SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 

PHYSICAL THERAPY, REHABILITATION and
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY RESOURCES



Contents: EUREKA Catalog
Dictionaries, Directories, etc.
Occupational Therapy
Orthopedics
Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation, etc
Web Sites
Indexes to Journals
Search Engines
Return to Library Home Page

EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG

Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
GV 435-436
QM 100-105
QP 301-341
RA 975.5
RC 349-350; 406; 422
RC 400-422
RC 735; 953.8
RC 1200-1238
RD 101
RD 680-795
RJ 52-53
RM 695-950
Physical Fitness Testing
Anatomy (muscle-skeletal)
Physiology/Kinesiology
Medical/special services
Diagnostic procedures/therapeutics
Diseases/nervous system
Physical therapy. Occupational therapy
Sports--medical aspects
Fractures
Orthopedics
Pediatrics/therapeutics
Physical Medicine
Return to top of the page

DICTIONARIES, DIRECTORIES, FACT BOOKS, STANDARDS

Accident Facts 1955-1999 (Continued by Injury Facts)  ref HV 676 A1 A2
CAPTE Accreditation Handbook  ref RM 707 U6 C66 2001
CARF Directory (The Rehabilitation Accreditation Commission)
    http://www.carf.org/Consumer.aspx?Content=ConsumerSearch
    Also available at: ref RM 930.5 U5 D513 2001
Color Atlas of Anatomy: A Photographic Study of the Human Body, 6th ed.
     ref QM 25 R55 2006
Common Terminology Abbreviations & Symbols for Therapeutic Recreation & Other Activity
    Therapies: A Glossary & Workbook
.  ref RM 736.7 J493 2002
Dictionary of Rehabilitation ref RM 930 D455 1995
Directory of Accredited Physical Therapy Education Programs ref RM 706 D5 2000
The Encyclopedia of The Muscle and Skeletal Systems and Disorders  ref RC925.5 S29 2005
Idyll Arbor's Therapy Dictionary, 2nd ed ref RM 930 B87 2001
The Injury Fact Book (CDC)
    http://www.cdc.gov/ncipc/fact_book/factbook.htm
Injury Facts/National Safety Council ref HV 676 A1 A2 2000-current
International Standards for Neurological and Functional Classification of Spinal
    Cord Injury, rev. 1992
ref RD5 94.3 I5 1992
Neuromuscular Disorders of Infancy, Childhood, and Adolescence. A Clinician's
    Approach
 ref RJ 480 N487 2003
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy  ref RM 696.5 Q53 2000
Senior Injuries (CA Dept. Public Health)
    http://www.cdph.ca.gov/HealthInfo/injviosaf/Pages/SeniorInjuries.aspx
Textbook of Medical Physiology (Guyton & Hall), 11th ed. ref QP34.5 G9 2006
Return to top of the page

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY

American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc  http://www.aota.org
American Occupational Therapy Foundation  http://www.aotf.org/#
Measuring Occupational Performance: Supporting Best Practice in Occupational
    Therapy
ref RM 735 L39 2001
Occupational therapy Protocol Management in Adult Physical Dysfunction
    ref RM 735.3 D36 1992
Opportunities in Occupational Therapy Careers  ref RM 735.4 A22 2001
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, 3rd ed
    ref RM 735 J345 2001
Return to top of the page

ORTHOPEDICS

American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons  http://www.aaos.org
American Academy of Orthotists & Prothetists  http://www.oandp.org/
Atlas Of Limb Prosthetics: Surgical, Prosthetic, and Rehabilitation Principles
    ref RD 756 A85 1992
The Bone and Mineral Manual: A Practical Guide  ref RC 931 M45 B665 1999
Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics, 9th ed  ref RD 731 C32 1998 v.1-4
Clinical Orthopaedic Rehabilitation  ref RD 797 C55 2003
Handbook of Fracture, 3rd ed  ref RD 101 H24 2006
Handbook of Orthopaedic Rehabilitation  ref RD 799 H36 1996
Illustrated Essentials in Orthopedic Physical Assessment  ref RD 734 E93 1994
Injury & Trauma Sourcebook  ref RD 93 I552 2002
National Osteoporosis Foundation  http://www.nof.org
Orthopaedic Testing: A Rational Approach to Diagnosis  ref RD 734.5 P58 G47 1993
Osteoporosis Sourcebook, 5th ed  ref RC 931 O73 O777 2001
Podiatry Sourcebook, 1st ed  ref RD 563 P593 2001
Turek's Orthopaedics: Principles & Their Application, 6th ed  ref RD 731 T8 2005
Wound Care (Clinical Guide), 3rd ed  ref RD 95 H47 1999
Return to top of the page

PHYSICAL THERAPY, REHABILITATION, SPORTS MEDICINE

ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing & Prescription, 7th ed  ref RM 725 A48 2006
American Physical Therapy Association  http://www.apta.org
Biomechanics of Impact Injury and Injury Tolerances of the Extremities.
    ref RD 96.6 B535 1996
Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists: Screening for Referral, 4th ed. Ref RM701 G658 2007
Encyclopaedia of Sports Medicine (check EUREKA for titles)
    Library has vols. 1-4,7-10
Guidelines to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment.  ref RA 1055.5 G85 2001
Muscle and Sensory Testing  ref RC 925.7 R44 1999
Muscle Physiology & Design  http://muscle.ucsd.edu/musintro/jump.shtml
National Rehabilitation Association  http://www.nationalrehab.org/
National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)  http://www.naric.com
PEDro the Physiotherapy Evidence Database
    http://www.pedro.org.au/
Physical Agents Laboratory Manual  ref RM 700 B37 1998
Physical Agents Theory and Practice for the Physical Therapist Assistant
    ref RM 700 B37 1996
Physical Rehabilitation Outcome Measures  ref RM 700 P46 1994
Practical Manual of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation  ref RM 701 T36 1998
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy  ref RM 696.5 Q53 2000
Rehabilitation Engineering & Assistive Technology Society of North America RESNA
    http://www.resna.org
Rehabilitation of Sports Injuries: Scientific Basis  ref RD 97 R439 2003
Rehabilitation Sourcebook  ref RM 930 R3665 2000
The Rehabilitation Specialist's Handbook, 3rd ed  ref RM 735.3 R68 2005
Saunders Manual of Physical Therapy Practice  ref RM 700 S363 1995
Sports Injuries Sourcebook, 2nd ed  ref RD 97 S736 2002
Therapeutic Medications in Sports Medicine ref  RM 301 M376 1998
Therapeutic Modalities for Allied Health Professionals, 2nd ed.  ref RM700 P78 2002
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES

American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons  http://www.aaos.org
American Academy of Orthotists & Prothetists  http://www.oandp.org/
American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc  http://www.aota.org
American Occupational Therapy Foundation  http://www.aotf.org/#
American Burn Association  http://www.ameriburn.org/
American Academy of Pain Management  http://www.aapainmanage.org/
American Physical Therapy Association  http://www.apta.org
Brain Injury Association of America  http://www.biausa.org
Kinesiology: Biomechanis, Exercise Physiology, and Rehabilitation CSUS Library Research Guide
    /guides/rogenmoserd/heas/kinesiology.htm
Muscle Physiology & Design http://muscle.ucsd.edu/musintro/jump.shtml
Nursing Online Degree and Resource Guide
    http://www.academicinfo.net/medschools.html
National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke  http://www.ninds.nih.gov
National Osteoporosis Foundation http://www.nof.org
National Rehabilitation Association http://www.nationalrehab.org/website/index.html
National Rehabilitation Information Center NARIC http://www.naric.com
Pain Center at Stanford University http://paincenter.stanford.edu/
Rehabilitation Engineering & Assistive Technology Society of North America (RESNA)  http://www.resna.org
Stroke Connection of the American Heart Association  http://www.strokeassociation.org/
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNALS

Paper
  • Physical Education Index  (1978-current)
    2 North Index Area   GVZ 6121 P5
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)  (1937-current)
    Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health; full text articles
  • Ingenta  (1989-current)
    General interest and science database; full text can be purchased
  • MEDLINE  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine; some full text available
  • PEDro the Physiotherapy Evidence Database  http://www.pedro.org.au/
  • PubMed  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine - contains MEDLINE and is free to the public;
    some full text available
  • SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) (1975-current)
    Sports, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness. includes journals, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings;
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES

Google Scholar  http://www.scholar.google.com
Yahoo  http://www.yahoo.com/
Vivisimo  http://www.vivisimo.com
    (searches search engines, groups information into folders)
Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian.; eheaser@csus.edu.
Last updated 6/09