SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


GEOGRAPHY: MAPS and ATLASES



MAPS ATLASES

MAPS AND THE MAP COLLECTION


INTRODUCTION to MAPS and THE MAP COLLECTION

The Library has a specific Map Collection located on 2 North; however maps and atlases are also located throughout the Library's other collections. There are over 20,000 maps in the Map Collection, many of which can be found in EUREKA, the online catalog. The maps in the Map Collection are stored in one of three ways.
  • FILE:  small maps, filed vertically, are in legal size beige file cabinets by categories labeled on the drawers (e.g., CIA, Road Maps, etc.) Most maps are cataloged and can be found using EUREKA.

  • DRAWER:  medium-sized maps, filed horizontally, are in large grey cabinets; Cataloged maps are in drawers with blue labels (e.g., National Geographic) and can be found using EUREKA. Those not yet cataloged are in drawers with yellow or green labels. Use the Maps Card Catalog to find these uncataloged maps.

  • WALL MAPS:  large maps, rolled on wooden dowels, are stored vertically in cases behind the file cabinets. Oversize wall maps are arranged horizontally on low shelving or on a rolling aluminum rack. Use EUREKA to locate the cataloged maps and the Maps Card Catalog for wall maps that are not yet cataloged.
Maps can be checked out to students, staff, and faculty. Go to the Reference Desk (2 North) for assistance.
Return to top of the page

USE EUREKA TO FIND MAPS

Although thousands of maps and atlases are located in the Map and Atlas Collection on 2nd floor North, they are also available in other collections in the Library such as the Reference Collection, Quartos, Government Documents, Curriculum Collections, Tsakopolous Collection, etc., and the circulating collections on every floor. Use EUREKA, the online catalog, to find cataloged maps specific to the Map Collection or to find maps throughout all the Library's collections.
  • Using EUREKA to search only the Map Collection (2 North)

    Begin in Advanced Search mode. In the first search box, type in the topic of the map. Search terms might include specific countries (China), time periods (Middle Ages), events (World War II), or broad themes (United States and immigr*.)

    Note: The asterisk (*) insures all alternative endings of a word are included in the search.

    Then move curser down to the box labeled Location: and click on Map Collection.

    Maps in the Map Collection will have a location of either FILE, DRAWER, or WALL MAPS. In addition, EUREKA will designate more specific drawers within the FILE (such as Road Maps) and DRAWER (such as National Geographic) collections. The largest WALL MAPS will have an OVERSIZE designation in EUREKA

  • Usine EUREKA to search for maps throughout all Library holdings.
  • Begin in Advanced Search mode. In the first search box, type in the topic of the atlas. Enter a country, time period, theme, etc.

    In the next search box enter the term map* and click on the SEARCH button. The results will be a list of maps in a variety of locations throughout the Library.
Return to top of the page

FINDING UNCATALOGUED MAPS

Use the Maps Card Catalog to locate uncataloged maps located in the Map Collection on 2 North. The Maps Card Catalog is located on 2 North by the maps/atlas collection and is arranged by subject.

Return to top of the page

TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS

Topographic maps are shelved by state (see above) and then by the official place name designation of the map. These official place names are overlaid on maps of California and the other large states. These are called 'index maps.' The index maps are posted on the wall behind the file cabinets in 2 North Map Collection area.

Find your location, note the official place name, and use that place name to find the map alphabetically in the file drawers for that state (see list above in Uncatalogued Maps.)

The US Geological Survey (USGS) has a variety of resouces on topographic maps; including: More information about topographic maps is available at:

USGS Topo Maps  http://topomaps.usgs.gov/
Geography/About.com  http://geography.about.com/od/topographicmaps/Topographic_Maps.htm
The National Map (USGS)  http://nationalmap.gov/
Return to top of the page

BROWSE THE MAP COLLECTION

Maps in the Map Collection (2 North) are organized by the following call numbers within the FILE, DRAWER, and WALL MAP sections.
G 3190-3100
G 3200-3202
G 3210-3222
G 3240-3272
G 3290-3299
G 3300-3379
G 3380-3612
G 3690-4383
G 4390-5184
G 5200-5668
G 5670-5699
G 5700-7342
G 7400-8198.54
G 8200-8904
G 8950-9084
G 9095-9794
G 9800-9804
G 9900-9980
Celestial
World
Northern/Southern Hemispheres
Climate Zones
Western Hemispheres
North America
Greenland and Canada
United States
Caribbean, Mexico, Central America
South America
Eastern Hemisphere
Europe and Russia
Asia
Africa
Australasia
Oceans (general)
Antarctica
Theoretical maps; imaginary & identified places
Return to top of the page

ONLINE MAPS

  • The maps sites listed here include maps on a variety of topics/subjects and most of these sites have multiple maps.
Blank and Outline Maps  http://geography.about.com/cs/blankoutlinemaps/index.htm
California State Government Maps  http://www.ca.gov/About/Maps.html
CIA Political and Physical Maps 
    https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/cia-maps-publications/index.html
David Rumsey Map Collection (historical)  http://www.davidrumsey.com/directory/
Digital History Maps  http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/maps/maps.cfm
Free World Maps  http://www.freeworldmaps.net/
Geodata.gov  http://gos2.geodata.gov/wps/portal/gos
Geography.about.com Maps (instructive)  http://geography.about.com/od/findmaps/u/maps.htm
Geology.Com  http://geology.com/state-map/
HyperHistory Online Maps  http://www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/History_n2/a.html
IDMC: Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre  http://www.internal-displacement.org/
Images of Early Maps (Historical-world wide)  http://www.maphistory.info/webimages.html
Library of Congress Map Collections (Maps of all types) 
     http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html
Medieval Maps/Fordham University http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbookmap.html
NASA Satellite Tracking  http://science.nasa.gov/realtime/
NASA Worldwind Satellite Imagery http://worldwind.arc.nasa.gov/
National Atlas  http://nationalatlas.gov/
National Geographic Map Machine  http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/map-machine#theme
    Maps by road maps, physical, satillite and theme maps.
The National Map (USGS)  http://nationalmap.gov/
National Weather Service  http://www.nws.noaa.gov/
NationMaster http://www.nationmaster.com/index.php
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (maps of all types)
    http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html
ReliefWeb: Map Centre http://www.reliefweb.int/rw/rwb.nsf/doc114?OpenForm
Sacramento City Maps  http://maps.cityofsacramento.org/
Sacramento County Maps  http://www.saccounty.net/community-services/SAC_Portal_DF_Maps
UC Davis Map Collection http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/govinfo/mapcollection/
United Nations Cartographic Section  http://www.un.org/Depts/Cartographic/english/htmain.htm
US Census Bureau Maps http://tiger.census.gov/cgi-bin/mapbrowse-tbl
USA.gov Maps  http://www.usa.gov/Topics/Maps.shtml

  • These sites are specific for interactive maps; however many of the online map sites listed above also include interactive maps.
Google Maps  http://maps.google.com/maps
Google Earth  http://earth.google.com/
Google Earth User Guide  http://earth.google.com/userguide/v4/
Maps by Latitude and Longitude  http://atlas.mapquest.com/maps/latlong.adp
MapQuest  http://www.mapquest.com
National Geographic Map Machine  http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine/
Sacsites   http://www.sacsites.com/disclaimer.asp
Yahoo Maps  http://maps.yahoo.com/
Return to top of the page

CITING MAPS, PUBLISHING COMPANIES AND MAP BIBLIOGRAPHY

Citing Maps
    http://www.library.unt.edu/govinfo/browse-topics/citation-guides-and-style-manuals/citing-maps
    This guide is from the University of North Texas Libraries. It links to different resources for
    citing maps.


Bibliographic Guide to Maps and Atlases  ref GZ 6028 N58 1997
Omni Resources Map Catalog  (Omni Resources, Burlington, NC) http://www.omnimap.com/
Map Link Catalog  (Map Link, Santa Barbara)   http://www.maplink.com
Rand McNally  http://www.randmcnally.com/




ATLASES AND THE ATLAS COLLECTION


Return to top of the page

INTRODUCTION TO ATLASES AND ATLAS COLLECTION

The Library's Atlas Collection (2 North) includes over 1,500 atlases. All are cataloged and can be found using EUREKA, the online catalog. Aside from the Atlas Collection, atlases are also available in other collections in the Library such as the Quartos, Government Documents, Curriculum Collections, University Archives and Special Collections, etc., and the circulating collections on every floor.

Return to top of the page

USE EUREKA TO FIND ATLASES

Like maps, there are atlases located throughout other Library collections as well as the specific Atlas Collection on 2 North. Use EUREKA, the online catalog, to find atlases specific to the Atlas Collection or to find atlases throughout all the Library's collections.
  • Using EUREKA to search only the Atlas Collection (2 North)

    Begin in Advanced Search mode. In the first search box, type in the subject of the atlas. Search terms might include a specific country (Liberia), a theme (population), an event (American Revolution) or time period (ice age).

    Then move curser down to the box labeled Location: and click on the word Atlases.

    The atlases are located in the counter high bookcases in 2 North. Ovesized atlases are at the end.

  • Usine EUREKA to search for atlases within all Library holdings.
  • Begin in Advanced Search mode. In the first search box, type in the subject of the atlas. Enter a country, time period, theme, etc.

    In the next search box enter the term atlas and click on the SEARCH button. The results will be a list of atlases in a variety of locations throughout the Library.
Return to top of the page

BROWSE THE ATLAS COLLECTION

Atlases are arranged by the following classification scheme in the Atlas bookcases 2 North:
G 1000
G 1001-1046
G 1050-1052
G 1100-1779
G 1105-1694
G 1110-1114
G 1115-1193
G 1200-1534
G 1535- 1694
G 1700-1779
Atlases of the Moon/planets
World atlases (general
Northern/Southern Hemispheres
Western Hemisphers
North America
Greenland
Canada
United States
Centeral/Latin America
South America
G 1780-2799
G 1791-2193
G 2200-2444
G 2445-2739
G 2740-2799
G 2800-3064
G 3100-3102
G 3122
G 3160-3182
G 3190-9980
Eastern Hemisphere
Europe/Former USSR
Asia
Africa
Australasia
Oceans
Antarctica
Imaginary/literary/mythology
Globes
Maps
Return to top of the page

GENERAL ATLASES

Hammond World Atlas  atlas G 1021 H2665 2008
Atlas of California (1979)  atlas G 1525 A85
Atlas of Central America and the Caribbean   atlas G 1550 D5 1985
Atlas of China   atlas G 2305 N2 2008
Atlas of Mexico  atlas G 1545 P5 1989
Atlas of South America  atlas G 1700 B7 1991
Europe Today: an Atlas of Reproducible Pages  atlas G 1797.2 W67 1985
National Atlas of Canada   atlas G 1115 C3 1985
National Atlas  http://nationalatlas.gov/
    also available at atlas G 1200 U57 1970
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide (oversize)  atlas HF 1023 R3
State Maps on File (outline maps)  atlas G 1201 S1 F3

The following atlases are located in other sections of the Library:

Maps on File (outline maps)  ref G 3200 M36
Historical Maps on File (outline maps)  ref G 1033 M128
Geography on File  ref G 1021 F25
Geologic Atlas of California  2 North Ref Desk Coll QE 89 C3 (1958-69)
California Water Atlas  2 North Ref Desk Coll G 1526 C3 C3 1979
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (Sacramento)   1 South Library Media Center/Microfilm 8217
   These are historical maps of Sacramento from 1850-1950
Return to top of the page

THEMATIC ATLASES



Listed below are some examples of thematic atlases in the Atlas Collection

Historical Atlas of Islam   atlas G 1786 S1 R9 2004
Atlas of Religion  atlas G 1046 E4 O2 2007
The World Atlas of Language Structures  atlas P 143 W67 2005

Atlas of the Universe  atlas QB 44 M5425 1998
Photographic Atlas of the Moon  atlas G 1000.31 A4 C4 2002
Sky Atlas 2000.0  atlas QB 65 T54 1981

Atlas of the Biodiversity of California  atlas QH 76.5 C2 A8 2003
Atlas of the Environment  atlas G 1046 G3 L4 1992
Atlas of the World's Deserts  atlas G 1046 C813 H3 2003
World Atlas of Coral Reefs  atlas G 1046 L4 S6 2001
World Atlas of the Oceans   atlas G 2800 W4413 2001
Geologic Atlas of the United States atlas QE 75 G4 no.
    the no. at the end of the call number is where the various folio numbers are inserted
Geologic Atlas of the United States - listed by State and Folio numbers
    This is online guide to the numbered series for Geologic Atlas of the
    US from Syracuse University

Atlas of American Indian Affairs   atlas G 1201 E1 P7 1990
Atlas of the Arab World   atlas G 1785 F3 1991
Atlas of Maritime History  atlas G 1059 N3 1986
An Atlas of World Affairs   atlas G 1035 B6 2007
Collins Atlas of Military History  atlas G 1046 S1 C65 2006
Cultural Atlas of Africa  atlas G 2446 E1 C8 1998
State of Women in the World Atlas   atlas G 1046 E1 S4 2003
We the People: an Atlas of America's Ethnic Diversity  atlas E 184 A1 A479 1988
Socio-economic Atlas of India  atlas G 2281 G1 S6 2001

Atlas of American History  atlas E 179.5 N37 2007
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World   atlas G 1033 B3 2000
Historical Atlas of California: with Original Maps  atlas G 1526 S1 H39 2007
History Atlas of Africa   atlas G 2446 S1 K3 1998
History Atlas of Europe   atlas G 1797.21 S1 B3 1998
Historical Atlas of the United States   atlas G 1201 S1 F5 2004
Routledge Atlas of Jewish History   atlas G 1030 G46 2003
Times Atlas of World History   atlas G 1030 T54

Asian Market Atlas  atlas HF 5415.12 A8 A83 1984
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide  atlas HF 1023 R3
Return to top of the page

ONLINE ATLASES

See also Maps Online - Multi-topic/General and Online Interactive Maps for more online atlases.

Atlas of the Human Journey (National Geographic)
    https://genographic.nationalgeographic.com/genographic/atlas.html
California Digital Atlas  http://atlas.resources.ca.gov/
Great Globe Gallery   http://www.staff.amu.edu.pl/~zbzw/glob/3GonW3.html
Holt, Rinehart, & Winston World Atlas  http://go.hrw.com/atlas/norm_htm/world.htm
Malaria Atlas Project  http://www.map.ox.ac.uk/index.htm
MapChart/Atlas
    http://web.mapchart.com/atlas.php?session_id=f64a9175e0b6d467f8437d958dbc5fcf
National Atlas  http://nationalatlas.gov/
One Planet Many People (UN)  http://www.na.unep.net/OnePlanetManyPeople/index.php
Online Bible Atlas  http://www.godweb.org/atlasindex.htm
Soil Atlas of Europe  http://eusoils.jrc.it/projects/soil%5Fatlas/
Wikimapia: a wiki project to describe the world  http://www.wikimapia.org/
Return to top of the page

PLACE NAME DIRECTORIES AND GAZETEERS

NGA GEOnet Names Server  http://earth-info.nga.mil/gns/html/index.html
Columbia Gazetteer of the World  ref G 103.5 C645 1998
Times-Index Gazetteer of the World  ref G 103 T5 1965
Merriam Webster's Geographical Dictionary   ref G 103.5 W42
Historical Gazetteer of the United States   ref E 154 H45 2005
Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)   http://geonames.usgs.gov
California Place Names: the Origin and Etymology of Current Geographical Names
      ref F 859 G79
Return to top of the page

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

Materials of Interest to Secondary Social Studies Teachers
Environmental Studies: Endangered Species, Biodiversity & Conservation
Physical Geography Sources
Guide to Resources & Research in Geology/Earth Sciences

Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Debbie Rogenmoser, Reference Librarian; drogenmoser@csus.edu and
Bill Kristie, Social Science Reference Librarian; bkristie@csus.edu and    Last updated 6/09