Ethnic Studies:
Chicana & Latina Issues

This guide should be used in conjunction with the CSUS Chicano/Latino Studies guide for additional resources. This guide will provide a general list of names and resources that you can use to conduct your research.

Scholars
The following is a small list of Chicana and Latina scholars. All the names listed focus on Chicana and Latina women. This list is not meant to be a comprehensive. The text that follows their names in italics is an area of specialty. Use EUREKA or the article databases to search as an Author. For additional scholars speak to a reference librarian.
Historians Sociologists
  Ruiz, Vicki labor
Gonzalez, Deena sexuality, women in the west
Salas, Elizabeth soldaderas
Castañeda, Antonia
  Pardo, Mary grassroots organizing
Fernandez-Kelly, Ma. Patricia development, immigration
Baca Zinn, Maxine methodology, gender roles, family
Cuadraz, Gloria Holguin education
Facio, Elisa aging
Garcia, Alma feminism
Deere, Carmen Diana development
Segura, Denise labor
Safa, Helen development
Law
  Montoya, Margaret
Education
  Hurtado, Aida feminism
Gandara, Patricia
Literature and Literary Criticism Media
  Herrera-Sobek, Maria
Sanchez, Rosaura
Yarbro-Bejarano, Yvonne
Saldivar-Hull, Sonia
Rebolledo, Tey Diana
Trujillo, Carla lesbianism
Gaspar de Alba, Alicia sexuality, art
Alarcon, Norma
 

Arrizon, Alicia theater
Iglesias Prieto, Norma film
Fregoso, Rosa Linda film
Rodriguez, Clara media

  Anthropologists
    Zavella, Patricia labor, sexuality
Najera-Ramirez, Olga folklore
Writers
  Moraga, Cherrie playwrite, lesbianism   Serros, Michelle
  Poinatowska, Elena   Viramontes, Helena Maria


Classic readings in Chicana Studies
The following citations are considered the beginning foundations of Chicana Feminism.
Margarita Melville. Twice a Minority: Mexican American women. E 184 .M5 T84
Adaljiza Sosa-Riddell. "Chicanas and el Movimiento." In: AZTLAN Vol. 5, no. 1 (Spring, 1974), p. 155-165.
Linda Apodaca. "The Chicana woman: a historical materialist perspective." In: LATIN AMERICAN PERSPECTIVES Vol. 4, no. 12-13 (Winter-Spring, 1977), p. 70-89.
Martha Cotera. The Chicana Feminist. HQ 1426 .C6847
Adelaida del Castillo. "Malintzin Tenepal: a preliminary look into a new perspective." In: Sanchez, Rosaura and Martinez Cruz, Rosa, eds. Essays on la Mujer. p. 124-149. E 184 .M5 E87
Elizabeth Sutherland Martinez. "Colonized Women: The Chicana An Introduction." In: Morgan, Robin, ed. Sisterhood is Powerful. p. 376-379. HQ1426.M63
Enriqueta Longeaex y Vasquez. "The Mexican America Woman."Readings on la Raza: The Twentieth Century. E 184 .M5 M46 1974
Ana Nieto Gomez. "Chicana Feminism." In: CARACOL Vol. 2, no. 5 (January, 1976), p. 3-5. (must request via ILL, Library does not own journal).
A compiled anthology of other readings are available in Garcia, Alma, ed. Chicana Feminist Thought: the basic historical writings. HQ1426.C52 1997. NOTE: Some articles have been edited for space therefore you might want to check the article's citation to access the original publication.


Additional Resources
Check EUREKA for location and/or call numbers for the citations below.

Art
Contempory Chicana and Chicano art. N 6538 .M4 C664 2002 v.1

Bibliographies
Latinas of the Americas: a source book HQZ 7964 .L3 S76 1989
Queer bibliography http://www.indiana.edu/~arenal/lesbo.html

Bibliographies of Queer Chicana Fictions http://homepage.mac.com/ktrion/Jotas/
Readings on Dolores Huerta http://clnet.sscnet.ucla.edu/women/Huerta/readings.html
Companera: Latina Lesbians: an anthology. PS 509.L47C65 1987


Literature
Bibliographic guide to Chicana and Latina narrative
.
Z 1229 .M48 L46 2003 Reference

Other Books
Latinas in the United States: a historical encyclopedia. E184.S75L35 2006 Reference
Latina Issues: fragments of historia. 1995
Chicana Critical Issues. 1993
Building with our hands: new directoions in Chicana studies. 1993
Chicanas/Chicanos at the crossroads: social, economic, and political change. 1996
Making face, making soul = Haciendo caras: creative and critical perspectives by women of color. 1990
Unequal sisters: a muticultural reader in U.S. women's history. 2000

Library of Congress Subject Headings
EUREKA along with the majority of the online databases use "Library of Congress Subject Headings" (large red books near the Reference Desk) to catalog books. These subject headings are slow to change and sometimes removed from contemporary usage; they are, however, extremely useful in locating books and articles. Also consider them as possible Keyword searchs.
Mexican American women
Bilingualism Texas
Feminism United States
Madres de Plaza de Mayo
Puerto Rican women
Hispanic American Women
Alien labor, Mexican United States
Women Employment

Finding Articles
Databases relevant to Chicana and Latina Studies: The Ethnic Studies Resources Guide page will provide links to the following databases. Stop by the Reference Desk if you need addtitional help.
Chicano Database Ethnic NewsWatch GenderWatch
Sociological Abstracts INFOtrac: Academic Index MLA (literature)
EBSCOhost: Academic Search Alternative Press Index (newspapers) ERIC (education)
Criminal Justice Abstracts MEDLINE (health) CINAHL (heath)
PsycInfo (psychology) America: History and Life (history)

Journals
Possible journals that publish related materials. Latest editions will be located on the 3rd floor South in the "current periodoical" section. For older issues from the pervious year to 1980, journal will be in the "bound" area on the 3rd floor South.
Gender and Society Frontiers Signs
Aztlan Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences
Fem Mexico's Feminist Magazine

Other Library Women Studies Resources
Women's Studies Library Guide

Created and maintained by Kathryn Blackmer Reyes, Ethnic Studies & Multicultural Librarian. Univ. Library Rm. 3032, 3rd floor. 916.278.7784. Created and updated: October 2006.