California:  Government and Politics
Resources in library and online

   Hong Wang  


                                     __________________________________________________________________________
 

General Information /history 
Constitution

Executive Branch
 
Judiciary
Legislature
Law/Codes/Rules
 


Directories/Guides
 
Biographical Information

Lobbying & Interest Groups
 
Elections / Vote Results 
Districts Maps
 

 

Propositions / Initiatives
Employment
Databases/Indexes
Print Periodicals
Library Catalogue EUREKA
Government Publications

                                     __________________________________________________________________________
General Information / History

     California government and politics annual Ref JK 8701 .C29 (1976-current) 
    
Almanac of California government and politics (California journal almanac of state 
               government and politics)
Ref JK 8701 .C25 (1975-1989)
     California political almanac Ref JK 8701 .C36 (1989-2000)
     A primer of California politics  JK 8716 .B74 (1st edition 1997, 2nd edition 2004)
     California state government; an outline of its administrative organization from 1850-1939   
              Ref JK 8741 .H8
    Website: California State Home Page  http://www.ca.gov
                      

Constitution


    
Constitution of the State of California. The Constitution of the United States, Declaration
             of Independence, the Articles of Confederation (1943, 1947-1963) 
              
JK 8705 .A2 (1947-51, 1958) / JK 8705 .A22 (1943, 1953-57, 1960-63)  ( 3 North)
     Constitution of the United States, Constitution of the State of California, 1879, as 
              last amended ... and related documents. (1971--)
          
JK 8705 .A2 (1971-1996, 3 North; 1997-current, Reference,  2 North)
     Constitution of the State of California, annotated, 1946 (Constitution of the Sate of 
             California --1879, Constitution of the State of California 1849, Treaty with Mexico, 
             Declaration of Independence, Articles of Conferation, Constitution of the United 
             States) 
  JK 8725 1946 .A5  (2 North Reference and  3 North)
      Online:
State Constitution (http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/const-toc.html)

Executive Branch 

    
California blue book (1850-2000) Ref JK 8730 .A15 2000
    
Guide to the California state executive branch  Ref JK 8750 .G8 1998 
     To Faithfully Execute the Law: California's Executive Branch Agencies 1959-2003  
               (Online, check  EUREKA)
     Websites: 
Governor and First Lady,    Lieutenant Governor's Office,     Secretary of State
                      Attorney General,               Treasurer's Office,                       Controller's Office
                      California Agencies, Departments and Commissions


Judiciary     

     
California blue book (1850-2000)  Ref JK 8730 .A15 2000
      California rules of court. Federal  Ref JK 8786 .A192 1991
      California rules of court., State.   Ref JK 8786 .A1923 1991
      History of the Supreme Court justices of California  Ref JK 8783 .J6 (Biography of Justices of 
           California from 1850 to 1950)
      Parker's ... Larmac on CD-ROM  Gov Docs Computer KFC 40 .L3 CD (Latest edition only.)
      Website: California Courts--The Judicial Branch of California
  

Legislature      

       The legislature handles at least five thousand pieces of legislation during each two-year session.
Those who are interested in tracking all of the proposed legislation during this period may turn to
three sources published by each house: the Daily File, the Daily Journal, and the Weekly History.
The key to use any of these sources is to know the specific bill number and the session of origin.
These documents are available on the Internet. (A Primer of California Politics, 2004. p 112).
Senate Daily Journal at
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/senate-journal.html
Senate Daily File at
http://www.sen.ca.gov/~newsen/schedules/files.htp
California State Assembly at http://www.assembly.ca.gov/clerk/BILLSLEGISLATURE/OFFICIALPUBS.HTM

        California Legislature  Ref  JK 8771 .A2 (1941--current) (list of Senate and Assembly members,
             officers, attaches, committees, and rules of the two houses and standards of conduct of the 
             Senate : together with a list of the members of congress, state officers, etc.: ... regular session)
        California's Legislature  Ref JK 8766 .A32 (A good handbook and manual)

       
California blue book (1850-2000)  Ref JK 8730 .A15 2000      
        Selected provisions of law relating to legislative activities  Ref JK 8769 .A4 (1974, 1976, 1978, 
             1980, 2004.)
        Legislative district maps of California  Ref JK 8768 .L44 (1983, 1992, 1996)
        California district maps, 1992-2001  Atlas G 1526 .F7 C3 1992 (2 North) ( State Senate election 
             districts ; State Board of Equalization election districts -- State Assembly election district -- U.S.
             Congressional election  districts.)
         Legislative drafting manual, 1975  Ref JK 8774 .A4 (This is a book about bill drafting)
         Bill Information
        
California Hearings and Reports 
        
California State Senate Online at http://www.sen.ca.gov/ 
         California State Assembly Online at http://www.assembly.ca.gov/defaulttext.asp 
         California Legislative Portal at http://www.legislature.ca.gov/ 
         Find your Representative at http://www.ss.ca.gov/elections/elections_r.htm


Law, Codes & Rules

     
Statutes of California  
Ref  KFC 25 (1851, 1854-1877/78, 1881-1919, 1921-1967, 1968--)
      Index to the laws of California, 1850-1893 Ref KFC 24 1850-1893 Index (including the statutes, the 
             state edition of the codes, 1872, and subsequent amendments, and the Constitution of 1879. 
             Also,  tables of all statutes  and a list of statutes... to be repealed)
      West's California session laws  Ref  KFC 25 .W529 (2001--)
      West's annotated California codes  Ref KFC 30.5 .W4  (1954--)
      West's California reporter    Ref  KFC 47 .W4  (no.1 - current) ("Cases argued and determined in
             the  Supreme Court, District Courts of Appeal, Appellate Department Superior Court.")
      West's California legislative service  Ref KFC 25 .W53
     
California State Codes  online
      Library database:
Lexis-Nexis -- Legal Research (Full text of California codes and case law)
      
Directories/Guides
     

     Roster: California State, county, city and township officials, state officials of the United 
             States.  
Ref JK 8730 .A5 (1942--current)  Also online:
2003 --current 
    
California public sector  Ref JK 8730 .C355 (directory of state, federal, county, municipal & 
              special district governments in California) 

     Roster & government guide
Ref JK 8701 .C293 (1977-current) (Contains contact information of 
             officers, state departments, California Supreme Court, boards, commissions, congressional 
             delegation, state senate and state assembly,      
     The California state government directory  
Ref JK 8766 .C32 (1989--)
    
The Governor and Statewide Officials
     
Biographical Information

    
Members of the California legislature and other public officials 
Ref JK 8730 .S2 (1962-1992)
     Who's who in the California legislature Ref JK 8730 .W48 
     Who's who in California  Ref. F 860 .W628 (1951-1998)
    
The Governors of California: Peter H. Burnett to Edmund G. Brown Ref. F 860 .M5
    
The Governor and Statewide Officials
 

Lobbying & Interest Groups     

     Instruction manual for lobbyists 
Ref JK 8774.5 .A3 
     Directory of lobbyists, lobbying firms, and lobbyist employers    Ref  JK 8774.5 .A5 (1987--)
     State Codes -- GOVERNMENT CODE TITLE 9. Political Reform CHAPTER 6. Lobbyists 
                                 Cal Gov Code, §§ 86100-86
300
    
Online from the website of Secretary of State at http://cal-access.ss.ca.gov/Lobbying/ 

Elections
/ Vote results 

      The most updated information is available at the website of
Secretary of State at 
               http://www.ss.ca.gov/elections/elections.htm
      Live Election Returns -- General Elections  2000, 2002, 2004, 2006
      California election calendar  2 NORTH Calif Docs CA S400 .O5  (1996,2002, online 2006
            
(qualifications, nomination requirements, filing information, etc.)  

      Certified list of candidates (including presidential electors), general election  
            (
1970-)  Ref JK 8792 .A48  More current online at Secretary of State 
      Certified list of candidates for the direct primary election  Ref JK 8795 .A5  (1980-2000)    
              More current online at Secretary of State 
      Certified list [of] candidates for delegates and alternates to Party National Conventions 
             
Ref JK 8795.A514 
      Report of registration  JK 8791 .A5 (3 North, 1968--curent) (by party affiliation, by counties,
             subdivisions by county,  congressional districts, Senatorial districts, assembly districts and
             cities)  Also online at   Secretary of State
      Statement of vote. General election  Ref JK 8792 .A5  (1946, 1952--)  (Voter registration figures, 
             comparative  registration and vote figures, etc. and statement of the vote)
      Supplement to statement of vote. General election  Ref JK 8792 .A51 (County by county vote 
            results of  president, United States senator and statewide measures,  by congressional district,
            senatorial  districts, assembly districts and by board of equalization districts) 
      Statement of vote. Primary election  Ref JK 8792 .A49  (1980--) (Voter registration statistics by
            Party,  by  county;  summary of votes on statewide measures, special elections results, etc.)
      Supplement to Statement of vote. Primary election   Ref JK 8792 .A491 
      Statement of vote : special election  Ref JK 8792 .A52 (1973, 1979, 2003)
      California votes, 1928-1960, a review and analysis of registration and voting  
          
Ref JK 8793 1963 .L4 
      California votes, 1960-1972; a review and analysis of registration and voting
          
Ref JK 8793 1974 .L43 

Districts Maps

      California election district zip code directory.
Ref JK 8768 .C335 1997 
      California Legislative Districts guide : 1992-2001  JK 8768 .C346 1992 
      Legislative district maps of California  Ref JK 8768 .L44 (1992, 1996)
      California journal (1970-2005, 3 South periodicals) (The issues of the even numbers of years 
           contain  district  maps)
      Senate zip code directory  2 NORTH Calif Docs CA L550 .D55 Z66 (Maps are also available 
              online at  
California State Senate) 
      Find My District -- from the website of California State Assembly at
              http://www.assembly.ca.gov/defaulttext.asp
      Districts Maps -- State Senate from he website of California State Senate
      Congressional Districts from he website of California State Senate

      Districts Maps -- from the website of The State Bar of California
     
    

Propositions / Initiatives

    
California Ballot Propositions Database  in Hastings College of the Law library is a
comprehensive, searchable source of information on California ballot propositions from 1911 to
the present. 
California Ballot Initiatives Database (currently in Beta testing) contains California 
ballot initiatives from 1912 to the present. 

    
The CSUS library has a collection of ballot measures and propositions under "Pamphlet files--
California Elections", located on the second floor in the reference area. They are housed 
chronologically in the file cabinets against the wall by the first row of reference shelves. 
      To find information, comments or opinions about the propositions of your interest,  you can search
California newspapers and some databases that may contain the resources. For newspapers, click 
here for California Newspapers. For databases,
CQ Library EBSCOhost: Academic Search,
Infotrac: Expanded Academic
Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe, Proquest Newsstand and 
Social Sciences Full Text
are recommended.

 
Employment

     California state civil service pay scales  Ref JK 8757 .A5 (Latest edition only)
     Jobseeker's guide to California state employment  Ref JK 8755 .H66 1990 
     Website: California Employment Development Department

                                                                                                                    -> Back to the top   
Electronic Indexes and databases

     The following electronic databases index articles in newspapers, magazines and journals, many of
 which are full-text. They are available from the Library Homepage  by selecting Databases and 
Periodical Indexes
.
These databases are accessible from library Network Stations and from campus
computer labs. For connecting to library databases from off-campus, please read instructions at
 Off-Campus Access Guide.  

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)   Social Sciences Full Text
California Newspapers. CQ Library,
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) RAND California
Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe America: History and Life
Proquest Newsstand Left Index
Print Periodicals  

      Print periodicals are located in  3 South, shelved alphabetically by title. Volumes published 
prior to 1980 are shelved on Lower Level. Current newspapers are in 3 South Newsprint until 
replaced by microfilm in Library Media Center on Floor 1.
The following is a selected list of journals  
about California politics and government

Calpeek  V. 7:30(1985:Jul 29)--  (3 South) 
Assembly weekly history   Latest edition only  (Ref J 87 .C2g weekly, 2 North)
California journal  v. 1(1970)-- v.36 no.1 (January 2005) (3 South) 
California voter  1991:Fall, 1992:Spring-- (3 South) Also online
Capitol weekly  Current two years only  (3 SOUTH Newsprint )
The Commonwealth  Current year only  (3 South)
FCL newsletter  v.16(1967)-- 
(3 South) 
Journal of the Assembly, Legislature of the State of California  1941-2002  J 87 .C2c  (Lower Level)
Journal of the Senate, Legislature of the State of California   1941-2002  J 87 .C2b  (Lower Level)
State of the state address   2000-- JK 8751 .C23 (3 North)

__________________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                        
--> Back to the top   

                                  Books and Reports   

Library Catalogue: EUREKA 

     The library  Catalog
EUREKA, available at the Library Homepage,  lists books, master’s theses, 
government documents, media, etc. that the library owns on all subjects. It also lists which periodicals
the library owns by the name of the periodical.
These materials can be searched by author, title, subject, 
or keyword.
The advanced keyword search helps you limit your search by material type, location, 
language, and year of publication.

    Call Numbers for browsing the shelves on California politics
    JK 8701--Jk 8725   California politics
    JK 8730--JK 8766   Bluebook, guide, directories, roster
    JK 8768                 Election districts, maps
    JK 8792--JK 8795   Election statistics
    JK 8769--JK 8786   Legislature, rules

    Subject searching
The Library of Congress Subject Headings lists specific subject terms to use in EUREKA.
The following 
is a list of some subject terms useful in searching California government and politics. 

California government
California politics and government
California Politics And Government Periodicals . 
California Political Campaigns 
California Political Consultants
California Political Culture
California Political Ethics
California Political Participation
California Political Leadership
California Political Parties 
California Political Planning
California Politicians
California Constitution
Court Rules California 
Executive departments -- California
Law California 
California Legislature
California Officials And Employees Directories
California Governors .
Lobbying Law And Legislation California
Elections California  
Elections California Statistics 
Election Districts California Maps
California Legislature Election Districts Maps
         __________________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                   
--> Back to the top   

             California Government Publications

      The CSUS library has a collection of California State Documents located on 2 North.
 The items can be searched in EUREKA and they are shelved under the classification of 
their own, different from federal government documents and other library books. You will 
note that the call numbers all begin with "CA ", e.g. Location 2 NORTH Calif Docs, 
Call No. CA W750 .D78. Many current government publications are available online. You 
can go to any search engine such as google.com and try searching the title of the
publication or limiting your search in the advanced search to ".gov" domain. 
                                                                                          
--> Back to the top   

   
            
Questions/comments to:
                 Hong Wang, Social Science Reference Librarian
                 wanghong@csus.edu 
                California State University, Sacramento
                Last updated: 10/2007