Library Logo BIOLOGY: MAMMALOGY
Compiled by E. Heaser and D. Metzger


Contents: EUREKA
Reference Resources
Series Publications
Selected Journals
Indexes to Journal Literature
Web Sites
Search Engines
Return to Library Home Page

EUREKA (COMPUTER CATALOG)
Use the
EUREKA Computer Catalog to find books when you know the author, title or LC subject heading for a book. Use a WORD search when using keywords. Some general LC classifications for books include:
QL 700-795
QL 750-795
QH 301-425
QL 799-991
QH 1-73
QH 737A-Z


SK 1-600
Mammals, general
Animal behavior
Biology, general
Morphology, anatomy, embryology
Natural history
Systematic division by Order & Family A-Z, i.e.,
    QL 737.C (Carnivora)
    QL 737.R (Rodentia)
Wildlife management

REFERENCE RESOURCES
A Guide to Zoological Literature  Ref QLZ 7991 B43 1994
Animal Behavior Desk Reference: A Dictionary of Animal Behavior, Ecology and Evolution
     Ref QL 750.3 B37 2001
Beecham's Guide to International Endangered Species Ref QL 82 B435 1998
Biology Data Book 2nd ed.   Ref QH 310 A392
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia   Ref QL 3 G7813
Infectious Diseases of Wild Mammals 2nd ed 2nd ed.   Ref SF 997 D39 1981
The Mammals of North America   Ref QL 715 H15 1981
Mammal Species of the World: a Taxonomic and Geographic Reference
    Ref QL 708 M35 2005 v.1-2
The Official World Wildlife Fund Guide to Endangered Species of North America
     Ref QL 84.2 O35 1990 (v. 3 includes mammals)
Scientific Style & Format: CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers, 7th ed.
    http://www.monroecc.edu/depts/library/cbe.htm
    Also available at Ref T11 S386 2006
Simon and Schuster's Guide to Mammals Ref QL 703 B6413 1983
Walker's Bats Of The World  Ref QL 737 C5 N69 1994
Walker's Mammals of the World  Ref QL 703 W222 1999
Walker's Marine Mammals Of The World  Ref QL 713.2 N69 2003
Walker's Primates Of The World Ref QL 737 P9 N66 1999
A World List of Mammalian Species   Ref QL 708 C67 1991
Return to top of the page

SERIES PUBLICATIONS
Animal Behaviour Monographs QL 750 A38   Library has vol.1-6. 1968-1972
American Museum Noviates QH 1 A45   Library has v.1 - 3023, 1922 - 1991
Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics   Also availabe in paper from v.1-33; 1970-2002
California. University. Publications in Zoology QL 1 C15   Library has v.1-date; 1895 - date.
Return to top of the page

SELECTED JOURNALS

* Titles are available online:  use
EUREKA or the Locate Print & e-Journals list for access
*Acta Zoologica (1984-95)
*African Zoology
*American Journal of Primatology
*American Zoologist
*Animal Behaviour
Animal Learning and Behavior
*Animal Science
*Anneles de Sciences Naturelles-Zoologie et Biologie
Australian Journal of Zoology
Behaviour
California Fish and Game
Canadian Field Naturalist
*Canadian Journal of Zoology
*Defenders
Ecological Restoration, North American
Endangered Species Bulletin
*Endangered Species Update
*International Journal of Primatology
*Journal of Animal Ecology
Journal of Biogeography
*Journal of Experimental Zoology
*Journal of Mammalogy
*Journal of Range Management
Journal of Wildlife Management
*Journal of Zoology (London)
*Mammal Review
*Mammalia
*Marine Mammal Science
*The Murrelet (1920-88)
Northwestern Naturalist
*Oryx
Physiological Zoology
*Primates
Restoration and Management Notes (1981-98)
Traffic Bulletin (IUCN)
*Wildlife Society Bulletin
Zeitschrift fur Saugetierkunde
*Zoo Biology
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Paper Indexes

Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
  • Biological Abstracts   (1969-current)
    Largest index for all aspects of biology
  • GPO Access  http://www.gpoaccess.gov/
    For government publications; free to the public
  • JSTOR
    Full text of over 90 biological journals, including:
        Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics (1970-1995),
        Ecological Applications (1991-1996),
        Ecological Monographs (1931-1996),
        Ecology (1920-1996),
        Journal of Animal Ecology (1932-1997),
        Journal of Ecology (1913-1997)
    All journals have the most recent years blocked, numbers varies by title.
  • PubMed  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine; covers all aspects of medicine and includes basic biology research; free to the public
    Some full text available
  • ScienceDirect  (1995-current)
    Full text of 1,700 plus journals
  • Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide (NISC) (1935-current)
    Indexes the literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.  All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are included
  • Wiley InterScience  (1996-current)
    Full text of some of 300 plus journals
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES
 
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
GoogleScholar.com  http://scholar.google.com  
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)

Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to: Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian
eheaser@csus.edu, California State University, Sacramento
eh/dm 10/01 Last updated 3/08