FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA
EUREKA is a
catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library. Books can be searched for in
EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject
Headings.
- Keyword Searching: Use Keyword to search
for books on topics such as:
latin language
greek language
greek and drama
theater and rome
- Browsing: General locations and call numbers for browsing the shelves for books
on Greek and Latin Language and Literature are:
Greek Language/Literature 3 North PA 201-899, PA 3050-4499 (circulating books)
or 2 North Reference PA 201-899, PA 3050-4499.
Latin Language/Literature 3 North PA 2001-2915, PA 6000-6961 (circulating books)
or 2 North Reference PA 2001-2915, PA 6000-6961
- Use Advance Search to search for a book that is written in Greek or Latin. Use the LANGUAGE
field to choose the language of the book.
|
|
Return to top of the page
|
DICTIONARIES & VERB BOOKS
GREEK
English-Greek Dictionary: A Vocabulary of the Attic Language
ref PA 445 .E5 W8 1932
English-Greek Dictionary of Pure and Applied Mathematics, vol 1-2
ref QA 5 .K68
A Greek-English Lexicon Liddell and Scott" ref PA 445 .E5 L6 1996
Greek Grammar on the Web http://perswww.kuleuven.ac.be/~u0013314/greekg.htm
Greek Verb Endings ref PA 337 .R6 1986
Greek Verbs, Irregular and Defective ref PA 337 .V5 1967
A Lexicon Abridged From Liddell and Scott’s Greek-English Lexicon
ref PA 445 .E5 L62
Liddell-Scott-Jones Lexicon of Classical Greek (Perseus Project)
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/cgi-bin/resolveform
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae http://stephanus.tlg.uci.edu/inst/fontsel
World of Cyprus Greek-English Dictionary http://www.kypros.org/cgi-bin/lexicon
LATIN
Cassell’s New Latin Dictionary: Latin-English, English-Latin
ref PA 2365 .L3 C3 1968
Chambers/Murray Latin-English Dictionary ref PA 2365 .E5 S6 1976
Etymological Dictionary of Latin ref PA 2342 .T8 1976
Follett World-Wide Latin Dictionary; Latin-English, English-Latin (American English)
ref PA 2365 .E5 L65
Langenscheidt Shorter Latin Dictionary; Latin-English, English-Latin
ref PA 2365 .E5 L3
Latin Dictionary - Perseus Project
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/cgi-bin/resolveform?lang=Latin
A Latin Dictionary Founded on Andrews’ Edition of Freund’s Latin Dictionary Lewis
and Short ref PA 2365 .E5 A7 1962
Latin Word List and Grammar Aid (Univ. of Notre Dame)
http://www.nd.edu/~archives/latgramm.htm
Michael McLarnon's Web Site - Java Applet to Conjugate Latin Verbs
http://mmclar.phenominet.com/latin.html
Oxford Latin Dictionary ref PA 2365 .E5 O9
The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary ref PA 2365 .E5 W6 1994
201 Latin Verbs Fully Conjugated in All the Tenses ref PA 2158 .W6
|
|
Return to top of the page
|
GREEK LEXICONS OF THE NEW TESTAMENT
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian
Literature: A Translation and Adaptation of the Fourth Revised
and Augmented Edition of Walter Bauer's Griechisch-Deutsches
Wörterbuch zu den Schriften des Neuen Testaments und der übrigen
Urchristlichen Literatur ref PA 881 .B413 1979
Index to the Revised Bauer-Arndt-Gingrich Greek Lexicon
ref PA 881 .A72 A45 1981
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament ref PA 881 .G8 1901
Greek New Testament Gateway http://www.ntgateway.com/greek/
Greek Text http://septuagint.org/LXX/
The New Analytical Greek Lexicon ref PA 881 .P54 1990
Online Greek Bible http://www.greekbible.com/
|
|
Return to top of the page
|
LITERARY ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES
Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Drama ref PA 3024 .H35
Latin Language and Literature http://library.csbsju.edu/rqs.phtml?subject_id=20
Meridian Handbook of Classical Literature ref PA 31 .F4 1986
(1998 edition in Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection)
Oxford Classical Dictionary ref DE 5 .O9 1996
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature ref PA 31 .H69 1989
|
|
Return to top of the page
|
LITERARY CRITICISM
A Companion to the Greek Lyric Poets ref PA 3092 .C66 1997
Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome ref PA 3002 .A5 1982
L'Année Philologique : Bibliographie Critique et Analytique de L'Antiquité
Gréco-Latine ref PZ 7016 .A1 A5
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism ref PN 610 .C53
The Classical Epic: An Annotated Bibliography ref PAZ 3022 .E6 1991
Classical Greek and Roman Drama: An Annotated Bibliography
ref PAZ 7018 .D7 F67 1989
Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature ref PAZ 7016 .J4 1996
Greek and Roman Authors: A Checklist of Criticism ref PAZ 7016 .G9 1982
Recent Studies in Myths and Literature, 1970-1990: An Annotated Bibliography
ref PRZ 2014 .M985 1991
|
|
Return to top of the page
|
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000 ref PA 31 .G7
Dictionary of Literary Biography: Ancient Greek Authors ref PS 125 .D5 v. 176
Dictionary of Literary Biography: Ancient Roman Authors ref PS 125 .D5 v. 211
|
|
Return to top of the page
|
ENGLISH TRANSLATIONS OF GREEK AND LATIN WORKS
English translations are available through the Loeb Classical Libraries Series and can be found using
EUREKA.
Do a KEYWORD search on "loeb classical library." One can also search by
specific title (title search) or author (author search.)
Latin Language and Literature http://library.csbsju.edu/rqs.phtml?subject_id=20
The Latin Library http://www.thelatinlibrary.com/
Perseus Project - Greek & Roman Materials
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/cache/perscoll_Greco-Roman.html
|
|
Return to top of the page
|
INDEXES AND DATABASES
Paper Indexes
-
Essay and General Literature Index (1900-current)2 North Index Area AI 3 .E75
- Humanities Index (1974-1999) 2 North Index Tables AI 3 .R492
- LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (1967 – current)
2 North Index Tables PZ 7003 L12
|
Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students,
faculty, & staff.
Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
-
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 1990-current
This index is a mixture of full text and abstracts.
-
JSTOR
This is a humanities database with full text articles from archival (most current 3-5 years not available) journals.
-
MLA 1920s-current
Although it does not provide full text or abstracts, this index is
the first place to search for literary criticism.
-
Project MUSE
This is a social science and humanities database with full text articles from journals.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae http://stephanus.tlg.uci.edu/inst/fontsel
Greek literary texts from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453, with newer Greek texts being added
on an ongoing basis. Selected English translations of major authors are also available.
|
|
Return to top of the page
|
SELECTED JOURNALS
The following selected listed of periodicals are available in print at CSUS Library. Some of
these titles are also available online. Periodicals available online are linked to the EUREKA
record which accesses the online issues.
Arethusa
American Journal of Philology
Classical Antiquity
Classical Journal
Classical Philology
Classical Quarterly
Classical Review
Greece & Rome
Mnemosyne
Phoenix
The following titles are available via the WEB
The Bryn Mawr Classical Review http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/bmcr/
Electronic Antiquity: Communicating the Classics http://scholar.lib.vt.edu/ejournals/ElAnt/
|
|
Return to top of the page
|
WEB SITES
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum http://www.forumromanum.org/literature/index.html
Bibliotheca Latina IntraText http://www.intratext.com/LATINA/
Internet Resources for the Classics
http://webserver.sms.org/intranet/web_smsp/mdl-indx/internet.htm
Library of Congress/Classical and Medieval History
http://www.loc.gov/rr/main/alcove9/classics.html
Literary Resources, Classical & Biblical (Rutgers Univ.)
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/classic.html
The Perseus Digital Library http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/
Yahoo Directory Classic Languages Greek & Latin
http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/Classics/Languages/
|
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page
|
Questions/comments to: D Rogenmoser, Reference Librarian, CSU, Sacramento email:drogenmoser@csus.edu
10/01 Last updated 8/07
|