Library Logo BIOLOGY: FISHES & FISHERIES
LIBRARY RESOURCES

Compiled by E. Heaser


Contents: Reference Books and Series
Series
Indexes to Journals
Search Engines
Library Home Page

EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG
GB 1-1581
GC 1199-1223
QL 614-618
QL 619-636
QL 637-639
SH 1-191
SH 201-400
SH 401-691
SK 351-579
Oceanography
Ground & Surface Water; Rivers
Chordates: Fishes (General)
Fishes: Geographical, Physiographic, and Topographic
Fishes: Systematic Divisions
Aquaculture
Fisheries
Angling
Wildlife Management. Game Protection

REFERENCE
American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists   http://www.asih.org/
BIOSCI   http://www.bio.net/
California Academy of Sciences-Research-Ichthyology
    http://www.calacademy.org/research/ichthyology/catalog
California Academy of Sciences. Annotated Checklist of Fishes     http://www.calacademy.org/research/ichthyology/annotated/index.html
California Fish and Game Code. Ref KFC 30.5 G62 F57 2003
Catalog of Fishes. Ref QL618 C38 1998, v. 1-3
Census of Marine Life  http://www.coml.org/coml.htm
Cichlid Research Home Page  http://cichlidresearch.com/
Coastal Fish Identification California to Alaska, . Ref QL 623.4 H85 1996
Common and Scientific Names of Fishes from the United States and Canada.
    Special Publication 29, 6th ed.
  Ref QL 618 C6 2004
CSU Biological Sciences Web Server  http://arnica.csustan.edu/
Dr. Burgess’s Atlas of Marine Aquarium Fishes. Ref SF 457.1 B873 1990
Encyclopedia of Fishes Ref QL 614.7 E535 1998
Encyclopedia of Life  http://www.eol.org/
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences Ref GC 9 E58 2001 v. 1-6
Encyclopedia of Sharks. Ref QL 638.9 P37 1999
Encyclopedia of the Sea Ref GC 9 E38 2000
ENVirolink  http://www.envirolink.org/envirohome.html
Field Guide to Freshwater Fishes of California, revised ed.  Ref QL 628 C2 M37 2006
A Field Guide to Pacific Coast Fishes. Ref QL 623.4 E83 1983
FINS: Fish Information Service  http://fins.actwin.com/
FishBase:A global Information System on Fishes  http://www.fishbase.org/search.html
Fishes of the World. 3rd Edition. Ref QL 618 N4 1994
Ichthyology Web Resources http://www2.biology.ualberta.ca/jackson.hp/IWR/index.php
Index and List of Titles, Fisheries Research Board of Canada & Associated
     Publications. 1900 - 1972
. Ref SHZ 5971 C34
Inland Fishes of California. Revised and expanded. Ref QL 628 C2 M6 2002
Interdisciplinary Encyclopedia of Marine Sciences  Ref GC 9 I58 2003, v. 1-3
Nonindigenous Fishes Introduced into Island Waters of the United States.
    Ref QL 627 F84 1999
North American Native Fisheries Association  http://www.nanfa.org/
Pew Charitable Trust: Protecting Ocean Life   http://www.pewtrusts.org/ideas/index.cfm?issue=16
Practical Handbook of Marine Science  Ref GC 11.2 P73 2001
Rivers of the States  Ref GB 1215 P29 1994. v. 1-5 pt. A
Science.gov (Washington, D.C.  http://www.science.gov/
Sealife: A Complete Guide to the Marine Environment. Ref QL 121 S43 1996
U.F. Fish & Wildlife National Wild Fish Health Survey  http://wildfishsurvey.fws.gov
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Sacramento Office  http://sacramento.fws.gov/
U.N. Atlas of the Oceans  http://www.oceansatlas.org/index.jsp
Washington, D.C. Science   http://www.science.gov
World Wildlife Fund (WWF)  http://www.worldwildlife.org/
Return to top of the page

SERIES

Parentheses ( ) indicate incomplete sets, check
EUREKA for exact numbers available.

California Administrative report / Anadromous Fisheries Branch
    no. 69:1-86.5 -, 19 -1986. SH 11 C15
    Absorbed by: Inland Fisheries Administrative Report, see below
Canadian Bulletin of Fisheries & Aquatic Sciences. no.(14 – 90), (1930 – 88). SH 223 A344
Circular. U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service. no. (1-361), (1941 – 1969) SK 361 A29.
    Formerly: U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Bureau of Commercial Fisheries
    Continued by: NOAA Technical Report NMSF Circular.
FAO Yearbook. Fishery Statistics v. 5 – 63; 1954/55,57,59-60,65-77,79-86. SH 1 Y4
Fish Physiology. v. 1- current, 1969 – current. QL 639.1 H6
Fish Bulletin. California. Dept. of Fish & Game. no. 1 - current, 1913 - current. SH 11 C27
Fisheries of the United States. Current Fisheries Statistics. 1971 – current.
     Ref SH 11 A334 & Supplement 1987-1991
Fisheries Statistics of the United States.1939,41;43;45;1952-1977. SH 11 A37
    Formerly: Fisheries Industries of the United States. 1918;20-22;24-26;28-34;38-39
    Segments also referred to as: Statistical Digest
Inland Fisheries Administrative Report. California. Dept. of Fish & Game. SH 222 C2 C35
    no. (38:18 -, 1938 -current)
Journal of the World Mariculture Society. v.17 – 27, 1986 - 1996 [Periodical]
    Formerly: World Mariculture Society, Proceedings. v. 1- 16, 1970 - 85. SH 182 W66
NOAA Technical Report NMSF. May include: Circulars, SEFSC, SEFC, or SSFR series.
    GovDoc Fic C55.13:
Proceedings of the Annual Conference of the Southeastern Association of
    Fish & Wildlife Agencies
. 13th-49th 1959 - 95. SK 11 S57
    Formerly: Southeastern Association of Game and Fish Commissioners.
    Proceedings.
9th – 11th. 1954-57.
Proceedings of the Desert Fishes Council. 1970; 79–current; 4th, 11th-current. SH 171 D4
Proceedings of the Western Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies (U.S.)
    58th - current, 1978- current. S 964 U5 W4.
    Formerly: Proceedings of the Annual Conference of Western Association of State Game
    & Fish Commissioners.
1947-77. 27th -57th.
Special Scientific Report – Fisheries U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service.
    no. (1 – 745), (1940 – 1981). SH 11 A335.
    Formerly: U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Bureau of Commercial Fisheries.
    See above: NOAA Technical Report NMFS SSRF. GovDoc Fic C 55.13:MNFS SSRF
Technical Papers U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. SH 11 A16. 71-111; 1974-1983
    Formerly: Technical Papers Bureau of Sport Fisheries & Wildlife. SH 11 A16. 1-70; 1966-73
    Merged with: Special Scientific Report – Wildlife. SK 357 U52 (2-240, many missing)
    Also see: GovDoc Fic I49.15/3 (113-254 many missing)
Transactions of the North American Wildlife & Natural Resources Conference.
     1936-67; 70-current. SK 351 N872
Transactions of the Western Section of the Wildlife Society. 1986 - current. SK 373 C28.
    Formerly: California Nevada Section – The Wildlife Society Transactions. 1966-69 continued
    by Cal-Neva Wildlife: Transactions. 1970-85.
University California Publications In Zoology. 1:2 – 125. 1902 - 1992. QL 1 C15
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNALS

Paper Format


Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts. Lower Level QHZ 5322 M3 A68. v.1 - 21. 1971- 1991
Biological & Agricultural Index. Lower Level. SZ5073 A46.v.1-2 1931-32;11- 53, 1945 - 1999
Biological Abstracts. Index Area 2nd & Lower Level. QH 301 B37. v.1 – 100, 1926 - 1995
Fisheries Review. Lower Level SH 1 S82. v.1 – 40, 1955 - 1995. Formerly: Sport Fishery Abstracts
Fishery Publications Index. Lower Level. SHZ 5971 N3. 1920 - 74. Title varies
Oceanic Abstracts Lower Level GC1 O24. v.9-27; Feb 1972 - April 1990
Selected Research Publication Series of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, 1889 - 1985.
    Lower Level SK 361 C6 1987.
Zoological Record. Index Area 2 North. v.1- current, 1864 - current. See Section # 15: Pisces.


Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
Google Scholar  http://www.scholar.google.com
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)

Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to: Eileen Heaser (eheaser@csus.edu), Science Reference Librarian
California State University, Sacramento; eh/dr/Last updated 3/08