SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


SOCIOLOGY: SELECTED RESOURCES



    
Using EUREKA
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/General
Research and Methodology
Special Topics
Statistics
Databases
Selected Journals
Writing Guides
Return to Library Home Page

“Sociology is the study of social life and behavior, especially in relation to social systems, how they work, how they change, the consequences they produce, and their complex relation to people’s lives” (Johnson, 1995: 269).This guide is designed to provide you with some foundation to the complexities of sociology as well as some sources to begin your research. Refer to other CSUS Reference Guides for specific topics such as race, ethnicity, gender, or sexualities.


USING EUREKA
EUREKA
is the catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library. Books, videos, periodicals, etc., can be found in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.

  • Keyword Searching: One way to locate books in EUREKA is with an Advanced Keyword search using such terms as:

    sociology and rural conditions; crime and sociological aspects; organizational sociology; social conflict; race and sociology, etc.

  • Browsing: Some suggested Call Numbers for browsing the shelves for books are:
    Sociology - General
    Schools of Social thought
    Culture
    Social Systems
    Social Institutions
    Social psychology
    Homosexuality/Lesbianism
    Family/Marriage/Home
    Sex Role
    HM401-1281
    HM461-473
    HM621-656
    HM701
    HM826
    HM1001-1281
    HQ75-76.8
    HQ503-1064
    HQ1075-1075.5
    Men
    Women/Feminism
    Community/Races/Class
    Urban Goups/Urban Sociology
    Rural Groups/Rural Sociology
    Classes
    Races
    Immigrants
    Poor in cities/Slums
    HQ1088-1090.7
    HQ1101-2030.7
    HT51-1595
    HT101-395
    HT401-485
    HT601-1445
    HT1501-1595
    HV4004-4013
    HV4023-4470.7
Return to top of the page

DICTIONARIES and ENCYCLOPEDIAS and OTHER GENERAL SOURCES

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology    Ref HM 425 J64 2000
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology     Ref HM 251 B476 1995
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology    Ref HM 425 C36 2006
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice     Ref HM 671 E53 2007
Encyclopedia of Community: from the Village to the Virtual World     Ref HM 756 E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Sociology, v. 1-3    Ref HM 425 E5 2000
Encyclopedia of Social Theory Ref HM 425 E47 2005
A Glossary of Cultural Theory     Ref HM 621 B76 2002
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences     Ref H 40 A2 I5 2008 v.1-9
The Max Weber Dictionary: Key Words and Central Concepts    Ref HM 425 S94 2005
The Sage Dictionary of Sociology      Ref HM 425 B78 2006
The Sage Handbook of Sociology       Ref HM 586 S24 2005
Sociology Central -links  http://www.sociology.org.uk/clink.htm
    Includes menue of topics
SocioSite (University of Amsterdam)   http://www.sociosite.net/
   Includes data archives, biographies, articles, special topics, articles, etc.
SocioWeb   http://www.socioweb.com/
    includes statistics, online journals, biographies, theories, etc.
Return to top of the page

RESEARCH and METHODOLOGY The A-Z of Social Research: a Dictionary of Key Social Science Research Concepts
      Ref H 62 A5124 2003
Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: a Nontechnical Guide for the Social Sciences
    Ref HA 17 V64 2005
Encyclopedia of Evaluation     Ref H 62 M312 2005
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement     Ref H 62 E627 2005 v.1-3
Handbook of Research Design & Social Measurement     Ref H 62 M44 2002
Methods in Social Research  http://gsociology.icaap.org/methods/
    Free "how-to-do" resources for program evaluation and social research methods
Resources to help you learn and use SPSS  http://www.ats.ucla.edu/stat/spss/
The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods    Ref H 62 L456 2004 v.1-3
The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Research     Ref H 62 H2455 2005
Return to top of the page

SPECIAL TOPICS

The Classical Tradition in Sociology: the American Tradition     Ref HM 22 U5 C53 1997
Child Poverty in America Today     Ref HV 741 C4875 2007 v.1-3
Central Currents in Social Theory     Ref HM 435 C45 2000 v.1-8
Cultural Theory: the Key Concepts     HM 621 C85366 2008
Emile Durkheim: Critical Assessments of Leading Sociologists
    Ref HM 479 D87 E47 2001 v.1-4
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories Ref HQ 1190 E63 2000
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies Gn 495.6 C37 2004
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism Ref E 184 A1 E584 2008 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Social Theory     Ref HM 425 E47 2005
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sexx Similarities and Differences and the Impact of
     Society on Gender
   Ref HQ 1115 E43 2001 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of World Poverty Ref HV 12 .E54 2006 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities Gn 495.4 E63 2005
A Glossary of Cultural Theory     Ref HM 621 B76 2002
Handbook of Sociological Theory     Ref HM 585 H36 2001
Historical Dictionary of Feminism Ref HQ 1115 B65 2004
Masters of Sociological Thought: Ideas in Historical and Social Context
     HM 19 C67 1977
Poverty in the United States: an Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy
     Ref HC 110 P6 P598 2004 v.1-2
Social Change in America: the Historical Handbook     Ref HA 203 S746 2006
Sociological Theories/SocioWeb   http://www.socioweb.com/directory/sociological-theories/
Theory/Theorists/Sociology Central  http://www.sociology.org.uk/clink.htm
Return to top of the page

STATISTICS

These are large meta-sites with statistics on a broad variety of areas and/or gathered from many different agencies and soures.
  • Census Bureau  http://www.census.gov/
    From the US Census Bureau; can also search for statistics by subject
  • FedStats   http://www.fedstats.gov/
    Statistics from over 100 government agencies
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States  http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
    Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US
  • NationMaster.com    http://www.nationmaster.com/index.php
    Compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD
These sites are specific to California
  • California Economic Indicators  http://www.dof.ca.gov/HTML/FS_DATA/indicatr/ei_home.htm
    Bimonthly summary of economic trends and data
  • California Statistical Abstract  http://www.dof.ca.gov/HTML/FS_DATA/STAT-ABS/Statistical_Abstract.php
    Compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of California.
Statistics on Specific Topics: Additional links to statistical data can be found from the following Library Research Guides; each has a specific statistics section. See the Library Research Guides page for a complete list of all research guides.

Economics: Selected Sources
Education: Internet Resources
Health Care: Statistics on Health, etc.
Public Policy and Administration
Sacramento: Sources for Government, Statistics, etc.
Return to top of the page

DATABASES

Below are some database suggestions to begin research. A more complete list of databases for sociology research is available on the Sociology Database and Index page. This page also lists other Library Research Guides appropriate for Sociology research as well as search engines, web sites, writing guides, etc,.

Databases and indexes are available to all on the Library computers. Unless noted otherwise; off-campus access is restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    General multi-subject database; 1975-current
  • PsycINFO (EBSCO)
    From the American Psychological Association; 1840-current
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Interdisciplinary database; 1983-current
  • Social Services Abstracts (CSA)
    Social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development; 1980-current
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
    International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; 1963-current
  • Return to top of the page

    SELECTED JOURNALS

    This is just a selected list of journals in the field of sociology.

    American Journal of Sociology
    American Sociological Review
    Contemporary Sociology
    Gender and Society
    Sociological Inquiry
    Social Forces
    Social Problems
    Social Science Quarterly
    Return to top of the page

    WRITING GUIDES

    ASA Style Format ( Library Research Guide)
    American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide   Ref HM 569 A54 2007
    Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style)  http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/583/01
    Writing for Social Scientists: How to Start and Finish your Thesis, Book, or Article
         2 South H 61.8 B43 2007
    The Sociology Student Writer's Manual 2 South HM 585 S638 2006
    How to Do a Literature Review ( Library Research Guide)
    How to Write and Annotated Bibliography (Library Research Guide)
    Writing Guides: Plagiarism (Library Research Guide)
    Writing Guides: Pro/Con, Debates, Position Papers (Library Research Guide)
    Return to top of the page

    A Sacramento State Library Research Guide. Questions/Comments to Mary Reddick, Online Curriculum Library Services Librarian; reddickm@csus.edu   Last updated 6/09