SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


KINESIOLOGY: Biomechanics, Exercise Physiology,
Physical Education, and Sports



Contents: EUREKA Catalog
Biomechanics, Testing, Sports Medicine
Physical Education, Exercise, Sports
Physiology
Rehabilitation
Indexes to Journals
Journals
Search Engines
Library Home Page

EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG

Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
GV 1-158
GV 160-191

GV 191-200
GV 201-555

GV 557-1198.01
QM 100-105
QP 34-38
QP 301-341
R 856
RA 781-782
RC 71.8-72
RC 1200-1245
RD 97; 101-106
RJ 51-53
RJ 133-138
RM 695-950
T 59.7; 165
Recreation & Leisure: Philosophy & History of
Personnel Administration; Leadership; Recreational Areas &
   Facilities; Handicapped
Outdoor Life, Outdoor Recreation
Physical Education & Training, Geographical subdivisions;
   Facilities. Gymnastics
Sports, History of; Individual Sports
Anatomy (muscle-skeletal)
Human Physiology
Musculoskeletal System, Physiology of Exercise, Kinesiology, Biomechanics
Biomedical Engineering
Exercise, aerobic, reducing
Function Tests
Sports Medicine, Physiology of Sports
Sports injuries, overuse. Fractures
Exercise Therapy, Testing (Children)
Pediatrics, Exercise
Physical Medicine; ergonomics, exercise testing, Physical Therapy
Ergonomics
Return to top of the page

BIOMECHANICS, TESTING, SPORTS MEDICINE

ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 7th ed.
     ref RM 725 A48 2006
American College of Sports Medicine  http://www.acsm.org
American Sports Medicine Institute  http://www.asmi.org/
American Society of Biomechanics  http://asb-biomech.org/
Biomechanics in Sports: Performance Improvement & Injury Prevention
     ref RC 1235 B476 2000
The Biomedical Engineering Handbook  ref R 856.15 B56 2000 v.1-2
The Encyclopedia of the Muscle and Skeletal Systems and Disorders
     ref RC 925.5 S29 2005
Encyclopaedia of Sports Medicine - Series Call numbers vary. Library has: v.1-4, 7-10
Human Energy Requirements: A Manual For Planners & Nutritionists
     ref QP 176 J36 1990
International Society of Biomechanics  http://www.isbweb.org/
Kirby's Guide to Fitness & Motor Performance Tests  ref QP 301 K55 1991
Medical Device Register, 23rd ed. ref R 856.48 M42 2003, v.1-2
Muscle and Sensory Testing, 2nd ed.  ref RC 925.7 R44 2005
Nutrition in Sport. vol. VII - The Encyclopaedia of Sports Medicine
     ref QP 141 N793 2000
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine  ref RC 1206 O94 1994
Peterson's Sports Scholarships and College Athletic Programs, 5th ed ref GV 583 P36 2004
The Physician & Sports Medicine  http://www.physsportsmed.com
Rehabilitation Engineers & Assistive Technology Society of North America (RESNA)
     http://www.resna.org
Return to top of the page

PHYSICAL EDUCATION, EXERCISE, SPORTS

ACSM'S Health/Fitness Facility Standards and Guidelines ref GV 429 A45 1997
ACSM's Health-Related Physical Fitness Assessment Manual GV 436 A35 2005
Amateur Athletic Foundation of Los Angeles/Sports Library  http://www.aafla.org/4sl/over_frmst.htm
American Academy of Kinesiology & Physical Education  http://www.aakpe.org
American Alliance for Health Physical Education Recreation & Dance (AAHPERD)
    http://www.aahperd.org
American Coaching Association  http://www.americoach.org
American Council on Exercise  http://www.acefitness.org/
American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine http://www.sportsmed.org
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport ref GV567B48 2005 v.1-4
Dance Medicine Resource Guide ref RC 1220 D35 D4 1997
Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise Sciences, 2nd ed
     ref GV 706.4 D57 1996
Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences  ref GV 558 D53 1991
Disabled Sports US  http://www.dsusa.org/
The Encyclopedia of Exercise, Sport and Health  ref GV 567 B78 2004
Encyclopedia of Physical Education & Fitness & Sports ref GV 567 E49 1985, vols. 1-4
Encyclopedia of Sports Science ref GV 558 E53 1997 vols. 1-2
Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present ref GV 567 E55 1999
Exercise & Sport Sciences Reviews RC 1200 E94 1-27; 1973-1999,
    continued as a quarterly journal
ExRx (Exercise Prescription)  http://www.exrx.net/
Google Directory - Sports Organizations  http://directory.google.com/Top/Sports/Organizations/
Health, Physical Education, Recreation & Allied Areas. University of Oregon
     Microform Publications
[INDEX]  ref GVZ 6121 O7 1946-current, on microfiche (1 South)
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports ref GV 709 I58 2001 v.1-3
International Sport Sciences Association  http://www.issaonline.com
Kinesiology Network  http://www.kinesiology.net
Lesson Plans/Health and PE, CSUS Research Guide
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/LESSON.HTM#health
Materials of Interest to Secondary Physical Education Teachers, CSUS Research Guide
     /guides/rogenmoserd/educ/secondaryphysed.htm
Peterson's Sports Scholarships and College Athletic Programs, 5th ed. ref GV 583 P36 2004
Quick reference Dictionary for Athletic Training   ref RC 1206 B475 2005
A Reference Manual for Human Performance Measurement in the Field of
     Physical Education & Sports Sciences
 ref GV 436.5 R44 1996
Rehabilitation of Sports Injuries: Scientific Basis  ref RD 97 R439 2003
Sport in American Culture: from Ali to X-Games  ref GV 706.2 D86 2004
Sports and Education: a Reference Handbook  GV 346 F73 2003
Sports Associations  http://www.50states.com/sports/associations.htm
Sports Injuries Sourcebook, 2nd  ref RD 97 S736 2002
Sports Scholarships & College Athletic Programs, 5th ed  ref GV 583 P39 2004
Sports: The Complete Visual Reference ref GV 704 S663 2000
Wheelchair Sports, USA  http://www.wsusa.org/
Whitaker's Olympic Almanack: An Encyclopaedia of the Olympic Games
     ref GV 721.5 W45 2000
Return to top of the page

PHYSIOLOGY

American Physiological Society  http://www.the-aps.org/
American Society of Exercise Physiologists  http://www.asep.org
Annual Review of Physiology  QP1 A535, v.1-59, 1939-1997
Textbook of Medical Physiology (Guyton & Hall) 11th ed  ref QP 34.5 G9 2006
Handbook of Physiology  QP6 H26 multiple parts and volumes
Return to top of the page

REHABILITATION

American Academy of Pain Management  http://www.aapainmanage.org
American Kinesiotherapy Association  http://www.akta.org/
American Physical Therapy Association  http://www.apta.org
CAPTE Accreditation Handbook ref RM 707 U6 C66 2001
Dictionary of Rehabilitation ref RM 930 D455 1995
Measuring Occupational Performance: Supporting Best Practice in Occupational Therapy
     ref RM 735 L39 2001
National Rehabilitation Association  http://www.nationalrehab.org/
National Spinal Cord Injury Association  http://www.spinalcord.org/
Pain Center/Stanford University  http://paincenter.stanford.edu/
Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation & Occupational Therapy Resources, CSUS Library Guide
     /guides/rogenmoserd/heas/physicaltherapy.htm
PEDro the Physiotherapy Evidence Database  http://www.pedro.org.au/
Practical Manual of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation ref RM 701T36 1998
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, 3rd ed ref RM 735 J345 2001
Rehabilitation Sourcebook, 1st ed ref RM 930 R3665 2000
The Rehabilitation Specialist's Handbook, 3rd ed ref RM 735.3 R68 2005
Therapeutic Modalities for Allied Health Professionals ref RM 700 P78 2002
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE
  • Paper Indexes
Physical Education Index ( 1970-current)
Index Area GVZ 6121 P5
  • Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
Return to top of the page

JOURNALS
Listed below are representative samples of titles currently received at CSUS Library. Those journals that are available online or are available full text in a database are indicated.

American Journal of Sports Medicine
American Journal of Physiology
Biometrics
British Journal of Sports Medicine
Clinical Biomechanics
Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine: Official Journal of the Canadian
     Academy of Sport Medicine

Clinical Kinesiology
Clinics in Sports Medicine
European Journal of Applied Physiology and Occupational Physiology
Exercise and Sport Sciences Reviews  prev. issues (1973-99) at RC 1200 E94
International Journal of Physical Education. Internationale Zeitschrift
     fur Sportpadagogik
  also available in Education Full Text (Wilson)
International Journal of Sports Medicine
JOPERD - Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance
Journal of Applied Physiology   (http://jap.physiology.org/)
Journal of Biomechanics
Journal of Cellular Physiology
Journal of Electromyography & Kinesiology
Journal of General Physiology  (http://www.jgp.org/)
Journal of Physiology  (http://www.jphysiol.org/)
Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy
Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology
Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness
Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research
Journal of Teaching in Physical Education
Measurement in Physical Education & Exercise Science
    available (except most recent year) at Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise also available in Education Full Text (Wilson)
Orthopedic Clinics of North America
Pediatric Exercise Science
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Clinics of North America
The Physician & Sportsmedicine
Psychology of Sport and Exercise
Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
Sports Medicine
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
ANANZI   http://www.ananzi.co.za/
Google Scholar  http://www.scholar.google.com
Yahoo  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
     (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)

Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian.; eheaser@csus.edu.
Last updated 6/09