SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


RECREATION, PARKS AND TOURISM ADMINISTRATION



Contents: Books
Periodical Articles
Statistics
Background
Periodicals
Help with APA Format
Return to Library Home Page

BOOKS

Use EUREKA, the Library online catalog to search for books and government documents. Searches can be by author, title, or keyword. In keyword you are searching the words in the title, some subject headings, and sometimes a brief summary of the table of contents. You are not able to search through the entire book. Books are especially useful for finding the history of a topic, overviews, and general definitions. Government documents contain many useful statistics. If the book or document is available online, there will be a link in the online EUREKA record.

To browse the shelves for books on recreation and leisure books, try call numbers GV1-GV200 on the 2nd Floor South.
Return to top of the page

PERIODICAL ARTICLES

The Library subscribes to many periodicals in the Recreation and Leisure field (list attached.) In order to find articles on specific topics within those journals, there are a number of indexes that are useful. The indexes listed below are designed to search through many journals at once, looking for articles on a specific topic area. None of these indexes are specific to RLS, but each includes some RLS information. CSUS does not have an online index that searches only RLS periodicals.

The Databases and Periodical Indexes page provides a complete list of all available electronic periodical indexes to which the Library subscribes. Below are listed some good indexes to start with. Depending on your chosen topic, other indexes may also be useful. Consult a librarian for assistance with choosing an appropriate index.

See the Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources page for instructions on accessing the databases from home.
  • General indexes: these are interdisciplinary indexes that include many fulltext articles.

  •     Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
        Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe (emphasis on news business, and trade publications)
        ScienceDirect
        Wiley InterScience

  • Subject specific indexes: these subject specific indexes cover periodicals in one discipline in depth.

  •     ABI/Inform Global and Trade & Industry (emphasis on business topics)
        ERIC (EBSCO)  (emphasis on education)
        PsycInfo (EBSCO)  (emphasis on psychology, counseling, behavior, communication)
        Sociological Abstracts  (abstracts only -emphasis on sociology, culture, anthropology)
        SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)  (all aspects of sports, leisure studies, coaching, recreation, etc.)

  • Locating and retrieving the entire article content

    If the index you are using does not contain the full text of the needed article, go to the Locate Print & e-Journals page, type in the periodical name (not the article title) and all available locations will be displayed.

    If the list indicates "EUREKA" the title is available in paper copy on the 3rd Floor South. If the list gives a database name, click on the journal name and you will be linked to either the journal itself, to the database containing the journal, or to a screen where you will be prompted to enter the year, volume, issue, and page of the specific article.
Return to top of the page

STATISTICS

There are many sources of statistical data that can be useful in the recreation and leisure fields. Often statistics are included in periodical articles. Below are listed some books and websites that have useful statistics.
Return to top of the page

BACKGROUND

The sources listed below have information on research strategies, policy issues, and other topics in recreation and leisure.
Return to top of the page

PERIODICALS

The periodicals listed below contain articles on recreation and leisure studies. This list includes titles available in paper, online, and databases. Paper copies are located on the 3rd Floor South. Titles available electronically are indicated.

Annals of Tourism Research
CAHPERD Journal-Times
California Parks and Recreation
Camping Magazine
Employee Services Management
E-Review of Tourism Research http://ertr.tamu.edu/
Golf Magazine available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management
International Journal of Hospitality Management
International Journal of Tourism Research
International Journal of Wilderness
International Review for the Sociology of Sport
JOPERD: Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
Journal of Experiential Education also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Journal of Interpretation Research
Journal of Leisure Research also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Journal of Park & Recreation Administration
Journal of Travel Research
Legacy: the Journal of the National Association for Interpretation
Leisure Sciences
Leisure Studies available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
National Parks also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Outdoor California
Park Science (online journal of the National Park Service)
    http://www2.nature.nps.gov/parksci/
Parks and Recreation also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
Skiing also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Therapeutic Recreation Journal
Tourism and Hospitality Research available in Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Tourism Economics
Tourism Management
Return to top of the page

HELP WITH APA FORMAT

The Library has copies of the APA Guide in the Reserve Book Room and near the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor North. In addition, try these links for help and examples.

APA Online  http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html
APA Style Guide (CSUS Guide) http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/general/apa.html
LOBO-Citation Builder
   This is an online citation generator. Select APA, fill in the blanks, and a APA citation is created.
Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Roz Van Auker, Education Reference Librarian; Roz Van Auker@csus.edu
rva/dr Last updated 6/09