GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT CHILDREN'S LITERATURE
The Juvenile Collection is located on floor 2 South. The reference books are
at the beginning of the collection, arranged by Dewey Decimal call number.
The fiction books are arranged alphabetically by author and the nonfiction
books are arranged by Dewey Decimal call number. Award winning books, picture
books and easy readers are shelved in separate sections next to the juvenile
reference books.
- Arne Nixon Center for the Study of Children's Literature/CSU Fresno
http://www.arnenixoncenter.org/index.html
One of North America's leading research centers for the
study of children's and young adult literature; includes over 45,000 books, periodicals, manuscripts,
illustrations, and related materials has a multicultural emphasis, dating from 1865 to current publications.
- Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature/Univ. of Florida
http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/UFDC/UFDC.aspx?c=juv
This is a digital collection of historic British and US children's books from 1700s through the current year.
- Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
http://www.carolhurst.com
Lots of good children's literature information, teaching ideas and links. Perhaps most
useful is the online archive of her children's literature newsletter, which
contains full text articles and interviews.
- Childrens' Book Council
http://www.cbcbooks.org
Children's Book Council is a trade organization of children's
book publishers. Includes author/illustrator interviews and the online newsletter are
particularly useful.
- Children's eTexts/Project Gutenberg
http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/world/results?subject=Children
Access to over 400 children's books.
- Children's Literature Web Guide
http://www.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/
This well-known site is a great beginning for exploring web
resources related to children's literature.
-
Cooperative Children's Book Center
http://www.education.wisc.edu/ccbc/
Contains links to online review sources and author/illustrator information.
-
Great Web Sites for Kids (ALA)
http://www.ala.org/gwstemplate.cfm?section=greatwebsites&template=/cfapps/gws/default.cfm
This site includes only recommended internet sites and is divided into
separate sections by subject. Good authors and
illustrators category.
- International Children's Digital Library
http://www.icdlbooks.org/
Fulltext digital archive of children's books (2827 in 48 languages; plans for 10,000)
- Just for Kids Who Love Books
http://www.alanbrown.com/
This website is designed to be used by kids to comment on their favorite
books and to link to summaries and websites about those books.
- On-Lion for Kids (New York Public Library)
http://kids.nypl.org/
Links to web sites on favorite characters, publishers, awards; magazines
and recommended reading lists.
Return to top of the page
BIBLIOGRAPHIES BY TOPIC OR THEME
- A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books
ref juv 028.5 L7322a 1998
- Accept Me As I Am: Best Books of Juvenile Nonfiction on Impairments and
Disabilities
ref juv 028.5 F8993ap
- American History for Children and Young Adults: an Annotated Bibliographic Index
ref juv 028.5 V2624ah
- The Bookfinder: a Guide to Children's Literature about the Needs and
Problems of Youth
Ages 2-15 ref juv 028.5 D778b v.1-4
- Children's Classics: a Booklist for Parents
http://www.hbook.com/pdf/childrensclassics.pdf
Classics written before 1920 have been placed into separate categories;
all others are arranged by genre with suggested audience levels.
- Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
http://www.lib.muohio.edu/pictbks/
This site maintains a searchable database of over 5000 picture book abstracts. It is especially useful for teachers who are developing thematic units.
- Exploring the Pacific States through Literature ref juv 016.969 E86
- Golden Poppies: California History and Contemporary Life in Books and Other Media for
Young Readers: an Annotated Bibliography ref juv 979.4 M8784g
-
Notable Trade [Social Studies] Books for Young People
http://www.ncss.org/resources/notable/
Selected books are written primarily for grades K-8.
- Outstanding Science Trade Books for Children
http://www.nsta.org/ostbc
Each year, the National Science Teachers Association selects a list of recommended books on science-related topics.
- Picture Books to Enhance the Curriculum
ref juv 371.3 H2873p
- Recommended Books/Horn Book
http://www.hbook.com/resources/books/default.asp
Book lists by genre and topics
Return to top of the page
AGE GROUP OR AUDIENCE
-
Recommended Literature: Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ci/rl/ll/
This is a searchable list of books recommended by the California State Department of Education. The emphasis is on books that fit with the K-12 curriculum in California. The list can be searched by grade level and numerous other criteria including language, culture, genre, and awards.
- California Reading List
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ta/tg/sr/readinglist.asp
Arranged by reading level, this list was developed to help parents and students select recommended books.
-
The Fountas and Pinnell Leveled Book List K-8+ ref juv 372.41 F7719f
Thousands of juvenile books are listed by title along with reading levels and vocabulary counts.
Preschool-Primary
- Beyond Picture Books: a Guide to First Readers ref juv 011.62 B828b 1995
- Books for Children to Read Alone: a Guide for Parents and Librarians
ref juv 028.5 W7483b
- Picture Books for Children. ref juv 028.5 C5662p 1990
Elementary-Middle School
- Adventuring with Books: A Booklist for Pre-K--Grade 6
ref juv 028.5 N27756a 1999
- What Do Children Read Next? a Reader's Guide to Recent and Classic Fiction
for Children ref juv 028.5 C6853w 1994
- Your Reading: an Annotated Booklist for Middle School and Junior High
ref juv 028.5 N27763y 1996
Young Adult
- Books for You: an Annotated Booklist for Senior High
ref juv 028.5 N2778c 2000
- Literature for Today's Young Adults ref juv 028.5 D6813m 1997
-
Outstanding Books for the College Bound and Lifelong Learners
http://www.ala.org/yalsa/booklists/obcb/
Prepared by the Young Adult Library Services Association of the
American Library Association, this is a list of books that young
adult librarians consider useful for students heading for college.
Criteria for inclusion are: readability, diversity, classics, genres,
and balanced points of view. The list is also available in printed form.
- What Do Young Adults Read Next?: a Reader's Guide to Fiction for
Young Adults
ref juv 028.5 S7455 1994
Reluctant Readers
- The Best: High/Low Books for Reluctant Readers ref juv 028.5 P6413 1990
- High Interest Easy Reading: an Annotated Booklist for Middle and
Senior
High School.
ref juv 028.5 C7345h 1996
- High/Low Consensus ref juv 028.5 W7235h (Provides reading levels)
- High/Low Handbook: Best Books and Web Sites for Reluctant Teen Readers
ref juv 028.5 H638 2002
- Independent Reading, K-3. ref juv 028.5 W7235i (Provides reading levels)
- Readability of Literature and Popular Titles ref juv 028.5 D7937r
Return to top of the page
GENRE
- Chicorel Theatre Index to Plays for Young People in Periodicals,
Anthologies,
and Collections ref PNZ 5784 C5 C55
- Children's Song Index, 1978-1993 ref juv 016.78 C536
- Developing Thematic Units
http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/theme.htm
CSUS Research Guide maintained by Librarians
- Fantasy Literature for Children and Young Adults: an Annotated Bibliography
ref juv 028.5 L989fe
- Humanities: World Mythology and Folklore (CSUS Library Research Guide)
Lists reference books and web sites; organized by geographic area.
- Index to Collective Biographies for Young Readers ref juv 028.5 S5874i 1988
- Index to Fairy Tales: Including Folklore, Legends, and Myths in Collections
ref juv 016.39 I38 1949-1992 (multiple volumes)
- Index to Poetry for Children and Young People ref juv 808.81 B848 1964-1987
- Literature: Awards (CSUS Library Research Guide)
Links to many literature award sites including genre awards
- Research Guide to Fairy Tales - Web Sites
http://library.stcc.edu/guides/fairy_tales/websites_guides.asp Maintained by the Springfield
Technical Community College Library; this guide links to high qualilty web sites, many with full text of well known fairy tales.
- Subject Index to Poetry for Children and Young People, 1957-1975
ref juv 808.81 A512 1977
Return to top of the page
MULTICULTURAL CHILDRENS' BOOKS
- Against Borders: Promoting Books for a Multicultural World
ref juv 011.62 R6795a
- Barahona Center for the Study of Books in Spanish for Children and Adolescents
http://www.csusm.edu/csb/
Lists of recommended books in Spanish and English.
- Black Books Galore!: Guide to Great African American Children's
Books
ref juv 016.973 R1863bg
- Books by African-American Authors and Illustrators for Children and
Young
Adults
ref juv 028.5 W7235b
- Children's and Young Adult Literature by Latino wWiters: a Guide for
Librarians, Teachers, Parents, and Students
ref juv 016.8108 Y638c
- Cultural Mosaics: an Annotated Bibliography of Multicultural Resources
for the K-12 Classroom ref juv 016.3058 B711c v.1-2
- Culturally Diverse Library Collections for Children ref juv 016.3058 T7194c
- Hispanic Heritage: a Guide to Juvenile Books about Hispanic People and
Cultures
ref juv 028.5 S371h 1991
- Many Peoples One Land ref juv 016.81 H4742m
- Kaleidoscope: a Multicultural Booklist for Grades K-8 ref juv 016.3058 K143 1997
- Literature for Children about Asians and Asian-Americans ref juv 028.5 J525k
- Multicultural Children's Literature
http://www.lib.msu.edu/corby/education/multicultural.htm
Web Sites for Children's Literature from MSU Library
- Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults ref juv 028.5 C38629 1997 v.1-2
- Multicultural Picture Books: Art for Understanding Others ref juv 016.62 M3113m
- Multiethnic Children's Literature ref juv 016.3058 R1735m
- New York Public Library's Holidays and Celebration Page
http://kids.nypl.org/holidays/index.cfm
Contains lists for ethnic heritage months.
- Our Family, Our Friends, Our World: an Annotated Guide to
Significant
Multicultural Books for Children and Teenagers ref juv 028.5 M6526o
- Through Indian Eyes: the Native Experience in Books for Children
ref juv 970.1 T5317
- UNESCO Libraries Portal
http://www.unesco-ci.org/cgi-bin/portals/libraries/page.cgi?d=1&g=321
International in scope; contains many links for literature and books for children
Return to top of the page
RECOMMENDED READING LISTS
There are many different children's book awards given each year.
Below is a list web sites for the most well-known awards.
Return to top of the page
PERIODICALS
Any journals listed below that are available online or are available fulltext in a database are linked to the online/database resource.
Return to top of the page
|