Listed below are some hints and recommended resources for locating
materials that support or oppose a particular position pro/con and debate
papers/speeches.
Be careful to not limit yourself to only researching one side of an issue.
For example, an article, speech, paper, or report that supports
a particular issue, such as favoring the importation of prescription drugs,
will often also provide information on the opposing position.
Additionally, to effectively argue one side of an issue it is essential to also be
familiar with arguments from the other side of that same issue; so don't dismiss an
article just because it is not supporting "your" point-of-view.
Return to top of the page
Using EUREKA
EUREKA is the Library's online catalog.
Materials in the Library's collection (books, government documents, videos, etc.,) can be searched
for using EUREKA by title, author, keyword, call number, etc.
Locate materials with a Keyword search on topics like
global warming, religion and america, Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, affirmative action,
etc.
Return to top of the page
SERIES
The Library subscribes to several resources which include both "pro" and "con" positions on topics.
Individual issues in each series will be dedicated to a specific topic. Examples of recent topics are
homeland security, the American family, cybercrime, athletes as role models, consumer culture and free trade.
The volumes of the series are not shelved together; each volume will have a specific call number.
To locate specific issues: Search the series title (for example: "contemporary world issues") as a keyword in
EUREKA to see a list of the individual
titles in each series.
- Congressional Digest
Each issue of this monthly publication is dedicated to one specific topic. Background information
is presented followed by pro/con arguments from a variety of experts. This periodical is
located on 3 North. Individual issues will not be listed in EUREKA, but a list of the last
few years topics is found in the inside back cover of each issue. Also, this journal is available
full text from 1985 in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
- Contemporary World Issues
Each issue includes articles/essays and primary source material on specific topic. Also
included is a chronology, biographical sketches, a bibliography of abstracts from print and nonprint
sources for additional research.
- Current Controversies
Each volume looks at specific controversies about a broader topic. For example, the volume on
Family Violence addresses the question of defining the topic of family violence,
questioning the prevalence of family violence, describing the victims
of family violence, and if specific efforts actually help or hinder the reduction of
family violence.
Includes reprints of articles and excerpts from a variety of sources presented in a
pro/con format. Includes a list
of organizations for further research.
- The Information Series on Current Topics
Each volume is on a broad topic with statistics, charts, research, discussions on a variety of
subtopics. There is an emphasis on the presentation of scientific studies and surveys. The most recent
volumes in this series are located in the Reference Collection on 2 North.
- Opposing Viewpoints
Each volume includes both primary and secondary sources from a variety of perspectives on a single
topic. Sources include eyewitness reports, scholarly journals, government documents, excerpts from
books, etc. Also includes a list of organizations for further research.
- The Reference Shelf
Each issue is on a specific topic and provides background information and discussion from various points
of view and includes editorials, reprints of articles, and excerpts from books. There is also a bibliography
that lists books, web sites, and abstracts of additional articles on the subject.
- Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial...
Presented in a pro/con format each volume looks at a broad topic such as "clashing views on political issues."
Within each volume are pro/con readings on issues within the broader topic. Again, for the example
noted above, issues include debates on the electoral college, Bush v. Gore, taxes, immigration, and
America's position as a world leader. Readings come from a variety of sources and points of view.
Return to top of the page
EDITORIALS
-
Editorials On File (ref D11 E3). Located in the Reference area (2 North) this publication includes editorials from US and Canadian
newspapers. Each issue includes 2 weeks of editorials and cartoons. There is a table of contents on the front of each issue and
there is an index for each year. The index can be searched by subject, company name, court case, country, important people, etc. Some of
the newspapers included are the Christian Science Monitor, NY Times, LA Times,
Sacramento Bee, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, and
the Wall Street Journal.
- Editorials can also be found using the various Databases listed below.
Return to top of the page
DATABASES
The Library subscribes to over 100 databases. Most of these databases are subject specific. For example
there are databases specific to business topics, science topics, education topics, etc.
Select a database from an alphabetical list of databases or
choose a database by subject.
Hints: Begin your database search with a keyword search on your topic. Consider including
some of the following keywords in the search to get appropriate articles:
analysis
editorial
opinion
commentary |
evaluation
public opinion
surveys |
comparative analysis
political aspects
research |
speech
proponents
opponents |
Suggested databases to begin your search are:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Search your topic as a keyword search and include a term from the Hints
listed above. Limit to full text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. Additional limits include
Document Type: editorial, case study, interview, or speech. Use Publication Type to limit
to a primary source.
- CQ Electronic Library
Search by topic and document type across all the CQ Library collections or
search by specific collection. Reports include pro/con discussion, background information, outlook analysis, and a chronology
- RAND California (http://ca.rand.org/)
RAND California's Research Publications is a searchable index of publications
from leading California public policy and research institutions. Search the
Rand Publications home page to find commentaries, issue papers, and research briefs. This web site
is free to the public.
Newspaper Databases
- Proquest Newspapers (ProQuest)
An extensive collection of US and international full text newspapers including
The Sacramento Bee and The New York Times.
Begin in Advanced Search.
Type in your topic and change the box from Citation and document text to either
Abstract or Subject. Limit your search to editorials by
typing editorials in the next box and changing Citation and document text to
Document Type. Limit further by adjusting the Date Range and choosing Full text documents only.
- Newsbank InfoWeb (Newsbank)
A good source for topics specific to California because it includes many California newspapers.
Limit results by typing the topic keyword and then
change the box from All Text to Lead/First paragraph. Click on the 'Add Row'
to add more search boxes.
-
Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe
Full text of world newspapers, magazines, wire services, etc., including The Los Angeles Times and The New York Times.
Select News from the Lexis Nexis home page then choose a
News Source, and Date Range. To retrieve newspaper editorials add the
keyword editorial to your search.
Return to top of the page
WEB SITES
-
The Brookings Institution http://www.brookings.edu/default.htm
A nonpartisan private research institution that publishes analysis and commentary, research reports, and policy briefs on
a broad range of topics.
- Debatabase http://www.idebate.org/debatabase/index.php
From the International Debate Education Association this online debate topic database has
arguments for and against hundreds of debating Topics, written by expert debaters, judges
and coaches. Also included are background summaries, links to web sites of interest and
recommended books, example motions and user comments. Users can search for topics by theme, keyword,or
browse the complete topic list.
- Documents in the News: Current Events Research http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/docnews.html
From the University of Michigan, this site includes thousands of documents that can be used for debates and pro/con
analysis for hundreds of topics. There is a cumulative index by topic for documents from 1995-2003. There is aseparatee
archive of documents for 2003, 2004, and 2005.
- OpenDemocracy http://www.opendemocracy.net/home/index.jsp
A team of writers from around the world participate in online debates. Content arranged by topic, theme or geographical region.
Users are invited to participate in the debates.
- ProCon.org http://www.procon.org/
"ProCon.org is a nonpartisan, nonprofit, 501(c)(3) public benefit corporation whose purpose
is to educate the public about controversial issues by presenting facts, news, and thousands
of diverse opinions in a pro-con format." Each topic also includes a "One Minute" overview and Top 10 Pro/Cons. As appropriate, each topic
may also include a timeline, summary, legal precedents, state laws, public opinion polls, international comparisons, etc.
- Opposing Views http://www.opposingviews.com/
Experts debate news and events; Each section of www.opposingviews.com is a channel, including politics,
society, health, money, and religion. Information is presented in counterpoint format and user comments are welcome.
-
Public Agenda http://www.publicagenda.org/
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research organization. The Issue Guides are on a variety of broad
topics and
include background information, public opinion analysis, and additional resources for research. The Research
Studies analyze public opinion and poll results on specific topics.
- The Urban Institute http://urban.org/index.cfm
A nonpartisann economic and social policy research institution. Much of the research is done by
10 policy centers. Users can browse by topic or author or search
for reports by keyword.
- Yahoo News http://news.yahoo.com/
An OPINION section is located at the bottom of the Yahoo News page. This section includes editorials from newspapers,
magazines, web sites, and blogs,
Return to top of the page
OTHER SUGGESTIONS
-
Another way to find arguments for and against controversial topics is through advocacy groups and
organizations. Many sites publish reports and articles that support their mission and goals.
To find
these organizations perform an Advanced search in your favorite search engine (Yahoo, Google, etc.) and
limit your search to .org results.
For example, a Yahoo search on "gun control",
limited to ".org" found both the NRA.org and Handguncontol.org; two different organizations with opposite goals.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Also available at 2 North Ref HA 202
This is a great starting point for locating statistics on almost any topic on the United States.
Also includes some international statistics.
See the Reference Librarian for more statistical resources.
- The Library publishes over 100 Research Guides
on many different subjects. The guides suggest subject specific encyclopedias,
handbooks, statistical resources, databases, and web sites and are a great research tool.
Return to top of the page
|