Reference Department
Reference Home
spacer
Research Help
In-person
Phone
Email
Online Chat
Research Consultations
Online Research Guides
spacer
About the Department
Mission
Collection
Disability Services
spacer
People
Departmental Directory
Subject Specialists
Ben Amata
Subject Areas
History, Criminal Justice, Government Information, and Law.

Services for Faculty
Course and assignment specific library instruction, Professional Research Consultations, Course Guides, and Purchase Requests.

Services for Students
One-on-one and small group research help, by appointment or on a drop-in basis. Phone and email research support.

Research Guides
History
Ancient History
Criminal Justice
Government Information
Census
Copyright

Education
M.L.I.S., UC Berkeley, 1981
B.A., History, California State University Northridge, 1972

Professional Memberships
American Library Association
California Academic Research Libraries

Current University Service

Senate Curriculum Policies Committee Chair
Senate Executive Committee
Faculty Senator
Program Review Oversight Committee

Publications
Book Reviews
(all products reviewed since 1999 were donated to the Library’s collection)
           
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements, Ozmanczyk, Edmund; Anthony Mango (Editor).  3rd edition. New York: Routledge. 2003.  4 v. lviii, 2941 pp. $495.00 (cloth).  ISBN 0-415-93920-8.

Chronological History of U.S. Foreign Relations Lester H. Brune; Richard Dean Burns (Consulting Editor). New York: Routledge, 2003. 3 v. xix, 1549 pp. $295.00 (cloth). ISBN 0-415-93914-3, Pages 419-420.  Government Information Quarterly, Volume 20, Issue 4, 2003.

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census. Margo J. Anderson (Editor). Washington D.C.: CQ Press, 2000. xxiv, 324 pp. $125.00 (cloth). ISBN 1-56802-428-2, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 19, Issue 4, 2002, Pages 427-428.

New England in U.S. Government Publications 1789-1849: An Annotated Bibliography.  Suzanne M. Clark; Connecticut: Greenwood Press. 1998. xv, 598 pp. $125.00 (cloth).  ISBN 0-313-281218-9, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 19, Issue 2, 2002,  Pages 209-210.

3-D TopoQuads, (CDROMS) by DeLorme Maine. 1999. $200.00 (Northern and Southern California).  Government Information Quarterly, Volume 17, Issue 4, 2000, Pages 459-460.

Encyclopedia of American Public Policy by Byron M Jackson. Santa Barbara, CA: Grove  ABC-CLIO, 2000.  xxi 230 pp $75 (cloth). ISBN 1-57607-023-9, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 17, Issue 1, 2000, Pages 80-81.

Truth and Reconciliation Commission of South Africa Report.  Truth and Reconciliation   Commission . New York: Grove Dictionaries Inc, 1999. 5 volumes  +  CDROM. $250 (cloth). ISBN 156159-245-5, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 17, Issue 3, 2000,  Pages 357-358.

Supreme Court A to Z: 2nd edition, edited by Kenneth Jost. Washington D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Inc. 1999. xv, 556 pp. $95.00. ISBN 1-56802-388-x, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 16, Issue 4, 1999, Pages 375-377.

Presidency A to Z: 2nd edition, edited by Michael Nelson. Washington D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Inc. 1999. xv, 603 pp. $95.00. ISBN 1-56802-388-x, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 16, Issue 4, 1999, Pages 375-377.

Congress A to Z: 3rd edition, edited by David R. Tarr and Ann O'Conner. Washington D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Inc. 1999. xv, 592 pp. $95.00. ISBN 1-56802-388-x, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 16, Issue 4, 1999, Pages 375-377.

Cryptography Policy: The Guidelines and the Issues. Paris: Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. 36 pp. 1998. $8.00. ISBN 92-64-16023-X, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 16, Issue 3, 1999, Pages 299-300.

United States Congressional Elections, 1788-1997: The Official Results of the
Elections  of the 1st through 105th Congress
, Jefferson: McFarland & Company, 1035 p. $235.00. ISBN 0-78-6-40283-0  Government Information Quarterly, Volume 16, Issue  2, 1999, Pages 195-197.
         
Historical Guide to the U.S. Government. Editor in Chief, George Thomas Kurian. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. xviii + 741 p. $72.00 (cloth). ISBN 0-19-510230-4, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 16, Issue 1, 1999, Pages 78-80.

Government documents cataloging service on impact: (CD-ROM), 1976-, Pomona, California: Autographics Inc., 1987- , $2,350.00 per year for a monthly, or $1,175.00 for a bimonthly database subscription, excluding hardware. Hardware options and prices are available from Autographics, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 5, Issue 3, 1988, Pages 307-309.

Le Pac: Government documents option: (CD-ROM), 1976- , Williamsport, Pennsylvania: Brodart Co. 1987-, $1,100.00 per year for a bimonthly database subscription, excluding hardware. Hardware options and prices are available from Brodart, Government Information Quarterly, Volume 5, Issue 3, 1988, Pages 310-312.

Presentations
CARL (California Academic Research Libraries) Workshop in Oakland California on Dec. 3, 2001, “U.S. Federal Legislation on the Web.” Presentation compared legislative information available at Library of Congresses’ Thomas and the U.S. Government Printing Offices’ GPOACESS web sites.

CSUS Senate Retreat, 2001. One of the presenters for the theme “Technology at the university” who made a 15 minute PowerPoint presentation on the topic technology in libraries.

Ben Amata
Ben Amata
Reference Librarian
Office: Library 2502
Email: bamata@csus.edu
Phone: (916) 278-5672
Fax: (916) 278-5661