Reference Department
Reference Home
spacer
Research Help
In-person
Phone
Email
Online Chat
Research Consultations
Online Research Guides
spacer
About the Department
Mission
Collection
Disability Services
spacer
People
Departmental Directory
Subject Specialists
Joe Zhou

Job Responsibilities
Provides leadership in planning, development and direction of reference services and research consultation. Assigns library liaisons and subject librarians with collection development responsibilities to campus colleges and academic programs. Plans workload distribution and scheduling of 15 full time and 5-7 part-time library faculty, and 4-6 library assistants for overall research and information services, subject embedded library instruction, and library collection development duties.

Education
Doctoral of Education Leadership and Policy Making --Higher Education, California State University—Sacramento, California.

Master of Business Administration (Finance Concentration), University of Delaware, College of Business and Economics, Newark, Delaware.

Master of Library and Information Science, Dominican University, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, River Forest, Illinois.

Advanced Studies in Computer and Information Science, Discrete Math and Statistics (43 units), University of Delaware, Division of Continuing Education. Newark, DE, 1990-1993.

Post-graduate Study and Research in Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Institute of Physics. Beijing, China, 1985-1988.

Bachelor of Science in Physics, with a national credential for high school Math and Physics teaching. Beijing Normal University, Beijing, China

Professional Development
Bullivant Houser Bailey Law Firm. Employment Law Series I to IV, total 7 HR CEU, Sacramento, CA. September – December 2010.

Frye Leadership Institute Fellow, Class of 2001 (50 fellows from U.S. and Canada experienced two weeks fulltime residential training program).

California Attorney General and Fair Political Practice Commission. Public Service Ethics Education Training with the Certificate, September, 2010.

California State University Academic Leadership Development Program, (department chairs cohort). Sacramento, CA, September 11, 2008 – August 19, 2009.

California State University Management Development Winter Program: Manager's Toolkit. Sacramento, CA. January 16 to 23, 2007

California State University Leadership Summer Institute-- Part II, Leadership Development, Sacramento, CA. July 10-17 (40 hours), 2006

California State University Leadership Summer Institute-- Part I, Leadership and Management, Sacramento, CA. May 26 to June 23 (40 hours), 2005.

Professional Memberships
Association of American University Professors (member ID 45914), 2000 –

Adjunct Business and Education Faculty at CSUS College of Continuing, 2000 – present.

American Library Association (ALA), life member

Chinese-American Librarians Association, life member

Asian and Pacific American Librarians Association, life member

Patent and Trademark Depository Library Association, 1993 to 2001.

Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
Zhou, Jian-zhong. “Asian/Pacific Islander Librarians Demographics and Career Choices” Journal of Library and Information Science (to be published in 2013)

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “Representation Disparity Ratios and Comparative Advancement Ratios” The Review of Higher Education (submitted in October 2012)

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “History of Web Portals and Their Development in Libraries” Information Technology and Libraries v22, no. 3 (September 2003): 119-128

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “Documenting the Earliest Chinese Journals” Journal of Library and Information Science v27, no.2 (October 2002): 19-24

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “The Evolution of Journals and Early Scholarly Publications from the Ancient China to the 21st Century". Journal of Information, Communication, and Library Science v17, no.3 (Spring 2001): 1-11.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “The Internet, the World Wide Web, Library Web Browsers, and Library Web Servers. Information Technology and Libraries v19, n1 (March 2000): 49-57.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “Interlibrary Loan Cost Studies and Copyright Fees” The Journal of Interlibrary Loan, Document Delivery & Information Supply v9, n4 (1999): 29-38.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “A New Subclass for Library of Congress Classification, QF: Computer Science.” Cataloging and ClassificationQuarterly, v26, n1 (Summer 1998): 37-44.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “The Development of Library and Information Technologies in Southeast Asia.” Information Technology and Libraries v16, n1 (March 1997): 20-33.

Book Chapters, Conference Presentations and Critical Book Reviews
Zhou, Jian-zhong and Adriene Lim. “Mapping the Landscape of Career Advancement for Minorities in Libraries.” Joint Conference of Librarians of Color, Kansas City, MO. September 19-23, 2012.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “The Four Capital Theory: the impact of human, cultural, social, and political capitals on minority leadership development in academics.” Carnegie Project on Education Doctorate – Poster Session. California State University, Fresno, CA. June 27 -29, 2012.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “The Low Representation in Leadership Position of Highly Educated Asian/Pacific Islander Librarians.” American Library Association Annual Conference, Anaheim, CA.  June 21-26, 2012.

Valdez,,Lindy, Nancy Lapp, Michele Foss-Snowden, and Joe Zhou. Academic Program Review for the Department of Women’s Studies, Gerontology Program, and Asian Studies (27 pages). Sacramento, CA: California State University- Sacramento, 2011.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. Immigration Filtering Theory: high education attainment of the 1st generation Asian and Black immigrants and their children/grandchildren. 17th Annual Multicultural Education Conference--Poster Session. Sacramento, CSU--Sacramento. October 2010.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “Subject Librarians or Blended Librarians” Proceedings of International Conference on the Development of Subject Librarianship and Personal Librarianship. Beijing, China: Library Society of China, Academic Library Division, October, 2008.

Ramachandran, Geetha, Joe Zhou, and David Zuckerman. Academic Program Review for the Division of Criminal Justice (31 pages). Sacramento, CA: California State University- Sacramento, 2006.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. “Asian American Librarians and Chinese American Librarians: their impact on the profession and on U.S. communities” In Bridging Cultures: Chinese American Librarians and Their Organization, 396-411. Chicago: American Library Association / Chinese American Librarians Association, 2004.

Zhou, Jian-zhong and Leilani Hall. “Taming the Two Cultures: Integrating the Science Divisional Library into the Main Library,” In Innovations in Science and Technology Libraries, ed William Miller, Rita M. Pellen, 219-239. Binghamton, NY: Haworth Information Press, 2004

Zhou, Jian-zhong. Review of The Economics of Access Versus Ownership, by Bruce R. Kingma. Journal of Information, Communication and Library Science, v4, n4 (Summer 1998): 79-81.

Zhou, Jian-zhong. Review of The Internet and Library and Information Services, by Lewis-Guodo Liu. Journal of Information, Communication and Library Science v3, n3 (Spring, 1997) 86-87.

Books and Other Book-length Scholarly Work:
Zhou, Jian-zhong, editor and compiler. Annotated Bibliography of the Physics Research, Chinese Academia Sinica, 1980-1985 (in Chinese with English abstracts). Beijing, China: Science Press, 1986.

Zhou, Jian-zhong, editor and compiler. Annotated Bibliography of Physics Research in the Chinese Academia Sinica, 1986-1987 (English). Beijing, China: Science Press, 1987.
The bibliography was published on the first HP laser printer in China and later published by Science Press in Beijing, China. It was produced to support Chinese physicists’ Nobel Price application and was cataloged in the OCLC.

Major Awards and Recognition
  • ALA Diversity Research Grant 2011/12 (One of the three grant recipients)
  • CSUS Faculty Professional Development Grant, 2011/12
  • CSUS Faculty Sabbatical Leave Award, 2007/08
  • In Who’s Who in America, 58th ed. 2004. New Providence, NJ: Marquis.    
    First published in 1899, Marquis Who’s Who in America has been America’s preeminent biographical resource.
  • In Directory of American Scholars, 9th ed. 1999 published by American Council of Learned Societies.
    First published in 1942, the ninth edition published in 1999 “profiles 24,000 United States and Canadian scholars currently active in teaching, research, and have made noticeable achievement as evidenced by publication of scholarly works.”
  • In the Gale’s database Biography Resource Center, Boston: The Gale Group.

 

Joe Zhou Image
Joe Zhou
Head of Reference
Office: Library 2503
Email: zhou@csus.edu
Phone: (916) 278-6201
Fax: (916) 278-5661