Library Logo BIOLOGY: PRIMATOLOGY
Compiled by E. Heaser


Contents: Reference and Web Sites
Specialized Journals
Indexes to Journals
Search Engines
Return to Library Home Page

EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG
Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
Physical Anthropology
Primates
Primates, Fossil
GN 49-298
QL 737 P9
QE 882 P7
Return to top of the page

REFERENCE BOOKS & WEB SITES
  • American Association of Physical Anthropologists   http://www.physanth.org/
  • American Society of Primatologists   http://www.asp.org/
  • The Baboon: An Annotated Bibliography, with Added Materials 1907-1964
  • & Supplements 1-4, 1965-1971  ref QL737 P9 B3
  • Behavior of Nonhuman Primates  QL737 P9 S33 1965-1974, v.1-5
  • The Chimpanzee QL737 P96 B65 (1973) Library has: v.1-6
  • Contributions to Primatology. Call numbers vary
  • Library has v.1- 26; 1953- 1991
  • Encyclopedia of Human Evolution & Prehistory, 2nd ed.  ref GN281 E53 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Life  http://www.eol.org/
  • German Primate Center. Deutsches Primatenzentrum.   http://www.dpz.gwdg.de/
  • Gibbons and Siamang  QL737 P96 R84   Library has: v.1-4, 1972-1976
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Mammals, III  ref QL7 G7813 1003 v.14
  • A History of Physical Anthropology an Encyclopedia.  ref GN50.3 H57 1997 v.1-2
  • International Congress of Primatology. Proceedings. QL737 P9 I5
    Library has: 2-5th, 1968-1974
    Title change: Recent Advances in Primatology  Library has: 6th,1978, v. 1-4
  • International Directory of Primatology   http://pin.primate.wisc.edu/idp/
  • International Zoo Yearbook  QL76 I55 V.1-35; 1959-1997
  • Mammal Species of the World    http://www.nmnh.si.edu/msw/
  • NetVet, The Primate Homepage  http://netvet.wustl.edu/primates.htm
  • New World Primates: Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior.
    ref QL737 P925 N48 11997
  • Old World Monkeys  ref QL737 P93 O545 2000
  • OrderPrimates
    http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/chordata/mammalia/primates.html
  • Palomar College: Primates
    http://anthro.palomar.edu/primate/default.htm
  • Physical Anthropology  H62 A1 A4 1992/93-current (annual)
  • Pictorial Guide to the Living Primates  ref QL737 P9 R675 1996
  • Primate Taxonomy  ref QL737 P9 G86 2001
  • Primatelit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology
    http://primatelit.library.wisc.edu/
  • Primates, Comparative Anatomy and Taxonomy  QL737 P9 H5
    Library has: 1953-1990, v.1-8
  • Primates of the World  ref QL737 P9 P66 1992
  • Primatologia: Handbuch de Primatenkunde (Handbook of Primatology)
    QL737 P9 H67 1956-1973 incomplete. Library has:
    v.1-2 (part 1, sections 3,5,6)
    v.2 (part 2, sections: 2-3; 5-6; 8; 10-11; 13;)
    v.3 (parts 1-2)
    v.4 (parts 4-6, 11)
  • Taxonomic Atlas of Living Primates  ref QL737 P9 C47
  • Thesaurus used in Zoological Record
    http://www.biosis.org/support/zr-thesaurus/
  • Walker's Primates of the World  ref QL737 P9 N66 1999
  • Yearbook of Physical Anthropology, Supplement to The American Journal
  • of Physical Anthropology  GN60 Y4
    Library has: 1949-67; 72-75; 78-current
Return to top of the page

SPECIALIZED JOURNALS
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Paper
  • Abstracts in Anthropology   ref GN1 A15
    v.1-current; 1970-current    Index Area - 2nd Floor North
  • Animal Behaviour Abstracts  ref QLZ7993 B4
    v.2 (1974) - 22 (1994)    Lower Level
  • Biological Abstracts  QH 301 B37
    v.1 (1926) - 100 (1995)    Index Area - 2nd Floor North & Lower Level
  • Zoological Record  ref QLZ7991 Z87
    Section 19 Mammals. v.1 (1864) - current    Index Area - 2nd Floor North
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
GoogleScholar.com  http://scholar.google.com/
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)
 
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to:   Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian
eheaser@csus.edu; California State University, Sacramento
eh/dr/12-01/ updated 3/08