BASIC CONCEPTS IN THE SEARCH FOR TIME SERIES DATA
- The majority of time series data is annual; finding many years of
consistent data for a number of variables may be difficult.
- Limiting the search to quarterly or monthly data makes it easier to find
consistent data, but the number of variables is limited.
- National data is easier to find than state data, while local
(e.g. Sacramento) data is usually not available.
- Data availability is a function of historical practices in collecting
data, legal requirements and funding.
- Business and economic data is most readily available on an annual,
quarterly and monthly basis because this information is used to manage U.S.
economic policy and support the activities of business. Historically, the federal
government has established monitoring activities to easily and quickly compile
this data, and these activities receive funding priority.
- Very little social data is available quarterly or monthly. Annual data is
most common and may lag a couple of years behind in its currency due to the lack
of data collection ability and funding directed towards counting social
activities.
- Some social data may not be collected at all due to the lack of a legal
requirement and hence lack of funding.
- Company data is typically compiled annually and is usually limited to broad
income statement and balance sheet information.
- Much data is still not available online via the Internet; those that are
available may be difficult to find, may be distributed over many agencies and
then buried in their websites. There is not a well organized, consolidated online
source of data.
- Online data files may be in various formats, making it difficult to download
or even read.
|
SOURCES THAT DEFINE & DESCRIBE DATA
- Guide to Everyday Economic Statistics. ref HB 137 C57 1995
best place to start to learn about the purpose, reliability
and availability of business/economic data
-
Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators. ref HC 106.8 O47 2000
most comprehensive description of data available - appendixes
provide extensive list of data web sites
-
Handbook of Key Economic Indicators. ref HC 103 R64 1998
the most lengthy descriptions of the major data variables
-
Major U.S. Startistical Series: Definitions, Publications, Limitations. ref HA 37 U55 S77 1992
a good, brief source for discussing population and economic variables
|
|
COMPANY SPECIFIC DATA ON A MONTHLY OR QUARTERLY BASIS
-
Standard & Poor's Stock Guide. ref HG 4501 S8
MONTHLY sales volume of shares of stock, stock prices, dividend yields
and P/E ratio
-
Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. ref HG 4907 S72
QUARTERLY net sales/revenue, common share earnings, dividend data
-
Stock price data online: Available in Factiva (This is a CSUS Library database)
Click on Companies/Markets, Click on Quotes.
Also available from Yahoo!Finance (http://finance.yahoo.com)
- Business: Company Information - Electronic (/guides/bradleya/company.htm)
Note: advertising costs are not available monthly or quarterly; companies may not even report them on an annual basis
|
BUSINESS/ECONOMIC DATA ON A MONTHLY OR QUARTERLY BASIS (also includes annual data)
Business Statistics of the United States. ref HC 106.5 S9
see Reference Desk Bookcase on 2nd Floor
- the best source to begin to look for data because it is so comprehensive (data for about 2000 variables); there is no online equivalent
- an index in the back directs you to pages in the main part of the book, which provide recent MONTHLY and QUARTERLY data
- to update the tables, consult the NOTES section near the end of the book, which provide a description of the variable and an
explanation of where the data is published or a federal web site (often the web site will provide a long time series of data elements)
- contains 40 MONTHS of data and usually lags 2 years behind the most current data available
|
Statistical Service. ref HG 4921 S752 see Reference Desk Bookcase on 2nd Floor
- this is another excellent source to begin time series research (data for about 1000 variables); there is no online equivalent
- current data is filed into a brown binder published by Standard and Poors
- contains data for specialized business/economic variables not found elsewhere; a perfect complement to Business Statistics.
- use the yellow current index in the front of the binder to identify the variables covered and their page numbers
- contains over 100 MONTHS of data and is nearly as up to date as data on the Internet (when available)
|
Economic Indicators
(http://www.gpoaccess.gov/indicators/index.html) or 3 South Periodicals
- published monthly; the best source for the most current MONTHLY business/economic time series data; web site is easy to use
|
Business Cycle Indicators. ref HC 101 B83 see Reference Desk Bookcase on 2nd Floor
- published monthly; another good source of current MONTHLY data, some of which are not contained in the above source
|
|
Other sources, published monthly, of current MONTHLY OR QUARTERLY business/economic time series data:
|
SOCIAL DATA
Statistical Abstract of the United States. (annual + historical data).
(http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/) or ref HA 202
- the best source for social data, although most series are annual only
- check the introductions to the chapters and the table footnotes for references to current data publications and web sites
Population Estimates. (includes monthly data)
http://www.census.gov/popest/estimates.php
California Statistical Abstract (annual + historical data).
(http://www.dof.ca.gov/HTML/FS_DATA/STAT-ABS/Sa_home.htm)
California Department of Finance: Financial & Economic Data (monthly + annual data).
(http://www.dof.ca.gov/HTML/FS_DATA/Fs_home.htm)
RAND California (annual and historical data)
Counting California (data from a variety of time periods)
(http://countingcalifornia.cdlib.org/)
State Profile. California (Woods & Poole) ref HC 107 C2 C36 (annual and forecast data)
Contains demographics, social factors, business and the economy for the US, California, counties and cities.
Injury Center
From the CDC. Mortality and Injury Statistics
Health Care: Statistics on Health, Injury, Medical Assistance & Insurance, Health Personnel
A CSUS Library Research Guide with links to statistical sources for health/mortality/insurance/injury topics
(http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/heas/healthcarestatistics.html)
|
|
OTHER INTERNET RESOURCES FOR BUSINESS AND ECONOMIC DATA
GPO Access (http://www.gpoaccess.gov/databases.html)
- contains sources such as Economic Indicators, Statistical Abstract, the US Budget,
the Economic Report of the President, etc.
STAT-USA
(http://www.stat-usa.gov/)
- State of the Nation is a good current source for a large number
of business/economic data; the historical data my be difficult to extract (http://www.stat-usa.gov/econtest.nsf)
Federal Statistical Web Sites (http://www.csus.edu/indiv/a/amatab/govdocs/fstathp.htm)
Statistical Resources on the Web (http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/statsnew.html)
- one of the best guides to business/economics/social and other Internet sites compiled by the University of Michigan
Economagic.com: Economic Times Series Page (http://www.Economagic.com/)
- an easy to use commercial site with free access to thoushands of business/economic time series data.
EconStats (http://www.econstats.com/)
- another commericial site with free access to a large number of time series data, including country data and US forecasts
Econ Data and Links (http://zimmer.csufresno.edu/~johnsh/econ/econ_EDL.htm)
- this guide, compiled by Professor John Shaw at CSU Fresno, contains good links to National, California and regional data
|