Library Logo CHEMISTRY
BIOCHEMISTRY

by Leilani Hall


Contents: Books: Browsing Areas
Books: Reference
Books: Texts
Periodicals: Locating Articles
Periodical Indexes: Online Databases
Web Sites
Related Research Guides
Return to Library Homepage

BOOKS: BROWSING

Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
  • Biological chemistry QD 415 - QD 436
  • General biochemistry of plants and animals QH 345
  • Plant biochemistry QK 861+
  • Animal biochemistry QP 501+
Return to top of the page

BOOKS: REFERENCE

American Pharmaceutical Association Practical Guide to Natural Medicines
     2 NORTH Reference RM 666 H33 P45 1999
Biochemical Nomenclature and Related Documents: a Compendium
     2 NORTH Reference QP 512 B56 1992
Botanicals: a Phytocosmetic Desk Reference .
     2 NORTH Reference RS 164 D274 1999
Dictionary of Biochemistry .
     2 NORTH Reference QP 512 F33 2003
Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
     2 NORTH Reference QP 512 O94 2000
Dictionary of Natural Products
     2 NORTH Reference QK 99 H69 1997
Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants
     2 NORTH Reference RS 164 C4437 1996
Evidence-Based Herbal Medicine
     2 NORTH Reference RM 666 H33 R683 2002
Healing Herbs of the Upper Rio Grande
     2 NORTH Reference QK 99 C87 1997
Healing Plants
     2 NORTH Reference RM 666 H33 P313 1993
Lab Ref: a Handbook of Recipes, Reagents, and other Reference Tools for Use at the Bench
     2 NORTH Reference QP 519 L197 2002
Medicinal Plants of the Mountain West
     2 NORTH Reference QK 99 U6 M66
Medicinal Plants of the Pacific West
     2 NORTH Reference RS 164 M616 1993
Medicinal Plants of the World
     2 NORTH Reference RS 164 V295 2004
Merck Index
     2 NORTH Reference RS 51 M4 2001
PDR for herbal medicines
     2 NORTH Reference RS 75 P554 1999
Tyler's Herbs of hoice: the therapeutic use of phytomedicinals
     2 NORTH Reference RM666 H33 R6 1999
Return to top of the page

BOOKS: TEXTS

Voet, Donald. Biochemistry. 3rd ed.
     4 NORTH QP 514.2 .V64 2004
Solomons, T. W. Graham. Organic Chemistry. 8th ed.
     4 NORTH QD 253 .S65 2004
Lehninger, Albert L. Principles of biochemistry. 3rd ed.
     4 NORTH QD 415 .L44 2000
Return to top of the page

PERIODICALS: LOCATING ARTICLES
Return to top of the page

PEROIDICAL INDEXES: ONLINE DATABASES (in order of decreasing number of resources covered)

Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources .

  • PubMed (aka Medline)
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi
    From the National Library of Medicine and free to the public.
    Medical and medically related research from National Library of Medicine, some full text, from 1966. See PubMed Basics for a guide to using the database.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    Chemical Abstracts, from 1907
  • AGRICOLA
    http://agricola.nal.usda.gov
    Agriculture and allied disciplines from the National Agriculture Library; free to the public.
  • ScienceDirect
    Full text of over 1800 journals from Elsevier and Academic Press, mostly from 1998
  • Biological Abstract (EbscoHost)
    Over 4,000 journals covering life science and biomedical research from 1969-current
  • Wiley InterScience
    Full text to over 265 Wiley journals in chemistry, medicine and related disciplines
  • Highwire Press
    http://www.highwire.org
    Free to the public. Index to many online medical and related titles, some full text.
  • ACS: American Chemical Society Publications
    Full text of over 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society, complete archive of all publications
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES
Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Chemistry
   http://www.portlandpress.com/pp/books/online/glick/search.htm

Yahoo Directory: Biochemistry
   http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Chemistry/Biochemistry/
Return to top of the page

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

Chemistry: Physical Property Sources
     http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/hall/chemistryphysical.html
Medicine: Selected Resources on Medicinal Plants
     http://library.csus.edu/guides/metzgerd/medicinal_plants.htm

Back to the top of the page
Go to Databases & Periodical Indexes Page

Questions/comments to: Leilani Hall, Science Reference Librarian, leilani@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento
lh/dr 11/04: Last updated 8/07