Asian Studies: Library Resources

 Compiled by    Hong Wang and Joe Zhou 

 

General References

Bilingual Dictionaries 

Country Information

Maps 

Biography

Culture

Philosophies & Religion

Articles in Journals/Newpapers

EUREKA (Library Catalogue)

World Wide Web (organizations, Asian libraries in America,  virtual library, news, etc)

             

                  
General information
     
    Encyclopedia of modern Asia  DS 4 .L48 2002        
    Encyclopaedia of Asian civilizations 
DS 4 .L68 1987   
    Columbia chronologies of Asian history and culture     
DS 33 C63 2000   
   
The Asian political dictionary   DS 31 .Z57 1985    
   
A dictionary of Asian mythology  BL 1005 .L46 2001
    East Asia and the United States : an encyclopedia of relations since 1784 
DS 518.8 .E22 2002
    World geographical encyclopedia  G 63 .E5213 1995 (V. 3)
     

Bilingual Dictionaries 

      ABC Chinese-English comprehensive dictionary   PL 1455 .A33 2003 
      Chinese-English dictionary    PL 1455 .C439 1999
      A Chinese-English dictionary of idioms and proverbs    PL 1273 .H46 1988 
      Dictionaries in Indian languages; a bibliography  PKZ 7049 .I3 N3 
      The new Nelson Japanese-English character dictionary   PL 679 .H33 1997 
      Beyond polite Japanese : a dictionary of Japanese slang and colloquialisms  PL 675 .Y66 2001 
      A Korean-English dictionary  PL 937 .E5 M3
     
Lao-English dictionary  PL 4251 .L34 K4
      Kamus Dwibahasa : Bahasa Inggeris, Bahasa Malaysia (Malay PL 5125 .K364 1981 

      A Batad Ifugao vocabulary  PL 5725 .Z5 N4 (Philippine)
      The standard English-Thai dictionary  PL4187.E5 S73 1970z (Tsakopoulos Hellenic)
      Practical English-Thai dictionary  PL 4187 .R6
      Vietnamese-English dictionary  PL 4376 .L45 1975 
      Usual Vietnamese English, English Vietnamese dictionary  PL 4376 .N43
       
      
Countries -- Background Information
     Europa World Year book. ref D 2 .E87 (1989-current)
     Political risk yearbook JX 1252 .P65 2001 (V. 5 & V. 8)
     Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. ref G 63 .W67 2001 (V.4)
     Culturgrams: the Nations Around Us. ref GT 150 .C85 2000
     Countries of the World. ref D 848 .C6 (1980-94)
    
Portals to the World  www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
     CountryWatch 
http://www.countrywatch.com/ 

Maps

      Maps and atlases in our library are located in 2 North Atlas area. Currently maps are not catalogued in EUREKA  yet. They are arranged by continent. For example, if you need a map of Japan, you need to look in the Asia section. The library database Encyclopedia Britannica contains maps for country infomation.
      The atlas books are catalogued in EUREKA. You can search by keywords, e.g. "Japan and atlas", etc. The following are some of the atlas in the library.  

      Historical atlas of South-East Asia G 2361 .S1 H5 1995 (Atlas area)
      A literary and historical atlas of Asia 
G 2201 .S1 B3 1935 (2 south)
      Asia  372.891 .Am4as 1974 Gr.K-12 (2 South non-print: Juvenile collection)
      Asian market atlas HF 5415.12 .A8 A83 1984 (Atlas area)
      Atlas of Southeast Asia  G 2360 .U4 1989 (Atlas area)

Biographical Information

     Great thinkers of the Eastern world : the major thinkers and the philosophical and religious classics of
           China, India, Japan, Korea, and the world of Islam   
B 5005 .G74 1995 
    
Historic world leaders  (V.1)  CT 103 .H5 1994 v.1 
     Kingdoms of Asia, the Middle East, and Africa : an illustrated encyclopedia of ruling monarchs from
            ancient times to the present 
DS 32 .G87 1986 

     Heads of state and government ref JF 37 .D3 2000
      
 

Culture

      CultureGrams (V. 4)  GT 150 .C85 2003
      Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life      
GN 333 .W67  1998 
      Peoples of the world. Asians and Pacific Islanders : the culture, geographical setting, and
             historical background of 41 Asian and Pacific Island peoples
GN 308.3 .A83 M6 1993
      Culture and customs of China 2 NORTH Re DS 721 .G89 2002
      Culture and customs of India 2 NORTH Re DS 423 .G33 2002
      Culture and customs of Japan  DS 821 .K2357 1999 
      Culture and customs of Korea   DS 904 .C4492 2000 
      Culture and customs of the Philippines 2 NORTH Re DS 664 .R63 2001
      Culture And Customs Of Taiwan   DS 799.4 .D38 1998
      Culture and customs of Thailand   ref DS 568 .K5 2004
      Culture and customs of Vietnam 2 NORTH Re DS 556.42 .M43 2001

Philosophies and Religion

     Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy  B 121 .C66 1997  
    
Dictionary of Asian philosophies   B 5005 .N38 
    
Eastern definitions : a short encyclopedia of religions of the Orient     BL 31 .R52
     Encyclopedia of Buddhism    
BQ 128 .E62 2004
     A popular dictionary of Buddhism  BQ 130 .H85
     RoutledgeCurzon encyclopedia of Confucianism    BL 1840 .R68 2003
     Dictionary of Hinduism  BL 1105 .S78 1984
     The illustrated dictionary of Hindu iconography   N 8195 .A4 S78 1985 
     Guide to Hindu religion  BLZ 7835 .B8 D44 
     Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world  BP 40 .E525 2004
     The Oxford dictionary of Islam  BP 40 .O95 2003 
     The Encyclopaedia of Islam  DS 35.53 .E5 1954
     The encyclopedia of Judaism  BM 50 .E63 1999
     Historical dictionary of Judaism    BM 50 .S65 1998 
     The Oxford dictionary of the Jewish religion  BM 50 .O94 1997 
      A popular dictionary of Shinto  BL 2216.1 .B63 1996
    
Historical dictionary of Taoism   BL 1923 .P37 1998

__________________________________________________________________________________________   
                                                                                                                                        
-->
Back to the top   

                Articles in Journals/Newpapers     
Electronic Indexes and databases
The following electronic databases index articles in newspapers, magazines and journals, many of which are full-text. They are available from the Library Homepage by selecting Databases and Periodical Indexes. These databases are accessible from library Network Stations and from campus computer labs. For connecting to library databases from off-campus, please read instructions at  Connecting to Library Databases from Off-Campus

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)  

Social Sciences Abstracts
CountryWatch  Ethnic NewsWatch
Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe Historical Abstracts
ABI/INFORM Global Sociological Abstracts
JSTOR eHRAF - Collection of Ethnography
Journals with library holdings
Periodicals are located in Floor 3 South, shelved alphabetically by title. Volumes published prior to 1980 are shelved on Lower Level. Current newspapers are in 3 South Newsprint until replaced by microfilm in Library Media Center on Floor 1. 
The following is a list of periodicals of Asian studies with our library holdings. 

African and Asian studies.  v.1(2002)--
Arts of Asia    v. 1(1971)- 
Asia-Pacific development journal  v. 1:1(1994:Jun)-.  
Asian affairs, an American review. v. 23(1996/97)-
Asian music : journal of the Society for Asian Music   v. 5(1973)-
Asian studies newsletter.   v. 17(1971)- 
Asian perspectives  v.1(1957)-
Asian thought & society.  v.1(1976)-v.26:no.77(2001:May/Aug). Ceased publication
Asianweek.  (Current 2 years)
Critical Asian studies.       v.33(2001)- 
Far Eastern Economic Review   v. 1(1946) -.
Harvard journal of Asiatic studies   v. 1(1936)- 
Journal of Asia-Pacific business  v.3(2001)-  
The Journal of Asian Studies   v.16(1956)-v.61(2002). Library cancelled subscription
Journal of contemporary Asia   v. 5(1975)- 
Journal of developing societies  v.10(1994)- 
Journal of Southeast Asian studies   v. 1(1970)-  
Modern Asian studies. v.1(1967)- 
Orientations   v. 3(1972) - 12(1981), 16(1985) -. 
__________________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                                 
--> Back to the top   

Books and Reports   

EUREKA 

EUREKA is the CSUS library catalogue at http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/ EUREKA is the CSUS library catalogue at http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/. Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings. 
Some suggested Call Numbers for browsing the shelves for books are:
  
  DS 5  Asia, General works
  DS 6 Asia through 1491
  DS 7 Asia 1492-1800
  DS 8 Asia 1801-1900
  DA 10 Asia 1950--
For books about specific countries, use the country name in subject search, or try the name in  title search. 
         __________________________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                                             
--> Back to the top    

        World Wide Web

       
Asian Studies Resources on the Web    
       
http://www.csus.edu/Asia/resources.htm     
        (Asia in general and country information)

        
East Asian Subject Guide        
         http://www.library.pitt.edu/subject_guides/eastasian/ 
         (Organizations, Asian studies programs, links to other Asian libraries in America)

         East Asian Libraries in North America

         Asia Society  
        
www.asiasociety.org
        Arts and culture, policy and business, speeches, events, education, and publications, etc.

        AsiaSource:   A resource of the Asia Society 
       
www.asiasource.org
       
Profiles, social issues, education, government, food, views, books, etc.

        Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
        http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/eastasia/eastasiasbook.html 
        (Cultural origins, Religious traditions, Imperial China, Tradition Japan, Korea, etc.)

        Asia Times Online -- News  
        www.atimes.com
       
        CNN.com International-- Asia -- News
       
http://edition.cnn.com/ASIA/

       
Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
       
coombs.anu.edu.au/WWWVL-AsianStudies.html
       
Global resources, regional resources and individual countries' resources. 

        Asian art, Oriental art, Asian antiques
       
www.asianart.com

                                                                                                                            --> Back to the top   

Back to CSUS Library HomePage

Questions/comments to:
Hong  Wang, Social Science Reference Librarian
wanghong@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento
Last updated: 10/2007