SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 

GERONTOLOGY and GERIATRICS: SELECTED RESOURCES



Contents: EUREKA Catalog
For the Professional
Community Resources
Nursing & Medical Aspects
Social Aspects
Finances, Regulations, Statistics
Indexes to Journals
Search Engines
Return to Library Home Page



EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG

Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
HD7101-7110.6
HQ1060-1064
HV1450-1494
QH529
QH608
QP85-86
RA564.8
RA997-999
Insurance, Medical Plans
Aged, Gerontology (social aspects)
Aged
Biology (aging)
Cells (aging)
Physiology (aging)
Public Health
Nursing Homes
RC 451.4
RC 952-953
RC 954
RC 954.3
RD 732.3
RE 48.2
RF 291.5
Psychiatry (aged)
Geriatrics
Geriatric Nursing
Hospitals, Geriatric
Orthopedic Surgery (aged)
Eye Diseases (aged)
Hearing Disorders (aged)
Return to top of the page

FOR THE PROFESSIONAL

AARP: Long Term Care Trends       http://www.aarp.org/research/longtermcare/trends/
Across the States 2009: Profiles of Long-Term Care (AARP)
    http://www.aarp.org/research/longtermcare/trends/d19105_2008_ats.html
Alliance for Aging Research  http://www.agingresearch.org
American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry  http://www.aagpgpa.org/
American Dietetic Association  http://www.eatright.org
American Geriatrics Society  http://www.americangeriatrics.org/
American Society on Aging  http://asaging.org
Arthritis Foundation Distribution Center  http://www.arthritis.com
GeroNet (Health & Aging Resources for Higher Education, UCLA  http://www.geronet.med.ucla.edu/
Gerontological Society of America  http://www.geron.org
Long Term Care County Data Book: A Vital Planning Resource for California
     http://www.caads.org/ltcdata/ltc_data.html
National Institutes of Health  http://health.nih.gov/
National Institute on Aging  http://www.nih.gov/nia
NursingWeek.com  http://www.nurseweek.com/
Return to top of the page

COMMUNITY RESOURCES

Assisted Senior Living  http://www.assistedseniorliving.net
The Caring Space   http://www.thecaringspace.com/
California Advocates for Nursing Home Reform  http://www.canhr.org
California Assisted Living Directory Facilities Information & Senior Care
    http://www.assisted-living-directory.com/content/california.htm
California HealthCare Foundation's Nursing Home Guide  http://www.calnhs.org
California Nursing Homes: Care Problems Persist Despite Federal & State
    Oversight. U.S. GAO, July 27, 1998
 GA1.13:HEHS-98-202 (Gov. Docs. fiche)
Care.com/Senior Care Resources and Articles  https://www.care.com/senior-care-p1023-articles-resources.html
Community Services Directory  ref HV 99 S12 S3 2007
Community Services Planning Council  http://www.communitycouncil.org/indexa.html
Complete Guide to Health Services for Seniors: What your Family Needs to Know
    About Finding & Financing Medicare, Assisted Living, Nursing Homes, Home
    Care, Adult Day Care. With Ratings of Medicare, HMO'S & Supplemental Policies

    ref RA 644.6 C665 2000
Consumer Guide to Long-Term Care  ref RA997 I46 1999
Directory of Retirement Facilities 1999  ref HV1454.2 U6 N38 1999
Federal Comparisons & Deficiency Citations of Nursing Homes by Name/City/Region
    http://www.medicare.gov/NHCompare
Foundation Aiding the Elderly   http://www.4fate.org
InfoLine-Community Services Planning Council, Sacramento
     http://www.communitycouncil.org/level-3/infoline-sacramento.html
Long-term Care: How to Plan and Pay for It  ref RA 644.5 M38 2004
The Network of Care [Sacramento County]  http://www.sacramento.networkofcare.org
A Place for Mom: The Nation's Largest Free Referral Service
    http://www.aplaceformom.com/?kw=2234
Sacramento County Dept. Health & Human Services/Senior Services
     http://www.sacdhhs.com/services.asp?CategoryID=1&UpLinkID=52
Return to top of the page

NURSING & MEDICAL ASPECTS

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, US Dept. of Health & Human Services
    http://www.ahrq.gov/clinic/prevenix.htm
American Cancer Society  http://www.cancer.org/docroot/home/index.asp
American Heart Association  http://www.americanheart.org/
Annual Review of Gerontology & Geriatrics
    RC952 A1 A56. v.1-5,8-current; 1980-85, 88-current
Decision Making in Gerontologic Nursing  ref RC954 L64 1993
Encyclopedia of Elder Care The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric & Social Care.
    ref RC954 E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Gerontology: Age, Aging, and the Aged  ref RC952.5 E58 1996 v.1-2.
Encyclopedia of Health & Aging ref RA 777.6 E534 2007
Encyclopedia of Home Care for the Elderly  ref HV 1461 E5 1995
Essential Medication Guidebook to Healthy Aging: An Easy-to-Use Reference to
     Medications taken for Common Conditions
 ref. RC953.7 E87 2002
FDA's Drug Safety  http://www.fda.gov/Drugs/DrugSafety/default.htm
Geriatrics at Your Fingertips  ref RC 952.55 G47 2003
Geriatrics, American Physical Therapy Association  http://www.geriatricspt.org/
Geriatrics: Better Medicine for Midlife and Beyond  http://geriatrics.modernmedicine.com/
Handbook of Death and Dying  ref HQ 1073 H36 2003 v. 1-2
     vol. 1 The Presence of Death, vol. 2 The Response to Death
Healthfinder  http://www.healthfinder.gov/
Los Angeles, New York, Washington, D.C., Atlanta, GERONTOLOGY RESEARCH GROUP
    http://www.grg.org/
Merck Manual of Geriatrics, 3rd ed
    also available at ref RC 952.55 M555 2000
National Osteoporosis Foundation  http://www.nof.org
Osteoporosis Sourcebook  ref RC930 O73 O777 2001
Physical and Mental Issues in Aging Sourcebook  ref RC952.5 P48 1999
Principles and Practice of Geriatric Medicine, 3rd ed.  ref RC952 P73 1998 v. 1-2.
Quackwatch  http://www.quackwatch.com
RxList: The Internet Drug Index  http://www.rxlist.com
Return to top of the page

SOCIAL ASPECTS

AARP (American Association for Retired People)  http://www.aarp.org
AARP's Internet Resources on Aging  http://www.aarp.org/internetresources/
Aging in America A to Z  ref HQ1064 U5 B379 2001
Alzheimer's Disease Education & Referral Center  http://www.nia.nih.gov/alzheimers
American Women: Who They Are & How They Live  ref HQ1421 A486 1997
American Generations: Who They Are and How They Live, 5th ed   ref HC110C6 M545 2005
Americans 55 and Older: A Changing Market, 3rd ed  ref HD1064 U5 Y67 2001
California Department of Aging  http://www.aging.ca.gov/
California HealthCare Foundation & UCSF  http://www.calnhs.org
California Partnership for Long-Term Care
     http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/default.aspx
Center for Social Gerontology  http://www.tcsg.org/welcome.htm
Drug Information Portal  http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp
Eldercare Locator  http://www.eldercare.gov/
Encyclopedia of Ageism  ref HQ1061 E63 2004
Encyclopedia of Aging  ref HQ1061 E534 2002 v. 1-4
The Encyclopedia of Aging 3rd ed  ref HQ1061 E53 2001 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Death and Dying  ref HQ1073 E543 2001
The Graying of America: An Encyclopedia of Aging, Health, Mind, and Behavior
    ref HQ1064 U5 K39 1996
Growing Old In America: Information Plus  ref HQ1064 U5 G76 1998
MedlinePlus Go Local  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/golocal/
McMillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying  ref HQ 1073 M33 2003 v.1-2
The Network of Care [Sacramento County]  http://www.sacramento.networkofcare.org
Older Americans A Changing Market, 4th ed  ref HQ1064 U5 O43 2004
Older Americans Information Directory, 6th ed  ref HV1457 O42 2007
Older Women's League (OWL)  http://www.owl-national.org/Welcome.html
SeniorNet  http://www.seniornet.org
Third Age Media  http://www.thirdage.com
Return to top of the page

FINANCES, REGULATIONS, STATISTICS

Adult Foster Care for the Elderly: A Review of State Regulations and Funding
    Strategies
 ref HV1451 A38 1996 v. 1-2
Agency for HealthCare Research & Quality  http://www.ahcpr.gov/
Aging Stats.gov (Federal Interagency Forum on Aging Related Statistics)
    http://www.agingstats.gov
American Association of Homes & Services for the Aging  http://www.aahsa.org
California Advocates for Nursing Home Reform  http://www.canhr.org/
Community Services Planning Council, Sacramento
     http://www.communitycouncil.org/level-4/data_links.htm
Encyclopedia of Financial Gerontology  ref HQ1061 E54 1996
Encyclopedia of Retirement and Finances  ref HQ1064 U5 E524 2003 v.1-2
Health Statistics  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthstatistics.html
Health, United States, 1999: Health and Aging Chartbook  ref RA 407.3 U572 1999
Hospice and Palliative Care Handbook: Quality, Compliance, and Reimbursement
    ref RA1000 M37 1999
Long-term Care How to Plan and Pay for It  ref RA 644.5 M38 2004
MEDICARE  http://www.medicare.gov
National Center for Health Statistics  http://www.cdc.gov/nchs
National Guide to Funding in Aging, 6th ed  ref HV1461 W42 2000
Nursing Home Compare/Medicare  http://www.medicare.gov/NHCompare/home.asp
Nursing Home Statistical Yearbook, 1997  ref RA997 A1 N89 1997
Osteoporosis Sourcebook, 1st ed.  ref RC931 O73 O777 2001Profile of Hospital Patients: California Hospital Discharge Data
    ref RA981 C3 P76 1994. v.1-3
Prostate & Urological Disorders Sourcebook  ref RC871 P76 2006
Standards for Long Term Care: Including the Intent Statements for Dementia
    Special Care Units and Subacute Programs
ref RA997 J65 1998
Statistical Record of Older Americans  ref HQ1064 U5 S685 1994
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE

Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources .
Return to top of the page

SEARCH ENGINES

GoogleScholar.com  http://scholar.google.com/
Yahoo  http://www.yahoo.com
Vivisimo.com  http://www.vivisimo.com  
    (Searches other search engines, groups information into categories)
Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Fred Batt, Social Science Reference Librarian; fredbatt@csus.edu
Last updated 6/09