Library Logo BIOLOGY:
BIRDS-ORNITHOLOGY
Revised by Eileen Heaser


Contents: Reference Books and Series
Web Sites
Indexes to Journals
Journals
Search Engines
Library Home Page

EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG

Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
QL 671-677.8
QL 679-695.5
QL 696-
QL 699.5-699
SF 460-473
SF 481-502
SF 502-513
General works; by region or country; nomenclature; aviaries
Zone divisions e.g. West Indies; South America, Europe
Systematic divisions e.g. Anseriformes, Galliformes, Piciformes,
Genetics; Reproduction; Bird banding; Song; Navigation; Ecology
Birds, Cage Birds, Pet Birds
Poultry, Breeding, Eggs, Hatcheries
Game birds

REFERENCE BOOKS AND SERIES

A.O.U. Check-List of North American Birds. 6th ed.  ref QL677 A5 1983
Beecham's Guide to International Endangered Species.  ref QL82 B435 1998
The Bird Almanac: The Ultimate Guide to Essential Facts and
    Figures of the World's Birds
.  ref QL673 B565 1999
The Birder's Handbook: A Field Guide to the Natural History
    of North American Birds
.  ref QL681 E37 1988
Birding Northern California.  ref QL684 C22 K45 1999
Birds of North America (Focus Guides).  ref QL681 K36 2000
The Birds of North America.  ref QL681 B625 no.1-716; 1992-2003
Birds of the Pacific Northwest Mountains.  ref QL683 N75 W37 1995
California Birds: Their Status & Destribution.  ref QL684 C2 S635 1994
Care of the Wild: First Aid for Wild Creatures.  ref SF996 45 J67 1991
Check-List of Birds of the World. 2nd ed.  QL677 P45 1979-1987, vol.1-16
Current Ornithology.  QL671 C87. vol.1; 1983-current
A Dictionary of Scientific Bird Names.  ref QL677 J55 1991
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd.ed. Volumes 8-11 Birds. ref QL7 G7813 2003
A Guide to the Nests, Eggs, and Nestlings of North American Birds. 2nd ed.
    ref QL675 B163 1997
Handbook of the Birds of the World.  ref QL674 H22 vol.1; 1992-current
Living Bird.  QL671 L57. 1963-1980/81
The Official World Wildlife Fund Guide to Endangered Species of North America.
    ref QL84.2 O35 1990
Ornithological Monographs.  QL671 O nos.1-24, 26-47
Raptor Watch: A Global Directory of Raptor Migration Sites.  ref QL696 F3 R39 2000
Scientific Style and Format: The CSI Manual. For Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed.
    ref T11 S386 2006
Shorebirds of the Pacific Northwest.  ref QL683 P36 P38 1993
The Sibley Guide to Birds (National Audubon Society).  ref QL681 S497 2000
Studies in Avian Biology.  QL694 H3 S35 no.1; 1978-current
    also available in
Cooper Ornithological Society (http://www.cooper.org)
Threatened Birds of the Americas: The ICBP/IUCN Red Data Book.  ref QL676.7 T5 1992
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES

Audubon California  http://www.audubon.org/chapter/ca/
British Trust for Ornithology  http://www.bto.org/
Cooper Ornithological Society  http://www.cooper.org/
Cornell Lab of Ornithology  http://www.birds.cornell.edu/
Encyclopedia of Life  http://www.eol.org/
Highwire Press (Stanford Univ.)  http://highwire.stanford.edu/
Index to Ornithology: Ornithology.com  http://www.ornithology.com/
IUCN (The World Conservation Union)  http://www.iucn.org
Point Reyes Bird Observatory (PRBO)  http://www.prbo.org/
Science.gov. Biology & Nature.  http://www.science.gov/browse/w_115.htm
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive ([pdf, Java] Searches 9 sources)
    http://elibrary.unm.edu/sora/index.php
Tree of Life project at the Univ. of Arizona
    http://tolweb.org/tree/phylogeny.html
U.S. Government  http://www.usa.gov
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service  http://www.fws.gov/
The Wilson Ornithological Society  http://www.ummz.umich.edu/birds/wos/index.html
Zoological Record Taxonomic Hierarchy
    http://www.biosis.org/support/zr-thesaurus/sys-current/
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Paper Indexes
  • Biological Abstracts (1927-1995)
    QHZ 5321 B5
  • Zoological Record (1864-current )
    Section 18: Aves. QLZ7991 Z87
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
Return to top of the page

JOURNALS
Listed below are representative samples of titles currently received at CSUS Library. Journals that are also available via the Web or available full text in one of the CSUS Library databases are indicated.

Audubon (1899-current)
Auk (1884-85;1917-18; 1920-current) also available in
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
    http://elibrary.unm.edu/sora/index.php
Bird Study: The Journal of the British Trust for Ornithology (1954-85; 1987-currrent)
    also available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
The Condor (1899-current) also available in Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
    http://elibrary.unm.edu/sora/index.php
Journal of Field Ornithology (1980-current)
Northwestern Naturalist (was Murrelet; 1940-current)
The Observer/Point Reyes Bird Observatory Newsletter (1965- current)
    http://www.prbo.org/cms/index.php?mid=35&module=browse
Western Birds (1973-current) also available in Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
    http://elibrary.unm.edu/sora/index.php
The Wilson Bulletin (1893- current) also available in Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
    http://elibrary.unm.edu/sora/index.php
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
GoogleScholar.com  http://www.scholar.google.com  
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to:  Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian; California State University, Sacramento
eh/dr/5/02: Last updated 3/08