SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 

MLA STYLE GUIDE

Including MLA 2009 Updates

Contents:

Parenthetical Citations
Endnotes and Footnotes
Works Cited
    Journal and other Periodical Articles: Print
    Journal and other Periodical Articles: Electronic
    Books and Nonperiodicals

Citing Web Publications
Formatting the Paper
Sample Papers and Web Sites
Return to Library Home Page


The Modern Language Association of America (MLA) style is widely accepted in the Humanities. The MLA citation format uses abbreviated citations in parentheses within the text. Complete information about each source is listed at the end of the paper as a list of works cited. This handout is a brief guide for the most common types of sources used. For more information, these books go into greater detail:

  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (for high school and undergraduate students.)
    2N dictionary Stand LB2369 G53 2009 (Additional copies on order)

  • MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd ed. (for graduate students, scholars and professional writers.) 2N Dictionary Stand PN147 G444 2008 (Additional copies on order)


PARENTHETICAL CITATIONS or CITING SOURCES WITHIN THE TEXT

MLA style provides a way to acknowledge another's facts, words, or ideas in your paper by inserting a brief indication of the source, usually the author's last name and page. Complete information will be found in the list of works cited (the references or bibliography) at the end of the paper. If the source is an electronic book and lacks numbering, omit numbers from your parenthetical references.

  • Author and Title Cited in Text (No Parenthetical Citation necessary when citing the entire work rather than a specific idea within the work)

    In The Literary Nature of Darwin, Gould explores some of Darwin's most effective metaphors.

  • Author Not Cited in Text

    As metaphors for the workings of nature, Darwin used the tangled bank, the tree of life, and the face of nature (Gould 14).

  • Author Cited in Text

    Gould attributes Darwin's success to his gift for making the appropriate metaphor (14).

  • Direct Quotation with Name of Author

    Gould explains that Darwin used the metaphor of the tree of life "to express the other form of interconnectedness-genealogical rather than ecological-and to illustrate both success and failure in the history of life" (14).

  • Direct Quotation without Name of Author

    Darwin used the metaphor of the tree of life "to express the other form of interconnectedness-genealogical rather than ecological" (Gould 14).

The correct MLA style format for the works cited page for each of the samples above is shown here. Double space and the indent all lines after the first.

Gould, Stephen Jay. "The Wheel of Fortune and the Wedge of Progress." Natural

          History
89.3 (1989): 14-21. Print.

Return to top of the page


ENDNOTES AND FOOTNOTES [7.5]

Some disciplines in the humanities use endnotes and footnotes to offer comments, explanations, or information that aren't included in the text. Endnotes, which are generally preferable, are placed at the end of the paper while footnotes are placed at the end of the page. These notes are numbered consecutively through the paper, starting with 1, and formatted as a superscript following punctuation. Any references in the notes should be included in the works cited page.

Return to top of the page


WORKS CITED

MLA style requires that the list of Works Cited start on a new page following the text of the paper.

  • Center the title, Works Cited, one inch from the top.

  • Continue the page numbers from the text.

  • Double space between the title and the first entry and begin flush with the left margin.

  • Use a half-inch indent for any subsequent lines in a single entry, maintaining the double spacing throughout the page.

  • Alphabetize the list by author's last name. If the author is unknown, alphabetize by the first significant word in the title.

  • Capitalize each significant word in the title.

  • In the following examples, references to the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd ed., sections are in square brackets.

Return to top of the page


JOURNAL AND OTHER PERIODICAL ARTICLES: PRINT SOURCES

Format:  Author's last name, first name or initials as published. "Title of Article."

                        Name of Periodical volume number. issue number

                        (year of publication): page numbers. Publication medium

NOTE:   Use author names as given in the source, either the full names or initials.

  • One Author  [6.5.2]

    Witschi, Nicolas. "John of the Mines: Muir's Picturesque Rewrite of the Gold Rush." Western

              American Literature
    34 (1999): 316-343. Print.

  • Two or Three Authors   [6.5.2]

    Klimoski, Richard, and Susan Palmer. "The ADA and the Hiring Process in Organizations."

              Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research 45.2 (1993): 10-36. Print.

  • Four or More Authors   [6.6.4]

    Wolchik, Sharlene A., et al. "An Experimental Evaluation of Theory-Based Mother and

              Mother-Child Programs for Children of Divorce." Journal of Consulting and Clinical

              Psychology
    68 (2000): 843-856. Print.

  • Magazine Article (weekly or every 2 week)   [6.5.6]

    Acocella, Joan. "Dance Man." New Yorker 8 Dec. 2003: 102. Print.

  • Book Review   [6.5.7]

    Schatz, Bruce R. "Learning by Text or Context?" Rev. of The Social Life of Information,

              by John Seely Brown and Paul Duguid. Science 17 Nov. 2000: 1304.

  • Daily Newspaper Article  [6.5.5]

    Kisselgoff, Anna. "Still the Radical in Classical Garb." New York Times 2 Jan. 2004,

              late ed.: B1. Print.

  • Entire Issue   [6.5.13]

    O'Hara, Daniel T., ed. "Global Freud: Psychoanalytical Cultures and Classic Modernism."

              Spec. issue of Journal of Modern Literature 25.3-4 (2002): 1-152. Print.

Return to top of the page


JOURNAL AND OTHER PERIODICAL ARTICLES: ELECTRONIC SOURCES

Citing electronic sources is similar to citing print sources but include the medium and access date. If the date of publication is not available, use n.d. Include the URL only if the reader cannot locate the source without the URL. Enclose the URL in angle brackets and end with a period. [6.7.1]

Format:  Author's last name, first name or initial. "Title of Article." Name of Periodical volume number.

                      issue number (year of publication): page numbers. Title of the database. Medium of

                      publication consulted. Date of access.

  • Articles Retrieved from a Library Database (ERIC, JSTOR, etc.)   [6.7.4]

    Hamera, Judith. "An Answerability of Memory: 'Saving' Khmer Classical Dance." TDR:

              The Drama Review 46.4 (2002): 65- 85. Project Muse. Web.

              29 July 2008.

  • Article from Public Domain or E-journal   [6.7.3]

    Dickman, Steven. "Tough Mining: The Challenges of Searching the Scientific

              Literature." PloS Biology 1.2 (2003): e48. Web. 12 Dec. 2003.

              < http://www.plosbiology.org >.

  • Newspaper article (web only)   [6.7.2b]

    "The Scientists Speak." Editorial. New York Times. New York Times, 20 Nov. 2007.

              Web. 20 Nov 2007.

  • Dissertation or Thesis   [6.7.2c]

    Napolitano, Marc Philip. "Of Waifs and Wizards." Diss. Villanova U, 2006.

             Proquest Dissertations and Thesis. Web. 12 Aug. 2008.

Return to top of the page


BOOKS AND NONPERIODICALS

Format:  Author's last name, first name as found on the title page. Title. Edition.

                     City of Publication: Publisher, Year, Medium. Date of access for electronic medium

  • Book by One Author  [6.6.2]

    Mazzotta, Giuseppe. Dante, Poet of the Desert: History and Allegory in the

              Divine Comedy
    . Princeton, NJ: Princeton UP, 1979. Print.

  • Book by Two or Three Authors  [6.6.4]

    Rice, Richard B., William A. Bullough, and Richard J. Orsi. The Elusive Eden: A New

              History of California. 2nd ed. NY: McGraw, 1996. Print.

  • Book by More than Three Authors  [6.6.5]

    Quirk, Randolph, et. al. A Comprehensive Grammar of the English Language. London:

              Longman, 1985. Print.

  • Two or More Books by the Same Author  [6.4.4]

    McCausland, Elizabeth. Charles W. Hawthorne, an American Figure Painter. NY: American

              Artists Group, inc., 1947. Print.

    ---. George Inness, an American Landscape Painter, 1825-1894. NY:

              American Artists Group, inc., 1946. Print.

  • Electronic Book  [6.8.18]

    McLean, Mervyn. Weavers of Song: Polynesian Music and Dance. Honolulu:

              U of Hawaii P, 1999. Web. 13 Jan. 2004.

  • Chapter in an Anthology  [6.6.3]

    Harris, Kenton. "No Dance is a Fake." Ethics and the Arts: An Anthology. Ed. David E. W.

              Fenner. NY: Garland Pub., 1995. 115-139. Print.

  • Anonymous Author  [6.6.9]

    New York Public Library Performing Arts Desk Reference. NY: Macmillan, 1994. Print.

  • Book Review  [6.5.7]

    Woodhouse, Mark. Rev. of Monk Dancers of Tibet, by Mattheiu Ricard. Library

              Journal 128.19(2003): 72. Print.

  • Book in a Series  [6.6.15]

    Gutiérrez, Ramón A. and Richard J. Orsi, eds. Contested Eden: California Before the

              Gold Rush. Berkeley: U of California P, 1998. Print. CA Hist. Sesquicentennial Ser.1.

  • Government Report   [6.6.20]

    United States. Cong. Senate. Senate Art in Stamps. Washington: GPO, 2000. Print.

  • Film  [6.8.3]

    Chocolat. Dir. Lasse Hallstrom. Perf. Alfred Molina and Juliette Binoche. 2000.

              Miramax, 2003. DVD.

  • Sound Recording  [6.8.2]

    Counting Crows, perf. "Holiday in Spain." Hard Candy. Geffen, 2002. CD.

  • Podcast  [6.7.2b]

    "All Things Considered." National Public Radio. Natl. Public Radio,

              10 April 2009. Web. 15 April 2009.

  • Oral Presentation - Lecture, Speech, Address  [6.8.11]

    Terkel, Studs. Conf. on Coll. Composition and Communication Convention. Palmer House,

              Chicago. 22 Mar. 1990. Address.

Return to top of the page


CITING WEB PUBLICATIONS [6.7]

Citing sources from the Web can be confusing. Does one site a specific page within a site or the entire web site? Will the resource remain fixed or will it change in a week, month, year? Is there a specific author or a corporate author? These are just some of the questions that can make it difficult to determine the correct citation format. Remember, the goal is to be as comprehensive as possible; provide as much information as possible, and be consistent in your formatting. Section 6.7 of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd ed (2nd Floor Dictionary Stand PN 147 G444 2008) provides detailed guidance and examples on how to cite Web sources. Refer to that section if you have any questions about citing sources from the Web that are not shown on this guide.

Return to top of the page


FORMATTING THE PAPER

  • The paper's text should be flush left and unjustified on the right. Skip two spaces between each sentence.

  • Top, bottom, and side margins should be one inch.

  • Indent the first line of each paragraph a half-inch.

  • Double-space text throughout, with no extra spaces between paragraphs.

  • The heading and title are also double-spaced; no additional spaces are placed between heading and title or the title and the first paragraph of the paper.

  • The heading consists of Student's Name, Instructor's Name, Course Name, and Date. It is placed in upper left corner of the first page of the paper.

  • Place student's last name and the page number in upper right-hand corner of each page (use the Header/Footer tool in Word), a half-inch from top of page.

  • Center the title of the paper.

Return to top of the page


SAMPLE PAPERS AND WEB SITES

MLA sample paper from CSUS Library
MLA Sample Paper from OWL at Purdue
Documenting Sources: A Hacker Handbooks Supplement Also includes sample papers
Frequently Asked Questions About MLA Style
MLA Format (Purdue Univ)

Return to top of the page


Questions/comments to: Leilani Hall, Science Reference Librarian; leilani@csus.edu, California State University, Sacramento
lh/dr/2/04 Last updated 4/09