Library Logo NURSING & NURSES
Revised by Eileen Heaser


Contents: Dictionaries-Encyclopedias-Handbooks
Statistical Data-Measurements
Nursing Practice & Care
Laboratory Tests-Pharmacology-Drugs
Research-Theory-History
Legal
Examinations-Education-Scholarships
Agency Publications
Nursing Journals at CSUS & Indexes to Journals
Web Sites
Search Engines
Return to Library Home Page

EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG
Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
LB 3405-3416
R
RA
RB
RC
RD
RE
RF
School Nursing, Health, Hygiene
Medicine
Public Medicine/Health
Pathology
Internal Medicine
Surgery
Ophthalmology
Otorhinolaryngology
RG
RJ
RL
RM
RS
RT
RT81.5
RT85.5
Obstetrics/Gynecology
Pediatrics
Dermatology
Therapeutics, Pharmacology
Pharmacy
Nursing
Nursing Research
Tests, Measurements

DICTIONARIES-ENCYCLOPEDIAS-HANDBOOKS

American Heritage Stedman's Medical Dictionary  ref R 121 A53 2004
Blacks Medical Dictionary ref R 121 B589, 41st, 2006
Community Services Directory, Sacramento, California  1972-current. ref HV 99 S3
Educator's Reference Desk http://www.eduref.org/
Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Allied Health  ref R 121 E539 2005
Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior  ref R 726.5E53 2004 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Public Health  ref RA 423 E53 2002 v.1-4
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health ref RT 21G353 2002 vol. 1-5
Handbook of Health Psychology  ref R 726.7 H3645 2001
Health & Illness: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia  ref R 733 L477 1997
Health Illustrated Encyclopedia  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html
Health Problems in the Classroom 6-12: An A-Z Reference Guide for Educators
    ref LB3409 U5 H83 2003
MEDLINEplus Health Information  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapeutics  http://www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html
     Also available at: ref RC 55 M4 2006
Merk Manuals  http://www.merck.com/pubs/
Milestones in Health & Medicine  ref R 133 H36 2000
Mosby's Medical Nursing & Allied Health Dictionary. 6th ed.  ref R 121 M89 2002
National Health Systems of The World  ref RA 393 R593 1991
      v.1 The Countries. v.2 The Issues.
Return to top of the page

STATISTICAL DATA-MEASUREMENTS

Annual School Report, (BRN) http://www.rn.ca.gov/schools/reports.shtml
Library has 2001-02, 2003-04, 2005-06 at: RT 80 C2 B433
Center for Disease Control (CDC)  http://www.cdc.gov/scientific.htm
County Health Status Profiles  1993-current ref RA 407.4 C2 C678
Forecasts of the RN Workforce in California 2007
    http://www.rn.ca.gov/pdfs/forms/forecasts2007.pdf
Health Statistics  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthstatistics.html
Health, United States  http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm
    also at: ref RA 407.3 U57a 1979-current
Kids Count: Data Center  http://www.kidscount.org/sld/databook.jsp
    1991-current also available at ref HQ 792 U5 K53
Managed Health Care in the Sacramento Region: A Community Profile.
     ref RA 425 M35 1995
Measuring Health: A Guide to Rating Scales and Questionnaires ref RA 408.5 M38 2006
Measurement Tools in Patient Education  ref R 727.4 M4 2003
Measurements for Long-Term Care: A Guidebook for Nurses ref RT 120 L64 B41 1998
Nursing & Allied Health Index to Measurement & Assessment Tools/Instruments
    & Questionnaires. 5th ed.
 http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/heas/nursing2008.pdf
Nursing Data Review  1978-1997 ref RT79 N87
Regional Forecasts of the Registered Nurse Workforce in California, August 2006
    http://www.futurehealth.ucsf.edu/cchws/RegionalRNForecasts2006.pdf
    Also available at: ref RT 86.74 C2 S74 2005; 2006, (title varies)
School Health in America: Assessment of State Policies to Protect & Improve
     the Health of Students
 ref LB 3408 U5 S36 1999
School Health Services & Programs LB 3409 U5 S373 2006
State Health Facts  http://statehealthfacts.kff.org/faq.jsp
Return to top of the page

NURSING PRACTICE & CARE

Annual Review of Nursing Research  1983-current RT 81.5 A55
Brownson's Nursing Notes (Nursing organizations and related sites)
    http://diannebrownson.tripod.com/organizations.html
Childhood Disorders Diagnostic Desk Reference  ref R J50 C483 2003
Cultural Health Assessment. 3rd ed.  ref R T86.54 G45 2003
HIV Manual For Health Care Professionals. 2nd ed.  ref RC 607 A26 H576 1997.
Hospice & Palliative Care Handbook  ref RA 1000 M37 1999
Handbook of Public and Community Health Nursing Practice: A Health Promotion
     Guide. 2nd ed
.  ref RT 98 S783 2001
Handbook of Community-Based and Home Health Nursing Practice:
     Tools for Assessment, Intervention, and Education
 ref RT 98 S782 2000
Handbook of Health Behavior Research  ref RA 776.9 H363 1997 v.1-4
Handbook of Mental Health Interventions in Children and Adolescents: An Integrated
    Developmental Approach
 ref RJ 499 H324 2004
Handbook of Public and Community Health Nursing Practice: A Health
     Promotion Guide. 2nd ed
.  ref RT 98 S783 2001
Health Assessment for Nursing Practice. 3rd ed.  ref RT48 W55 2005 Health Related Disorders in Children & Adolescents: A Guidebook for Understanding
     and Educating
 ref LB 3409 U5 P488 1998
Manual of School Health. 2nd ed.  ref RJ 247 L48 2002
Medicine: Selective Resources, CSUS Library Guide.
     http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/heas/medicine.htm
Merck Manual of Geriatrics. 3rd ed.   http://www.merck.com/mkgr/mmg/home.jsp
     Also available at: ref RC 952.55 M555 2000
Mosby's Critical Care Nursing Consultant  ref RT 120 I 5 M67 1997
Mosby's Handbook of Patient Teaching. 2nd ed.  ref RT 90 C36 2000
Mosby's Pediatric Nursing Reference. 4th ed.  ref RJ 245 M67 2000
NANDA Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions& Classification 2003-2004  ref RT 48.6 N365 2003
Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures  ref RT 51 S655 2002
Nurse's HomeCare Handbook  ref RT 120 H65 N87 1998
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook with NIC Interventions & NOC Outcomes
      ref RT 48.6 W44 2000
Nursing Practice Information Infrastructure, ANA  http://www.nursingworld.org/npii
Nursing 2007 Dangerous Drug Interactions  ref RM 302 N87 2007
Nursing Understanding Diseases  ref RT65 U53 2008
Nutrition and Diagnosis-Related Care, 5th ed.  ref RM 217.2 E83 2002
Patient Care Guidelines for Nurse Practitioners. 5th ed.  ref RT 82.8 P37 1999
Principles and Practice of Geriatric Medicine. 3rd ed.  ref RC 952 P73 1998 v.1-2
Professional Guide to Diseases: An Up-To-Date Encyclopedia of Illnesses, Disorders,
    Injuries, Treatments
ref RT 65 P69 2005
Rapid Assessment: A Flowchart Guide to Evaluating Signs & Symptoms ref RT 48 R364 2004
Return to top of the page

LABORATORY TESTS-PHARMACOLOGY-DRUGS

2000 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook  ref RC 271 C5 W54 2000
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses  ref RM 301.12 D44 2005
     Updates at
DrugGuide.com  http://www.DrugGuide.com
Diagnostics: An A to Z Nursing Guide to Laboratory Tests & Diagnostic Procedures
      ref RT 48.5 D54 2001
Drug Information Portal  http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp
Goodman & Gillman: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. 10th ed.
     ref RM 300 G644 2001
Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests With Nursing Implications. 4th ed.
     ref RB 38.2 K44 2001
A Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests. 7th ed.  ref RB 38.2 F57 2004
Nurse's Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests. 3rd ed.  ref RT 48.5 W38 1999
Nursing Spectrum Drug Handbook  ref RM 301.12 N888 2006
Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach. 5th ed.  ref RM 263 P52 2002
RxList:The Internet Drug Index  http://www.rxlist.com
U.S. Food & Drug Administration  http://www.fda.gov
Return to top of the page

RESEARCH-THEORY-HISTORY

A Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research  ref RT 81.5 P69 2006
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research  ref RT 81.5 E53 1998
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing  ref RT 31 S66 1999
Instruments for Clinical Nursing Research  ref RT 81.5 I57 1988
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice  RT 84.5 N8793 2006
Nursing Theorists and Their Work. 5th ed  ref RT 84.5 N9 2002
The Path We Tread: Blacks in Nursing Worldwide, 1854-1994, 3rd ed. ref RT 83.5 C37 1995
Return to top of the page

LEGAL

California Nursing Practice Act with Regulations and Related Statutes
     ref KFC 546.5 N8 A3 2006
1998 Nursing Licensure Guidelines: State Information Manual for Nurses in the United
     States of America, Provincial & Territorial Information Manual for Nurses in Canada

      ref RT 4 N835 1998
Nurse Practitioner's Legal Reference  ref RT 82.8 N8646 2001
Return to top of the page

EXAMINATIONS-EDUCATION-SCHOLARSHIPS

American Association of Colleges of Nursing/Students - Scholarship Information
    http://www.aacn.nche.edu/Students/index.htm
California Board of Registered Nursing  http://www.rn.ca.gov/
Complete List of State Nursing Boards  http://www.allnursingschools.com/faqs/boards.php
CSUS Division of Nursing   http://www.hhs.csus.edu/NRS/
Directory of Accredited Nursing Programs  http://www.nlnac.org/Forms/directory_search.htm
      also available at: ref RT 79 D57 2002
1999-2000 Enrollment and Graduations in Baccalaureate & Graduate
    Programs in Nursing
ref RT 79 E56 1999/2000
Masters in Nursing  http://www.mastersinnursing.com/
National League for Nursing  http://www.nln.org/research/index.htm
NCLEX-RN  ref RT 55 N42 2003-04
Nursing Programs 2005. 9th ed.  ref RT 79 P48 2005
Nursing School & Allied Health Exams. 16th ed. ref RT 79 G65 2003
Nursing School Entrance Exam: Your Guide to Passing the Test ref RT 79 N86 2005
Official Guide to Graduate Nursing Schools.  ref RT 79 O33 2000
Official Guide to Undergraduate Nursing Schools.  ref RT 79 O37 2000
Saunders Comprehensive Review for NCLEX-RN. 2nd ed.  ref RT55 S28 2002
Return to top of the page

AGENCY PUBLICATIONS

National League for Nursing (NLN)  http://www.nln.org
American Nurses Association (ANA)  http://www.nursingworld.org/
California Nurses Association (CNA)  http://www.calnurse.org/
The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)
     http://www.wiche.edu/

Publications from other states and regional associations are purchased when possible.
Federal, state & local government publications are received on a selective basis.
Return to top of the page

NURSING JOURNALS AT CSUS & INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Nursing Journals at CSUS
Journals are available in print (located on 3rd Floor South), full text in the database CINAHL, through EUREKA or through the journal website. A complete list is available at
Nursing Journals at CSUS.

Indexes to Journal Literature
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text (via EBSCOHost)   (1936-current)
    Cumulative Index to Nursing Allied Health Literature
  • MEDLINE  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine
  • PubMed  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine - contains MEDLINE and is free to the public; Available at: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi
  • ERIC  (1966-current)
    Educational Resources Information Center; some full text available
  • ERIC  http://www.eric.ed.gov
    This site is free to the public. Effective October 2004, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004) will be available for free.
  • PsycINFO  (1887-current)
    Psychological Abstracts
  • GPO Access  (coverage varies)
    Government publications and free to the public. Available at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/
  • Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe
    Full text legal information
  • Ingenta  (1989-current)
    General interest and science database. Full text can be purchased
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES

American Academy of Pain Management  http://www.aapainmanage.org/
American Association of Critical Care Nurses, AACN  http://www.aacn.org
California Center for Public Health Advocacy  http://www.publichealthadvocacy.org/
California Nurses Association  http://www.calnurses.org/
California NursingHome Search  http://www.calnhs.org
CAPHIS: Consumer & Patient Health Information
    List of reputable health care web sites.
    http://www.caphis.mlanet.org/
Center for Disease Control (CDC)  http://www.cdc.gov/scientific.htm
MEDICARE: Nursing Home Compare  http://www.medicare.gov/NHCompare/home.asp
MedlinePlus Go Local   http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/golocal/
National Institute of Nursing Research (Links Nursing Organizations)
      http://www.nih.govv/ninr/organization.html
National Institutes of Health (NIH)  http://www.nih.gov
National League for Nursing  http://www.nln.org
National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties  http://www.nonpf.com
National Student Nurses' Association  http://www.nsna.org/foundation/index.asp
Network of Care [Sacramento County]  http://www.sacramento.networkofcare.org
Nursing Center  http://www.nursingcenter.com/home/index.asp
Nursing Jobs  http://www.nursingjobs.com/default.asp?source=NZ
Nursing On-Line   http://www.nursing.iirt.net/
NurseZone  http://www.nursezone.com
Oncolink (General site on cancer from the University of Penn.)
      http://www.oncolink.upenn.edu/
Pain Management Health Center-Web MD
     http://www.webmd.com/pain-management/default.htm
Science.gov  http://www.science.gov/browse/w_127.htm
Trust for America's Health  http://healthyamericans.org/
UltimateNurse.com (For employment, careers, programs)
     http://www.ultimatenurse.com/
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
ANANZI.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
Google Scholar  http://www.scholar.google.com  
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Homen Page

Questions/comments to:  Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian; eheaser@csus.edu; CSU, Sacramento
eh/dr/5/02: Last updated 6/08