Library Logo Humanities: World Mythology
and Folklore

by D. Rogenmoser

CONTENTS
Finding Books in EUREKA
General
Characters & Places
Art, Literature, Music
Classical: Greece & Rome
Africa
The Americas
Asia & Middle East
Australia & Oceania
Europe
Selected Journals
Indexes & Databases
Related CSUS Research Guides
Return to Library Home Page

FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA
EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library.  Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Keyword Searching: Locate materials in EUREKA by keyword searching. Examples are:

             gods and godesses
             myth* and aboriginal
             myth* and animals
             folklore and japan
             folklore and marriage

    Adding an asterisk (*) after the word myth will include myths or mythology in your search.

  • Browsing: The location and call numbers for browsing the shelves for books on mythology
    are 2 South BL1 - BL2709 (circulating books) or 2 North Reference BL1 - BL 2709.

    However, works on mythology will also be found in call numbers for history and literature. For example, works on Native American mythology will be found in section E98 (Native American History) and works on King Arthur can be found in PN57 (Literature) or DA152 (Great Britain, History.)

    The location and call numbers for browsing the shelves for books on folklore are 2 South GR1 - GR950 and 2 North Reference GR1 - GR 950.
  
Back to the top of the page  

GENERAL

Brewer's Dictionary of 20th-Century Phrase and Fable Ref PE 1630 B74 1992
Bulfinch’s Mythology http://www.sacred-texts.com/cla/bulf/
    Also available at Ref BL 301 B76 1934
Cassell's Encyclopedia of Queer Myth, Symbol, and Spirit Ref BL 795 H6 C65 1997
A Dictionary of Folklore Ref GR 35 P5 1999
Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols Ref GR 35 J6
Dictionary of Phrase and Fable http://www.bartleby.com/81/
    Also available at Ref PN 43 B65 1989
A Dictionary of World Mythology Ref BL 303 C66 1980
The Encyclopedia Mythica http://www.pantheon.org/mythica.html
An Encyclopedia of Creation Myths Ref BL 325 C7 L44 1994
Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals  Ref BL 31 E47 2004
Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend Ref BL 303 M45 1988
Folklore and Folklife: a Guide to English-Language Reference Sources
    Ref GRZ 5981 S74 1992
Folklore & Mythology/Electronic Texts http://www.pitt.edu/~dash/folktexts.html
Funk & Wagnall’s Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology and Legend Ref GR 35 F8 1972
A Guide to Folktales in the English Language Ref GRZ 5983 F17 A83 1987
Larousse Dictionary of World Folklore Ref GR 35 J664 1995
Larouse World Mythology Ref BL 311 G683
MacMillan Illustrated Encyclopedia of Myths and Legends Ref BL 303 C67 1989
Myths and Legends http://home.comcast.net/~chris.s/myth.html
Mything Links http://mythinglinks.org/home.html
Mythologies Ref BL 311 D513 1991
Mythologies of the World: A Guide to Sources Ref BLZ 7836 S63
Mythology: An Illustrated Encyclopedia Ref BL 303 M9
Myths, Folktales, and Fairy Tales http://teacher.scholastic.com/writewit/mff/
Myth@logyWeb http://www.mythology.com/
New Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology Ref BL 311 N43 1968
The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion   Ref BL 715 O94 2003
Sacred Texts http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm
UCLA Folk Medicine Database  http://www.folkmed.ucla.edu/
Windows to the Universe/Mythology
    http://www.windows.ucar.edu/tour/link=/mythology/mythology.html
Women and Folklore: a Bibliographic Survey Ref GRZ 5983 W65 D4 1983
The Woman’s Encyclopedia of Myths and Secrets Ref & 3 North BL 458 W34 1983
Yahoo Directory/Folklore
     http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Mythology_and_Folklore/Folklore/
Yahoo Directory/Mythology
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Mythology_and_Folklore/Mythology/
  
Back to the top of the page  

CHARACTERS & PLACES

The Animals' Who's Who Ref QL 791 T715 1982
The Arthurian Name Dictionary Ref DA 152.5 A7 B78 1999
The Book of Goddesses and Heroines Ref BL 473.5 M66 1990
Chaucer Name Dictionary Ref PR 1903 D4 1988
Creatures of Myths & Legends http://home.comcast.net/~chris.s/myth.html
Classical Mythology by Geography
    http://platea.pntic.mec.es/~cvera/aplicacion/telemaque/carte/old-index.html
A Dictionary of Angels Ref BL 477 D3
A Dictionary of Egyptian Gods and Goddesses Ref BL 2450 G6 H37 1986
Dictionary of Gods and Goddesses  Ref BL 473 J67 2004
The Dictionary of Imaginary Places Ref GR 650 M36 1987
Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities Ref BL 473 C67 2000
Encyclopedia Mythica/Heroes A-Z Index http://www.pantheon.org/areas/heroes/articles.html
Encyclopedia of Sacred Places Ref BL 580 B76 1997
God Checker.com http://www.godchecker.com/
Goddesses in World Mythology Ref BL 473.5 A66 1993
Gods and Heroes: A Quick Guide to the Occupations, Associations and Experiences of the
    Greek and Roman Gods and Heroes
Ref BL 727 H30
Gods and Mortals in Classical Mythology Ref BL 715 G67 1973
Gods, Heroes, and Myths http://www.gods-heros-myth.com/
Legends of the Earth, Sea, & Sky: an Encyclopedia of Nature Myths Ref BL 435 A53 1998
Place-names in Classical Mythology: Greece Ref DF 16 B45 1989
Room's Classical Dictionary: the Origins of the Names of Characters in Classical Mythology
    Ref BL 727 R58 1983
The Routledge Dictionary of Gods and Goddesses, Devils and Demons  Ref BL 303 .L8713 2004
Who’s Who in Greek and Roman Mythology Ref BL 715 K7 1976
Who's Who in Egyptian Mythology Ref BL 2428 M47 1978
Women of Classical Mythology: A Biographical Dictionary Ref BL 715 B445 1991
  
Back to the top of the page  

ART, LITERATURE, MUSIC

Ancient Pagan Symbols Ref BL 600 G6 1973
Cassell's Encyclopedia of Queer Myth, Symbol, & Spirit: Gay, lesbian, bisexual, &
    Transgender Lore
Ref BL 795 H6 C65 1997
Classical Myths in English Literature Ref BL 313 N6
A Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects From Classical Literature: A Guide to
    their Identification in Works of Art
Ref N 7760 P68 1983
Dictionary of Symbols Ref BL 603 L5413 1991
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature Ref PN 41 E48 1998
The Endicott Studio http://www.endicott-studio.com/
Folklore: an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, & Art
    also available at Ref GR 35 F63 1997
A Handbook of Legendary and Mythological Art Ref N7760 W3 1969
Mythological and Classical World Art Index: A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Frescoes,
    Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts and Engravings Executed 1200 B.C. to
    1900 A.D., with A Directory of the Institutions Holding Them
Ref N 7760 R63 1991
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s Ref NX 650 M9 R45 1993
The Pro/Am Book of Music and Mythology Ref ML 3849 P76 1992
Recent Studies in Myths and Literature, 1970-1990: an Annotated Bibliography
     Ref PRZ 2014 M985 R4 1991
The Storyteller's Sourcebook: a Subject, Title, & Motif Index to Folklore Collections for
    Children
Ref GR 74.6 M3 1982
The Storyteller's Sourcebook: a Subject, Title, & Motif Index to Folklore Collections for
    Children 1983-1999
Ref GR 74.6 M3 2001
  
Back to the top of the page  

CLASSICAL: GREECE & ROME

Classical Myth: The Ancient Sources http://web.uvic.ca/grs/bowman/myth/
Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Mythology Ref BL 303 T75 1970
The Dictionary of Classical Mythology Ref BL 715 G713 1986
Dictionary of Classical Mythology, Symbols, Attributes and Associations
    Ref BL 715 B44 1982
Dictionary of Roman Religion Ref BL 798 A35 1996
Encyclopedia Mythica/Greek http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/europe/greek/
Encyclopedia Mythica/Roman http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/europe/roman/
Gods and Heroes: A Quick Guide to the Occupations, Associations and Experiences of the
    Greek and Roman Gods and Heroes
Ref BL 727 H30
Gods and Mortals in Classical Mythology Ref BL 715 G67 1973
Greek Mythology Link http://homepage.mac.com/cparada/GML/
The Greek Myths Ref BL 781 G65 1965
The Illustrated Dictionary of Greek and Roman Mythology Ref BL 715 S7 1986b
Oxford Classical Mythology Online http://www.classicalmythology.org/
Place-names in Classical Mythology: Greece Ref DF 16 B45 1989
Room's Classical Dictionary: the Origins of the Names of Characters in Classical Mythology
    Ref BL 727 R58 1983
A Short Guide to Classical Mythology Ref BL 303 K5
What Men or Gods Are These?: A Genealogical Approach to Classical Mythology
    Ref BL 782 B6
Who’s Who in Greek and Roman Mythology Ref BL 715 K7 1976
Women of Classical Mythology: A Biographical Dictionary Ref BL 715 B445 1991
  
Back to the top of the page  

AFRICA

African Folklore: an Encyclopedia Ref GR 350 A33 2004
A Dictionary of Egyptian Gods and Goddesses Ref BL 2450 G6 H37 1986
Encyclopedia Mythica/African Mythology
    http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/africa/african/articles.html
Encyclopedia Mythica/Egyption Mythology
    http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/africa/egyptian/articles.html
Folklore from Africa to the United States: an Annotated Bibliography Ref GRZ 5984 A35 C68
Glossary of Egyptian Mythology http://www.egyptartsite.com/glossary.html
The Gods and Symbols of Ancient Egypt Ref BL 2428 L8713 1980
Sacred Texts/Africa http://www.sacred-texts.com/afr/index.htm
Who’s Who in Egyptian Mythology Ref BL 2428 M47 1978
World Mythology/Africa http://www.purgingtalon.com/nlm/worldmyth/
  
Back to the top of the page  

THE AMERICAS

American Folklore: an Encyclopedia Ref GR 101 A54 1996
American Indian Religious Traditions: an Encyclopedia v.1-3 Ref E 98 R3 C755 2005
Antologia do Folclore Brasileiro Ref GR 133 B6 C325 2001
Dicionário do Folclore Brasileiro Ref GR 133 B6 C326 2001
Dictionary of American Folklore Ref GR 105 T3
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore
    also at GR 111 M49 C37 2000
Dictionary of Native American Mythology Ref E 98 R3 G46 1992
Encyclopedia Mythica/Americas http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/americas/
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends
    Also available at Ref GR 105.34 B78 2001
Folkstreams  http://www.folkstreams.net/
The Gods and Symbols of Ancient Mexico and the Maya: An Illustrated Dictionary of
    Mesoamerican Religion
Ref F 1435.3 R3 M55 1993
Index of Mexican Folktales, including Narrative Texts from Mexico, Central America, & the
Hispanic United States
    Ref GR 115 R5795
Mexican and Central American Mythology Ref F 1219.3 R38 N5 1985
Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology
    Also available at Ref F 1219.3 R38 R42 2000
Motif-index of Folk Narratives in the Pan-Hispanic Romancero Ref PQ 6091 G57 2000
The Mythical West: an Encyclopedia of Legend, Lore, and Popular Culture
    Also available at Ref GR 109 S53 2001
Native American Lore Index http://www.ilhawaii.net/~stony/loreindx.html
Native American Myths http://www.livingmyths.com/Native.htm
The Penguin Dictionary of American Folklore Ref GR 105.34 A94 2000
Sacred Texts/Native American http://www.sacred-texts.com/nam/
A Treasury of American Folklore Ref GR 105 B58
Type and Motif-index of the Folktales of England and North America Ref GR 67 B3
  
Back to the top of the page  

ASIA & MIDDLE EAST

A Dictionary of Asian Mythology Ref BL 1005 L46 2001
A Dictionary of Chinese Mythology Ref BL 1801 W35 1961
A Dictionary of Ancient Near Eastern Mythology Ref BL 1060 L44 1991
Encyclopedia Mythica/Asia http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/asia/
Encyclopedia Mythica/Middle East http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/middle_east/
Handbook of Japanese Mythology Ref BL 2203 A86 2003
Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism: its Mythology, Folklore, Philosophy, Literature,
    and History
Ref BL 1105 S78 1984
Jewish Folklore: an Annotated Bibliography Ref GRZ 6374 F6 Y37 1986
Outlines of Chinese Symbolism and Art motives: an Alphabetical Compendium
    of Antique Legends and Beliefs, as Reflected in the Manners and Customs
    of the Chinese
Ref GR 335 W53 1976
Popular Hinduism and Hindu Mythology: an Annotated Bibliography Ref BLZ 7835 B8 H64
South Asian Folklore: an Encyclopedia Ref GR 302 S68 2003
  
Back to the top of the page  

AUSTRALIA & OCEANIA

Australia - Sacred Texts http://www.sacred-texts.com/aus/index.htm
Dictionary of Polynesian Mythology Ref BL 2620 P6 C7 1989
Encyclopedia Mythica/Oceania http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/oceania/
Pacific Islanders - Sacred Texts http://www.sacred-texts.com/pac/index.htm
  
Back to the top of the page  

EUROPE

The Arthurian Bibliography Ref PRZ 6514 A7 P5
The Arthurian Handbook Ref PN 685 L3 1997
The Arthurian Name Dictionary Ref DA 152.5 A7 B78 1999
A Dictionary of British Folk-Tales in the English Language, Incorporating the F. J. Norton
    Collection
Ref GR 141 B69
Dictionary of Celtic Myth and Legend Ref BL 980.7 G65 1992
A Dictionary of Irish Mythology Ref BL 980 I5 E45 1987
Encyclopedia Mythica/Europe http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/europe/
Encyclopedia Mythica/Norse http://www.pantheon.org/areas/mythology/europe/norse/
An Encyclopedia of Fairies Ref GR 549 B74 1976b
Handbook of Norse Mythology
    Also available at Ref BL 860 L56 2001
Jewish Folklore: an Annotated Bibliography Ref GRZ 6374 F6 Y37 1986
King Arthur/Britiannia http://www.britannia.com/history/h12.html
Legends http://legends.dm.net/
Medieval Folklore: an Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs
    Also available at Ref GR 35 M43 2000
Norse Mythology (Todd Reimer)  http://todd.reimer.com/norse.html
Sacred Texts/Celtic http://www.sacred-texts.com/neu/celt/index.htm
Scandinavian Mythology: an Annotated Bibliography Ref BLZ 7836 L58 1988
  
Back to the top of the page  

SELECTED JOURNALS
Listed below are representative samples of titles currently received at CSUS Library.

Folklore
Journal of American Folklore
Journal of Folklore Research
Journal of Popular Culture
Western Folklore
  
Back to the top of the page  

INDEXES & DATABASES

Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Print Indexes & Bibliographies
  • Humanities Index  2 North Index Area AI 3 R492 (1974/75-1999)
Databases (Electronic Indexes)
  
Back to the top of the page  

RELATED CSUS RESEARCH GUIDES
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to:  Debbie Rogenmoser, , Reference Librarian; California State University, Sacramento
dr/10/04 last updated 11/7