Library Logo MEDICINE:
SELECTED RESOURCES

Compiled by E. Heaser


Contents
General
Alternative Medicine
Dental
Dermatology
Ear, Nose & Throat
Genetic Disorders
Geriatrics
Health Care/Hospitals
Infectious Diseases
Internal Medicine
Obstetrics & Gynecology
Oncology
Ophthalmology
Orthopedics
Pathology/Lab & Diagnostic Tests
Pediatrics
Pharmacy/Medications/Drugs
Psychiatry/Mental Health
Public Health
Statistics
Surgery
Indexes to Journals
Search Engines
Library Homepage

EUREKA (COMPUTER CATALOG)
Library of Congress (LC) call number areas for browsing
R
RA
RB
RC
RD
RE
RF
Medicine
Public Medicine/Health
Pathology
Internal Medician; Psychiatry
Surgery/Rehabilitation
Ophthalmology
Otorhinolaryngology

RG
RJ
RL
RM
RS
RT
Obstetrics/Gynecology
Pediatrics
Dermatology
Therapeutics; Pharmacology
Pharmacy
Nursing


GENERAL RESOURCES

A.D.A.M. Health Illustrated Encyclopedia  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html
American Heritage Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 2nd ed.  ref R 121 A53 2004
American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia.
   ref RC 81 A2 A497 2003
American Medical Association Manual of Style.  ref R 119 A533 1998
Black's Medical Dictionary. ref R 121 B598, 41st 2006
CDC Health Topics A to Z  http://www.cdc.gov/health/
Dictionary of Medical Eponyms.   ref R 121 F35 2002
Dictionary of Medical Syndromes. 4th ed.  ref RC 69 M33 1997
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, 30th ed.  ref R 121 D73 2003
Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior.  ref R 726 5E53 2004 v. 1-2
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine.  ref RC 41 .G35 2002 v.1-4
Goodman & Gillman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 10th ed.
   ref RM300 G644 2001
Healthfinder  http://www.healthfinder.gov/
Healthopedia  http://www.healthopedia.com/
Healthspeak: a Complete Dictionary of America’s Healthcare System.
   ref RA 395 A3 F738 1996
Health Web  http://www.healthweb.org/
Land of Medical Links  http://www.west.asu.edu/jbuenke/medicine/
MEDLINEplus Health Information  http://medlineplus.gov/
MEDLINEplus: Medical Dictionary
     http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/mplusdictionary.html
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, 17th ed.
    also available at ref R 121 S8 1999
Merck Manual of Medical Information-Home Edition, 2nd ed.  ref RC 81 M535 2003
Salud Medical Spanish Dictionary & Phrase Book, 2nd ed.  ref R 121 C66 2003
Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. 19th ed.  ref R 121 T18 2001
    Also available on CD-Rom (Media Center): Computer File 000113

Return to top of the page

ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE

Alternative Health and Medicine Encyclopedia. 2nd ed.  ref R 733 M38 1998
Alternative Medicine Foundation  http://www.amfoundation.org/about.htm
Alternative Medicine Handbook: the Complete Reference Guide to Alternative
   Complementary Therapies.  ref R 733 C375 1998
Encyclopedia of Natural Healing: a Practical Self-Help Guide.  ref R 733 E62 1998
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine.  ref R 733 G34 2001 v.1-4
Health and Illness: a Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia.  ref R 733 l477 1997
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center/Complementary/Integrative Medicine.
    http://www.mdanderson.org/departments/cimer/
Mayo Clinic. Complementary & Alternative Medicine
    http://www.mayoclinic.com/
National Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine, NIH  http://nccam.nih.gov/
Physician's Desk Reference-Herbal Medicines
   http://www.pdrhealth.com/drug_info/nmdrugprofiles/herbaldrugs/index.shtml
U.S. FDA, Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition: Dietary Supplements
   http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/supplmnt.html

Return to top of the page

DENTAL
American Dental Association  http://www.ada.org/
Mosby's Dental Dictionary. ref RK 27 M672 2004
OMNI: Dental Care  http://omni.ac.uk/browse/mesh/D003729.html
Sacramento District Dental Society  http://www.sdds.org/

Return to top of the page

DERMATOLOGY

American Academy of Dermatology  http://www.aad.org/
Andrews Diseases of the Skin.  ref RL 71 O33 2000
The Electronic Textbook of Dermatology  http://telemedicine.org/stamford.htm
Handbook of Diseases of the Hair and Scalp.  ref RL 151 S585 1999
Manual of Skin Diseases. 7th ed.  ref RL 74 S25 1996
Skin Deep: an A-Z of Skin Disorders, Treatments and Health.  ref RL 41 T87 1996

Return to top of the page

EAR, NOSE AND THROAT

American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery  http://www.entnet.org
BioMed Central. BMC Ear Nose & Throat  http://www.biomedcentral.com/1472-6815/
Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology Illustrated.  ref RF 291 S73 2003
Ear, Nose, and Throat (EMedicine)
    http://www.emedicinehealth.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=60063
Ear, Nose & Throat Disorders. PDxMD Medical Conditions Series.  ref RF 56 E35 2003
Ear, Nose, and Throat Disorders Sourcebook.  ref RF 59 E18 1998
The Encyclopedia of Deafness & Hearing Disorders, 2 ed.  ref RF 290 T93 2000
General Ophthalmology. 14th ed.  ref RE 46 V27 1995
Handbook of Clinical Audiology, 5th ed.  ref RF 291 H36 2002
MEDLINEplus Health Information - Ear, Nose & Throat Topics
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/earnoseandthroat.html
NIH/Ear, Nose, and Throat  http://health.nih.gov/search.asp?category_id=6
Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery.  ref RF 46 P37 2001
Singular’s Illustrated Dictionary of Audiology.  ref RF 290 M464 1999
University of Utah Healthcare/ENT  http://uuhsc.utah.edu/healthinfo/pediatric/ent/sitemap.htm

Return to top of the page

GENETIC DISORDERS

Emery & Rimoins Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics. 3rd ed.
    ref RB 155 E53 1997 v. 1-2
Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders and Birth Defects. 2nd ed.  ref RB 155.5 W96 2000
Handbook of Genetic Communication Disorders.  ref RB 155.5 H36 2001
Hereditary Hearing Loss and Its Syndromes.  ref RF 292 H474 2004
Magalini & Magalini Dictionary of Medical Syndromes, 4th ed.
    ref RC 69 M33 1997
MEDLINEplus Health Information - Genetics/Birth Defects Topics
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/geneticsbirthdefects.html
Mendelian Inheritance in Man: a Catalog of Human Genes and Genetic Disorders
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=OMIM
    Also available at ref QH 442.4 M35 1998 v.1-3 (12th ed.)
Yahoo Directory Diseases & Conditions, Genetic Disorders
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Health/Diseases_and_Conditions/Genetic_Disorders/

Return to top of the page

GERIATRICS

AARP Research Center Health & Long-Term Care  http://research.aarp.org/health/
Alliance for Aging Research  http://www.agingresearch.org
Alzheimer's Disease Education & Referral Center  http://www.alzheimers.org
American Geriatrics Society  http://www.americangeriatrics.org/
Eldercare Locator  http://www.eldercare.gov/
Encyclopedia of Aging.  ref HQ 1061 E534 2002 v. 1-4
Encyclopedia of Elder Care.  ref RC 954 E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Gerontology: Age, Aging, and the Aged.  ref RC 952.5 E58 1996 v. 1-2
The Essential Medication Guidebook to Healthy Aging: An Easy-to-Use Reference
   to Medications Taken for Common Conditions
. ref RC 953.7 E87 2002
Gerontology & Geriatrics: Selected Resources, CSUS Research Guide
    /guides/heas/rogenmoserd/Geriatrics.htm
Merck Manual of Geriatrics, 3rd ed.
    also available at ref RC 952.55 M555 2000
National Institute on Aging  http://www.nih.gov/nia
Osteoporosis Sourcebook. ref RC 931 O73 O777 2001
Physical & Mental Issues in Aging Sourcebook.  ref RC 952.5 P48 1999
Principles and Practice of Geriatric Medicine. 3rd ed. ref RC 952 P73 1998 v.1-2
USC/Ethel Percy Andrus Gerontology Center
    http://www.usc.edu/dept/gero/researchServices.shtml

Return to top of the page

HEALTH CARE/HOSPITALS

The AHA Guide to the Health Care Field: A Guide to United States Hospitals, Health
    Care Systems, Networks, Alliances, Health Organizations, Agencies and Providers
.
    ref RA 981 A2 A46 2003-2004
American Health: Demographics and Spending of Health Care Consumers.
    ref RA 445 A442 2005
American Hospital Association  http://www.aha.org/aha/index.jsp
Best of Health: Demographics of Health Care Consumers, 2nd ed.
    ref RA 445 W44 2000
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services  http://cms.hhs.gov/
Directory of Nursing Homes.  ref RA 997 A2 D49 1999
Handbook of Health Behavior Research.  ref RA 776.9 H363 1997 v.1-4
Health Care Almanac: Every Person's Guide to the Thoughtful and Practical Sides
    of Medicine
.  ref RA 395 A2 H43 1998
Health Care: Hospitals, Delivery of Services, Organization, & Administration, CSUS
    /guides/rogenmoserd/heas/healthcare.html
Health Care State Rankings . 1993-current  ref RA 407.3 H42
Health, United States; With Chartbook on Trends in the Health of Americans.
    1976-77; 1993-current. Also available at ref RA 407.3 .U572
Healthy California 2000: California's Experience in Achieving the National Health
     Promotion and Disease Prevention Objectives
.  ref RA 447 C2 S8 1995
Hoover's Online [Pharmaceutical Industry]
    http://www.hoovers.com/pharmaceuticals/--HICID__1486--/free-ind-factsheet.xhtml
Land of Medical Links  http://www.west.asu.edu/jbuenke/medicine/
National Center for Health Statistics  http://www.cdc.gov/nchs
National Health Systems of the World: v. I. the Countries; v. II. the Issues.
    ref RA 393 R593 1991
Reforming the Health Care System: State Profiles. 1995-current  ref RA 407.3 R43
The Network of Care [Sacramento County]  http://sacramento.networkofcare.org/
State-Level Databook on Health Care Access & Financing. ref RA410.53 L67 1998
Transcultural and Multicultural Health Links
    http://www.worlded.org/us/health/docs/culture/materials/websites_015.html

Return to top of the page

INFECTIOUS DISEASES

American Social Health Association  http://www.ashastd.org/
Aids Crisis in America: A Reference Handbook. 2nd ed.  ref RA 644 A25 H655 1998
Aids Update 2001. An Annual Overview of Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome.
    ref RC 607 A26 A3678 2001
CDC HIV/AIDS Prevention  http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/dhap.htm
CDC Sexually Transmitted Diseases  http://www.cdc.gov/std/
CDC Prevention Guidelines: a Guide for Action. ref RA 445 C34 1997
Center for Disease Control - Statistics. CDC  http://www.cdc.gov/scientific.htm
Control of Communicable Diseases Manual: an Official Report of the American
    Public Health Association.
ref RA 643 A5 2000
Encyclopedia of AIDS: a Social, Political, Cultural, and Scientific Record of
    the HIV Epidemic
.  ref RA 644 A25 E5276 1998
Encyclopedia of Arthropod-Transmitted Infections.  ref RA 641 A7 E53 2001
Infectious Diseases. PDxMD Medical Conditions Series.  ref RC 112 I55 2003
    v.1 Bacteria; v.2 Viral, Fungal & Parasitic
Infectious Diseases Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information about
    Non-Contagious Bacterial, Viral, Prion, Fungal, and Parasitic Diseases
     Spread by Food
... ref RA 643 I6545 2004
MEDLINEPlus Health Information/AIDS
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/aids.html
Principles & Practices of Infectious Diseases, 6th ed.  ref RC 111 P78 2005 vols. 1-2
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report  http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/
Rabies, Lyme Disease, Hanta Virus and other Animal-Borne Human Diseases
    in the United States and Canada.
 ref RC 113.5 C63 1997
Sexually Transmitted Diseases, 2nd ed.  ref RC 200.5 W57 1997
Sexually Transmitted Diseases Sourcebook, 2nd ed. ref RC 200.2 S387 2001
Trust for America's Health  http://healthyamericans.org/
WHOSIS (WHO Statistical Information System)  http://www3.who.int/whosis/

Return to top of the page

INTERNAL MEDICINE
Brain Disorders Sourcebook: Basic consumer health information about
     stroke, epilepsy...
.  ref RC 386 B726 1999
Cecil Textbook of Medicine. 21st ed.  ref RC 46 C423 2000 v.1-2
Dictionary of Medical Syndromes. 4th ed.  ref RC 69 M33 1997
Family Village (disability resources)  http://www.familyvillage.wisc.edu/index.htmlx
French’s Index of Differential Diagnosis. 13th ed.  ref RC 71.5 F7 1996
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 2nd ed.  ref RC 41 G35 2002 v. 1-5
Hardin MD free medical journals  http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/md/ej.html
Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine. 14th ed.  ref RC 46 H333 1998
Healthfinder  http://www.healthfinder.gov/ (ranks and links information)
Health Web  http://www.healthweb.org/
Journal Watch Gastroenterology  http://gastroenterology.jwatch.org/
MayoClinic.com  http://www.mayoclinic.com/
Medscape  http://www.medscape.com
    (Peer reviewed health information some full text journal access)
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, 17th ed.
    also available at ref R 121 S8 1999
    Also at ref RC55m4 No.17, 1999
National Institutes of Health NIH  http://www.nih.gov
NORD National Organization for Rare Disorders
    http://www.rarediseases.org/search/rdblist.html
Scientific American Medicine.  ref RC 46 S35 April 1998-current
Transcultural & Multicultural Health Links
    http://www.worlded.org/us/health/docs/culture/materials/websites_015.html
World Health Organization  http://www.who.int/home-page/

Return to top of the page

OBSTETRICS & GYNECOLOGY

American Board of Obstetrics & Gynecology  http://abog.org
American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists  http://acog.org/
American College of Nurse Midwives  http://www.acnm.org
Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs  http://www.amchp.org/
1250 Health-Care Questions Women Ask, 2nd ed.  ref RG 121 M396 1992
Effects of Drugs on the Fetus and Nursing Infant: a Handbook for Health
    Care Professionals
.  ref RG 627.6 D79 F75 1996
Handbook of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Primary Care.  ref RG 110 H36 1998
The Johns Hopkins Manual of Gynecology and Obstetrics.  ref RG 110 J64 1999
Manual of Clinical Problems in Obstetrics & Gynecology, 5th ed. ref RG 571 M28 2000
Melloni's Illustrated Dictionary of Obstetrics and Gynecology.  ref RG 45 M45 2000

Return to top of the page

ONCOLOGY

American Cancer Society  http://www.cancer.org/
American Institute for Cancer Research
    http://www.aicr.org/site/PageServer?pagename=homepage
California Cancer Facts & Figures (ACS).  ref RC261 A1 C3 1992-current
The Cancer Dictionary. Rev. ed.  ref RC 262 A39 2000
Cancer Facts and Figures 2000.  ref RC 261 R213 2000
Cancer Information Service  http://cis.nci.nih.gov
Cancer Principles & Practice of Oncology. 6th ed.  ref RC261 C274 2001 v. 1-2
Cancer Sourcebook. 3rd ed.  ref RC26 3 C294 2000
Consumers Guide to Cancer Drugs.  ref RC 271 C5 W544 2000
Encyclopedic Reference of Cancer.  ref RC254.5 E53 2001
Hospice and Palliative Care Handbook:Quality, Compliance, and Reimbursement.
    ref RA 1000 M37 1999
International Classification of Diseases for Oncology. 3rd ed.  ref RC258 I44 2000
MEDLINEplus Health Information: Cancers  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/cancers.html
National Cancer Institute  http://www.cancer.gov/cancer_information
Oncolink University of Pennsylvania  http://oncolink.upenn.edu
Prostate Cancer Sourcebook. ref RC 200 P7 P7599 2001
2000 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook.  ref RC 271 C5 W54 2000

Return to top of the page

OPHTHALMOLOGY

American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology Strabismus  http://www.aapos.org/
General Ophthalmology. 14th ed.  ref RE46 V27 1995
Immediate Eye Care: An Illustrated Manual.  ref RC71 R33 1990
Institute of Ophthalmology  http://www.ucl.ac.uk/ioo/
Internet Ophthalmology  http://www.ophthal.org/
The Lighthouse Handbook on Vision Impairment and Vision Rehabilitation.
    ref RE91 L54 2000 v. 1-2

Return to top of the page

ORTHOPEDICS

American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons  http://www.aaos.org
American Physical Therapy Association  http://www.apta.org/
Campbell’s Operative Orthopaedics. 9th ed.  ref RD 731 C32 1998 v.1-4
Clinical Orthopaedic Rehabilitation.  ref RD 797 C55 2003
National Rehabilitation Information Center  http://www.naric.com/
Podiatry Sourcebook. ref RD 563 P593 2001
Rehabilitation Engineering & Assistive Technology Society of North America. RESNA
    http://www.resna.org
Turek’s Orthopaedics: Principles and Their Application, 6th ed.  ref RD 731 T8 2006
Wheeless' Textbook of Orthopaedics  http://www.wheelessonline.com/

Return to top of the page

PATHOLOGY/LABORATORY TESTS/DIAGNOSTIC TESTS

Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods.  ref RB 37 C55 2001
Current Procedural Terminology: CPT 2003 .  RB 115 C17 2003
Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. 4th ed.
    ref RB 38.2 K44 2001
Illustrated Guide to Diagnostic Tests: Laboratory Tests, Diagnostic Procedures,
    Nursing Implications
.  ref RC 71 I44 1994
Lab Tests Online  http://www.labtestsonline.org/
Laboratory Test Handbook with Key Word Index, 5th ed.  ref RB 37 L2758 2001
A Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests, 7th ed.  ref RB 38.2 F57 2004
Medical Tests Sourcebook.  ref RC 71.3 M45 1999
MEDLINEplus Health Information - Laboratory Tests.
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/laboratorytests.html
MedTech  http://www.medtech1.com
Pathophysiology: the Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults & Children, 4th ed.
    ref RB 113 M35 2002
The Patient's Guide to Medical Tests: Everything You Need to Know About the Tests Your Doctor Orders. 2nd ed.  ref RC 71.3 S424 2002

Return to top of the page

PEDIATRICS

American Academy of Pediatrics  http://www.aap.org
American Board of Pediatrics  http://www.abp.org
Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs  http://www.amchp.org/
Childhood Diseases & Disorders Sourcebook.  ref RJ 61 C5427 2003
Childhood Disorders Diagnostic Desk Reference.  refRJ 50 C483 2003
Children's Health Under Medicaid: A National Review of Early & Periodic Screening,
    Diagnosis & Treatment, 1999-2003
.  ref RJ 101 O473 2005
Current Pediatric Diagnosis & Treatment. 14th ed.  ref RJ 1 K45 1999
Dictionary of Developmental Disabilities Terminology, 2nd ed.  ref RJ 135 A26 2002
Encyclopedia of Clinical Child & Pediatric Psychology.  ref RJ 503.3 E53 2003
Family Village (disability resources)  http://www.familyvillage.wisc.edu/index.htmlx
General Pediatrics.com  http://generalpediatrics.com/
Handbook of Neonatal Infections: A Practical Guide.  ref RJ275 I82 1999
Handbook of Neurodevelopmental & Genetic Disorders of Children.
    ref RJ506 D47 H36 1999
Handbook of Neuropsychology.  ref RJ 486.5 H285 2005
Handbook of Pediatric Intensive Care.  ref RJ 370 P42 2002
Handbook of Pediatric Nutrition.  ref RJ 206 H23 1999
The Health of Youth: A Cross-national Survey.  ref RJ47.53 H433 1996
Manual of School Health, 25 ed. ref RJ 247 L48 2002
Nelson’s Textbook of Pediatrics. 17th ed.  ref RJ 45 N4 2004
Neuromuscular Disorders of Infancy, Childhood, and Adolescence: A Clinician's
    Approach
.  ref RJ 480 N487 2003
PediatricEducation.org: A Pediatric Digital Library and Learning Collaboratory
    http://www.pediatriceducation.org
Red Book 2000: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, 25th ed.
    ref R J1 A454 v.25
WAIMH Handbook of Infant Mental Health.  ref RJ 502.5 W35 2000 v.1-4

Return to top of the page

PHARMACY/MEDICATIONS/DRUGS

AHFA Drug Information: American Hospital Formulary Service.  ref RS 125 A562 2006
American Pharmaceutical Association Practical Guide to Natural
    Medicines
.  ref RM 666 H33 P45 1999
Buzzed: the Straight Facts about the Most Used and Abused Drugs from
     Alcohol to Ecstasy
.  ref RM 316 K84 1998
Clinical Handbook of Psychotropic Drugs, 13th ed.  ref RM 315 C547 2003
Complete Guide to Prescription & Nonprescription Drugs.  ref RM 301.15 C65 2001
Dictionary of Pharmacy.  ref RS 51 D482 2004
The Essential Medication Guidebook to Healthy Aging.  ref RC 953.7 .E87 2002
Evidence-Based Herbal Medicine.  ref RM 666 H33 R683 2002
FDA Food & Drug Administration  http://www.fda.gov
FDA's Drug Safety Initiative  http://www.fda.gov/cder/drugsafety.htm
Handbook of Injectable Drugs, 12th ed.  ref RM 143 T74 2003
Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs, 14th ed.  ref RM 671 A1 H35 2004
Herbal Drugs & Phytopharmaceuticals, 3rd ed.  ref RM 666 H33 T43813 2004
Hoover's Online [Pharmaceutical Industry] 
    http://www.hoovers.com/industry/pharmaceuticals/--HICID__1486--/free-ind-factsheet.xhtml
Illegal Drugs: A Complete Guide to Their History, Chemistry, Use and Abuse.
    ref RC 566 G345 2001
Medicinal Plants of the World.  ref RS 164 V295 2004
Merck  http://www.merck.com/pubs/ (Prescription drug information)
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.  ref RM 666 H33 N38 2002
PDR for Herbal Medicines. 1st ed.  ref RS 75 P554 1999
PDR.net  http://www.pdr.net/
PDR for Nutritional Supplements.  ref RM 671 A1 P481 2001
Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach. 4th ed.  ref RM 263 P52 1999
Physicians’ Desk Reference.  ref RS 75 P52 2005
Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy, 21st ed.  ref RS 91 R4 2006
RxList:The Internet Drug Index  http://www.rxlist.com
Selected Resources on Medicinal Plants/CSUS Research Guide
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/metzgerd/medicinal_plants.htm
USP24 NF19. National Formulary.  ref RS 141.2 U48 2000

Return to top of the page

PSYCHIATRY/MENTAL HEALTH

American Academy of Psychiatry & the Law  http://www.aapl.org/index.html
American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry  http://www.aagpgpa.org/
American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry  http://www.aacap.org/
American Psychiatric Glossary.  ref RC 437 S76 2003
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychotherapy.  ref RC 480 C593 2002
Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry/VI.  ref RC 454 C637 1995 v.1-2
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders:
    DSM-IV-TR
.  ref RC 455.2 C4 D536 2000
Encyclopedia of Mental Health.  ref RA 790 E53 1998 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Neurological Sciences. ref RC 334 E52 2003. v. 1-4
Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook.  ref RC 454.4 M458 2000
National Institute of Mental Health  http://www.nimh.nih.gov/
Psychiatric Dictionary.  ref RC 437 H5 1996
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Service Administration  http://www.samhsa.gov/
Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders, 3rd ed.  ref RC 480 T69 2001 v.1-2

Return to top of the page

PUBLIC HEALTH

Access to Health Risk Behavior in the United States: A State-by State Look
    at Teens and Adults
. ref RA 776.9 A33 2004
American Public Health Association  http://www.apha.org/
Association of Schools of Public Health  http://www.asph.org/
Best of Health: Demographics of Health Care Consumers, 2nd ed.
    ref RA 445 W45 2000
Dictionary of Epidemiology. 4th ed.  ref RA 651 D552 2001
Emergency Preparedness and Response Site  http://www.bt.cdc.gov/
Encyclopedia of Public Health.  ref RA 423 E53 2002 v. 1-4
Environmental Health Sourcebook.  ref RA 565 E484 2003
Handbook of Immigrant Health.  ref RA 448.5 I44 H36 1998
Health in the Americas.  ref RA 10 P252 1965-current

Return to top of the page

STATISTICS


Statistics are available from the Research Guide:

Statistics on Health, Injury, Medical Assistance & Insurance, Health Personnel
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/heas/healthcarestatistics.html

Return to top of the page

SURGERY

Principles of Surgery. 6th ed.  ref RD 31 P88 1994
Surgery: Basic Science and Clinical Evidence.  ref RD 31 S9115 2001
Wound Care. 3rd ed. [Clinical Guide]  ref RD 95 H47 1999
YourSurgery.com  http://Yoursurgery.com/Index.cfm

Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text (via EBSCOHost)  (1936-current)
    Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health; full text articles
  • MEDLINE  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine; some full text available
  • PubMed  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine - contains MEDLINE and is free to the public; some full text available
  • PsycINFO  (1887-current)
    Psychological Abstracts; some full text available
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Google   http://www.google.com
Yahoo  http://www.yahoo.com 
Vivisimo  http://www.vivisimo.com
    (Searchs other search engines; groups information into folders)
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Homepage

Questions/comments to: Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian, CSU, Sacramento
Last updated 8/07; Eh/dr