|
POLITICAL SCIENCE: MIDDLE EAST by D. Rogenmoser |
| CONTENTS: | |
|
|
FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library. Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
| ||
|
Back to the top of the page | ||
|
GENERAL Reference books (Ref) are located on 2 North An A to Z of the Middle East. Ref DS 43 G7413 1990 ALMISBAH http://ssgdoc.bibliothek.uni-halle.de/vlib/ssgfi/subject/almisbah_ssg030103_on_en.html The Biographical Dictionary of the Middle East. Ref DS 62.4 S53 1991 Concise Encyclopedia of the Middle East. Ref DS 43 H47 Council on Foreign Relations/Middle East http://www.cfr.org/region/397/middle_east.html CSUS Subject Guide: Public Policy & Administration: Middle East http://library.csus.edu/guides/wangh/ppa_topics.htm#middleeast Diplomacy in the Middle East: the International Relations of Regional and Outside Powers 2 South DS 63.1 D54 2003 Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa vol 1-3 Ref DS 43 E53 2004 Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures vol 1-2. Ref HQ 1170 E53 2003 Ethnic Conflict and International Politics in the Middle East. 2 South DS 62.8 E84 1999 Foreign Affairs Online http://www.people.virginia.edu/~rjb3v/rjb.html The Foreign Policies of Middle East States 3 North JZ 1670 F67 2002 Foreign Policy Association http://www.fpa.org/ Foreign Policy in Focus/Middle East http://www.fpif.org/indices/regions/mideast.html The Global Site: Middle East http://www.theglobalsite.ac.uk/middleeast/ Historical Atlas of Islam Atlas G1786.S1 R9 2004 Identity and foreign policy in the Middle East 3 North JZ 1670 I34 2002 Keele Guide to Middle East Government and Politics on the Internet http://www.keele.ac.uk/depts/por/mebase.htm Kingdoms of Asia, the Middle East, and Africa. Ref DS 32 G87 1986 League of Arab States http://www.al-bab.com/arab/docs/league.htm Major Political Events in Iran, Iraq, & the Arabian Peninsula 1945-1990. Ref DS 326 M46 1991 Middle East Institute http://www.columbia.edu/cu/sipa/REGIONAL/MEI/index.shtml Middle East Policy Council http://www.mepc.org/about/about.asp Middle East Resources/Santa Clara University http://www.scu.edu/library/research/political_science/middleeast.html Modern History of the Middle East - Current Political Issues http://www.library.cornell.edu/colldev/mideast/histmod.htm National Association of Arab Americans http://www.cafearabica.com/organizations/org12/orgnaaa.html National Security Archive/GWU http://www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/NSAEBB/index.html Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East. Ref DS 62.8 P64 1999 Middle East 9th ed. 2 South DS 63.1 M484 2000 Middle East & North Africa 2002 (previous years on 2 South) Ref DS 29 M5 2002 The Middle East: a Political Dictionary. Ref DS 61 Z58 1992 Middle East Review Ref HC 410.7 .M5 Nation and Religion in the Middle East 2 South DS 63.18 H35 2000 The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World Vol 1-4. Ref DS 35.53 O95 1995 Political and Diplomatic History of the Arab World, 1900-1967; a Chronological Study Vol 1-7 Ref DS 62.8 M35 Saban Center for Middle East Policy/Brookings Institution http://www.brook.edu/fp/saban/sabancenter_hp.htm The Times Guide to the Middle East: the Arab World and its Neighbours. Ref DS 62.4 T56 1991 The United States in the Middle East: a Historical Dictionary. Ref DS 63.2 U5 S384 1988 U.S. Department of State Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs http://www.state.gov/p/nea/ The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources/Middle East http://www2.etown.edu/vl/mideast.html Yale Research Guide to Middle East Poliltics http://www.library.yale.edu/neareast/politics2.html | ||
|
Back to the top of the page | ||
|
SPECIFIC COUNTRIES Look for information on specific Middle East countries in the following: Al-Bab: an Open Door to the Arab World http://www.al-bab.com/default.htm Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/world-leaders-1/index.html CIA World Factbook http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html also available in print: Ref D 1053 .N3 Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook; 1980-94. Ref D 848 C6 Country Studies/Library of Congress http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/list.html CountryWatch http://www.countrywatch.com/ CountryWatch Forecast http://forecast.countrywatch.com/ CultureGrams. Ref GT 150 C85 2003 The Europa World Year Book. Ref D 2 E87 Foreign Government Resources on the Web/Middle East http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/foreign.html MENIC/Middle East Network Information Center http://menic.utexas.edu/ Political Risk Yearbook. Vol 2, Middle East & North Africa. Ref JX 1252 P65 v.2 1989 Portals to the World http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html U.S. Department of State's Background Notes http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/ World Intelligence & Security Agencies http://www.fas.org/irp/world/index.html Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. Ref G 63 W67 2001 | ||
|
Back to the top of the page | ||
|
DOCUMENTS ALMISBAH: Lists of Official Documents http://ssgdoc.bibliothek.uni-halle.de/vlib/ssgfi/formal/almisbah_vcod_on_en.html Arab Gateway http://www.al-bab.com/arab/docs/docs.htm Ariga: Peace: Historic Documents and Treaties http://www.ariga.com/treaties/index.shtml The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: The Middle East 1916 - 2001: A Documentary Record http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/mideast/mideast.htm CIA Electronic Reading Room http://www.foia.cia.gov/ Diplomacy Monitor/St. Thomas Univ/School of Law http://www.diplomacymonitor.com/stu/dm.nsf/opener?OpenForm Documents and statements on Middle East peace, 1979-82: Report. Gov Docs Microfiche Y 4.F 76/1:M 58/22/979-82 Documents on Middle East peace, 1982-88: Report Prepared for the Subcommittee on Europe and the Middle East of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, U.S. House of Representatives. Gov Docs Microfiche Y 4.F 76/1:M 58/22/982-88 Foreign Government Resources on the Web/Middle East http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/foreign.html Foreign Relations of the US/Online Documents (historical) http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ho/frus/ The Search for Peace in the Middle East: Documents and Statements, 1967-79: Report. 2 South DS 119.7 .S3815 A Select Chronology and Background Documents Relating to the Middle East. 2 South DS 62.8 U55 1969 United Nations Peacekeeping, 1946-1967: Documents and Commentary. Vol 1-2 3 North JX 1981 P7 H5 United States Policy in the Middle East, September 1956-June 1957: Documents. 2 South DS 63.2 U5 A55 1968 University of Michigan Documents Center/Foreign Governments-Middle East & North Africa http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/forme.html | ||
|
Back to the top of the page | ||
|
ARAB-ISRAELI CONFLICT Arigia: Treaties and Documents http://www.ariga.com/treaties/index.shtml BADIL Resource Center - Palestine Refugee Documents http://www.badil.org/Documents/Documents.htm Bitter Lemons http://www.bitterlemons.org Challenge: a Magazine Covering the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict http://www.challenge-mag.com Encyclopedia of the Palestine Problem v.1-2. Ref DS 119.7 N2928 1991 Historical Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict. Ref DS 199.7 H544 1996 Knesset English Homepage http://www.knesset.gov.il/main/eng/home.asp Palestine Net http://www.palestine-net.com/ The Palestine-Israeli conflict: a Beginner's Guide. Reserve Book Room DS 119.7 .C64 2001 Palistine-Israel Journal http://www.pij.org/ PASSIA http://www.passia.org/index.htm Permanent Observer Mission of Palestine to the UN http://www.palestine-un.org/index.html Question of Palestine/UN http://www.un.org/Depts/dpa/qpal/ The Routledge Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Conflict. 2 North Atlas G 2236 S1 G55 2002 UNISPAL - United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine http://domino.un.org/UNISPAL.NSF?OpenDatabase United Nations Resolutions on Palestine and the Arab-Israeli Conflict, v. 1-3 Ref JX 1977.2 P34 U575 1987 Yahoo Directory on Israeli-Palestinian Conflict http://dir.yahoo.com/Regional/Regions/Middle_East/Government/Politics/Israeli_Palestinian_Conflict/ | ||
|
Back to the top of the page | ||
|
NEWS SOURCES (WEB) Al-Bab: Newspapers http://www.al-bab.com/arab/newspapers.htm Al Jazeera (Arabic) http://www.aljazeera.net/ Al Jazeera (English) http://english.aljazeera.net/ Arab News (English newspaper from Saudi Arabia) http://www.arabnews.com/ Arabic Web Index: Arabic Newspapers and Magazines http://www.arabic2000.com/index/news.html Arab World News http://www.arabworldnews.com/ BBC- Middle East http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/middle_east/default.stm CNN World - Middle East http://www.cnn.com/WORLD/meast/archive/ Middle East News: Israel, Palestine, Iraq, War & Terrorism This site also contains links to blogs. http://www.charleslipson.com/News-Mideast.htm Middle East Intelligence Bulletin http://www.meib.org/ Middle East Newspapers http://www.world-newspapers.com/east.html Middle East Report Online http://www.merip.org/mero/mero.html Middle East Media Research Institute http://www.memri.org/ NPR's Mideast Coverage http://www.npr.org/news/specials/mideast/ Online Newspapers http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/ UN News Centre-Middle East http://www.un.org/apps/news/region.asp?Region=MIDDLE+EAST U.S. Report on the Middle East http://www.usrom.com/ Washington Report on Middle East Affairs (also available in print at CSUS Library) http://www.wrmea.com/ | ||
|
Back to the top of the page | ||
|
JOURNALS Listed below are representative samples of journal titles for researching topics on Middle East - Politics. Journals that are also available via the Web or available full text in one of the CSUS Library databases are also indicated. Commentary also available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Current History Foreign Affairs also available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Foreign Policy also available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Israel Studies Middle East Insight Middle East International Middle East Journal also available Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Middle East Policy Middle East Review of International Affairs http://meria.idc.ac.il/ Middle East Report Middle East Studies Association Bulletin http://w3fp.arizona.edu/mesassoc/Bulletin/welcome.htm Middle Eastern Studies available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Near East Report Tikkun http://www.tikkun.org/ also available in print and in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) World Politics | ||
|
Back to the top of the page | ||
|
BIBLIOGRAPHIES International and Regional Politics in the Middle East and North Africa: a Guide to Information Sources. Ref JXZ 6465 N35 S38 Index Islamicus 1956-80 Tsakopoulos Hellenic Ref DZ 7835 .M6 L6 suppl Middle East. (United States. Superintendent of Documents) Latest Issue Only 2 NORTH Gov Docs GP3.22/2 :286/ The Middle East in Conflict: a Historical Bibliography. Ref DS 62.4 M53 1985 The Politics of African and Middle Eastern States: an Annotated Bibliography. Ref JQZ 3508 P6 D7 1976 Middle East, the Strategic Hub, and North Africa: a Bibliographic Survey of Literature. Ref DSZ 3013 U53 | ||
|
Back to the top of the page | ||
|
INDEXES AND DATABASES Paper Indexes
Electronic databases are available to all on the Library computers. Unless noted otherwise; access to databases and indexes from campus computerlabs or off-campus computers is restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources AccessUN (1991-current) Index to UN Documents; full text available America: History and Life Covers American History from prehistory to present; articles from 1954-current some full text available CountryWatch Politics, economics, and daily news on every country; full text CountryWatch Forecast 5-year macroeconomic forecast for every country of the world CQ Library Comprehensive reporting/analysis on issues in the news; and complete coverage of U.S. Congress; full text available Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) General Interest/Subject database of magazines and scholarly journals; full text available from 1985-current Historical Abstracts Published since 1954; history of the world excluding United States and Canada Index Islamicus Articles on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa. Coverage from 1906 to the present. JSTOR full text archive of scholarly journals; excluding last 3-5 years Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe full text coverage of national and international news from newspapers and newswires Social Sciences Abstracts Multi-subject database (includes political science and public policy); full text from 1995 WorldAlmanac Full text of the World Almanac | ||
|
Back to the top of the page | ||
|
RELATED CSUS SUBJECT GUIDES | ||
|
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page |
||
|
|
||
|
Questions/comments to:
Debbie Rogenmoser, , Reference Librarian; drogenmoser@csus.edu; CSU, Sacramento Created 5/03 Updated 2/08 |