Library Logo BIOLOGY:
REPTILES & AMPHIBIANS
Compiled by Eileen Heaser


Contents: Reference Books and Series
Web Sites
Indexes to Journals
Journals
Search Engines
Return to Library Home Page

EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG

Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
QL 640-664
QL 666.C5
QL 666.C9
QL 666.L
QL 666.O
QL 666.R
QL 667-668
General & Geographical Divisions
Chelonia [Testudinata; turtles…]
Crocodilia [Alligators; crocodiles; caimans]
Squamata [Sauria; lizards; geckos; skinks; gila monsters…]
Ophidia [Serpents; snakes; boas; sea snakes…]
Rhynchocephalia [Tuatara]
Amphibians [Apoda; salamanders; newts; anura; frogs; toads…]

REFERENCE BOOKS AND SERIES

Amphibians of Oregon, Washington & British Columbia.  ref QL653 N95 C67 1996
Amphibian Species of the World: A Taxonomic & Geographical Reference.
     ref QL645 F76 1985
Biology of the Reptilia.  (v.1-18; 1968-1992) QL641 G3.
Chromosome Atlas: Fish, Amphibians, Reptiles, & Birds.  (v.1-3) ref QH605 C53
Crocodilian, Tuatara & Turtle Species of the World.  ref QL666 C5 C76 1989
Desert Tortoise Council Symposium.  (1976-1986) QL666 C5 D4
     Abstracts 1998-current available at:
http://www.deserttortoise.org/abstract.html
A Dictionary of Zoology. 2nd ed.  ref QL9 C66 1999
Encyclopedia of Reptiles & Amphibians.  ref QL641 E53 1998
The Encyclopedia of Snakes.  ref QL666 O6 E53 1995
The Firefly Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians. ref QL640.7 F57 2002
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd ed..
     Vol. 6 Amphibians: Frogs & Toads to Caecilians;
     Vol. 7 Reptiles: Turtles & Tortoises to Lizards & Snakes
     ref QL7 G7813 2003
Handbook of Salamanders.  ref QL666 C2 B48 1994
Handbuch der Palaoherpetologie. Encyclopedia of Paleoherpetology.(1969-current)
     ref QE861 H3 v.1, 3B-7, 9-19
Herpetological Monographs.  No.2(1988)-current  QL 640 H423
Latin Names Explained. A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles,
     Birds, Mammals
.  ref QL9 G67 1996
Lizards.  (v. 1-2) ref SF459 L5 R63313 1997
Lizards in Captivity.  ref 666 L2 W95 1995
Reptiles of North America: A Guide to Field Identification.  ref QL651 S59 2001
Turtles of the United States & Canada.  ref QL 666 C5 E76 1994
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES

American Museum of Natural History-Department of Herpetology: Amphibian Species of the World
   http://research.amnh.org/herpetology/amphibia/index.html
American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists
   http://www.asih.org/
Amphibiaweb
   http://elib.cs.berkeley.edu/aw/
CNAH: The Center for North American Herpetology
   http://www.cnah.org/index.asp
Crocodilian Biology Database
   http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/natsci/herpetology/brittoncrocs/cbd.html
CSUS BioWeb
   http://arnica.csustan.edu/
Encyclopedia of Life
   http://www.eol.org/
Endangered Species Homepage
   http://endangered.fws.gov
Fish & Game Agencies of the 50 States
   http://www.lib.washington.edu/fish/fandg/fandglist.html
NOAA Turtles
   http://www.noaa.gov/turtles.html
Reptile Database
   http://www.reptile-database.org/
Science.gov/Biology & Nature
   http://www.science.gov/browse/w_115.htm
Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles
   http://www.ssarherps.org/
Tewksbury Institute of Herpetology: The Complete Chelonian Taxonomy List
   http://www.chelonia.org/Turtle_Taxonomy.htm
UNEP (United Nations Environment Programme) World Conservation Monitoring
Centre & IUCN Red Data information

   http://www.unep.org/
USGS North American Amphibian Monitoring Program, NAAMP
   http://www.pwrc.usgs.gov/naamp/
U.S. EPA
    http://cfpub.epa.gov/si/
WWW Virtual Library: Biosciences
   http://vlib.org/Biosciences.html
Zoological Record Systematic Thesaurus
   http://www.biosis.org/support/zr-thesaurus/sys-current/
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Paper Indexes
  • Biological Abstracts (1927-1995)
    QHZ 5321 B5
  • Biological & Agricultural Index(1931-1999 )
    QHZ 5321 B5
  • Zoological Record (1864-1994)
    Section 16 Amphibians. Section 17 Reptiles QLZ7991 Z87
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
Return to top of the page

JOURNALS
Listed below are representative titles currently received at CSUS Library.

Copeia (1913-current)
Herpetologica (1936-current)
Herpetological Review (1967-current)
Journal of Herpetology (1968-current)

Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
GoogleScholar.com  http://scholar.google.com/
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)
Back to the top of the page
Return to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to:  Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian
California State University, Sacramento
eh/dr/6/02: Last updated 3/08