Library Logo BIOLOGY: ZOOLOGY
Revised by Eileen Heaser


Contents: Reference Books and Series
Web Sites
Indexes to Journals
Search Engines
Return to Library Home Page

EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG

Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
QL 1-366
QL 367-599
QL 365-374.2
QL 375-385.2
QL 386-394
QL 395-400.5
QL 401-432
QL 434-599.82
QL 605-739
QL 605-639
QL 640-669
QL 671-699
QL 700-739
QL 739.8-795
QL 799-991
SF 170-515
SF 517-597
SF 600-997.5
General, Zoos, Laboratories, Geographic Distribution
Invertebrates
Protozoa; Porifera [sponges]
Coelenterata; Ctenophera; Echinodermata
Worms and other Vermiform Invertebrates
Brachiopoda [lamp shells]; Bryozoa; Ectoprocta
Mollusca
Arthopoda [crustacea, arachnida, insects]
Chordates. Vertebrates
Fishes
Reptiles & Amphibians
Birds
Mammals
Animal behavior
Animals: Morphology. Anatomy. Embryology, etc
Animal Culture
Insect Culture
Veterinary Medicine, includes zoo animals

REFERENCE BOOKS AND SERIES

Advances in the Study of Behavior  QL 750 A38 v.1-23, 1965-1994
Anatomy and Physiology of Farm Animals, 5th ed  ref SF 761 F 6 1992
Animal Behavior Desk Reference: A Dictionary of Animal Behavior, Ecology
     & Evolution
 ref QL 750.3 B37 2001
ASM Mammal Image Library
     http://www.mammalsociety.org/imagelibrary/index.html
Beecham's Guide to International Endangered Species.  ref QL 82 B435 1998 v.1-3
The Birds of North America  ref QL 681 B625
     no.1-current; 1992-current
California. University. Publications in Zoology  QL 1 C15
     no.1-716; 1895-2003
Care of the Wild: First Aid for Wild Creatures  ref SF 996.45 J67 1991
Catalog of Fishes  ref QL 618 C38 1998 v. 1-3
Chicago Natural History Museum, Fieldiana: Zoology  QL 1 F4 v.1-73 #3
Classification of Mammals Above the Species Level  ref QL 708 M38 1997
Dictionary of Parasitology  ref QL 757 G73 2005
A Dictionary of Zoology, 2nd ed  ref QL 9 C66 1999
Directory of Zoological Parks and Aquariums  ref QL 76 Z74 1998
Economic Zoology: A Dictionary of Useful & Destructive Animals
     ref SF 84.27 J3 1991
Encyclopedia of Historic & Endangered Livestock & Poultry Breeds
     ref SF 105.275 U6 D65 2001
Encyclopedia of Insects  ref QL 462.3 E483 2003
The Encyclopedia of Land Invertebrate Behaviour  ref QL 364.2 P74 1993
The Encyclopedia of Mammals  ref QL 703 E53 2001 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals   ref QL 713.2 E63 2002
Encyclopedia of the World's Zoos  ref QL 76 E53 2001 vols.1-3
Fishes of the World  QL 618 .N4 2006
Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia 2nd ed.  ref QL 3 G7813 2003, vols.1-17
Inland Fishes of California  ref QL 628 C2 M68 2002
Latin Names Explained. A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles,
     Birds, Mammals
 ref Q L9 G67 1996
Live Animals Regulations, 28th ed  ref SF 406.7 L5 2001
Lizards  ref SF 459 L5 R6313 1999, v. 1-2
Mammalian Species (ASM)
     http://www.science.smith.edu/departments/Biology/VHAYSSEN/msi/default.html
     Also in print at ref QL 700 A4 no.1-current
Mammal Species of the World: a Taxonomic and Geographic Reference
      ref QL 708 M35 2005 v.1-2
Mammals of California (ASM)
     http://www.mammalsociety.org/statelists/camammals.html
Online Mendelian Inheritance in ManTM
     http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=OMIM
The Merck Veterinary Manual, 8th ed  ref SF 748 M47 1998
Microscopic Anatomy of Invertebrates  QL 363 M53 1991. v.1-12
The Mollusca  QL 402 M57 1983 vol.1-12
North American Wildlife & Natural Resources Transactions  SK 351 N872 1936-current
Pennak's Freshwater Invertebrates of the United State: Porifera to Crustacea
     ref QL 365.365 S65 2001
Predators & Predation: The Struggle for Life in the Animal World
     ref QL 758 P735 1989
Primate Taxonomy  ref QL 737 P9 G86 2001
Scientific Style and Format: the CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
     ref T 11 S386 2006
Sealife A Complete Guide to the Marine Environment  ref QL 121 S43 1996
Sibley Guide to Birds  ref QL 681 S497 2000
Smithsonian Contributions to Zoology QL 1 S54
     No.1-494 (incomplete), 1969-89 (incomplete)
Society for Conservation Biology   http://conbio.net/
Southeastern Association of Game & Fish Commissioners, Proceedings
     SK 1 S57 1976-1995
The Status of Rare, Threatened, and Endangered Animals and Plants of California.
     Annual Report for 2000
 ref QL 84.22 C2 C35 2000
Symposia of the Zoological Society of London QL 1 Z2733
     no.1-72, 1960-1999 (incomplete)
Transactions Desert Bighorn  QL 737 U5 D4 1967-current
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service North American Fauna.  QL 155 A4. no. 1-70
Vertebrate Pest Conference  SB 950 A2 V4 1972-current
Veterinary Pharmaceuticals & Biologicals, 12th ed  ref SF 917 V49 2001-02
Walker's Mammals of the World  ref QL 703 N68 1999 v.1-2
Walker's Marine Mammals of the World  ref WL 713.2 N69 2003
Walker's Primates of the World  ref QL 737 P9 N66 1999
Wildlife Monographs  QL 1 W54 no.1 (1958)-current
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES

African Wildlife Foundation
     http://www.awf.org/
Alternative to Animal Testing on the Web: Reduction-Refinement-Replacement [ALTWEB]
     http://altweb.jhsph.edu
American Institute of Biological Sciences
     http://www.aibs.org/
American Society of Mammalogists
     http://www.mammalsociety.org/
Animal Welfare Information Center [AWIC]
     http://www.nal.usda.gov/awic
Biology Browser from BIOSIS
     http://www.biologybrowser.org/
CSUS BioWeb
     http://arnica.csustan.edu/
Department of Zoology, Cambridge, UK
     http://www.zoo.cam.ac.uk/
Electronic Zoo/NetVet Veterinary Resources-Invertebrates
      http://netvet.wustl.edu/invert.htm
Encyclopedia of Life
     http://www.eol.org/
Endangered Species Homepage
     http://endangered.fws.gov
Fish & Game Agencies of the 50 States
     http://www.lib.washington.edu/fish/fandg/fandglist.html
Invertebrates
     http://www.herper.com/invertebrates.html
Mammal Species of the World
     http://nmnhgoph.si.edu/msw/
Mammalian Species
     http://www.science.smith.edu/departments/Biology/VHAYSSEN/msi/
Mendelian Inheritance in Animals (OMIA)
     http://www.angis.org.au/omia/
Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University
     http://www.mcz.harvard.edu/
Smithsonian Institute/Dept. Systemic Biolog/Vertebrate Zoology
     http://www.nmnh.si.edu/vert/mammals/mammals.html
UNEP (United Nations Environment Programme) World Conservation Monitoring
Centre; and IUCN Red Data Information

    http://www.unep-wcmc.org/
USA Gov -United States Government Site
     http://www.usa.gov/
Washington, D.C. Science
     http://www.science.gov/
WWW Virtual Library: Biosciences
      http://vlib.org/Biosciences
Zoological Record Taxonomic Hierarchy
     http://www.biosis.org/support/zr-thesaurus/
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Paper Indexes
  • Agricola (Agriculture) (1979-current)
  • Biological Abstracts (1927-1995)
    QHZ 5321 B5
  • Zoological Record   QLZ 7991 Z87
    Sections 1-14; v.1-131 (1864-1994)
    Sections 15-19; v.1-current (1864-current)
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
Google Scholar  http://www.scholar.google.com
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to: Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian; CSU Sacramento; eheaser@csus.edu
eh/dr/8/02: Last updated 3/08