Library Logo FINDING CSUS MASTERS THESES
& PROJECTS

By D. Rogenmoser
CONTENTS:
  • Finding Projects Only
  • Manuals for Writing a Theses
  • Finding other University Theses & Dissertations
  • Return to Library Home Page

  • WHERE THESES ARE LOCATED AT CSUS

    It may take a year before the Library receives a copy of a thesis or project. The Library tries to keep two copies of every thesis and project.
      
    Back to the top of the page  

    FINDING THESES BY SUBJECT

    The best way to find theses by subject is to perform a Keyword search in EUREKA, the Library's online catalog. Do not use a Subject search since subject cataloging of masters theses and projects ceased after 1987. Because many theses have long, descriptive titles and recent master's students have provided keyword descriptors for their theses, a Keyword search is usually successful.

    • Begin in EUREKA.
    • Type one or more words that describe the title or topic of the theses.
    • Open the pull down menu in the box that reads "Entire Collection." Scroll until you locate
      "CSUS Theses Collection"
    • Click on the Search box.
    The most recent theses will be listed first.
      
    Back to the top of the page  

    FINDING THESES BY ACADEMIC ADVISOR

    Since 1992 academic advisors are included as authors for each thesis they chair. Using the Author search screen in EUREKA type the advisor's last name. Open the pull down menu in the box that reads "Entire Collection." Scroll until you locate "CSUS Theses Collection" Finally, click on the Search box.

      
    Back to the top of the page  

    FINDING THESES BY ACADEMIC DEPARTMENT
    There are three ways to locate theses by department.

    1. The first way to find theses by department from a "Keyword" search in EUREKA.
    • Begin in EUREKA and type as your keyword the name of the department.
    • Open pull down menu in the box that reads "Entire Collection." Scroll until you locate
      "CSUS Theses Collection"
    • Click on the Search box.
    For example, a Keyword search on International Affairs will result in all of the theses from that department. Or, a Keyword search on China and International Affair will result in those theses about China that were done for the International Affairs program.

    2. For theses completed from 1998 and newer you can scan by the list of departments in EUREKA.
    • Begin in EUREKA and click on the "Title" tab. Type "csus thesis."
    • click on the Search box.


    • Click on any of the departments listed to see the theses for that department.
    3. The final way to find theses by academic department is to use the booklets, located at the Reference Desk. These booklets list, by department and author, theses completed after Fall 1988.
      
    Back to the top of the page  

    FINDING PROJECTS ONLY

    You can limit your search to Thesis Projects only by adding the keyword project to your searches.
      
    Back to the top of the page  

    MANUALS FOR WRITING A THESIS

    The Office of Graduate Studies at CSUS provides manuals for preparing theses and projects in PDF format. Click here to link to the list of manuals.
      
    Back to the top of the page  

    FINDING OTHER UNIVERSITY THESIS & DISSERTATIONS

    The CSUS Library purchases theses and dissertations from other universities very selectively. You can try an author and/or title search in EUREKA to see if we have the one you are looking for. If not, you may be able to acquire a copy through our Interlibrary Loan department. Contact them at 278-6395 for details.

    Theses and dissertations may also be purchased from University Microfilms International. For help, inquire at the Reference Desk. Although we may not have the actual thesis or dissertation, we do have finding aids which help you identify those done at other universities. The following are print sources:
    • Masters Abstracts International
      Latest 10 yrs-Index Area, earlier-Lower Level LBZ 5055 .U5 M3 (1962-current)
    • Dissertation Abstracts
      Lower Level LBZ 5055 .U49 D5 (1952-1966)
    • Dissertation Abstracts. A, The Humanities and Social Sciences
      Lower Level LBZ 5055 U49 D5 pt A (1966-1969)
    • Dissertation Abstracts International. A, The Humanities and Social Sciences
      Latest 5 yrs-Index Area, earlier-Lower Level LBZ 5055 U49 D5 pt A (1969-current)
    • Dissertation Abstracts. B, The Sciences and Engineering
      Lower Level LBZ 5055 U49 D5 pt B (1966-1969)
    • Dissertation Abstracts International. B, The Sciences and Engineering
      Latest 5 yrs-Index Area, earlier-Lower Level LBZ 5055 U49 D5 pt B (1969-current)
    Using the Databases:
    Back to the top of the page
    Go to Library Home Page

    Questions/comments to:  Debbie Rogenmoser, , Reference Librarian
    drogenmoser@csus.edu California State University, Sacramento
    revised 5/08