Library Logo BIOLOGY: BOTANY
& PLANT CULTIVATION

Compiled by E. Heaser


Contents: Reference Books
Series
Indexes to Journals
Web Sites
Search Engines
Library Home Page

EUREKA (COMPUTER CATALOG)
Library of Congress (LC) call number areas for browsing.
QK 1-100

QK 101-474.5

QK 474.8-495.Z9
QK 504-651

QK 652-899
QK 900-989

S 1-972
SB 183-317.Z49
SB 317.5-353.5
SB 354-406.55
SB 406.55-450.8
SB 450.9-485

SB 599-989
History, Biography, Directories, Textbooks, Museums, Mapping,
    Botanical Illustrations, Systematics, Nomenclature
Geographical distribution. Phytogeography by Topographical
    divisions
Spermatophyta. Phanerogams. Trees & Shrubs
Cryptogams. Pteridophyta (ferns), Bryophyta (mosses, liverworts),
    Algae, Lichens, Fungi
Plant Anatomy, Physiology, Reproduction, Phytochemistry
Plant Ecology, Vegetation dynamics, adaptation, Plant Canopies,
    Evolution of Plants
Agriculture - General
Field Crops
Horticulture - Vegetables
Horticulture - Fruit & Fruit Culture
Flowers & Flower Culture. Ornamental Plants
Gardens & Gardening, Landscape Architecture, Parks and Public
    Reservations
Pests, Diseases, Weeds, Poisonous Plants, Plant Pathology,
    Pesticides, Biological Control
Return to top of the page

REFERENCE BOOKS
American Horticulture A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants  ref SB403.2 A45 1997
Atlas of Food Crops  Atlas S439 A8
Botanica: The Illustrated A - Z of Over 10,000 Garden Plants and How to Cultivate
    Them
 ref SB403.2 B663 1999
Botanical Latin  ref QK10 S7 1992
CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names: Common Names, Scientific Names, Eponyms,
    Synonyms, and Etymology
 ref QK13 Q38 2000 v.1-4
CRC Handbook of Alternative Cash Crops  ref SB111 D85 1993
CRC Handbook of Nuts  ref SB401 A4 D84 1989
California Master Gardener Handbook  ref SB453 C36 2002
California Vegetation  ref QK149 H624 1995
California's Changing Landscapes: Diversity & Conservation of California Vegetation
    ref QK86 U6 C34 1993
Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms  ref QK10 H53 2000
Carnivorous Plants of the United States and Canada  ref QK917 S36 2002
Dictionary of Fungi, 9th ed  ref QK600.35 A35 2001
A Dictionary of Natural Products  ref QK99 H69 1997
Dictionary of Plant Genetics and Molecular Biology  ref QK981 M54 1998
Dictionary of Plant Pathology, 2nd ed  ref SB728 H65 1998
Encyclopedia of Gardens: History and Design  ref SB465 E63 2001 V.1-3
Encyclopedia of Grain Science  ref SB188.4 E53 2004 v. 1-3
Encyclopedia of Herbs & Their Uses  ref SB351 H5 B645 1995
Encyclopedia of North American Trees  ref QK110 B46 2000
Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology  ref SB 728 E53 2000 v.1-2
Fruits of Warm Climates   ref SB359 M76 1987
Geography Through Botany: A Dictionary of Plan Names with a Geographical
    Meaning
  ref QK96 K8 1990
Gray's Manual of Botany  ref QK117 G75 1988
Guide to Reference and Information Sources in Plant Biology  ref QKZ 5351 G85 2006
Guide to Standard Floras of the World, 2nd ed  ref QKZ5351 F76 2001
Handbook of Vegetable Pests  ref SB 608 V4 C243 2001
A History of Herbal Plants  ref QK99 A1 L4 1977
Illustrated Dictionary of Mycology  ref QK600.35 U4313 2000
International Code of Botanical Nomenclature (Tokyo Code)  ref QK96 I584 1994
Introduction to California Plant Life, Revised Ed.  ref QK149 O73 2003
Inventory of Rare and Endangered Plants of California, 6th ed  ref QK 86 U6 I58 2001
IUCN Red List of Threatened Plants  ref QK86 A1 I936 1997
The Jepson Desert Manual: Vascular Plants of Southeastern California
    ref QK149 J58 2002
Jepson Manual of Higher Plants of California  ref QK149 J56 1993
Landscape Architecture Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice
    of Landscape Architecture in the United States
  ref SBZ470.53 U6 L36 1997
Landscape Restoration Handbook   ref SB439 L35 1993
Manual of Woody Landscape Plants: Their Identification, Ornamental Characteristics,
    Culture, Propagation and Uses
 ref SB435.5 D57 1998
The New Oxford Book of Food Plants  ref SB175 V38 1997
The Pesticide Manual: Incorporating the Agrochemicals Handbook, 10th ed
    ref SB951 P434 1994
Poisonous Plants of California  ref QK100 C36 P65 1986
Specialty & Minor Crops Handbook  ref SB321 S6 1991
The Status of Rare, Threatened, and Endangered Animals and Plants of California.
    Annual Report for 2000
  ref QL84.22 C2 C35 2000
Sunset Western Garden Book  ref SB453.2 W4 2001
Trees and Shrubs of California  ref QK149 S73 2001
Weeds of the West  ref SB612 W4 W4 1999
World Atlas of Agriculture  Atlas S439 W63 1969 v.1-3
World Dictionary of Plant Names: Common Names, Scientific Names, Eponyms,
    Synonyms, and Etymology
 ref QK13 Q38 2000 V.1-4
The World List of Threatened Trees  ref QK86 A1 O54 1998
Return to top of the page

SERIES
  • Agricultural Outlook   (1975-2002)
    GovDoc A93. 10/2:
  • Annual Reviews of Plant Physiology  (1950 - current)
    http://plant.annualreviews.org 
    QK 710 A5
  • Amber Waves  (2003-current)
    http://www.ers.usda.gov/AmberWaves/AllIssues/
  • Fieldiana Botany Chicago Natural History Museum.
    QK 1 F4 (v.1-34)
    QK 1 F42 New Series (v.1-34)
  • Encyclopedia of Plant Physiology   (1975-1993)
    QK 711.2 E5 v.1-20
  • 1997 Census of Agriculture. Rankings of States and Counties
    http://www.nass.usda.gov/census/census97/rankings/rankings.htm
    Vol. 2. Subject Series, Part 2
    GovDoc: A92.54:997/ V.2/PT.2
  • Regnum Vegetabile. International Bureau of Plant Taxonomy and Nomenclature
    nos. 2-120 - incomplete holdings; nos. 122-139
    Call numbers vary
  • California Agricultural Resource Directory 2006
    http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/card/pdfs/ResDir06_ContactInfo.pdf
    Library has various years in print at Calif Docs CA A609 C34 yr
  • University of California Publications Botany   (1902 - current)
    QK 1 C2 v1
  • Yearbook of Agriculture   (1894-1992) ceased
    SB 21 A35
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE
Paper Indexes
  • Biological Abstracts    (1926-1995)
    QH 301 B37
    Index Area 2 North and Lower Level
  • Biological & Agricultural Index    (1931-32;1945-1999)
    SZ 5073 A46
    Index area 2 North & Lower Level
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES
AIC Issues Brief (Agricultural Information Center)  http://aic.ucdavis.edu/pub/briefs.html
Agricultural Information Center at UCDavis  http://aic.ucdavis.edu/
Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC)   http://www.agnic.org/
American Society of Landscape Architects   http://www.asla.org/
Animal & Plant Health Inspection Service. Plant Protection & Quarantine.
    http://www.aphis.usda.gov/ppq/weeds/
Atlas of Plant Anatomy
    http://www.unlv.edu/Colleges/Sciences/Biology/Schulte/Anatomy/Anatomy.html
Botany.com, The Encyclopedia of Plants   http://www.botany.com/
Botanical Society of America   http://www.botany.org/
Brooklyn Botanical Garden
    http://www.bbg.org/cgi/bgbase/search.cgi
CalFlora: A Botanical Resource for California  http://www.calflora.org/
California Department of Food and Agriculture  http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/index.htm
California Native Plant Society   http://www.cnps.org/
Encyclopedia of Life  http://www.eol.org/
The Fifth Kingdom  http://www.mycolog.com/fifthtoc.html
Food and Agriculture Agency of the United Nations (FAO)   http://www.fao.org/
GRIN Taxonomy for Plants
    http://www.ars-grin.gov/cgi-bin/npgs/html/index.pl
Internet Directory for Botany (IDC)   http://www.botany.net/IDB/
Lichenland Fun With Lichens  http://mgd.nacse.org/hyperSQL/lichenland/
Plant Conservation Alliance   http://www.nps.gov/plants/
Plant Nomenclature Database HortiPlex   http://hortiplex.gardenweb.com/plants/
Plants Database (USDA)  http://plants.usda.gov/
Science.gov. Biology & Nature (Washington DC)
      http://www.science.gov/browse/w_115.htm
The Society for Economic Botany   http://www.econbot.org/
UC Davis Fruit & Nut Research & Information Center
    http://fruitsandnuts.ucdavis.edu/index.html
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)   http://www.usda.gov/

Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
GoogleScholar.com  http://scholar.google.com  
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)
 
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to: Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian; eheaser@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento; EH/dr/10/01 updated 3/08