Reference Department
Reference Home
spacer
Research Help
In-person
Phone
Email
Online Chat
Research Consultations
Online Research Guides
spacer
About the Department
Mission
Collection
Disability Services
spacer
People
Departmental Directory
Subject Specialists

 

About the Department
Mission The mission of the Library's Reference Department is to meet the information needs of students, faculty, staff, and public users from the Sacramento region; to teach information and research skills; and to provide equal access for all users in their search for knowledge.
Collection The reference collection on 2-North (second floor, north side of the building) currently contains over 70,000 volumes. Typical reference materials include:
almanacs & encyclopedias legal codes & Shepards citations
dictionaries & thesauri engineering standards
biographies statistics & demographic data
style manuals bibliographies
how-to handbooks indexes and abstracts
Disability Services Sacramento State's Library provides a number of services to assist users with physical, visual, or learning disabilities. Special computers in the public area include a video magnifying system (CCTV), ZoomText Xtra level 2, JAWS for windows screen reading software, large screen monitors with sound system, adjustable workstations and chairs, ergonomic keyboards, arm and wrist supports, and earphones.

Reference Desk staff are available to help users with disabilities retrieve up to three books on a walk-in basis. Requests for retrieving large numbers of books can be made in advance by e-mailing the Ask-A-Librarian service. The Circulation Department will help users with disabilities photocopy library materials at the self-service rate.

The Library also has braille dictionaries and encyclopedias in the reference collection and sign language dictionaries on Compact Disks housed in the Library Media Center. For Sacramento State students, more equipment and assistance is available at the High Tech Center, located in the Academic Information Resource Center (AIRC 2011 & 2010).