Library Logo HUMANITIES: Death & Afterlife
Created by D. Rogenmoser

Finding Books in EUREKA
General
Religion & Culture
Moral & Ethical Aspects
Grief & Mourning
Databases & Indexes
Related CSUS Research Guides
Return to Library Home Page

FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA

EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library.  Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Keyword Searching: Use Keyword searching to locate for books on topics such as:

        death and social aspects
        death and religious aspects
        death and religion
        death and meaning,
        death and attitude
        mourning customs
        future life
        euthanasia
        terminally ill

  • Browsing: Some locations and Call Numbers for browsing the shelves for books on Death & Afterlife are:

        2 South BL 504 for Death (religion)
        2 South BL510-540 for Reincarnation, Immortality, Future Life
        2 South BF1228-1389 for Spiritualism
        2 South GT3150 for Funeral Customs
        2 South HQ1073 for Thanatology, Death, Dying
        4 North R723-726 for Medical Ethics

  • Juvenile Collection: Materials for children can be found by and Advanced Search using the keywords death or dying and limiting the search to the LOCATION: Juvenile Fiction/Nonfiction.

GENERAL

Death and the Afterlife: a Cultural Encyclopedia   Ref GT 3150 T25 2000
Death the Last Taboo  http://www.deathonline.net/
End of Life Issues/Medline Plus
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/endoflifeissues.html
Encyclopedia of Afterlife Beliefs and Phenomena.   Ref BF 1311 F8 L48 1994
Encyclopedia of Death and Dying.   Ref HQ 1073 E543 2001
Encyclpedia of Religion.  BL 31 .E46 1987
Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics. v.1-10  Ref BL 31 E4
Handbook of Death and Dying v.1-2  HQ 1073 H36 2003
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying, v.1-2 HQ 1073 M33 2003
Means to a Better End: a Report on Dying in America Today   Ref R 726.8 M42 2002
Sociology of Death and Dying  http://www.trinity.edu/~mkearl/death.html
Yahoo Directory - Death & Dying
     http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Death_and_Dying/
  
Back to the top of the page  

RELIGION & CULTURE

Bodies, Commodities, and Biotechnologies: Death, Mourning, and Scientific Desire
    in the Realm of Human Organ Transfer
GT 497 U6 S53 2007
Cultural Issues in End-of-Life Decision Making HQ 1073.5 U6 C85 2000
Death and Afterlife. BL 504 D33 1991b
Death and Bereavement Around the World BL 504 D335 2002
Death, Burial, and Rebirth in the Religions of Antiquity BL 504 D295 1999
Death is That Man Taking Names: Intersections of American Medicine, Law,
     and Culture.
R 726.8 B875 2002
Facing Death: Where Culture, Religion, and Medicine Meet R 726.8 F33 1996
How Different Religions View Death and Afterlife BL 504 E53 1998
International Association for Near-Death Studies  http://www.iands.org/
Near Death Experience Research Foundation  http://www.nderf.org/
Near-Death Experiences and the Afterlife  http://www.near-death.com/
Older Adults' Views on Death. BF 724.85 D43 C53 2002
Possession, Ecstasy, and Law in EWE Voodoo. BL 2480 E96 R67 1998
Religion Online/Death and Dying
    http://www.religion-online.org/listbycategory.asp?Cat=86
Sacred Dying: Creating Rituals for Embracing the End of Life. BL 625.9 S53 A63 2002
Sociology of Death and Dying  http://www.trinity.edu/~mkearl/death.html
  
Back to the top of the page  

MORAL & ETHICAL ASPECTS

Center for Death Education & Bioethics   http://www.uwlax.edu/sociology/cde&b/page3.html
Death and Dying, Who Decides? R 726 W39 2003
End of Life Issues: Interdisciplinary and Multidimensional Perspectives
    HQ 1073 E56 1999
End of Life Issues/Medline Plus
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/endoflifeissues.html
The Good Death: the New American Search to Reshape the End of Life
     HQ 1073.5 U6 W43 1997
Hospice or Hemlock?: Searching for Heroic Compassion R 726.8 P88 2002
Is There a Duty to Die? R 724 B493 2000
Journalism in a Culture of Grief PN 4877 K578 2008
The Right to Die Debate: a Documentary History R 726 R498 1999
Univ. of Penn. Center for Bioethics  http://www.med.upenn.edu/bioethic/
  
Back to the top of the page  

GRIEF AND MOURNING

Bodies, Commodities, and Biotechnologies: Death, Mourning, and Scientific Desire
    in the Realm of Human Organ Transfer
GT 497 U6 S53 2007
Death, Mourning and Caring. HQ 1073 M365 1997
Death the Last Taboo  http://www.deathonline.net/
Death's Door: Modern Dying and the Ways we Grieve HQ 1073 G54 2006
End of Life Issues/Medline Plus
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/endoflifeissues.html
Giving a Voice to Sorrow: Personal Responses to Death and Mourning
    BF 575 G7 Z45 2001
Grief and Mourning a Cross-Cultural Perspective DN 486 R76
Handbook of Bereavement Research: Consequences, Coping, and Care
    BF 575 G7 H355 2001
The Social Symbolism of Grief and Mourning GT 3150 G73 1998
Sociology of Death and Dying  http://www.trinity.edu/~mkearl/death.html
  
Back to the top of the page  

DATABASES & INDEXES

Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Print Indexes & Bibliographies
  • Religion Index One 2 North Index Area BLZ 7753 .A5 (Library cancelled in 2001)
Databases
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
  • Anthropological Index Online  (1957-current)
    The journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum
    (Museum of Mankind)
  • ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
    Religious and theological literature
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)  (1985-current)
    Multi-subject database; articles from magazines, scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers.
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    History of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
  • JSTOR  
    Full text archive of scholarly journals; most recent years not included
  • MLA (EBSCO) (1920s-current)
    From the Modern Language Association, indexes critical literary and language scholarship.
  • Philosopher's Index (1940-current)
    Author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy.
  • Project MUSE
    Scholarly articles in humanities and social science.
  • PsycINFO (EBSCO) (1887-current)
    From the American Psychological Association, includes scholarly articles, abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present.
  
Back to the top of the page  

RELATED CSUS RESEARCH GUIDES

Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to: Debbie Rogenmoser , Reference Librarian; CSU, Sacramento; drogenmoser@csus.edu
Created 9/03 Last Updated 6/08