Library Logo BIOLOGY: ANATOMY-
PHYSIOLOGY-BIOCHEMISTRY

Compiled by E. Heaser


Contents: EUREKA
Reference Books
Series
Indexes to Journal Literature
Web Sites
Search Engines
Return to Library Homepage

EUREKA (COMPUTER CATALOG)
Library of Congress (LC) call number areas for browsing.
QM 1- 695
QP 1-99.5
QP 101- 135
QP 136- 246.5
QP 247- 495
QP 501- 801
Anatomy; Histology & Embryology (Human)
Physiology
Cardiovascular; Respiratory
Hunger, Nutrition, Metabolism , Glands
Musculoskeletal system; Neurophysiology & Neuropsychology
Animal Biochemsitry

REFERENCE BOOKS
Adell's Patterns of Mammalian Reproduction: A Compendium of
    Species-Specific Data.
ref QP251 A33 1993
Capillary Electrophresis procedure Manual: A Laboratory Users Aid for
    Quick Starts.
ref QP519.9 C36 C36 1996
The Ciba Collection of Medical Illustrations. ref QM25 N45 1991 v.1-8
Color Atlas of Anatomy: A Photographic Study of the Human Body, 5th ed.
    QM25 R55 2002
Color Atlas of Cytology, Histology, and Microscopic Anatomy.
    ref QM557 K8513 2003
Color Atlas of Histology. 3rd ed. ref QM557 G38 2000
Color Atlas of Human Anatomy. ref QM25 W633 2003
CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition. ref QP141 B523 1998
Dietary Reference Intakes for Thiamin, Riboflavin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate,
    Vitamin B12, Pantothenic Acid, Biotin, and Choline.
ref QP772 V52 D53 2000
Dictionary of Biological Psychology. ref QP360 D52 2001
Encyclopedia of Human Biology. ref QP11 E53 1997 v. 1-9.
Encyclopedia of Nutrition. ref QP141 E526 1999 v. 1-3
Encyclopedia of Reproduction. ref QP251 E48125 1998 v. 1-4
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain. ref QP376 E53 2002 v. 1-4
The Facts On File Dictionary of Biochemistry. ref QP512 F33 2003
Geigy Scientific Tables: Units of Measurement, Body Fluids, Composition of the
    Body, Nutrition. 8th ed.
ref QP33.5 G4513 1981. v.1
Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. rev. ed. ref QP512 G55 1997
Gray's Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Medicine and Surgery. 38th ed.
    ref QM23.2G73 1995
Guyton, Arthur C. & John E. Hall. Textbook of Medical Physiology. 9th ed.
    ref QP34.5 G9 1996
Handbook of Biochemical Kinetics. ref QP601.3 P87 2000
Human Body on File: Anatomy. ref QM25 H85 1996
Human Body on File: Physiology. ref.QP41 H93 1996
INS Dictionary of Neuropsychology.ref QP360 I55 1999
International Commission on Radiological Protection. Report of the Task Group
    on Reference Man.
ref QP34.5 I5
Lab Ref: a Handbook of Recipes, Reagents, and other Reference Tools for use
    at the Bench.
ref QP519 L197 2002
Oxford Companion to the Body. ref QM7 O96 2001
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. rev. ed. ref QP512 O94 2000.
Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy, vol 1-2. ref QM25 S6313 2001
Stress A-Z: A Sourcebook for Facing Everyday Challenges. ref QP82.2 S8 K34 1998
Return to top of the page

SERIES
Advances in Enzymology. QP601 A1 A3 Library has: v.1-74, 1941-2000
Annual Review of Biochemistry. (1932-current)  http://biochem.AnnualReviews.org/
    Also at QP/501/A7 v. 1-date; 1932-current.
Annual Review of Physiology. (1939-current)   http://physiol.annualreviews.org/
    Also at QP/1/A535 v.1-59 1939-1997.
Methods in Enzymology. QP601 C7333. Library has: v. 1-314, 1955 -2000
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Paper Indexes

  • Biological Abstracts    (1926-1995)
    Index Area 2 North and Lower Level
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
  • Biological Abstracts   (1969-current)
    Over 4,000 journals covering life science and biomedical research
  • MEDLINE  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine
    Some full text available
  • Ingenta  (1989-current)
    General interest and science database
    Full-text can be purchased
  • PubMed  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi  (1950-current)
    National Library of Medicine - contains MEDLINE and is free to the public
    Some full text available
  • ScienceDirect  (current 5 or 6 years)
    Full text of 1,700 plus journals
  • Wiley InterScience  (1996-current)
    Full text of some of the 300 plus journals
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES
American Physiological Society   http://www.the-aps.org/
American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
     http://www.asbmb.org/ASBMB/site.nsf?Open
Bartleby's Anatomy of the Human Body   http://www.bartleby.com/107/
Biochemistry Online
    http://employees.csbsju.edu/hjakubowski/classes/ch331/bcintro/default.html
BIOSCI   http://www.bio.net
Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology   http://db.portlandpress.com/glick/search.htm
Human Anatomy Online   http://www.innerbody.com/htm/body.html
Metabolic Pathways of Biochemistry  http://www.gwu.edu/~mpb/
Molecular Models for Biochemistry at CMU
    http://www.bio.cmu.edu/Courses/BiochemMols/BCMolecules.html
Physiology Online (Physiological Society)  http://www.physoc.org/
Virtual Hospital: Atlas of Human Anatomy in Cross Section
    http://www.vh.org/adult/provider/anatomy/HumanAnatomy/CrossSectionAtlas.html
Physiology & Biophysics (Biosciences)   http://physiology.med.cornell.edu/WWWVL/
    maintained by Cornell University Medical Center.
WebAnatomy Home Page
    https://wiki.umn.edu/view/Anatomy/WebHome
 
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES
Ananzi.com  http://www.ananzi.com/
GoogleScholar.com  http://scholar.google.com  
Yahoo.com  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)

Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to: Eileen Heaser, Science Reference Librarian
eheaser@csus.edu, California State University, Sacramento
eh/dr 9/01 Last updated 8/07