Reference Department
Reference Home
spacer
Research Help
In-person
Phone
Email
Online Chat
Research Consultations
Online Research Guides
spacer
About the Department
Mission
Collection
Disability Services
spacer
People
Departmental Directory
Subject Specialists
Linda Goff
Responsibilities 
Linda J. Goff is responsible for the Library Instruction Program at the University Library.  This includes Library Tours (guided, self-guided, and virtual), the Library Drop-In Workshop series, coordination of faculty requests for instruction, outreach to faculty, and managing the 3 instruction rooms (2022, Lab 2023, and Lab 2024).  Her office collects instructional statistics from all of the Library faculty and staff and these various programs reach over 13,000 students each year.  These programs are all listed and described on the Instructional Services Home Page,   where you can follow links to the pages that detail each service.

Information Competence is a graduation requirement at Sac State.  Ms. Goff has developed an Information Competence Assignment in WebCT, which is linked to several classes on campus, primarily COMS 2, 4 and 5.  Approximately 70 sections do the assignment each semester, reaching up to 4,000 student per year.

In addition, Ms. Goff works 6-8 hours per week on the Reference Desk and can be found there between 3-5 PM most weekdays.

Subject Areas  
Ms. Goff has expertise in California History and Genealogical research and does collection development in those areas.  She assists in teaching the summer research seminars for new graduate students in Social Work. She also is an expert searcher and takes the lead in developing the instructional units for the drop-in workshop series, currently covering library databases, EUREKA, PROSPECTOR, and using smarter search engines.

Services for Faculty and Students
Ms. Goff teaches classes on all levels and offers one-on-one and small group research appointments to faculty, students, and staff who need in depth research assistance by appointment or on a drop-in basis.  She is also available via phone or email for research support.

Services for Community
Linda provides instruction to school and community groups, primarily during January inter-session.  See her guidelines for group visits.

Research Guides and Tutorials
Virtual Tour of the CSUS Library
Instructional Services
CSUS Library Instruction Home Page
CSUS Information Competence Assignment (WebCT)
Information Competence Tutorials (without tests)
Exploring PROSPECTOR
Demystifying Library Databases
Googling to the Max
Search Engine Strategies
Search Smarter (3/16/2006)
Graduate Research Strategies for Social Work
Real World Searching
How to do a Literature Review

Education

California Community College Librarian Credential
Post-Graduate Courses for Certificate in Teaching in Higher Education, Rutgers University
Master of Library Service, Rutgers University
Master of Science, Instructional Media & Technology, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Bachelor of Arts in Social Science
California S
tate University, Sacramento. With Honors

Publications/Presentations
Presentations
Convener. Information Literacy Section Open Session, Transitions to college: how information literacy answers the knowledge society challenge. World Library and Information Congress: 72nd International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) General Conference, August 22, 2006, Seoul, South Korea.

Speaker. LOEX of the West Conference. Federated Searching - A Pedagogical Controversy. Roundatable Discussion. June 9, 2006, Kohala/Kona, Hawaii.

Presenter. Search Smarter- Improving Your Search Strategies. Mountain Valley Library System Workshop, March 16, 2006, Sacramento, California.

Speaker. RUSA/MARS  Products and Services Committee Discussion Forum, Using WebCT to Test and Teach, ALA Midwinter Meeting, January 11, 2004, San Diego, CA.

Panelist.  Serving the Information Literacy Needs of our Graduate Students: Collaborative Strategies for Success.  
LOEX of the West, Friday June 28, 2002, Eugene, Oregon.

Speaker. Assessment of Information Competency Programs at CARL Annual Conference, Asilomar, Saturday, May 11, 2002.

Panel Moderator.  Redefining and Redesigning Library Instruction,  CCLI North Spring Program, April 25, 2002.

ALA Poster Session.  Information Literacy for Future Teachers, Monday June 18, 2001.

Moderator and Program Planner, Information Competency: Planning a Statewide Approach, CLA Annual Conference, November 17, 1996.

Publications
Goff, Linda J. and Robert Locke, eds. Library Instruction Handbook Information Competence at the CSUS Library. Calif. State University, Sacramento, 11th edition, January, 1999.

Goff, Linda J. and Robert Locke, eds. Library Instruction Handbook A Guide to Thinking Critically and Finding Information. Calif. State University, Sacramento, 10th edition, January, 1998.

Goff, Linda J. and Robert Locke, eds. Library Instruction Handbook. Calif. State University, Sacramento, 7th edition, 1995. 8th edition, January 1996.

Graduate Research in Social Work. 2 videocassettes (134 min.) Sacramento, Calif. : University Media Services, CSU, Sacramento, 1995.

Audio Tour. Sacramento, Calif.: University Media Services, CSU, Sacramento, 1996.

Checkpoint Tour. Sacramento, Calif.: University Library, CSU, Sacramento, 1997.

Welcome to EUREKA. videocassette (22 mins.) Sacramento, Calif.: University Media Services, CSU, Sacramento, 1992.

Honors/Awards/Grants
Outstanding Teaching Award, California State University, Sacramento, University Library, 2005/2006

Certificate of Appreciation, California Library Association, 1995-1998

Co-Principal Investigator with Lynn Tashiro for Project "Baseline" : Information Literacy Study and Assessment of California State University, Sacramento Freshman Porgrams. Funded by California State University Chancellor's Office for two years, 2006/07-2007/08.

Co-Principal Investigator with Roz Van Auker for $4,940.00 from the CSU Information Competence Work Group to provide information competence (IC) skills to future K-12 teachers and to stimulate the teaching of these skills at the K-12 level. This project will be in development during Spring and Fall 1999 and will be implemented during the Spring 2000 term. For detailed information about Information Competence at CSUS and a copy of the grant proposal click on the link to the CSUS Information Competence For Future Teachers Proposal and the Project Report. A poster session was given at the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco, June, 2001.

Faculty Mini-Grant Received $4,760 for "Faculty Survey of Course Related Library Use and Information Literacy Instruction," Spring, 1994. Survey results have been used to guide direction of Library Instruction Program.

Awarded $1,500 from California Council for the Humanities for Japanese-American Collections grant to purchase display panels, June 1995.

Served on the Inter-segmental Information Literacy Task Force, on a grant funded by the California Community College Chancellor's Office which published its final report, entitled: Bibliographic Instruction/Information Literacy: Articulation Between the California Community Colleges, California State Universities and University of California Systems, March 15, 1994.

Professional Memberships
Ms. Goff is active in a variety of professional library association.  For a complete list of her activities within each organization, please visit her personal home page.

American Library Association (ALA)
Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)
Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT)
California Academic & Research Libraries (CARL)
California Clearinghouse on Library Instruction
California Faculty Association
California Library Association
International Federation of Library Associations
LOEX of the West

Current University Service
Library Administrative Council
MetaLib Implementation Team
Library Instruction Committee
Faculty Policy Committee

Links
If you are looking for a better search engine to meet your specific information needs or need help with APA or MLA Style Manuals go to one of my favorite pages:  http://www.noodletools.com/.  Try it, you’ll like it!

Linda Goff
Linda Goff
Head of Instructional Services
Office: Library 2021
Email: ljgoff@csus.edu
Phone: (916) 278-5981
Fax: (916) 278-5661
spacer  
Website