Library Logo HUMANITIES: ANCIENT GREECE
Created by Rhonda Rios-Kravitz


HANDBOOKS & ENCYCLOPEDIAS

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.
    Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth  
DE 5 .O94 1998 2 North Reference
The Oxford Classical Dictionary. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth
    DE 5 .O9 1996 2 North Reference
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome.
    Edited by Michael Grant and Rachel Kitzinger  DE 59 .C55 1988 v.1-3 Lower Level Quarto
A Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities. Edited by William Smith
    DE 5 .S6 1900 2 North Reference
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. Richard Stillwell, editor, William L.
    MacDonald, assoc.ed., Marian Holland McAllister, asst. ed.
     DE 59 .P7 (1976) 2 North Reference
Women of Classical Mythology: a biographical dictionary. Robert E. Bell
     BL 715 .B445 1991 2 North Reference
  
Back to the top of the page  

FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA

EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library.  Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Search for materials on topics such as:

        greece and women,
        classical civilization and greece
        antiquities and greece
        mythology and greek
        greece and ancient history
        greek and law,
        greece and customs, etc.

  • Browsing: Some locations and Call Numbers for browsing the shelves for books on Ancient Greece are:

        2 South DE1-100, DF10-289  for History
        2 South BL700-820 for  Mythology
        3 North PA3050-4505 for  Literature

  • Juvenile Collection: Materials for children can be found by searching the topic greece in Advanced Keyword and limiting the search to the LOCATION: Juvenile Fiction/Nonfiction.
  
Back to the top of the page  

DATABASES, INDEXES & SEARCH ENGINES

Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Print Indexes & Bibliographies
  • MLA International Bibliography 2 North Index Area PNZ 7006 .M64 (1921-1998)
  • Humanities Index 2 North Index Area AI 3 .R492 (1974/75-1999)
  • Religion Index One 2 North Index Area BLZ 7753 .A5
  • Essay and General Literature Index 2 North Index Area AI 3 .E75 (1900-current)
  • Recent Studies in Myths and Literature, 1970-1990: An Annotated Bibliography
    Ref PRZ 2014 .M985 R4 1991
Databases (Electronic Indexes) & Search Engines
  
Back to the top of the page  

ASSOCIATIONS

Association of Ancient Historians  http://associationofancienthistorians.org/
American Philological Association  http://www.apaclassics.org/
    Founded in 1869, the American Philological Association (APA) is the principal learned
    society for Classical Studies in North America
California Classical Association (Northern Section)  http://www.ccanorth.org/
California Classical Association (Southern Section)
   http://www.csulb.edu/colleges/cla/departments/complit-classics/programs/cca-south/
American Classical League  http://www.aclclassics.org/
  
Back to the top of the page  

WEB SITES
Humanities: World Mythology & Folklore a CSUS Research Guide
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/humanities/worldmyth.html
Classical and Medieval History/Library of Congress
(An annotated list of reference websites, Library of Congress)
    http://www.loc.gov/rr/main/alcove9/classics.html
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
    http://www.stoa.org/diotima/
Additional Web Sites for the Classics
    http://www.centaursystems.com/sites.html
Electronic Antiquity: Communicating the Classics
    http://scholar.lib.vt.edu/ejournals/ElAnt/
The Internet Classics Archive
    http://classics.mit.edu/
Contexts for Classics
    http://www.umich.edu/~cfc/
University College London/Greek & Latin resources
    http://www.sip.ie/sip069/Documents/classicspage.html
Electronic Publications in the Humanities
    http://www.stoa.org
Electronic Resources for Classicists Princeton University
    http://www.tlg.uci.edu/~tlg/index/resources.html
Classical Mythology by Geography
    http://platea.pntic.mec.es/~cvera/aplicacion/telemaque/carte/old-index.html
Mythology Project
    http://web.princeton.edu/sites/classics/mythology/
Exploring Ancient World Cultures/Index of Internet Resources: Chronology Greece
    http://eawc.evansville.edu/chronology/grpage.htm
Ancient City of Athens
    http://www.stoa.org/athens/
Dr. J's Illustrated Guide to the Classical World
    http://lilt.ilstu.edu/drjclassics/
Classics Department in Universities and Colleges
    http://www.tlg.uci.edu/~tlg/index/departments.html
Online and Medieval Classical library (Berkeley Digtal Library SunSite)
    http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/OMACL/

  
Back to the top of the page  

Related CSUS Research Guide
  • Humanities: World Mythology and Folklore
  • Anthropology Resource Guide
  • Foreign Language and Literature: Ancient Greek and Classical Latin


  • Back to the top of the page
    Go to Library Homepage

    Questions/comments to:  Debbie Rogenmoser , Reference Librarian; CSU, Sacramento
    dr/rrk Created 8/03 Last Updated 11/07