SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


BIOLOGY: Arachnids and Insects



Contents: Using EUREKA
Reference Books and Series
Web Sites
Indexes to Journals

Journals
Search Engines
Return to Library Home Page


EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG

EUREKA is the CSU Sacramento Library online catalog. Books and other materials can be searched in EUREKA
by title, author, keyword, and Library of Congress Subject Headings. The Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers
listed below provide browsing areas for books
.
QL 434-434.8
QL 451-458.32

QL 458.4-459
QL 459.2-515.2

QL 521-529.26
QL 529.27-540.42

QL 541-570.3

QL 571-599.82

SB 818-945
SB 950-990.5
SF 517-561
SF 562
Arthropoda General & Geographical Distribution
Arachnida, Acari, Amblypygi [scorpions, spiders, mites, etc.] General & Geographical
    Distribution. Systematic divisions
Arancae [spiders, scorpions]
Insects. General; Mayflies; Cockroaches; Grasshoppers; Earwigs; Caddis flies;
   Dragonflies; Stick Insects
Hemiptera [bugs]; homoptera [aphids, cicadas, etc.]
Isoptera [termites]; Plecoptera [stoneflies]; Diptera [flies]; Embioptera
   [web spinners; Mallophaga [chewing lice]
Lepidoptera [butterflies, moths]; Hymenoptera [ants, bees, wasps, etc.]; Anoplura
   [sucking lice]
Coleoptera [beetles]; Thysanoptera [thrips]; Mecoptera [scropionflies]; Strepsiptera
   [twisted-winged parasites]; Siphonaptera [fleas]
Economic Entomology, pests & diseases [pests A-Z]
Pest control & treatment; Pesticides, Insecticides
Beneficial Insects & Insect Culture [Bee culture, Sericulture (silk)]
Other Insects, A-Z [boll weevil, moths, Chinese wax scale…]
Return to top of the page

REFERENCE BOOKS AND SERIES

ABC & XYZ of Bee Culture   ref SF 522.3 R6 1983
Advances in Insect Physiology    QL 495 A23 v1.-20
American Entomological Institute Contributions    QL 461 A42 (1964-86 incomplete)
Annual Review of Entomology    QL 461 A5 (1956-1991)
The Bees of the World    ref QL 566 M53 2000
The Butterflies of North America    ref QL 548 B8 1975
Caterpillars in the Field & Garden: A Field Guide to the Butterfly Caterpillars of North America
    ref QL 548 R44 2005
Common Names of Insects & Related Organisms 1997    ref QL474 C66 1997
Crop Protection Handbook    ref S 633 A5 2003
The Dictionary of Butterflies and Moths in Color    ref QL 543 W36
A Dictionary of Entomology    ref QL 462.3 G67 2001
Encyclopedia of Insects    ref QL 462.3 E483 2003
Encyclopedia of Natural Insect & Disease Control    ref SB 974 E53 1984
Eriophyid Studies, C    QL 458 A2 C32 nos. 1-17
Firefly Encyclopedia of Insects & Spiders    ref QL 462.3 F57 2002b
Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia v.3 Insects
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd ed (Vol. 3 Insects)    ref QL7 G7813 2003
Handbook of Vegetable Pests    ref SB 608 V4 C243 2001
How to Know the Beetles    ref QL 583 J3 1980
Insect Biology: 19 Science Fair Projects    ref QL 468.5 D37 1992
Insects: Their Natural History and Diversity: with a Photographic Guide to Insects of
     Eastern North America
   ref QL 473 M34 2006
Introduction to the Aquatic Insects of North America    ref QL 473 I57 1996
Occasional Papers in Entomology. California Dept. of Food & Agriculture     QL 461 C32 nos.1-30
Pacific Insect Monographs    QL 461 P218 nos. 1-31; 36
The Pesticide Manual Incorporating the Agrochemicals Handbook 10th ed.    ref SB 951 P434 1994
Pestline Material Safety Data Sheets for Pesticides & Related Chemicals   ref SB 952.5 P48 1991 v.1-2
Spiders of the World    ref QL 452 P72 1993
University of California Publications in Entomology    QL 461 C17 vols. 2-111(incomplete)
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES

AgNIC. The Agriculture Network Information Center/Insects and Entomology     http://www.agnic.org/browse
Bugbios (Insects on the Web)     http://www.insects.org/
Center for Medical, Agricultural, and Veterinary Entomology
    http://www.ars.usda.gov/main/site_main.htm?modecode=66150000
CSIRO Entomology     http://www.csiro.au/org/Entomology.html
Encyclopedia of Life     http://www.eol.org/
Entomological Society of America     http://www.entsoc.org/
Essig Museum of Entomology (UCB)     http://essig.berkeley.edu/
Endangered Species Program. U.S. FWS     http://endangered.fws.gov/
International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN.org)     http://www.iczn.org/
The International Society of Arachnology     http://www.arachnology.org/
Iowa State Entomology Index of Internet Resources     http://www.ent.iastate.edu/list/
The Lepidopterists' Society     http://lepsoc.org/
National Integrated Pest Management USDA     http://www.ipmcenters.org/
IUCN (The World Conservation Union)     http://www.iucn.org/
Sacramento-Yolo County Mosquito and Vector Control District     http://www.sac-yolomvcd.com/
Smithsonian Natural Museum of History. Dept of Systematic Biology, Entomology
    http://entomology.si.edu/
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service     http://www.fws.gov/
WWW Virtual Library - Biosciences     http://vlib.org/Biosciences
Washington, D.C. Science     http://www.science.gov/
Yahoo Search Directory. Insects/Forensic Entomology
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Biology/Zoology/Animals__Insects__and_Pets/Arthropods/Insects/Forensic_Entomology/
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Paper Indexes
  • Biological Abstracts (1927-1995)   QHZ 5321 B5
  • Zoological Record (1864-1994)    Section 13A-13F. QLZ7991 Z87
Electronic Indexes

Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
Return to top of the page

JOURNALS

Listed below are representative samples of titles currently received at CSUS Library either in print or via a Library
Database. Enter the journal title in Locate Print & e-Journals to locate the complete text of the article.
Locate Print & e-Journals will indicate/connect to the Library catalog (EUREKA) for the print version or indicate/connect
to a database for the online text of articles.


American Entomologist   (1990 - current)
Annals of the Entomological Society of America   (1908-current)
Australian Journal of Entomology   (4/98-current)
Bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History   (1881-1995)
Bulletin of Entomological Research   (1910-current)
Environmental Entomology   (1972-current)
Journal of Economic Entomology   (1909-current)
Journal of Insect Science    available via the Web
Journal of Medical Entomology   (1964-current)
Western North American Naturalist   (1970-current)
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com    http://www.ananzi.com/
Google Scholar    http://www.scholar.google.com
Yahoo.com    http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com    http://www.vivisimo.com  
Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research guide compiled by Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian; Send comments/questions to email:eheaser@csus.edu eh/dr 6/02 Last updated 3/09