Go to the CSUS Library Website

 

Politics: Africa
Library Resources


Created by Hong Wang

    Reference books                    Journals/databases/Indexes          Documents/primary sources
    Country Information                 EUREKA/Library Catalog              News sources
    Leaders                                    Print sources                                   Statistics
    African Organizations  
                                                                                                                                    
    General reference Books    
    African political facts since 1945  ref DT 30 .C594 1991
    The African political dictionary  ref  DT 30.5 .P47 1984
    Dictionary of contemporary politics of southern Africa  ref  JQ 2720 .A127 W55 1989
    An introduction to African politics    DT 31 .T5157 2000   (2 South)
    The fate of Africa : from the hopes of freedom to the heart of despair:
            a history of fifty years of independence
  DT 30.5 .M455 2005 ( 2 SOUTH  )
    African political parties : evolution, institutionalization and
           governance
JQ 1879 .A795 A37 2003 (2 South)
    The struggle for South Africa : a reference guide to movements,
            organizations, and institutions   
ref JQ 1931 .D38 1988 v.1
    Africa South of the Sahara    ref  DT 351 .A37
    Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara  ref DT 351 .E53 1997 (4 volumes)
    Place names of Africa, 1935-1986 : a political gazetteer  ref DT 31 .K53 1987

    
   
    
Countries -- Background Information
    
Historical dictionary of Algeria   ref DT 283.7 .H43 1980
     Historical dictionary of Angola  ref  DT 1264 .J36 2004 
     Historical dictionary of Benin    ref  DT 541.5 .D4 1987
     Historical dictionary of Botswana   ref DT 791 .M67 1989
     Historical dictionary of Upper Volta ( Burkina Faso)  ref  DT 553 .U75 M3 1978
     Historical dictionary of Burundi  ref   DT 449 .B85 W44  1976
     Historical dictionary of the republic of Cameroon   ref DT 563 .D45 1990
     Historical dictionary of the Republic of Cape Verde   ref  DT 671 .C25 L62 1988
     Historical dictionary of the Central African Republic   ref   DT 546.35 .K353 2005
     Historical dictionary of Chad  ref  DT 546.457 .D4 1987
     Historical dictionary of Zaire  (Democratic Republic of the Congo)  ref  DT 643 .B63 1988
     Historical dictionary of the People's Republic of the Congo   ref DT 546.25 .T46 1984
     Historical dictionary of Egypt   ref DT 75 .G65 2003

  
   Historical dictionary of Equatorial Guinea   ref   DT 620.15 .L57 1988
     Historical dictionary of Ethiopia   ref   DT 381 .S55 2004
     Historical dictionary of Gabon   ref  DT 546.15 .G37  1981
     Historical dictionary of the Gambia  ref  DT 509.5 .G34 1987
     Historical dictionary of Ghana   ref DT 510.5 .O87 2005
     Historical dictionary of Guinea  ref  DT 543.5 .O88 1987
     Historical dictionary of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau  ref  DT 613.5 .L62 1988
     Historical dictionary of the Ivory Coast  (
Cote d'Ivoire ) ref DT 545.57 .M86 1987
     Historical dictionary of Kenya   ref  DT 433.515 .O36 1981
     Historical dictionary of Lesotho   ref  DT 2554 .R67 2004
     Historical dictionary of Liberia   ref   DT 631 .D95 1985
     Historical dictionary of Libya   ref  DT 223.3 .S7 1991
     Historical dictionary of Malawi  ref  DT 859 .C76 
     Historical dictionary of Mali   ref   DT 551.5 .I46 1986
     Historical dictionary of Mauritania  ref  DT 554.57 .G47 1981
     Historical dictionary of Mauritius  ref  DT 469 .M455 S45 1991
     Historical dictionary of Morocco ref  DT 313.7 .P37 2006
     Morocco
  ref DT 304 .H66 2002
     Historical dictionary of Mozambique  ref  DT 3337 .A94 1991
     Historical dictionary of Niger  ref  DT 547.5 .D4 1989
     Nigeria : current issues and historical background  ref   DT 515.22 .N544 2002
     Historical dictionary of Senegal   ref DT 549.5 .C57 1981
     Historical dictionary of Sierra Leone   ref  DT 516.5 .F6 1977
    
Historical dictionary of Somalia  ref   DT 401.2 .M85 2003
     Historical dictionary of South Africa  ref   DT 766 .S23 1983
     Historical dictionary of the Sudan  ref  DT 155.3 .V64 2002
     Historical dictionary of Swaziland   ref  DT 971.2 .G76
     Historical dictionary of Tanzania  ref  DT 444 .K87  1978
     Historical dictionary of Togo  ref DT 582.5 .D4 1987
     Historical dictionary of Tunisia   ref DT 244 .P47 1989
     Historical dictionary of Western Sahara  ref DT 346 .S7 P39 2006
     Historical dictionary of Zimbabwe  ref   DT 2925 .R83 2001

    
Emerging African nations and their leaders  ref DT 30 .E9
     The Statesman's year-book  
ref JF 37.S8
    
Political risk yearbook Vol. 2 and Vol. 4.  ref  JX 1252 .P65 2001
     Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
(Vol. 2) ref G 63 .W67 2001
     Culturgrams: the Nations Around Us. ref GT 150 .C85 2000
     Countries of the World. ref D 848 .C6 (1980-94)      
    
Portals to the World  www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
     CountryWatch 
http://www.countrywatch.com/ 
 
    
 
    
    
    
Leaders
      Profiles of African leaders  DT 30 .M4 1961
      Dictionary of African historical biography  ref  DT 352.6 .L56 1986
      Dictionary of African biography   CT 1920 .D52 1971 2 SOUTH
      An African biographical dictionary  ref  DT 18 .B76 1994
      Political leaders in Black Africa : a biographical dictionary of the major
              politicians since independence 
 ref  DT 352.8 .W57 1991
       Lives of eminent Africans    DT 18 .G6 1969  2 SOUTH
       Makers of modern Africa : profiles in history    CT 1920 .A1 M3 1981 2 SOUTH
       The Statesman's year-book  
ref JF 37.S8
      
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (Vol. 2) ref G 63 .W67 2001
       Founders of modern nations : a biographical dictionary ref D 226.7 .H36 1995
       Heads of state and government ref JF 37 .D3 2000
       Who's who in world politics : from 1860 to the present day
ref. D 21.3 .P35 1996
       The International year book and statesmen's who's who
ref JF 37 .I5 (1953-1996)

    
   
 
African Organizations
     African Development Bank (1964) 
     African Export-Import bank (Afreximbank) (1987)
     African Union (AU) (
2001)
     Bank of Central African States (BEAC) (1973 )
     Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO) (1962)
     Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) (
1994)
     East African Community (EAC) (1999)
     East African Development Bank (EADB)(1967)
     Economic Community of Central African States (CEEAC) (1983)
     Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) (1975)
     Intergovernmental Authority on Development (1996)
     Lake Chad Basin Commission (1964)
     Niger Basin Authority (1980)
     Southern African Development Community (SADC) (1980)
     West African Development Bank (BOAD) (1973)
     West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA) (1994)
   
     
Journals/databases/indexes
    
     The following electronic databases index articles in newspapers, magazines and journals, many 
     of which are full-text. They are available from the Library Homepage by selecting Databases and
     Periodical Indexes.
These databases are accessible from library research stations and campus
    computer labs. For connecting to library databases from off-campus, please read instructions here .   

    Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)              CIAO
    Index Islamicus                                                Ethnic NewsWatch   
    JSTOR                                                               Social Sciences Fulltext
    CountryWatch (Country reviews. Non-journal)        Dissertation & Thesis      
    Lexis-Nexis 
(Newspapers and journals)                 
Alt-Press Watch   
    Project MUSE                                                     WorldCat  (for books and articles)    
    ProquestNewsstand                                            BooksInPrint  (for books)
    AccessUN  (UN documents)                                 

                                             
      
Print Journals
           Periodicals are located on the 3rd floor of the library, shelved alphabetically by title. Issues published 
      prior to 1980 are shelved on Lower Level. Current newspapers are in the section Newsprint until
      replaced by microfilm in Library Media Center on the 1st floor.
The following is a list of selected print
      journals available in the library.

      Africa  DT 1 .D6 1978 (through EBSCOhost:Academic Search 1985--)
      The Journal of modern African studies  v.1(1963)-
      Africa today  
v.1(1954)-v.11(1965), v.17(1970)-v.42(1995)  Online
EUREKA ) Online 1996-- EUREKA )
      African studies review   v.13(1970)-v.36(1993)   Online EUREKA )
      Asian and African studies  V. 1(1965)-27:1/2(1993:Mar./Jun)
      Comparative studies of South Asia, Africa and the Middle East   Online
EUREKA ) v.1(1961)-v.9(1976)   Online Vol. 9 (2000) - vol. 10 (2001) EUREKA )
      
      

                                                                                                          Return to top of the page
         EUREKA/Library Catalog     
            
EUREKA (at the Library Homepage) lists books, journals, master’s theses, government
     documents, media, etc. that the library owns on all subjects. These materials can be searched
     by author, title, subject, or keyword. The advanced keyword search helps you limit your search by
     material type, location, language, and year of publication, etc. 

    Subject terms
         The Library of Congress Subject Headings lists specific subject terms to use in EUREKA. 
     For example, the following are some subject terms useful in searching Latin American politics.


        
Africa Political                                      Africa Foreign Relations
         Africa -- Politics and government            Political science -- Africa
         Africa -- Social conditions                      Egypt Politics And Government
         Africa -- Social classes                         Rwanda Genocide
         Africa Social Conflict                            (country names, etc.)
        
      
      
                                                                                                       Return to top of the page 
    Documents/Primary Sources
         
A primary source, also called "source material" and sometimes "original sources",  refers to
     "a document or record containing firsthand information or original data on a topic....  Primary
     sources include original manuscripts, articles reporting original research or thought, diaries,
     memoirs, letters, journals, photographs, drawings, posters, film footage, sheet music, songs,
     interviews, government documents, public records, eyewitness accounts, newspaper clippings, etc."
     (Dictionary for Library and Information Science / Joan M. Reitz, 2004).
          In the library catalog EUREKA, the subject headings that contain the term "sources" will retrieve
     items that contain primary sources. For example,  "africa -- History -- Sources". The following is a
     selection of items in the library that contain primary sources or information on primary sources.

     Africa and the West : a documentary history from slave trade to independence
DT 353.5 .E9 A34 2001
    
African history : text and readings    DT 1 .C55 1990 (3 volumes)
    
Mandela, Tambo, and the African National Congress : the struggle against
            apartheid, 1948-1990 : a documentary survey 
  DT 1757 .M36 1991
   
 The map of Africa by treaty  ref  JX 1026 1967 .H45 (3 volumes)
    
South Africa in two World Wars : a newspaper history   LOWER LEVEL QUARTO D 505 .A54
     
African boundaries, a legal and diplomatic encyclopaedia  ref DT 5 .B8 1979
    
From Dias to Vorster : source material on South African history 1488-1975   DT 767 .G6
    
Black Africa  LOWER LEVEL QUARTO DT 352.5 .B55
    
The public archives of South Africa, 1652-1910  CD 2451 .B6 1969
    
British policy towards West Africa. Select documents 1875-1914    DT 502 .N38
    
Select constitutional documents illustrating South African history, 1795-1910.  JQ 1911 .E8 1969
    
Select documents relating to the unification of South Africa   DT 751 .N4 1968
    
Africa remembered : narratives by West Africans from the era of the slave trade    DT 471 .C8
    
Materials for West African history in Portugese archives  CD 1000 .G8 no.2
   
 Materials for West African history in Italian archives  CD 1000 .G8 NO.3
    
GPO Access *free to public (Official federal government information)
     
GPO Monthly Catalog  (Records on all subjects of interest to the U.S. government.)
     
                                                                                                         
 Return to top of the page
     
News Sources (Web)
     
Africa  (Council on Foreign Relations)
     
BBC News/Africa
      AllAfrica.com
      CCN News/Africa      
      News From Africa
      West Africa News
      African News (Stanford University Library)
      African News (New York Times)
          
 
     
Statistics (Print and Web)
      
Regional economic outlook : Sub-Saharan Africa.  HC 800 .R4295 2006
      International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000  ref  HA 4675 .M552 2003
      African statistical yearbook  ref HA 1955 .U5
      African economic outlook. ref  HC 800 .A1 A373 2001/2002
      Population and health in developing countries   RA 652.2 .P82 P67 2002 v.1    
      Aging trends : South Africa   Gov Docs C 3.205/9:97-2
      African development indicators  ref HC 800 .A1 A356 (1986, 1996, 1998, 2000-2002)
     
CountryWatch  (Library database)
     
Africa Statistics
     


                                                                                                           Return to top of the page

 

Questions/comments to:
Hong Wang, Social Science Reference Librarian
wanghong@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento
Created 11/06
Updated 10/07