SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


BIOLOGY: MICROBIOLOGY-IMMUNOLOGY-BACTERIOLOGY



Contents: EUREKA Catalog
Reference Sources
Indexes to Journals
Web Sites
Related Research Guides
Search Engines
Library Home Page

EUREKA CATALOG

Use the EUREKA Computer Catalog to find books when you know the author, title or LC subject heading for a book. Some general LC classifications for books include:
QR 1-74.5
QR 75-177
QR 180-189.5
QR 201-353.5
QR 335-502
RB 1-214
RC 109-119.7
RC 120-216.A
Microbiology [general]
Bacteria; Microbial Ecology
Immunology
Pathogenic Microorganisms [by disease A-Z]
Virology
Pathology, histology, laboratory technology & techiques, molecular diagnosis
Infectious & Parasitic Diseases [general]
Individual Diseases [infectious & parasitic]
Return to top of the page

REFERENCE SOURCES

Antibody Applications: Essential Techniques.  ref QR 183 D45 1995
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology    ref QR 81 B46 1984 v. 1-4
Bergey’s Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, 2nd ed   ref QR 81 B46 2001 v.1-2
        v. 1. The Archaea & the Deeply Branching Phototrophic Bacteria.
        v. 2. Part B, The Gamaproteobacteria. The Proteobacteria.
Biochemical Tests for the Identification of Medical Bacteria   ref QR 67.2 M32 2000
CDC Prevention Guidelines: A Guide to Action.   ref RA 445 C341 1997
Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods. 20th ed
     ref RB 37 C55 2001
Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook.   ref RB 46 C65 1992 v.1-2
Compendium of Methods for the Microbiological Examination of Foods 4th ed
    ref QR 115 A5 2001
Contagious and Non-contagious Infectious Diseases Sourcebook
    ref RC 113 C66 1996
Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 18th ed   ref RA 643 A5 2004
Cytokine Reference: A Compendium of Cytokines & Other Mediators
    v.1 Ligands,v.2 Receptors.  ref QR 185.8 C95 C9816 2001
Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology   ref QR 9 D47 2004
The Dictionary of Immunology   ref QR 180.4 D53 1995
Dictionary of Microbiology & Molecular Biology   ref QR 9 S56 2001
Encyclopedia of Aids: A Social, Political, Cultural and Scientific Record
    of the HIV Epidemic
   ref RA 664 A25 E5276 1998
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology   ref QR 115 E53 2000 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Immunology   ref QR 180.4 E56 1992 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Life   http://www.eol.org/
Encyclopedia of Microbiology   ref Q R9 E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Virology   ref QR 358 E53 1999 v. 1-3
Escherichia Coli and Salmonella: Cellular & Molecular Biology ref QR 82 E6 E83 1996 v.1-2
Food Borne Disease Handbook, 2nd ed.   ref QR 201 F668 2000 v. 1-4
Handbook of Antibiotics   ref RM 267 R44 2000
The HLA Facts Book   ref QR 184.32 H485 2000
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology, 2nd ed  ref QR 180.4 C78 2003
International Code of Nomenclature of Bacteria and Statutes of the International
    Committee on Systematic Bacteriology and Statutes of the Bacteriology and
    Applied Microbiology Section of The International Union of Microbiological
    Societies. 1990 revision
    ref QR 81.I57 1992
Jacobs & DeMott Laboratory Test Handbook with Keyword Index, 5th ed
    ref RB 37 L2758 2001
Manual of Clinical Microbiology, 7th ed.   ref QR 46 M425 1999
A Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests, 7th ed.   ref RB 38.2 F57 2004
MMWR Morbidity & Mortality Report   http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/
    Also available at ref RA 407.3 A37
Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults & Children, 4th ed
    ref RB 113 M35 2002
PDxMD Infectious Diseases. V. 1 Bacterial, v.2 Viral, Fungal & Parasitic
    ref RC 112 I55 2003
Principles & Practice of Infectious Diseases   ref RC 111 P78 2005 v.1-2
The Prokaryotes. 2d ed.   ref QR 72.5 P76 1992 v. 1-4
Sexually Transmitted Disease's Sourcebook, 2nd ed   ref RC 200.2 S387 2001
The T Cell Receptor Facts Book.   ref QR 185.8 T2 L445 2001
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Paper Indexes

  • Biological Abstracts    (1926-1995)
    Index Area 2 North and Lower Level    QH 301 B37 v.1-100, 1926-1995
  • Biological & Agricultural Index   (1931-32; 1945-1999)
    Index Area 2 North and Lower Level    SZ 5073 A 46 v.1-2 1931-32; 11-53, 1945-19
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
  • Biological Abstracts (EBSCO)   (1969-current)
    Over 4,000 journals covering life science and biomedical research
  • Biological & Agricultural Index (EBSCO) (1983-current)
  • Ingenta  (1989-current)
    General interest and science database; full text can be purchased
  • MEDLINE  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine; some full text available
  • PubMed  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine - contains MEDLINE and is free to the public
  • ScienceDirect  (current 5 or 6 years)
    Full text of 1,700 plus journals
  • Wiley InterScience  (1996-current)
    Full text of some of the 300 plus journals
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES
All the Virology on the WWW    http://www.virology.net/garryfavweb.html
American Society for Microbiology    http://www.asm.org/
Biology Browser from Thomson Reuters    http://www.biologybrowser.com/
Biology & Life Science searching  http://www.Vadlo.com
Center for Complex Infectious Diseases    http://www.ccid.org/
Center for Disease Control (CDC)    http://www.cdc.gov/scientific.htm
CDC Avian Influenza (bird flu)    http://www.cdc.gov/flu/avian/
CDC H1N1 Flu (Swine Flu)    http://www.cdc.gov/h1n1flu/
CDC:Public Health Emergency Preparedness & Response    http://www.bt.cdc.gov/
CDC:Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS)    http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/sars/
CDC:West Nile Virus    http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dvbid/westnile/
Emerging and Infectious Diseases (journal)    http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/eid/
GOBASE: The Organelle Genome Database    http://gobase.bcm.umontreal.ca/
Institute for Molecular Virology    http://virology.wisc.edu/IMV/
MEDLINE plus. Lyme Disease    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/lymedisease.html
MicroBioNet [bacteriology, virology, parasitology]    http://www.microbionet.com.au/
National Foundation for Infectious Diseases    http://www.nfid.org/
NCBI Bookshelf (Full text of some textbooks)
     http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=Books&itool=toolbar
NPR Science Friday -videos (videos on all science subjects)
    http://www.sciencefriday.com/videos/
Science.gov  http://www.science.gov/
Society for General Microbiology    http://www.socgenmicrobiol.org.uk/
Virtual Museum of Bacteria    http://www.bacteriamuseum.org/
Return to top of the page

RELATED GUIDES

Additional Biology Guides and Guides on other subjects are available from the complete list of CSUS Library Research Guides.

Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES

Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
GoogleScholar.com  http://scholar.google.com  
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)
Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian.; eheaser@csus.edu.
eh/dr 10/01 Last updated 5/09