SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


SACRAMENTO: Sources for Government,
Statistics, and Local Information



    
Using EUREKA
General
Government
Statistics, Population, Census, etc.
Databases
Related Library Research Guides
Return to Library Home Page

USING EUREKA TO LOCATE MATERIALS IN THE LIBRARY

EUREKA
EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library. Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.

Keyword Searching: One way to locate books in EUREKA is with an Advanced Keyword search.
For example:

                sacramento and crime
                sacramento and population
                 sacramento and planning
Return to top of the page

GENERAL

California Local Government Finance Almanac  http://www.californiacityfinance.com/
City of Sacramento   http://www.cityofsacramento.org/
Community Services Directory, Sacramento, California   Ref HV 99 S12 S3 (annual)
County of Sacramento   http://www.co.sacramento.ca.us/
Haines...Sacramento City and Suburban Criss-Cross Directory   Ref F 869 S12 H3 (annual)
Inside Guide to Sacramento: The Hidden Gold of California's Capital
   Ref F 869 S12 F59 2002
League of Women Voters http://www.lwvsacramento.org/
Sacramento & Central Valley: Includes San Joaquin, Stanislaus and Merced Counties
   Ref F 868 S12 M33 2003
   Includes information on education, city profiles, housing, crime, recreation and more
Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District http://www.airquality.org/index.shtml
Sacramento Bee   (see also databases)  http://sacbee.com/
Sacramento Chamber of Commerce    http://www.metrochamber.org
Sacramento Convention Center & Visitor's Bureau    http://www.discovergold.org/
Sacramento Public Library    http://www.saclibrary.org/
Sacramento Regional Transit District   http://www.sacrt.com/
Return to top of the page

GOVERNMENT

City of Sacramento   http://www.cityofsacramento.org/
City of Sacramento Budget   http://www.cityofsacramento.org/budget/
County of Sacramento   http://www.co.sacramento.ca.us
County of Sacr/Zoning Code   http://www.planning.saccounty.net/zc/
Sacramento Area Council of Governments   http://www.sacog.org
Sacramento City Unified School District   http://www.scusd.edu/
Sacramento County Office of Education   http://www.scoe.net/
Sacramento Local Agency Formation Commission   http://www.saclafco.org/

Many documents published by local agencies are located in the Government Documents collection on 2 North. The following call numbers will serve as a guide to the local documents collections:

    Sacramento City - Gov Docs CA-L S32
    Sacramento County - Gov Docs CA-L S325
    Sacramento Region - Gov Docs CA-L S326
Return to top of the page

STATISTICS, POPULATION, CENSUS, ETC.

California Local Government Finance Almanac    http://www.californiacityfinance.com/
California Statistical Abstract http://www.dof.ca.gov/html/fs_data/stat-abs/sa_home.htm
Counting California   http://countingcalifornia.cdlib.org/
County Business Patterns   http://www.census.gov/econ/cbp/index.html
MPA. Market profile analysis. Sacramento, CA SMSA   Ref HC 108 S12 M55 (annual)
SacSites   http://www.sacsites.com/
Regional Directory of Local Government Agencies   Cal Docs CA-L S326 R44 (2002)
Sacramento Area Council of Governments/ Demographics
     http://www.sacog.org/demographics/index.cfm
U.S. Census Bureau   http://www.census.gov
U.S. Census - 2000     http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html
1990 Census of Population and Housing. Population and Housing Characteristics for Census
     Tracts and Block Numbering Areas. Sacramento, CA MSA

     Gov Docs C 3.223/11:1990 CPH-3-283 Sections 1-2
1990 Census of Housing. General Housing Characteristics. California.
    Gov Docs C 3.224/3:990 CH-1-6 Sections 1-2
1990 Census of Housing. Detailed Housing Characteristics. California.
    Gov Docs C 3.224/3:990 CH-2-6 Sections 1-4
1990 Census of Population. General Population Characteristics. California.
    Gov Docs C 3.332/6:990 CP-1-6 Sections 1-3
1990 Census of Population. Social and Economic Characteristics. California.
    Gov Docs C 3.223/7:990 CP-2-6 Sections 1-4
1992 Census of Retail Trade. Geographic Area Series. California.
    Gov Docs C 3.255/2:RC 92-A-5
1992 Census of Wholesale Trade. Geographic Area Series. California.
    Gov Docs C 3.256/2:WC 92-A-5
1992 Census of Manufacturers. Geographic Area Series. California.
    Gov Docs C 3.24/3-5:MC 92-A-5
1992 Census of Service Industries. Geographic Area Series. California.
    Gov Docs C 3.257/2:SC 92-A-5

For more detailed information on census information see Guide to the Census

Return to top of the page

DATABASES

Databases and indexes are available to all on the Library computers. Unless noted otherwise; off-campus access is restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

  • RAND California    Locate statistics and data on California
  • Proquest Newsstand    Full-text of the Sacramento Bee Newspaper
  • STAT-USA    From the U.S. Department of Commerce,
  • Return to top of the page

    RELATED LIBRARY RESEARCH GUIDES

    Businesss: Sacramento Area Market Research
    Business: Salaries, Wages, Labor Sources/California
    History: California, Sacramento & Local History
    Economics: Selected Resources/California and Sacramento
    Return to top of the page

    A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Debbie Rogenmoser, Reference Librarian; drogenmoser@csus.edu
    Last updated 6/09