|
How To Find A Book Compiled by Linda Goff |
|
Most books in this
Library are cataloged and organized using the Library of Congress
Classification system and
are shelved by subject, in call number order.
The call number is the address of the book within the Library. After finding a specific book in EUREKA it is important to copy the entire letter-number combination in order to find the book, for the entire number identifies one book only. Be sure to note the floor number and wing location as well as any code reflecting collection areas on the floor such as Reference, Atlases, Curriculum, Juvenile, etc. In the example below there are two copies of the book. Copy one is checked out but copy two is not and should be found on the second floor in the south wing. |
|
|
|
|
The first section of the call number is a capital letter or combination of capital letters, e.g. AY, HF, PNZ, representing a broad subject area. The second section of the call number is a number representing a narrower aspect of the subject. The third section is a combination of letters and numbers which usually represent the author's last name. There may be a fourth section to the call number and additional section representing volume numbers or years. To locate the book represented by the call number above, first find the circulating books on 2 SOUTH, then find the H section. Within the H's you'll find them arranged HA, HB HC, HD etc. Find the HF's. Within the HF section find the HF 486 books treating the number as a whole number. Continue to narrow the search for the book by looking at the third line and finding the E section within the HF 486 books. Be careful with the number on the third line. The EUREKA screen displays a decimal point in front of the E , but not all of the spine labels show this important decimal. Regardless of whether it is shown or not, the number following the letter on the third line of the call number must be read as a decimal number. This means , for example, that .E536 comes before .E6 on the shelf. Any time a letter and number appear on the same line, the number is treated as a decimal number. | ||
| ||
| |
|
GUIDE TO FLOOR LOCATIONS |
||||||||
| | ||||||||
|
||||||||
|
| ||||||||
| Some books do not have Library of Congress call numbers, as shown above, but are housed in special collections located around the Library. They may be designated "thesis", "juv", "GovtDoc". etc. | ||||||||
|
| ||||||||
| OTHER LOCATION TERMS |
|
At, Atlas Calif Doc Computer File Curric Filmstrip Fo, f or Folio Gov Docs or govtdoc Gov Docs Fic In or Index Area Ju or juv Li Audio Li Video LOWER LEVEL Mi, Microfiche or Microfilm Pd, Po, Pq, Pf Qu, q or Quarto Re or ref Ref Desk Coll Slide Special Collection Thesis |
2 NORTH California Government Documents; 2 NORTH 1 SOUTH; Library Media Center Curriculum Collection; 2 SOUTH 1 SOUTH; Library Media Center Folio or oversize books; See EUREKA for floor location Government Documents; 2 NORTH Government Documents on microfiche; 2 NORTH Index tables; 2 NORTH Juvenile Collection; 2 SOUTH. 1 SOUTH; Library Media Center. 1 SOUTH; Library Media Center. Pre-1980 bound Periodicals, CSUS Theses, low-use books, Quartos, Folios and some U. S. Census materials 1 South; Library Media Center Inquire at Reference Desk Oversize books; See EUREKA for floor location Reference Books; 2 NORTH Inquire at Reference Desk. 1 SOUTH, Library Media Center. University Archives CSUS Masters These & Projects; LOWER LEVEL |
|
| |
| Examples |
| 1. |
q ND 238 A4 |
Books with call numbers N through NZ are on 3 North. The q indicates the book is oversize. Check EUREKA for floor location. | 2. |
ref A 26 B90 |
ref indicates a reference book; located on 2 North. | 3. |
juv 921 L65j |
juv refers to the Juvenile collection on 2 South. |
|
Back to the top of the page Go to Databases and Periodical Indexes page |
|
Questions/comments to: Linda Goff, California State University, Sacramento ljg/bl/dr 2/02; last updated 2/01 |