SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements


CONTENTS: Fiction/Nonfiction Awards
Children's Book Awards
Mystery Book Awards
Science Fiction Book Awards
Romance Book Awards
Other Literature Awards
Return to Library Home Page


Many of these presenters also include awards for children's literature, poetry, drama, music, etc.
  • The Mann Booker Prize for Fiction or the Booker Prize (
    Established in 1969. Best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.

  • The National Book Awards (
    Established in 1950. Award for books of exceptional merit written by Americans in the areas of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people's literature.

  • Nobel Laureates in Literature (
    First awarded in 1901 and selected by the Swedish Academy, this award is international in its scope. See the complete list at All Nobel Laureates in Literature

  • Pen/Faulkner Award for Fiction (
    Founded by writers in 1980, and named for William Faulkner, who used his Nobel Prize funds to create an award for young writers, and PEN, the international writers’ organization. This award goes to an American author. A complete list of winners can be accessed from the award's homepage.

  • Pulitzer Prizes (
    Established in 1917, at the behest of journalist Joseph Pulitzer, and administered by the Columbia School of Journalism. Along with awards for journalism, music, poetry, and drama, awards are given for an American novel, a book on American history, and an American biography. Click on the any year in the time line at the top of the page to see the winners for that year.

See the following web sites for links other Fiction/Nonfiction Awards.
Return to top of the page


Awards for best children's and young adult book are also given in many of the genres. See the specific genre section below to find those titles. titles.
  • Caldecott Medal
    First awarded in 1938. Chosen by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. The Caldecott Medal is named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott goes to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. See the Caldecott Medal Winners, 1938 - Present for a complete list of titles.

    See the CSUS Research Guide Juvenile: Caldecott Medal Award Books for the call numbers of Caldecott titles in the Library.

  • Coretta Scott King Award
    Awarded by American Library Association to given to an "African American author and an African American illustrator for an outstandingly inspirational and educational contribution."

  • Horn Book Award (
    First presented in 1967, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards honor children and young adult literature in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction.

  • Newbery Medal
    The Newbery Award is the first children's book award in the world. First awarded in 1922, it is awarded by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book. See Newbery Medal Winners, 1922 - Present for a complete list.

    See the CSUS Research Guide Juvenile: Newbery Medal Award Books for the call numbers of Newbery titles in the Library.

  • Young Reader's Choice Awards (
    First established in 1940. Nominations are taken only from children, teachers, parents and librarians in the Pacific Northwest: Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington. Awards are by division: Junior Division Grades 4-6, Middle Division Grades 7-9, and Senior Division Grades 10-12. See YRCA Past Winners for a complete list.
See the following web sites for links other Children's Book Awards.
Return to top of the page


  • Agatha Awards (
    First awarded in 1988, The Agatha Awards are literary awards for mystery and crime writers who write mystery novels in the traditional of Agatha Christie. The Agatha Awards are handed out by Malice Domestic Ltd, in five categories: Best Novel; Best First Mystery; Best Short Story; Best Non-Fiction; Best Children's/Young Adult Mystery.

  • Edgar Awards (
    Named for Edgar Allan Poe; first issued in 1946 by the Mystery Writers of America.

  • Shamus Awards (
    First awarded in 1982 by the Private Eye Writers of America. Awards are presented in a variety of categories including short story and first novel.

See the following web sites for links other Mystery Book Awards.
Return to top of the page


See the following web sites for links other Science Fiction Book Awards.
Return to top of the page


  • Romance Writers of America (
    The Romance Writers of America award a variety of awards, the most highest is the RITA. The RITA award is given out in each of 13 different categories including first book, best long historical romance, best inspirational romance, etc.

  • Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award (
    This award is issued by the Romantic Times, a group of romance book reviewers. Romantic Times presents an award for best book as well as other awards all found on their web site.
Return to top of the page


  • Bram Stoker Award (
    Awarded by the Horror Writers Association
  • Lambda Literary Awards (
    Awarded to the best gay men's and the best lesbian works in the categories of Fiction, Fiction Anthologies, Mystery, and Science Fiction/Fantasy
  • Poetry Society of America (
    The PSA issues 12 annual of awards for poetry to new and established writers.
  • Spur Award (
    First awarded in 1953 by the Western Writers of America. Awards are for a variety of categories.

These are sites that link to a variety of literature awards.
Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Debbie Rogenmoser, Social Science Reference Librarian;   Last updated 6/09