Endnotes / Footnotes            Parenthetical text citation     Web Sites
_________________________________________________________________________________

Bibliography

      “Bibliography” is used here to denote the list of books, articles, and other references.  
All sources to be included – books, articles, dissertations, papers – are alphabetically arranged
 in a single list by the last names of the authors (or, if no author or editor is given, by the title or 
a keyword readers are most likely to seek). 
     Authors' names are inverted to put the family
 name first (but only for the first of two or more authors). 
         
--The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th Edition,  p 612, 579. 

        Books

One author     
     Beiser, Frederick C. The Fate of Reason: German Philosophy from  Kant to Fichte.
          Cambridge
, MA: Harvard University Press, 1987.                                
 
Two authors
   
     Kogan, Herman, and Lloyd Wendt. Chicago: A Pictorial  History. New York : Dutton, 1958.

Three authors  
    
Baynes, Kenneth, James Bohmann, and Thomas McCarthy, eds.  After Philosophy.  
          Cambridge
, MA
: MIT Press, 1987.

Edited works
  (ed. / eds.) 
    Soltes, Ori Z., ed. Georgia: Art and Civilization through the  Ages.  
             London: Philip Wilson, 1999. 
    Baynes, Kenneth, James Bohmann, and Thomas McCarthy, eds. After Philosophy.  
              Cambridge
, MA: MIT Press, 1987.

Editor+author   
       
Shakespeare, William. All's Well that Ends Well. Edited by Russell Fraser. 
              New York: Cambridge University Press, 1985.                             
Institutional
  name        
        U.S. Senate. Committee on Public Lands. Leasing Oil Lands. 65th Cong., 1st Sess., 1977. 
Anonymous       
       Stanze in lode della donna brutta.
Florence, 1547.  

        
Articles

One author     
     --
With volume numbers only 
       
Loften, Peter. "Reverberations between Wordplay and Swordplay in Hamlet."
             Aeolian Studies 2 (1989): 12-29

    
--With volume and issue numbers 
       
Mcmillen, Sally G. "Antebellum Southern Fathers and the Health Care of  Children."
              Journal of  Southern History 60, no. 3 (1994): 513-32.
   
--With issue numbers only
      
Beattie, J.M. "The Pattern of Crime in England, 1660-1800." Past and Present, 
            
no. 62 (1974): 47-95.
    --
With season or month 
      
White, Stephen A. "Callimachus Battiades (Epigr. 35)." Classical Philology 94 
              (April 1999): 168-81. 
       Wilson, George. "Again, Theory: On Speaker's Meaning, Linguistic Meaning, and the Meaning 
             of a Text." Critical Inquiry 19 (Autumn 1992): 1-21.

Two authors   
         Myers, N., and R. Tucker. "Deforestation in Central America: Spanish Legacy and
                North American Consumers." Environmental Review, Spring 1987, 55-71.     

Three authors   (As in Books, only the first author's name is inverted.) 

      Newspapers

With author(s)
        
Goodstein, Laurie, and William Glaberson. " The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal 
                Rage." New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition, sec. 1. 

Unsigned articles
         
 "In Texas, Ad Heats Up Race for Governor," New York Times, July 30, 2002,
A.15

    Popular magazines

         -- Cook, Alison. "Phoenix Rising." Gourmet, April 2000, 62-64. 
         -- Gourmet. Kitchen Notebook. May 2000. 

    Electronic / Online materials

       -- Journal
             Thomas, Trevor M. "Wales: Land of Mines and Quarries." Geographical Review
                 46, no. 1 (1956): 59-81. http://links.jstor.org/sici?=0016-7427%28195601
      
-- Magazine
            
Reaves, Jessica. "A Weighty Issue: Ever-Fatter Kids." Interview
                 with James Rosen. Time, March 14, 2001. http://www.time.com/time/
                  nation/article/0,8599,102443,00.html. 
 
         --Newspaper
           
Mitchell, Alison, and Frank Bruni. "Scars Still Raw, Bush Clashes with McCain."
                 New York Times, March 25, 2001. http://www.nytimes.com/2001/03/25/
                 politics/25MCCA.html (accessed January 2, 2002). 
         -- Informally published electronic material
             Evanston Public Library Board of Trustees. "Evanston Public Library Strategic
                 Plan, 2000-2010: A Decade of Outreach." Evanston Public Library.
                 http://www.epl.org/library/strategic-plan-00.html. 
_______________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                      Return to top of the page

 Endnotes / Footnotes 
    
In notes, authors' names are given in the normal order. Note reference numbers in text
 are set as superior (superscript) numbers. In the notes themselves, they are normally full
 size, not raised, and followed by a period. 
        
--The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th Edition,  p 597, 600. 

  Books
       2. Lynne Rossetto Kasper, The Italian Country Table: Home Cooking from 
   Italy's Farmhouse Kitchens
(New York: Scribner, 1999), 10-11.
       3. William Strunk Jr. and E.B. White, The Elements of Style, 4th ed. (New York: 
    Allyn and Bacon, 2000), 3. 

  Articles
        
1. Douglas D. Heckathorn, "Collective Sanctions and Compliance Norms: A
   Formal Theory of Group-Mediated Social Control," American Sociological
   Review
55 (1990): 370.

  Online Document
        
3. Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds., The Founders' Constitution
  
(Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000), chap. 9, doc. 3, http://press-pubs.
   uchicago.edu/founders/documents/v1ch9s3.html.
   
  The basic short form
        
1. Samuel A. Morley, Poverty and Inequality in Latin America: The Impact of
     Adjustment and Recovery
(Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1995), 24-25.
          2. Regina M. Schwartz, "Nationals and Nationalism: Adultery in the House of David,"
     Critical Inquiry 19, no. 1 (1992): 131-32.
          3. Ernest Kaiser, "The Literature of Harlem," in Harlem: A Community in 
     Transition,
ed. J. H. Clark (New York: Citadel Press, 1964). 
          4. Morley, Poverty and Inequality, 43. 
          5. Schwartz, "Nationals and Nationalism," 138.
          6. Kaiser, "Literature of Harlem," 189, 140.
____________________________________________________________________
                                                                                       Return to top of the page

Parenthetical Text Citation  (author-date style) 
     
An author-date citation in running text or at the end of a block quotation consists of
the last (family) name of the author, followed by the year of publication of the work  in 
question. In this context, "author" may refer not only to one or more authors or an institution but 
also to one or more editors, translators, or compilers. No punctuation appears between author 
and date. 
--The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th Edition,  p 620. 

       --Basic
         
(Pacini 1997)
      --Two or three authors
       
(Ikenbery, Rankine, and Stice 1996)
      --More than three authors
        
(Zipursky et al. 1997)
      --When two or more works by different authors with the same last name appear
          in the bibliography
          (C. Doershuk 2000)
          (J. Doershuk 2001)

______________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                     
Return to top of the page
Web sites
Citation Machine at http://www.citationmachine.net/
CSU Los Angeles Library at http://www.calstatela.edu/library/guides/3chicago.pdf
Examples of Chicago- Style Documentation at http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools.html
Using the Chicago Style System at http://writing.colostate.edu/guides/sources/chicago/
Citation Styles (Chicago) at http://www.bedfordstmartins.com/online/cite7.html

                                                                                                      

                                                Library Home Page
                                   Databases and Periodical Indexes
_______________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                   
Return to top of the page

Questions/comments to:
Hong Wang, Social Science Reference Librarian
wanghong@csus.edu 
California State University, Sacramento
Last updated: 5/2006