Library Logo Chemistry: Physical Property Sources
Compiled by Leilani Hall


Contents: Databases
Reference Books
Classic Reference Works in German
Index to Journal Articles Containing Data
Return To Library Homepage

DATABASES
NIST Standare Reference Data  (http://www.nist.gov/srd)
National Institute of Standards and Technology data has long provided well documented numeric data to scientists and engineers. Links to NIST Chemistry WebBook  (http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/) and Physical Reference Data  (http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/). Search by keyword, properties and substances across all databases in the NIST Data Gateway. Databases are listed by discipline, such as
  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Atomic and Molecular Physics
  • Chemical Kinetics
  • Thermophysical and Thermochemical

ChemFinder  (http://chemfinder.cambridgesoft.com/reference/chemfinder.asp)
Search by chemical name, CAS number, molecular formula or weight to find physical properties
and structures.

Thermodex  (http://thermodex.lib.utexas.edu)
Index to selected handbooks for locating thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical
compounds and other substances. Check the CSUS EUREKA online catalog to determine if
we own a particular book.

Kaye & Laby Online: Tables of Physical & Chemical Constants  (http://www.kayelaby.npl.co.uk)
The text of the 16th edition, published in 1995. The site is hosted by the National Physics Laboratory. Tables content and advanced search options.

Knovel  (http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/My_Books.jsp)
Search 'My Subscription' for information in four online books and tables of data:
  • International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
  • Knovel Critical Tables
  • Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th revised edition)
Return to top of the page

REFERENCE BOOKS
American Institute of Physics Handbook  2 North Reference QC 61. A5 1972
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics  2 North Reference QD 65 .H3
Handbook of Atomic Data  2 North Reference QC 173.397. F7
Handbook of Physical Quantities  2 North Reference QC 61. H36 1997
    (Heats of combustion and formation, modulus of elasticity and rigidity, etc.)
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
    2 North Reference Q 199. N32
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology  2 North Reference TP 9 E685 2004
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry  2 North Reference QD 65 .L36
Merck Index  2 North Reference RS51. M4 2006
Molecular Spectra and Molecular Structure (Herzberg) v. 1-4;
    2 North Ref QC 454 .M6 H4713 1950
    A second copy is available on the 4th Floor.
NIST-JANAF Thermochemical Tables  2 North Reference QD 511 .N57 1998
Perry's Standard Tables and Formulas for Chemical Engineers
    2 North Reference QD65 .S584 2003
Smithsonian Physical Tables  2 North Reference QC 61. S6 1964
Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants (Kaye and Laby) 2 North Reference QC 61. K3 1986
Return to top of the page

CLASSIC REFERENCE WORKS IN GERMAN
Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry [Beilsteins Handbuch der organischen Chemie]
    2 North Reference QD 251. B4 1972
Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry
     [Gmelin Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie]

    2 North Reference QD 151 .G522
Zahlenwerte und Funktionen aus Naturwissenschaften und Technik [Landolt-Börnstein]
    2 North Reference QC 61 L332
Return to top of the page

INDEX TO JOURNAL ARTICLES CONTAINING DATA
Paper Indexes
  • Chemical Abstracts  (1907-2000)
    index to journal articles in chemistry because much of the data is first published as part of a research article. Print indexes through 2001 are located on 2N Index Area QDZ 5523 .A52.
    See SciFinder Scholar for online version.
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
  • SciFinder Scholar online version of Chemical Abstracts
    In the Library, it is only available on Library Research Computer Stations 235-243 on 2 North.
    To use SciFinder Scholar for searching Chemical Abstracts, a special client program must be
    installed on your computer. Click on the SciFinder Scholar link for complete instructions.
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Homepage

Questions/comments to:Leilani Hall, Science Reference Librarian; leilani@csus.edu; California State University, Sacramento
LH/dr/8/03 Last Updated 3/07