SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


SOCIAL WORK RESOURCES



CONTENTS

BOOKS
Books can be found using EUREKA, the CSUS Library catalog, by authors, titles, subjects, or keywords.
Return to top of the page

GUIDES TO RESEARCH

CSUS Division of Social Work Online Writing Guide
    http://www.hhs.csus.edu/SWRK/document/PDF/SocialWork%20Online%20Writing%20Guide.pdf
Handbook of Social Work Research Methods  ref HV 11 H342 2001
The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods  ref H 62 L456 2004 v.1-3
Social Work Access Network (SWAN)  http://www.sc.edu/swan/about.html
The Social Work Student's Research Handbook ref HV 11 S77 2004
Yahoo/Social Science/Social Work  http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Social_Work/
Return to top of the page

GENERAL

Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Social Work  ref HV 12 B53 2000
Bureau of Labor Statistics  http://www.bls.gov/
CA Dept. Finance/Research (statistics)
    http://www.dof.ca.gov/Research/Research.asp
CA Dept. Health and Human Services  http://www.chhs.ca.gov/
CA Dept of Social Services  http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/default.htm
Community Services Planning Council Sacramento
    http://www.communitycouncil.org/level-2/about.html
Community Services Directory, Sacramento, CA (annual) ref HV 99 S12 S3
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare  ref HV 40 C635 2008 v.1-4
CSUS Department of Social Work - Links
    http://www.hhs.csus.edu/SWRK/SWLinkResources.htm
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America  ref HV 12 E497 2005
Encyclopedia of Social Work  ref HV 35 E53 2008 v.1-4
Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups ref HV 45 E53 2009
FEDSTATS  http://www.fedstats.gov
Handbook of Social Work Research Methods  ref HV 11 H342 2001
Social Work Access Network (SWAN)  http://www.sc.edu/swan/about.html
Social Work Dictionary  ref HV 12 B37 2003
Social Workers' Desk Reference  ref HV 40 S6464 2002
Statistical Abstract of the US (annual)  http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
    Also available in print at ref HA 202
US Department of Health and Human Services  http://www.dhhs.gov/
Return to top of the page

FOR THE PROFESSIONAL

All About Counseling  http://www.allaboutcounseling.com/
American Board of Examiners in Clinical Social Work http://www.abecsw.org/
Clinical Social Work Association  http://www.clinicalsocialworkassociation.org/
Community Services Directory: Sacramento (annual) ref HV 99 S12 S3
Council on Social Work Education (CSWE)  http://www.cswe.org/
International Federation of Social Workers  http://www.ifsw.org/
National Association of Social Workers (NASW)  http://www.naswdc.org/
National Association of Social Workers-CA Chapter   http://www.naswca.org/
Public Human Services Directory  ref HV 89 A55 2005
Register of Clinical Social Workers  http://www.socialworkers.org/register/default.asp
Socialservice.com (job links)  http://www.socialservice.com
Social Work Access Network (SWAN)  http://www.sc.edu/swan/about.html
Social Workers Code of Ethics  http://www.socialworkers.org/pubs/code/code.asp
Social Work Today (Online Journal)   http://www.socialworktoday.com/index.shtml
Return to top of the page

CROSSCULTURAL/MULTICULTURAL

Culturally Specific Mental Health Resouces-African American
    http://www.mentalhealth.org/cre/resource1.asp
Culturally Specific Mental Health Resouces-Asian Americans/Pacific Islanders
    http://www.mentalhealth.org/cre/resource2.asp
Culturally Specific Mental Health Resouces-Latinos/Hispanic Americans
    http://www.mentalhealth.org/cre/resource3.asp
Culturally Specific Mental Health Resouces-Multicultural
    http://www.mentalhealth.org/cre/resource5.asp
Culturally Specific Mental Health Resouces-Native Americans
    http://www.mentalhealth.org/cre/resource4.asp
Diversity and Equitity/NASW http://www.socialworkers.org/diversity/default.asp
Eliminate Disparities in Mental Health (CDC Office of Minority Health)
    http://www.cdc.gov/omhd/AMH/factsheets/mental.htm
Handbook of Psychotherapy and Religious Diversity  ref RC 489 R46 H36 2000
Health and Well-Being of Young Children of Immigrants
    http://www.urban.org/UploadedPDF/311139_ChildrenImmigrants.pdf
Indian Child Welfare Act in California  http://www.childsworld.ca.gov/PG1322.htm
Institutional Racism and the Social Work Profession: A Call to Action
    http://www.naswdc.org/diversity/InstitutionalRacism.pdf
Key Words in Multicultural Interventions: a Dictionary  ref BF 637 C6 K493 1999
Multicultural Competencies: a Guidebook of Practices  ref BF 637 C6 M836 2003
Mental Health:Culture Race and Ethnicity   http://mentalhealth.samhsa.gov/cre/default.asp
Minority Health Resources/CDC   http://www.cdc.gov/omhd/Partnerships/mhresources.htm
National Association of Black Social Workers (NABSW)   http://www.nabsw.org/mserver/
Indicators for the Achievement of the NASW Standards for Cultural Competence in Social Work Practice (2007)
    http://www.socialworkers.org/practice/standards/NASWCulturalStandardsIndicators2006.pdf
OMHD Racial and Ethnic Populations (CDC)
    http://www.cdc.gov/omhd/Populations/populations.htm
Social Work Practice and People of Color: a Process Approach  ref HV 3176 L9 2000
Return to top of the page

FAMILY AND CHILDREN

Administration for Children and Families    http://www.acf.hhs.gov/
Adoption and Foster Care Statistis   http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/stats_research/
American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy   http://www.aamft.org/index_nm.asp
The American Family: Reflecting a Changing Nation    ref HQ 536 A548 2003
California Department of Social Services/Research & Development
      http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/research/
California Report Card: The State of the State’s Children (annual)
    http://publications.childrennow.org/publications/invest/reportcard_2009.cfm
Child Abuse: Betraying a Trust    ref HV 6626.52 C44 2003
Childstats.gov   http://childstats.gov/
Child Trends DataBank    http://www.childtrendsdatabank.org/
Child Welfare Information Gateway   http://www.childwelfare.gov/
Child Welfare League of America    http://www.cwla.org/
Children in Vulnerable Families: Facts and Figures/Urban Inst
    http://www.urban.org/publications/901016.html
Children Now  http://www.childrennow.org/
    includes many publications and reports including annual Children Now County County Databook
Children with AIDS Project    http://www.aidskids.org/
Children's Bureau/US Department of Health and Human Services
     http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/index.htm
Employment Outcomes for Youth Who Age Out of Foster Care Through Their Middle Twenties
    http://aspe.hhs.gov/hsp/08/fosteremp/
CWLA Standards of Excellence for Services to Strengthen and Preserve Families
    with Children
   ref HV 699 C45 2003
Encyclopedia of Adoption    ref HV 875.55 A28 2007
Encyclopedia of Child Abuse    ref HV 66265 C57 2001
Encyclopedia of Family Life    ref HQ 534 E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Homelessness    ref HV 4493 E53 2004 v.1-2
Families USA    http://www.familiesusa.org/
Family Caregiver Alliance    http://www.caregiver.org/
Functional Family Therapy    Gov Doc J 32.10:F 21/7
Handbook of Marriage and the Family    ref HQ 518 H154 1999
Handbook of Mental Health Interventions in Children and Adolescents: an Integrated
    Developmental Approach
   ref RJ 499 H324 2004
Handbook of Psychotherapies with Children and Families     RJ 504 H3619 1999
Harvard Family Research Project    http://www.hfrp.org/
Head Start    http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ohs/
Kids Count Data Center  http://www.kidscount.org/datacenter/
National Families in Action    http://www.nationalfamilies.org/
National Fatherhood Initiative    http://www.fatherhood.org/
National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization    http://www.nhpco.org/
North American Council on Adoptable Children    http://www.nacac.org/
The Praeger Handbook of Adoption    ref HV 875 P694 2006 v.1-2
Statistics on Child and Family Well-Being
    http://www.childwelfare.gov/systemwide/statistics/wellbeing.cfm
Return to top of the page

LAW

California Courts   http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/
California Department of Social Services   http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/
California Family Code
    http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-calawquery?codesection=fam&codebody=&hits=20
The California Treatment Advocacy Coalition
    http://www.psychlaws.org/stateactivity/California.htm
Contemporary Family Law   ref KF 505 C65 2006
Dept. of Justice: ADA Homepage    http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahom1.htm
Essential Law for Social Workers    ref KF 390 S6 M33 2003
FindLaw California   http://california.findlaw.com/
Legal and Ethical Dictionary for Mental Health Professionals    ref KF 3828 A934 2003
Legal Service of Northern California   http://www.lsnc.info/
State of California Home Page   http://www.ca.gov/state/portal/myca_homepage.jsp
State Statuates: Child Abuse and Neglect, Child Welfare, and Adoption (CWIG)
    http://www.childwelfare.gov/systemwide/laws_policies/search/index.cfm

Also consider Lexis-Nexis, a database for researching legal information. See Indexes to Journals below.

Return to top of the page

MENTAL HEALTH AND DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES

Administration on Developmental Disabilities  http://www.acf.dhhs.gov/programs/add/
Authoritative Guide to Self-help Resources in Mental Health  ref RA 790.6 A98 2000
CA Dept. of Mental Health  http://www.dmh.cahwnet.gov/
CA Dept. of Rehabilition  http://www.rehab.cahwnet.gov/
Dept. of Justice: ADA Homepage  http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahom1.htm
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health   ref RC 437 G36 2008 v.1-2
Handbook of Mental Health Interventions in Children and Adolescents: an Integrated
    Developmental Approach
 ref RJ 499 H324 2004
The Mental Health Diagnostic Desk Reference  ref RC 455.2 C4 M86 2001
Mental Health: A Report of the Surgeon General
    http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/mentalhealth/home.html
National Council on Disability  http://www.ncd.gov/
National Institute of Mental Health  http://www.nimh.nih.gov/
A New Vision for Mental Health Treatment Laws  ref RA 790.65 C2 N48
The President's Committee for People with Intellectual Disabilities
    http://www.acf.dhhs.gov/programs/pcmr/
SAMHSA'S National Mental Health Information Center  http://mentalhealth.samhsa.gov/
Return to top of the page

OLDER ADULTS

Administration on Aging  http://www.aoa.gov/
Aging Network Services  http://www.agingnets.com/
AgingStats.gov  http://www.agingstats.gov/agingstatsdotnet/main_site/default.aspx
Alzheimer's Association  http://www.alz.org/
American Association of Homes and Services for the Aging  http://www.aahsa.org/
Assisted Senior Living  http://www.assistedseniorliving.net/
California Assisted Living Directory
    http://www.assisted-living-directory.com/content/california.htm
California Department of Aging   http://www.aging.ca.gov/
Census 2000 Data on Aging  http://www.aoa.gov/AoARoot/Aging_Statistics/Census_Population/census2000/census2000.aspx
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services  http://www.cms.hhs.gov/
County of Sacramento/Senior Services
    http://www.co.sacramento.ca.us/health-human-care/SAC_Portal_DF_Senior_Services
The Encyclopedia of Aging: a Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics
    ref HQ 1061 E53 2006 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Health & Aging  ref RA 777.6 E534 2007
Family Caregiver Alliance  http://www.caregiver.org/
Gerontology and Geriatrics: Selected Resources (CSUS Research Guide)
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/heas/Geriatrics.htm
Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy with Older Adults  RC 480.54 H36 1999
Older Americans Act Amendments of 2006 (NASW)
    https://www.naswdc.org/advocacy/letters/2006/062806Older.asp
Older Americans 2008: Key Indicators of Wellness
    http://www.agingstats.gov/Agingstatsdotnet/Main_Site/Default.aspx
National Institute on Aging  http://www.nia.nih.gov/
Social Security, Medicare & Government Pensions   ref KF 3650 M37 2008
Social Work with Older Adults Webinar/Families in Socity
    http://www.familiesinsociety.org/new/Teleconf/060201OldAdult/info.asp
Return to top of the page

VETERANS

California Department of Veterans Affairs  http://www.cdva.ca.gov/
Homeless Veterans  http://www1.va.gov/homeless/
Institue of Medicine/Health of Veterans and Deployed Forces  http://veterans.iom.edu/
MedlinePlus: Veterans and Military-Health
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/veteransandmilitaryhealth.html
NASW/Veterans  http://www.naswdc.org/research/naswResearch/Veterans/Veterans.asp
National Center for PTSD/Veterans  http://www.ncptsd.va.gov/ncmain/index.jsp
National Coalition for Homeless Veterans  http://www.nchv.org/content.cfm?id=26
Reliving Trauma: Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (NIMH)
    http://www.nimh.nih.gov/publicat/reliving.cfm
US Dept. of Veterans Affairs  http://www.va.gov/
Return to top of the page

SOCIAL WELFARE, ECONOMIC ASSISTANCE, HOMELESS, HOUSING,
SUBSTANCE ABUSE, etc.


American Homelessness: a Reference Handbook  ref HV 4505 H647 2001
Bureau of Primary Health Care/Health Center Program  http://bphc.hrsa.gov/
CA Dept of Finance - Research (statistics)  http://www.dof.ca.gov/Research/Research.asp
CA Dept of Social Services/Research & Development   http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/research/
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment  http://csat.samhsa.gov/
Community Services Directory: Sacramento (Annual)  ref HV 99 S12 S3
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare  HV 40 C635 2008 v.1-3
Congressional Hunger Center  http://www.hungercenter.org/
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior  ref HV 5804 E53 2001
Department of Health & Human Services-Homeless Home Page
    http://www.hhs.gov/homeless/
Homeless Education/California Department of Education  http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/hs/
Homeless Veterans  http://www1.va.gov/homeless/
Homelessness Resource Center
    http://www.nrchmi.samhsa.gov/Default.aspx?AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1
Homeownership Assistance-California (US HUD)
    http://www.hud.gov/local/ca/homeownership/buyingprgms.cfm
National Coalition for Homeless Veterans  http://www.nchv.org/content.cfm?id=26
National Coalition for the Homeless  http://www.nationalhomeless.org/
National Housing Institute  http://www.nhi.org/
Poverty in the United States: an Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy, v.1-2
    ref HC 110 P6 P598 2004
Public Human Services Directory  ref HV 89 A55 2005
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)  http://www.samhsa.gov/
World Hunger Year (WHY)  http://www.whyhunger.org/
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE
  • Paper Indexes
Abstracts in Social Gerontology ref HQZ 7164 O4 C8 1990-2001
Social Work Abstracts Index Area HVZ 7164 C48 A281 1965-2006
  • Electronic Indexes (Databases)
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources .
Return to top of the page

RELATED GUIDES

Below are some other related CSUS Research Guides. See the complete list of Research Guides for guides on all other topics.

Child Development Resources
Gerontology and Geriatrics: Selected Resources
Health Care Statistics
Psychology: Selected Resources
Sociology: Immigration
Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Debbie Rogenmoser, Reference Librarian.; Questions/Comments to Bill Kristi, Social Science Librarian (bkristie@csus.edu); or Linda Goff; Instriction Librarian (ljgoff@csus.edu); 9/02 Last updated 5/09